Previous page Next page

Sony a5100 First Impressions Review

August 2014 | By Jeff Keller
Buy on GearShopFrom $548.00


Preview based on production Sony a5100 running firmware v1.0

With the introduction of the a5100, Sony has officially left the NEX brand behind. The a5100 is the follow-up to the NEX-5 series, and sits above the a5000 (formerly the NEX-3) and below a6000 (which replaced the NEX-6/7). Confused yet?

The a5100 combines the compact designs of the NEX-3N and NEX-5T and throws in the guts of the a6000, which means that it has a 24MP CMOS sensor, Bionz X processor, on-chip phase detection covering 92% of the frame and Wi-Fi with NFC. Both cameras have tilting LCDs, with the one on the a5100 flipping upward 180 degrees (for - you guessed it - selfies) and the a6000's tilting both up and down by 90 and 45 degrees, respectively.

Both cameras can record 1080/60p video, with the a5100 supporting the XAVC S codec, allowing for bit rates of 50Mbps. It also has the ability to simultaneously record 720p video while recording at higher resolutions.

While there are many similarities in terms of spec, the a5100 and a6000 are targeted toward two distinctly different audiences. With its EVF, hot shoe, and additional physical controls, the a6000 is more of an enthusiast ILC. The a5100 has none of those things, and the fact that it has a help button on the rear of the camera hints that this is a camera for entry-level photography.

Sony a5100 key features

  • 24.3 megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor
  • Bionz X image processor
  • Hybrid AF system with 25 contrast-detect and 179 phase-detect points
  • 6 fps continuous shooting with subject-tracking
  • 3-inch flip-up LCD with 921,600 dots and touch functionality
  • Built-in GN4 flash
  • Full HD video recording at 1080/60p and 24p with XAVC S support
  • Simultaneous recording of 1080p and 720p video
  • Wi-Fi with NFC capability and downloadable apps

Most of the differences between the a5100 and its predecessor are internal. You get the 24MP sensor from the a6000 (up from 16MP on the NEX-5T), the latest Bionz X processor, a wider phase detection AF area, and much more promising video specs.

Externally, the a5100 now has a built-in flash, where the NEX-5T requires an external flash which connects to its proprietary shoe. Two things you can no longer do is attach an optional EVF or use a wireless remote control (though your smartphone can handle that).

Hybrid AF System

One huge improvement on the a5100 is its hybrid autofocus system. While the 25-point contrast detect part of the system remains the same as on the NEX-5T, the number of phase-detect points has increased from 99 to 179. All of those extra phase detect points give you a much wider coverage area: roughly 92% of the frame, compared to around 50%. The benefit? A wider area that lets phase detection autofocus do what it does best: track moving subjects.

Compared to a5000 and a6000

We've already covered some of the differences between the a5100 and the NEX-5T that came before it. Below you can see how the a5100 fits into the current Sony lineup.

 
a5000
a5100
a6000
MSRP (w/16-50mm PZ lens)
$499
$699
$799
Resolution
20.1MP
24.3MP
24.3MP
Processor
Bionz X
Bionz X
Bionz X
AF system (contrast/phase)
25 / 0 point
25 / 179 point
25 / 179 point
ISO range
100-16000
100-25600
100-25600
LCD design (tilt up/down)
Tilting (180° up)
Tilting (180° up)
Tilting (90°/45°)
Touch-enabled LCD
No
Yes
No
EVF type / resolution
None
None
OLED / 1.44M dot
EVF magnification (equiv.)
N/A
N/A
0.70x
Built-in flash
Yes (GN4)
Yes (GN4)
Yes (GN6)
Max burst rate
4 fps
6 fps
11 fps
Video resolution
1080/60i/24p
1080/60p/24p
1080/60p/24p
Video codecs
AVCHD, MP4
XAVC S, AVCHD, MP4
AVCHD, MP4
Clean HDMI output
No
Yes
Yes
Battery life (CIPA)
420 shots
400 shots
360 shots

The a5100 is a pretty big step up from the a5000, especially for subject tracking and video recording. The autofocus system that has proven itself on the a6000 has been carried over, which is good news for parents trying to capture fast-moving subjects. Video is considerably better, moving up from 60i to 60p, and adding the XAVC S codec and accompanying higher bit rate. Like its big brother, the a5100 supports clean HDMI output.

The main things you get by stepping up to the a6000 include the SVGA EVF, faster burst rate, and more powerful flash.

Kit options and pricing

The a5100 will be available in silver or black, at a price of $549 for the body and $699 for a kit including the 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 power zoom lens.

The a5100 is available in white or black

Accessories of note include a new wired remote control (RM-SPR1), a body case, and a kit that includes an external charger (which is not included with the camera) as well as an extra battery.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
3
I own it
27
I want it
3
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 575
123
Jay Apocalypse
By Jay Apocalypse (10 hours ago)

good review. I think I want one :)

0 upvotes
mcolvin1
By mcolvin1 (2 days ago)

DxO has reviewed the sensor for the Sony a5100. Overall very favorable. The review is at

http://www.dxomark.com/Reviews/Sony-A5100-sensor-review-Uncompromising-performance

Hopefully we will soon see the full review of this camera on DP Review. I am especially interested in seeing how the image quality compares to other cameras with the kit lens. I need a small camera for street photography, and this looks like a relatively inexpensive camera that is small and has a large sensor with high MP. I have held off buying the Sony rx100 ii or iii (though the Canon G7 X may top these, but I do not want to wait for reviews of the Canon.) If the a5100 has good reviews, then it will be the one I will get. It is the same price as the Canon G7 X but has bigger sensor. Not sure how the lens will compare, which is what I need to know. I hope that the DP Review full review will also do a critical comparison of lenses.

0 upvotes
Blitz
By Blitz (2 days ago)

This one sounds really nice, need to try it...

The best camera is thie one which you take out with you and not the super-slr which sits on the shelf at home.

So, a very high-quality camera ideally at the size of a rs-100. I own the rs-100, but the picture and video quality is not my cup of tea. Sub-Level. maybe the mk3 is better, but not sure.

So, a very small camera with a much bigger sensor like the a5100 is very welcome to me ! My a7r does not fit really into a pocket...

0 upvotes
Alex K 2k
By Alex K 2k (1 week ago)

Why did they drop this NEX name for the line? It was so convenient - you can search on NEX keyword on any online store or site and get the list of relevant items.

