Previous page Next page

Samsung NX30 First Impressions Review

January 2014 | By Jeff Keller, Kelcey Smith
Buy on GearShop$997.996 deals


Preview based on a production Samsung NX30

As the compact camera market continues to decline, Samsung has focused its efforts on mirrorless cameras, and recent models such as the NX300 show that the Company's products are quite competitive. Samsung's latest flagship mirrorless - the NX30 - is arguably its most enthusiast-oriented camera yet.

The NX30 uses the same 20 megapixel, Samsung-designed CMOS sensor and Hybrid AF system as the compact NX300, and puts it into an SLR-style body, with a built-in electronic viewfinder and generous hand grip. Some of the biggest changes from the NX20 that came before it include a pull-out, tilting EVF, higher quality Super AMOLED display, improved video capabilities, and even more Wi-Fi features.

Samsung NX30 key features

  • 20.3 megapixel CMOS sensor with support for on-chip phase detection AF
  • Hybrid AF system has 105 phase-detect points and 247 contrast-detect points
  • DRIMeIV image processor
  • Tilting, XGA electronic viewfinder pulls away from the camera and tilts upward by 80 degrees
  • Improved fully-articulating 3-inch Super AMOLED display
  • More customizable buttons, plus dedicated drive mode dial
  • 9 fps burst mode
  • 1080/60p video recording with 'dual IS', mic input, and audio level adjustment
  • Uncompressed HDMI output at 30 fps
  • Wi-Fi with NFC
  • 'Smart Camera 3.0' features include improved remote shooting, 'Group Share', and baby monitor
  • Includes Adobe Lightroom 5

While both cameras have SLR-style bodies and fully articulating displays, the NX30 has little else in common with the NX20 that came before it. It's taller and wider, though thinner, thanks to a refined grip design. This grip - along with the thumb rest on the rear - make the NX30 more comfortable to hold. As you'll see later, the NX30 also comes with a new power zoom 16-50mm kit lens.

Perhaps the most significant design change is the NX30's new pull-out, tilting electronic viewfinder. In order to tilt the EVF, you must pull it away from the camera body (from our experience with a pre-production camera we found it a bit too easy to accidentally push back in). Once that's done, the viewfinder can tilt upward as much 80 degrees, similar to the EVF on the Panasonic GX7. In terms of resolution, the NX30's EVF has 2.36 million dots.

The display on the NX30 has also been improved upon compared to the NX20. While it's still 3" in size and fully articulating, it's now 'Super AMOLED', with a resolution of 1.03 million-dot equiv. (vs 614k on the NX20). Samsung points out that this display uses an S-Stripe pixel layout, rather than PenTile. The Company also touts a 33% improvement in brightness compared to its predecessor.

The 'guts' of the camera are considerably different, with Samsung leveraging other divisions of the company. The DRIMeIV processor uses a single-core, 800Mhz Cortex-A9 processor, as well as a SGX540 GPU, which are similar to what you'd find inside a lower-end smartphone these days.

The video features on the NX30 are competitive with higher-end mirrorless cameras. It can record movies at 1080/60p with stereo sound and dual (optical + electronic) image