2 upvotes
Jurka
By Jurka (2 weeks ago)

Sony fukked me up again!!! My A6000 costs 750 Eur WITHOUT havc-s codec...
:(
Ok, i have a hot shoe for mic! Bicches...

0 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (1 week ago)

My A6000 has an EVF... ( doesn't yours? ). IMHO for only US$100.00 more, the A6000 is a better deal!

1 upvote
Jurka
By Jurka (1 week ago)

Evf is ok feature, but where is havc codec???? And touchscreen for focus point, like Pana GH?

0 upvotes
daqk
By daqk (1 week ago)

Sony is never going to make it right so you all will keep on buying ... unfortunately.

1 upvote
jhohman
By jhohman (3 weeks ago)

Just got my a5100 and an Atomos Ninja2 is on the way. I'm curious is anyone knows the equivalent Mb/s bitrate for clean HDMI output. I've been searching around but haven't been able to find anything. Given that is is 8-bit, I can't imagine that the 4:2:2 prores is going to be anywhere near, say, the BMPCC's prores internal recording.

0 upvotes
pgb
By pgb (2 weeks ago)

About 800 Mbps for 25 fps. The 50mbps internal codec should be very good and similar to Prores in most situations.

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
ijustloveshooting
By ijustloveshooting (3 weeks ago)

wait a second! No IR Remote? I'm deeply disappointed, IR was the only (quickly applicable) way to activate shutter in HDR bracketing modes...Don't tell me using smartphones for shutter release, it's a very slow and extremely uncomfortable!
I just can't believe they removed IR!...a definite NO BUY unless they dont add timer control in any shooting modes into camera...

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
SVhuMMer
By SVhuMMer (3 weeks ago)

Well... While it seems like a sad omission, I have to tell you that my real-life experience (YMMW, of course!) is that IR is extremely unreliable and/or limited in many environments, except studio work, where it functions properly.

Ever tried to make that IR-triggered shot in a bright sunlight at 30ft away from the camera? It failed me so many times in various situations (and I have the original Sony IR remote, no cheapo Liao Bao things!), that I moved completely to Smartphone control. Takes you a lot more time to set up, but greater range, much better reliablility, live view and remote control over exposure parameters is to me worth it.

EDIT: A much worse omission in my view (compared to a6000) is the loss of wireless flash control functionality of the built-in flash. Something I miss SO BADLY on my NEX-6, and this feature alone buzzes my head constantly with the thought of switching to a6000...

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ijustloveshooting
By ijustloveshooting (3 weeks ago)

hell i like it! ... excellent AF, great sensor and very sensitive touch screen and touch and shoot feature, great HDR bracketing modes with timer....combine this with SEL35F1.8, you'll get an extreme street shooter!..

0 upvotes
Charlie boots
By Charlie boots (3 weeks ago)

Sony has excellent engineers and excels in miniaturization and it will be really interesting to see what they eventually make of the camera business. People who buy high end cameras and lenses have a substantial investment in hardware and want to see some permanence and long term lens compatibility. If Sony is able to provide this and give their customers the feeling of long term security about their investment they should be very succssful as they have already significantly shaken up the camera industry with their offerings, especially with the A7r and A7s. I can't wait for this to settle down as I will then seriously consider changing my heavy nikon FX gear for Sony.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Tactical Falcon
By Tactical Falcon (4 weeks ago)

Hey Smoothglass get a focus here, it is my opinion, and does not make it more or less valid than anyone else, so adjust your f stop accordingly when calling someone a troll.

0 upvotes
bigdogbeau
By bigdogbeau (4 weeks ago)

I agree with some of the statements below. I also feel that Sony are on a tear to beat everyone to market and there is nothing wrong with that but they also charge a high premium. So as a Buyer you need to ask if you are will to pay or wait just a bit and make some speculation as to what's next and not just from Sony. I'm purposely waiting for the Nikon and Canon to reveal they next gen of high end POS because I feel the RX100 lll is overpriced. My opinion.

0 upvotes
Johnnie
By Johnnie (4 weeks ago)

If you are interested shooting videos with the new Sony A5100, I hope you will take a moment watching my video sample and read my review here:

http://www.cinema5d.com/exclusivesony-a5100-video-review-footage/

Thanks!

Johnnie

2 upvotes
gbdz
By gbdz (2 weeks ago)

Beautiful result. It was quite a rig you were using there. What would be the reason not to use a dedicated video camera instead of this monster? I am asking this for a reason...
Your review is well worth reading. Thank you. Keep up your excellent work, please.
Respect. martti-s

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
IKnowin
By IKnowin (4 weeks ago)

Sony treat us like idiots again. Having bought the A7s and A6000 I now find only a very few months after the brand new A6000 , the same processor and sensor but given the professional 50mb video codec !

This is like buying a new Porsche model and finding three months later a slightly difference version comes out with twice the horse power. Nothing wrong with that until you find out is cost 30% less !. You could say this is just progress but its not. The A6000 and A5100 have the same components required for the 50mb video codec so it's just a matter of firmware and marketing.

A camera claimed to be aimed at the less serious user gets the professional codec and the more serious user gets the out of date AVCHD codec.

.. And you also have to question a company that claims the A7s is great for video and gives you no option but to use a button the size of most camera's reset button to stop and start recording! Oh and just to make things worse they disable the big button in video!

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Black Box
By Black Box (4 weeks ago)

You think that's bad? Wait till they discontinue the E-mount altogether in a few months. Sony is the most inconsistent company with the least amount of respect for their customers. They discontinued Vaio because "the PC market underwent drastic changes". You think photo market isn't changing too drastically?

In the past 10 years Sony lost every single leading position. Their TVs used to be the best, now Samsung, LG and Pioneer lead the parade. They used to make the best laptops, now Vaio is gone. They'll sacrifice their photo business without a blink. So my advice - avoid Sony!

5 upvotes
IKnowin
By IKnowin (4 weeks ago)

I agree, when someone in Sony thinks up a good idea another team of fools seems to think up a way to mess it up so they don't give you too much that you won't buy the next model.

Sounds like a good idea for making money but Sony are not making money - as you say they used to have the principle they wanted to be the best in each market they were in but sadly they are too concerned with tricks and forget the internet exposes those tricks faster than they can come up with them hence the anger here and falling profits.

So maybe Sony could try thinking about the customer and stop thinking about marketing. Great products don't require much marketing - everybody bought a Sony Trinitron TV because it was better technology Sony should stop hacking off the customers it still has before its too late.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
SmoothGlass
By SmoothGlass (4 weeks ago)

Are you new to electronics or something? This stuff happens all the time, or do you think that last year's $600 smartphone is automatically going to be better than this year's $500 smartphone just because the old $600 cost more? Time marches on.

And to the other guy, Sony is never going to leave imaging; they have declared it a pillar of the company because they are THE biggest imaging sensor provider worldwide, and after the KonicaMinolta buyout have parlayed that into a natural outlet for all those sensors. Sony E-mount is highest market share among all mirrorless in the USA and either 1. or 2. worldwide. Sony also uses the E for their high-end video where they've been entrenched for decades.

If you're trying to guess which mounts die off first, you'd do better guessing Pentax Q, Fuji X, and others whose cameras have suffered losses for years, before worrying about Sony whose imaging division is profitable.

0 upvotes
RaghavBaijal
By RaghavBaijal (4 weeks ago)

What are you talking about? For $100 more, the A6000 is still the better deal. Only if you need the Codec, A5100 makes sense. However, without any dials, dedicated buttons & EVF, its not for professionals. If you are a professional, just tighten your belt & pony up the cash for A7s.

0 upvotes
Black Box
By Black Box (4 weeks ago)

SmoothGlass, I don't really understand what you're talking about. Even Sony cameras themselves have Toshiba sensors in them. They stopped using them less than a year ago. And what we thought was a Sony sensor in Nikon D5200 and a few others also turned out to be Toshiba's. So no, Sony is not "entrenched" anywhere. Their high-end video division has been a laugh since Betamax in 1965 (their home video player cost more than a Corvette!). It still is!

1 upvote
Black Box
By Black Box (4 weeks ago)

And SmoothGlass, we're not talking about "last year's smartphone". We're talking about two cameras introduced within a few months from one another and the cheaper one being better than the more expensive one only due to firmware.

1 upvote
SmoothGlass
By SmoothGlass (4 weeks ago)

If you have any citations feel free to post them. The problem is that you don't and are spreading lies. Sony's execs in trimming divisions specifically ID'd imaging as one of their core divisions.

http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/News/Press/201405/14-054E/

"Hirai also outlined key initiatives for Sony's three core electronics businesses - the game and network services, mobile and imaging businesses" (quote from 2014)

Sony has been in the high-end video business for a long time. They also make consumer-grade camcorders. They won't willingly leave it.

"Even Sony cameras themselves have Toshiba sensors in them"?

Third parties like Nikon have sourced sensors from a variety of sources including Sony, Aptina, and Toshiba (and the Toshiba sensor you referred in the D5200 has banding problems, which Sony Exmor sensors do not have.. one reason why I didn't upgrade my D5100), but you are alleging Sony sources sensors from other companies for SONY cameras? LMAO. Keep trolling.

0 upvotes
SmoothGlass
By SmoothGlass (4 weeks ago)

As to your P.S.

First of all, the A6000 was launched half a year ago, not "a few months" ago. Half a year is a long time in consumer electronics.

Second, the A6000 is a better camera. You can argue the A5100 has better video encoding, but who cares, neither is a professional video camera nor were they intended to be. It's a bonus mode for still photographers who also want video. But if you were that serious into video, you would get more video-attuned cameras in the first place! This whining about video encoding is ridiculous. A FAR bigger criticism is that the a6000 doesn't have a capacitive touchscreen.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
IKnowin
By IKnowin (3 weeks ago)

SmoothGlass - re "Who cares" - I care, I care big time - the A6000 and A5100 are in the same time frame , same processor , same sensor - THIS IS NOT PROGRESS THIS IS BAD MARKETING. Why does it matter ? Well in case you haven't noticed Sony are not the power in Electronics they once were and treating your customers like idiots is not going to cut it in the Internet age. Firmware update now please. p.s. I have a Sony A7s and I want an update for that too so I dont have to use a "Reset" size video button when the camera is set to video mode - but I know you dont care about Video

1 upvote
Black Box
By Black Box (2 weeks ago)

Sony lost the home video market to JVC and Panasonic. Sony lost the TV market to Samsung and Pioneer. Sony lost the laptop market to Acer and Asus. And they invested A LOT of money into all those sectors. Their products are becoming more and more expensive. I guess someone in the Sony's marketing department still thinks people will pay more for the brand only. And some will. Problem is, in this day and age people lose confidence in brand alone MUCH faster. And so far there's only been TWO brands that can be far from the best but still the most expensive - Apple and Mercedes-Benz. But that's paying for style. Sony doesn't have half of Merc's charisma. So they better take notice before it's too late.

1 upvote
armandino
By armandino (4 weeks ago)

this system has too many bodies and too few lenses.
Canon made 1 sucking mirrorless yet offers an affordable 22mm f2.0. I got a Nex-3N and I would get an A6000 tomorrow if the system had an affordable and effective lens selection. A mirrorless like this screams for a pancake 22mm f2.0, the kit lens is underwhelming for a $600 camera.

2 upvotes
jstop
By jstop (4 weeks ago)

Try Samsung. Good lens range except for long telephoto.

0 upvotes
Rob Sims
By Rob Sims (1 week ago)

The 20mm F2.8 pancake not good enough for you?

1 upvote
armandino
By armandino (1 week ago)

it is not F2.0. Quite a difference, and quite a bit more money too

0 upvotes
nasserdjawas
By nasserdjawas (4 weeks ago)

this is good for multicopter.. yes please

2 upvotes
RadPhoto
By RadPhoto (1 month ago)

Does anyone know why Sony changed their name from NEX? Was there anything wrong with it?

Comment edited 12 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Black Box
By Black Box (4 weeks ago)

Too much sake.

1 upvote
RadPhoto
By RadPhoto (4 weeks ago)

@Black Box hahaha

0 upvotes
martinj68
By martinj68 (1 month ago)

I thought Sony was going to push forward 4k video?
It surprises me that this new line is still only 1080

0 upvotes
yonsarh
By yonsarh (1 month ago)

I think the main point for this A5100 is the video. It has 50mbps bit rate on 1080p, while most camera uses 28m or 24mbps for the video. the higher bit rate you have, the more clear picture you will going to get after the encoding.

0 upvotes
LGO
By LGO (4 weeks ago)

The added video capabilities of the A5100 is welcome.

I think one of its limitations when used as a video camera remains. An NEX used as a video camera quickly overheats when used over extended periods outdoors and under the sun. Articulating the rear screen away from the body lessens the heat buildup in the body but the NEX ultimately overheats still. I cool the NEX by removing the battery, leaving the battery door open for a while, and using a new cool unused battery. The final solution however came in the shape of a Panasonic GH2/GH3 which has never overheated despite hours of use under hot and direct sunlight.

1 upvote
jaxson
By jaxson (3 weeks ago)

I think they sorted the overheating problem with the A6000, so hopefully the A5100 is just as good. Still if you're videoing non stop for hours then you're probably better suited with a different camera body anyway.

0 upvotes
LGO
By LGO (3 weeks ago)

The NEX-5N used outdoors under direct sunlight in tropical climes overheats within 15-20 minutes even with the rear screen extended away from the body to minimize the heat buildup so this is a major concern for those taking video in this difficult condition.

Camera size and design plays a very big role in controlling heat. The small size of the A5100 does not give me confidence that overheating when taking video for extended period under the difficult conditions I described is no longer a problem. As I now use my GH2s and GH3 for video, this is no longer a problem for me. I mention it here mainly for the benefit of those who might be considering the A5100 for extended video use when working under the condition I described.

0 upvotes
yonsarh
By yonsarh (1 month ago)

Unboxing of SONY A5100 (KOREAN LANGUAGE)

http://www.slrclub.com/bbs/vx2.php?id=minolta_forum&category=3&divpage=164&ss=on&keyword=a5100&setsearch=on&no=876574

Comment edited 9 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Tactical Falcon
By Tactical Falcon (1 month ago)

Sony does it again making something no one asked for, or cares about. The a6000 is a competent camera for its type, the a5100 is saying would you like your car without the steering wheel, and tires, but otherwise, it's still a car. Needless edition. Kill the 5xxx series unless you really want it to be a great networking camera for the social as others have mentioned here. Weak execution on a unclear camera for an unclear audience.

1 upvote
quezra
By quezra (1 month ago)

These low end cameras outsell high end ones the same way P&S cameras outsell ILCs, so clearly there is demand for these cameras and not "something no one asked for".

6 upvotes
SmoothGlass
By SmoothGlass (1 month ago)

Tactical Falcon = troll. Not everyone wants an EVF so there SHOULD be a version of the a6000 with the EVF taken out.

The only things wrong with the a5100 are the price and how it should have a capacitive touchscreen, ideally. At its current price, it makes little sense because for $100 more you get the more powerful a6000 with EVF, 11fps, etc. though no touchscreen. So the a5100 should be priced at least $50 lower. It can't go too low or it will step on the toes of the a5000.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
7 upvotes
Uri Ben
By Uri Ben (1 month ago)

I need it - and I will buy it !!!!!!!!!!!

4 upvotes
filmrescue
By filmrescue (1 month ago)

For touchscreen alone I'd buy this over the A6000. I bought the A7s to replace my nex-5n. Love the 7s but touchscreen is sorely missed.

4 upvotes
mcolvin1
By mcolvin1 (1 month ago)

It may be the right camera for me because of the size. The price is about the same as the Sony RX100 iii but it has a larger sensor and more mp. The physical dimensions of the camera are only slightly larger than the RX100 iii with the kit lens. I am waiting to see the head to head comparisons to the RX 100 series and other cameras, but right now, if it looks good in further reviews, I would be very interested in this camera. The a6000 is probably an overall better camera, but it is too large for my pocket or fanny pack. I want a camera that is with me all the time I am out.

0 upvotes
historianx
By historianx (1 month ago)

Another Playstation posing as a camera. Been there, done that. No thank you.

0 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

Yes please! Mortal Kombat would be great.

0 upvotes
wizard8080
By wizard8080 (1 month ago)

The a5100 sounds almost great. Trade the EVF and dials on the a6000 for greater portability (lighter and smaller) and touchscreen.

Here's what it and the a6000 are sorely missing for the modern age based around ease of sharing photos online:

- Seamless upload to Facebook, Flickr, Smugmug, etc. from image review
- Basic image editing tools: crop, exposure, filters
- Hires retina display for image viewing to evaluate image quality

Right now you can't really evaluate whether an image is good with the low res display. A retina-like display with pinch to zoom would make image review on-camera work well.

I think these features would result in 2x - 5x in sales. I would easily pay an extra $100 for these features.

In fact, all cameras should have this. If Apple were to make a camera, it would have these features and everyone else would follow.

Camera sales are down because of smartphones. Well, put in features to compete with smartphones. Duh...

Comment edited 6 times, last edit 12 minutes after posting
9 upvotes
heartdisease
By heartdisease (1 month ago)

This camera with its one touch nfc transfer has changed my phone from an also take a picture with to upload device to an image chimping device and upload/crop/post/remote device as you say the camera should be. I think the argument can be made to keep all that on the phone everyone has with them anyway and keep the camera more dedicated and cheaper. Heck its obvious what Sony thinks of that as they made the QX10 & QX100. I love the nfc feature and use it literally everytime I take the camera out. I can put a few keepers on my phone to have always available, internet or not and save the bulk for when I get home to offload them in a week or so. Its a great tool.

1 upvote
Newswolf2
By Newswolf2 (3 weeks ago)

good point in uploading feature.

0 upvotes
rinkos
By rinkos (1 month ago)

i wish for 2 things..
1.that the A6000 would also have had that touch screen
2.the new 50mbit codec on the a6000 as well

2 upvotes
LGO
By LGO (1 month ago)

Agree. I will add still the following:

1. Articulating EVF (like the Panasonic GX-7)
2. The 36mp sensor from the A7R
3. Front and rear IR ports

0 upvotes
marcpol
By marcpol (1 month ago)

No IR Remote??? Can't believe. Anyway i am waiting for a nex-5 successor as i would also like to have mic port.

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

It does have a free camera phone app to fire and control the camera, plus a live view on your phone.

8 upvotes
LGO
By LGO (1 month ago)

An IR remote takes very little space in the pocket, can be fished out in less than a second, and used to release shutter in as little time. Using a camera phone is not only slow and kludgy, but will also cause night blindness when shooting in low light and at night. Battery drain on the A5100 will also be higher if the WiFi is used. I also do not want to always bring my phone with me.

This is not to say that a phone-based remote is not useful and has no advantages. But Sony should have kept the IR remote.

I would have upgraded my two NEX-5N with the A5100 but this has been scuttled when Sony deleted the IR remote (and the ability to accept an external articulating EVF).

My wish list is for Sony to combine the best features of the NEX-5N (touch screen) and NEX-7 (tri-nav controls), and marry this with the A7R sensor coupled with electronic first curtain. I would also like Sony to put an IR port at the rear of the camera. Might as well also integrate an Arca rail on its base.

Comment edited 4 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
rinkos
By rinkos (1 month ago)

and yet..NORMAL people that will get that kind of cam would not bother buy or carry a IR remote..but they will always have a smartphone at hand .

common..this is not for the high end area ..we are talking about one of the most affordable APS-C cameras on the market .

4 upvotes
vadims
By vadims (1 month ago)

Yeah... And no vertical grip either. What were they thinking?

3 upvotes
ObelixCMM
By ObelixCMM (1 month ago)

For IR remote you need line of site where phone can be used from any position.

1 upvote
LGO
By LGO (1 month ago)

The phone remote is good and has its uses and advantages but so does an IR remote. Why have only one if it is possible to have both?

In my case, an IR remote is very essential for a quick and easy hands-free shutter release. By deleting the IR remote from the A5100, Sony made the A5100 much less attractive and usable for my purpose.

0 upvotes
LGO
By LGO (1 month ago)

As to the A5100 class/type of camera not being designed for professional use, it does not mean that it cannot be used professionally if it comes with the features needed by one. Other than the discontinued NEX-5N type, there is no "professional" camera that combines in one body the following features so useful and essential for professional work:
- mirrorless so no need for time-wasting mirror up
- wireless handsfree IR remote for shutter release
- electronic first curtain
- articulating screen
- touch screen for quickly designating an area to magnify for manual focusing
- peaking support
- articulating EVF
- sensor of at least APS-C size;

The 2 x D800E & 1 x D800 I use for portrait/landscape work are poor seconds to the NEX-5N in terms of ease & convenience of use. The 5N is hobbled primarily by having a miniscule area to properly mount an Arca plate & the lack of a rear IR port. A new camera with all the above desired features plus a 36mp 24x35mm sensor will be a must-buy for me.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ObelixCMM
By ObelixCMM (1 month ago)

@ LGO, I agree that more options is better, I was just trying to point out advantages of phone app vs. IR

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (3 weeks ago)

"Using a camera phone is not only slow and kludgy, but will also cause night blindness when shooting in low light and at night."

If you're on iOS, jailbreak and install f.lux.

On Android, there are similar apps.

0 upvotes
CaPi
By CaPi (1 month ago)

Very nice looking camera. I had a chance to test the a6000 and until the 'booting' of an 'operating system' (quoting) takes that long and it crashes while I am shooting and promts me to #RESTART# I wont buy any SONY aXXXX. (period)
@Sony :-( Fix that 'I am a computer from the '90s' behaviour and give us cool cams. You're so close to achieving that!

Comment edited 47 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Ian SS
By Ian SS (1 month ago)

There are certainly some improvements but taking out the multi-interface shoe, there is no way to put on an external flash or flash remote transmitter. For me, it feels like a few steps forward and a few steps back!

2 upvotes
Mister Joseph
By Mister Joseph (1 month ago)

I have the older NEX-5R and I bought it with a 19mm Sigma f2.8 lens for my wife, so she can take selfies.

1 upvote
kigathi
By kigathi (1 month ago)

How dare you encourage that behaviour :)

More importantly, how is the DOF and distortion with a 19mm lens compared to say a 50mm/f2.8 on a full frame DSLR?

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 month ago)

Good lens and great sensor.
Best selfies on facebook:D

1 upvote
lacikuss
By lacikuss (1 month ago)

So the A6000 comes out at around $700 while this new one will be $100 less. Is it even worth thinking about buying the A5100 which has no EVF and half the shooting speed?

I think Sony came out with this A5100 to push sales of the A6000 which could be a good strategy depending on production costs and current inventory.

0 upvotes
caterpillar
By caterpillar (1 month ago)

people should not be naive that this will be the standard price. Like anything new, this is just the introductory price. For sure it will be at least U$50 lesser.Then it should drop U$100 on avg in the coming months.

Also, the a5100 is different from the a6000. Even if the latter seem "better" in paper, some people have the need for touchsceen. Touch focus is much easier for some. Some don't use EVF's and couldn't care less about. Some also don't care about putting any flash or future expansion on the camera.

Many who will buy a5100 will value its small size, touch screen, ease of use, etc. while still benefitting from the fast AF and better sensor of the a6000. People should not try to extrapolate more into the a5100 because it is what it is . Sony is revamping their alpha lines and people must not try to continue with the same notion of what a 3 or 5 series should be.

0 upvotes
Stephen123
By Stephen123 (1 month ago)

Does anyone have thoughts on using this sort of flip up screen for shooting down toward the ground? Would you turn the camera around to get a position more stable than leaning over?

0 upvotes
ObelixCMM
By ObelixCMM (1 month ago)

You don't have to flip screen if you are shooting down at the ground.

0 upvotes
caterpillar
By caterpillar (1 month ago)

Shooting down the ground means shooting overhead, over the heads of other people. The camera is pointed to the ground as you raise it over your head so you can shoot above other people's head.

0 upvotes
Jethro10
By Jethro10 (1 month ago)

Turning the camera upside down is what my wife does. She actually likes it that way as the shutter button points down to her fingers ( well thumb)

0 upvotes
davids8560
By davids8560 (1 month ago)

Maybe they should give cameras people names, like hurricanes. I think all the numbers have been used up!

Anyway, I'm going to add once more: no VF of any kind = no sale. (Just saying)

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Tom Hoots
By Tom Hoots (1 month ago)

No electronic level = no sale for me. I cannot comprehend why Sony "decided" to remove that feature. After having one in a number of cameras by now, I won't buy a camera without one. "Simple as that."

8 upvotes
JaimeA
By JaimeA (1 month ago)

I have gotten used to the electronic level, essential for travel shots. Of course, for people or action shots it is not necessary. We do stitching/panoramas in exteriors and interiors; it is the best tool for perfect alignment, especially for use in places where tripods are not allowed (try historic places or museums). Missing in the a6000, we did not buy it. It is available in the inconspicuous RX100II LCD and RX100III, both in the EVF and the LCD. We get stunning results. It is Sony's dumbest decision not to include the electronic level in the new cameras. We are still waiting for the successor of the NEX-7, a truly great camera.

1 upvote
Dennis
By Dennis (1 month ago)

I'm with you. I've been debating on & off picking up a newer e-mount body to 'revive' my NEX system which has been collecting dust. (I have a NEX-5 and the excellent 18-200). Thought about the NEX-6 at bargain prices, but seeing new models, it's hard to settle for the same old menu system that I hate on the NEX-5, lack of Auto ISO in M, and lack of focus lock control. But then the A6000 tosses out one of my favorite features on Sony cameras since I first tried out an A33 - the level. (I use it on my RX100 all the time).

1 upvote
Boss of Sony
By Boss of Sony (1 month ago)

When is the successor to RX1 coming out? Jesus christ god almighty I want a genuinely pocketable camera with a big sensor for travelling. Couldn't care less about the focal length. And don't tell me the Fuji x100s is pocketable.

0 upvotes
Raintitan
By Raintitan (1 month ago)

Consider a Ricoh GR is pocketable is most important.

0 upvotes
Boss of Sony
By Boss of Sony (1 month ago)

Good idea. Just wish it had a viewfinder too.

0 upvotes
JohnCarolan
By JohnCarolan (1 month ago)

might be an option
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/761040-REG/Ricoh_175093_GV_2_Mini_External_Viewfinder.html

0 upvotes
Raintitan
By Raintitan (1 month ago)

Perhaps a new GR is coming soon with a pop up viewfinder. That would be fantastic. I picked up a discounted GR a month ago and I'm stunned at the image quality and sharpness for it's size. And, it can focus pretty close up for macro shots.

0 upvotes
jango
By jango (1 month ago)

is there gona be a6100 soon?

0 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (1 month ago)

$548, include the lens. We got rid of the mirror box, pentaprism, etc. When are the savings going to be passed on to consumers?

9 upvotes
raay
By raay (1 month ago)

Who said somone is going to think about consumers , if they say this is a replacement to 5 series camera then those people who bought the evf , external microphone would have been given a coice to use them on this . This is a crippled camera for soccer moms.

1 upvote
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

I have the A5000 and thinking of upgrading to the A5100 for the better AF and better video. It is a fun camera to use and like that it has a lcd only (reminds me of using a twin lens reflex MF camera) and have other cameras if I really want a evf.

2 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

Your TLR had a hood and magnifier, in recognition of the difficulty of using a ground glass in sunlight.

To that end, cameras without EVFs are fine as point and shoots, but for me, the extra cost for the A6000 will pay back in composition and ability to use legacy lenses in MF

2 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

Also the screen is handy to be in the photos with the family, where I normally take all the photos and I'm not in one.

0 upvotes
Bob MMMM
By Bob MMMM (1 month ago)

Sony doesn't pass savings onto customers.

0 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

I don't understand this. For decades, cameras without LCD screens had self-timers and we managed to get into photos with the family just fine.

Somehow, we also managed to take action shots without AF, shoot 1/6 second handheld without OSS or IBIS - and moist of us could look at a scene and come close enough to guessing shutter speed/aperture for a scene.

I love the guys who ask of a camera can track active kids. You know, we didn't have them before AF...

7 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

In the modern age, don't have time or we don't carry a tripod when you got to carry all the associated crap you need to carry when you have a family.

0 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

I didn't realize you were planning to use the A5100 like a smartphone to do selfies. In the modern age, for anything other than selfies, we just do as in https://www.flickr.com/photos/melsnyder/14553460082/ and http://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-IJ6LlNKB9o8/Uk5ehFmtlgI/AAAAAAAAPOU/FDS5QqsJavI/s2048-no/IMAGE_39.jpg - set the camera down on a table or rock and use the IR remote, about the size of a matchbook.

Are you really suggesting the LCD on an interchangeable lens mirrorless APS-C camera is for selfies? There are many alternatives. I had two children, now 24 and 27 - and a new grandchild with whom I've traveled to NYC and to zoos and parks. Please explain to me how you use an LCD screen to get yourself into non-selfie hand-held photos. I'm missing something.

0 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

I'm just saying its nice being in the photo with the family, plus it has time-lapse app which is handy. You need to try the camera to understand. If you don't try, you don't understand.

0 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

Right now I am sitting with my A7 and a 300mm lens trying to photograph the goldfinches that come to my feeders only when the light sucks at sundown. I'm not in the market for a $600 camera that shoots better selfies than the images I linked in my response

0 upvotes
Photoman
By Photoman (1 month ago)

Fair enough. I will buy another Sony down the track to shoot my birds & fish, maybe a new A7ii or A6100, but will have fun with my A5000 for now :)

0 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

help me understand - I gave you links to two images shot without an LCD - can you give me a link to one or two images that show me what I'm missing? Thanks!

0 upvotes
raay
By raay (1 month ago)

This camera just has a larger MP sensor and AF , not better than 5n . No way to attach evf or flash , even a radio trigger could be used if it had Hotshoe , THIS IS NOT A 5series camera.

Comment edited 57 seconds after posting
1 upvote
happypoppeye
By happypoppeye (1 month ago)

Yeah ...it is, its called a5100. Unfortunately Sony decides what a 5 series camera is, not you.

10 upvotes
raay
By raay (1 month ago)

If that was so then the A5000 would not be named a successor to 3 series , stop popping your eyes and use your brain.

0 upvotes
Dennis
By Dennis (1 month ago)

My NEX-5 has no way to attach an EVF. Or remote trigger option.

0 upvotes
raay
By raay (1 month ago)

The review is total dumb , thisis NOT NEX-5 series camera , this dosent even have IR remote !!

0 upvotes
Chris62
By Chris62 (1 month ago)

5100? Why? We know the Nikon 5100.
The cameras names are horrible very often repeated.

Is it impossible to use unique names?

4 upvotes
digifan
By digifan (1 month ago)

they are unique, its Nikon D5100 and Sony a5100.

4 upvotes
ngc894
By ngc894 (1 month ago)

I have this camera and am just apalled with the kit lens. It is by far the worst kit lens I ever had. The distortion is terrible, the lens fallout at 16mm is very pronounced and the motorized zoom works miserably. It is almost imposible to acheive the wanted composition because the zoom motor moves so quickly that either the compositiion is too far, too close... and you should keep trying the zoom controls several times until you acheive something close to what you have in mind. All my compacts work better in this respect. I think this kit lens is a shame, and if you compare this camera with Fuji XA1, now for a bargain price, Sony is put to shame. Other than that the body will happily work with a Sigma 19, which is your best option. In any case I am returning it for a refund. To put such a bad kit lens in cameras like these I think is a disrespect to customers IMHO.
Cheers

2 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (1 month ago)

Cool story bro... about a camera that hasn't started shipping yet

31 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

Perfect. These trolls can't wait even for a camera to ship before piling on.

I've owned a 16-50PZ and it's brilliant. Tonight, I was looking for a sample image to upload, and was surprised to find that a shot I though I'd made in low light with my 50mm f2 Summicron M was actually made with the PZ.

The world if full of bad carpenters who always blame their tools.

6 upvotes
DaGurney
By DaGurney (1 month ago)

Motorized zoom is stupid in the first place.

1 upvote
Zameus
By Zameus (1 month ago)

Not for video. Smooth, even zooming is helpful for some.
Personally, I prefer manual but I can see how some would like the motorized option. You can always manually zoom it as well.

0 upvotes
slr maniac
By slr maniac (1 month ago)

We use to be great and living in caves and riding horses but not something most of us know anything about these days.

0 upvotes
SmoothGlass
By SmoothGlass (1 month ago)

Did you get a broken 16-50PZ lens or something? Here are examples of what the lens you just trashed is capable of: http://www.flickr.com/groups/2122756@N21/pool

I feel sorry for anyone who takes your advice. Yes the lens has soft corners wide open (the result of having to burn resolution to correct for distortion), but improves somewhat stopped down. If you need ultimate image quality, you would probably have to use a much more expensive and bulky/heavy lens, which defeats the purpose of a compact kit zoom. The 16-50PZ is fine for what it is--a compact convenience zoom.

1 upvote
jennyrae
By jennyrae (1 month ago)

this is proof that Samsung is copying Sony. right Sony fans?

2 upvotes
matty_boy
By matty_boy (1 month ago)

im not sure what the point is here, or why its relevant on a preview of the latest Sony NEX?

2 upvotes
quezra
By quezra (1 month ago)

Because Samsung Galaxy ALPHA <-obvious giveaway ;-)

0 upvotes
yonsarh
By yonsarh (1 month ago)

everybody copies American copies from German

0 upvotes
tabloid
By tabloid (1 month ago)

it should have a view finder

0 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (1 month ago)

For $200 less @$499, you get NEX-6 with EVF built in.

6 upvotes
LighterNow
By LighterNow (1 month ago)

Unless Sony has dramatically improved the LCD, leaving off the EVF on the a5100 is a deal-breaker for me. I had a 3N for a year and went from being in love with the whole package to cursing the choice to leave me flying nearly blind in sunlight. Never again.

4 upvotes
Rob Sims
By Rob Sims (1 month ago)

The NEX 3N (along with the A3000 and A5000) have the low resolution 460,000 dot panel whereas the A5100 has the much higher resolution 921,600 dot panel used on the A6000.

So in answer, yes a dramatically improved LCD.

2 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

Rib, LighterNow was bummed out by the difficulty of seeing the LCD clearly in sunlight. The issue isn't resolution - it's illumination at battery-life-tolerable levels.

0 upvotes
Rob Sims
By Rob Sims (1 month ago)

Not sure what the solution is then, other than picking up a model with an EVF though. In bright sunlight I always switch to an EVF.

0 upvotes
Mel Snyder
By Mel Snyder (1 month ago)

Rob, I cannot understand any interchangeable lens camera without an OVF or EVF. Otherwise, you have an interchangeable lens P&S or a super-iPhone. I guess with AF and OSS, you can just point your camera in the direction of the subject you can barely see on the LCD, and push the button.

0 upvotes
Rob Sims
By Rob Sims (1 month ago)

Mel - understand the sentiment, and agree to some extent, but it's a slight exaggeration to say you can't see anything on the LCD in sunlight. If that were the case P&S and iPhone's would also be unusable in daylight (which they're not). My biggest problem with my NEX-5n wasn't the composition, it was reviewing the exposure correctly (basically having to take the camera into shade to review the pictures). I also much prefer having an EVF, even just so I can review through the EVF afterwards ;-)

0 upvotes
YouCanDreamBig
By YouCanDreamBig (1 month ago)

Wonder if the touchscreen allows to touch and shoot like Olympus camera? or just touch and focus only?

0 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (1 month ago)

Looks like a nice camera but price is pretty close to the A6000. Seems like it would be worth it to pay the extra $100.00 for the A6000, considering a viewfinder alone would be worth the extra $100.00.

15 upvotes
rksl
By rksl (1 month ago)

Same as Canon G1X, no EVF. skip!
I have experience with Nex 5, even custom made a view finder.
I'm a SLR user.

2 upvotes
lacikuss
By lacikuss (1 month ago)

Sony reminds me of Casio in its epic days, when every other day they came up with a new wrist watch... Casio thought they will dethrone the Swiss watch industry...lol!

For every Nikon D810 or Canon 5d M III sold sony has to sell fifty A5100 to match profits...

Amigos, quality can't be surpassed with quantity!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 month ago)

For every Nikon D810 or Canon 5d M III sold sony has to sell fifty A5100 to match profits...

well canon and nikon have to sell 50 d5300's and 700d's as well.
What an argument is that?

12 upvotes
AlexiJ
By AlexiJ (1 month ago)

Funny, I don't ever recall the Swiss using Casio parts in their top of the line watches.
Every Nikon D810 sold must make Sony very happy as they have the 36 mp Sony sensor.....lol!

18 upvotes
PaulDavis
By PaulDavis (1 month ago)

I can find a Casio in just about every retail store I walk into. Just like I see huge bins of Nikon 3000 and 5000 series cameras in Costco. The stores carry these products because they sell. Sorry to burst your bubble Amigo but quantity surpasses quality in terms of profitability all day long.

I think you are someone that likes the best of the best when it comes to buying a product. Which is OK, I am not criticizing you for it. But a lot of us like to find capable products at reasonable prices. I think the majority of the Camera manufactures, including Sony with the A5100, do a good job of providing that.

8 upvotes
stevens37y
By stevens37y (1 month ago)

Nikon has serious financial problems
http://www.mirrorlessrumors.com/nikon-cuts-forecast-and-thecamerastoretv-calls-for-a-fm-mirrorless

1 upvote
T3
By T3 (1 month ago)

I don't think that was Casio's intent at all. Casio simply realized that not everyone wanted, or could afford, an expensive Swiss watch! So they made watches for the masses. It's a completely different market! Just like a Sony A5100 is a completely different market from a Nikon D810 or Canon 5D MKIII!

BTW, Casio and other asian watch makers almost killed the Swiss watch industry. What saved the Swiss watch industry was Swatch-- the inexpensive mass market watch! In other words, it was quantity over quality that saved the Swiss watch industry:

http://www.classicdriver.com/en/article/uhren/you-spin-me-round-%E2%80%93-how-swatch-saved-swiss-watch-industry-80s

http://fashion.telegraph.co.uk/news-features/TMG7866146/How-Swatch-saved-the-Swiss-watchmaking-industry.html

http://www.thestylishlook.com/journal/how-swatch-saved-swiss-watch-making/

17 upvotes
lacikuss
By lacikuss (1 month ago)

Well, for all of you that think quantity surpasses quality related to profits, please check your economics books.

Second; Casio would love to be with their watch business where the Swiss is but the truth of the matter is that they just can't and never could, that is why they keep producing $50 plastic disposable watches.

Similarly, Sony would love to have a dslr line that would sell for $6k (as NIkon and Canon does) but their inferior imaging quality just can't compete.

It is a shame to Sony that Nikon buys their sensors and is able to use their intelligence and creativity to deliver better images with their cameras than Sony does, therefore they just can't sell their cameras at the same price as Nikon does.

Quality will always beat quantity economics, but everybody knows that not every company has the quality people. systems and resources to take on the challenge to deliver high quality products.

BTW, why is Apple ...?

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 month ago)

Well sony does sell very high-end video camera's.
At price ranges Nikon can't even fathom.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ns=p_PRICE_2%7c1&ci=16763&setNs=p_PRICE_2%7c1&N=4256818817+4291215468&srtclk=sort

And about inferior imaging. I don't know what that is about.
http://www.fredmiranda.com/A7R-review/

besides both canon and nikon have not made an optic as sharp as this SONY lens
http://www.dxomark.com/Lenses/Sony/Sony-FE-Carl-Zeiss-Sonnar-T-STAR-55mm-F18

4 upvotes
goblover
By goblover (1 month ago)

Errr... Touchscreen?? Have or not? A bit confused since the reviewer don't seem to mention touchscreen, but on the comparison table it's said to have touchscreen.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (1 month ago)

It does.

1 upvote
Mr Graphic
By Mr Graphic (1 month ago)

No EVF! I need this for serious, creative photograpy, especially in direct sun light. Why do people buy cameras that have only an LCD?!
I have a Sony RX-10 for serious work, and a wonderful little RX-100 (original) for backup and a handy camera to carry around, but find it too difficult to get full use out of it since it has no EVF. And the newer RX-100 Mk2 is too expensive.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
rinkos
By rinkos (1 month ago)

cause its suppose to be a compact camera ...some stuff you just cant fit inside . for EVF just get the a6000 .

11 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (1 month ago)

Look at the rx100 mkIII Sony can do it.
Besides no hotshoe so no way to add a external evf too.

1 upvote
stevens37y
By stevens37y (1 month ago)

Use a display hood.

1 upvote
Diopter
By Diopter (1 month ago)

"Why do people buy cameras that have only an LCD?!"
Because it is enough even in bright light.
Instead of hysterical screaming, simply learn how to read the screen. Be really creative!

3 upvotes
tabloid
By tabloid (1 month ago)

LCD only…..lol

Not for me.

0 upvotes
rksl
By rksl (1 month ago)

A6000 is 6 month old, would like to by new model as it face out fast.
No EVF failed!

0 upvotes
T3
By T3 (1 month ago)

Millions of people all over the world shoot with digital cameras that only have an LCD. And you can count many millions more people who use their smartphone cameras that also only have an LCD. People have been doing it for years, and they still manage to get great pictures. It's not that difficult.

Not every picture is taken in blazing sunlight. (I, frankly, try to avoid shooting in harsh sunlight because it's just not the best light to shoot in anyways.) And even in blazing sunlight, it's not that difficult to shade the screen from direct sunlight.

4 upvotes
vincedpr
By vincedpr (1 month ago)

The problem i found with my nex 5t was that using lenses like the 35mm f1.8relatively close it was difficult to measure depth of field using just the lcd, especially outdoors. Compacts don't have this DoF issue as much so an lcd is fine. I moved over to a nex 6 and can now see why people like the evf!

0 upvotes
Aroart
By Aroart (1 month ago)

will people get a life and stop whining . its simple, this will be a great camera for the price...

21 upvotes
mcolvin1
By mcolvin1 (1 month ago)

Since the camera might be seen by some as an alternative to the Sony rx100 series, because of its small size, I hope that the studio comparisons of image quality include the rx100 ii and rx100 iii. I am in the market for a small, pocketable camera that has good image quality. Given the 24 mp and larger sensor, this camera might be a better option, but it is hard to know until we are able to see head-to-head studio comparisons. I know that most comparisons would be to the other mirrorless cameras, but some of us would want to see comparisons with some of the better small big sensor compact cameras. So I hope that DPR includes these in the comparisons.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (1 month ago)

"Given the 24 mp and larger sensor, this camera might be a better option, but it is hard to know until we are able to see head-to-head studio comparisons. "

Assuming it'll have the IQ of the A6000 (I really don't think it wouldn't), it'll have EXCELLENT IQ. That's for granted.

Now, the lens question...

2 upvotes
Total comments: 575
123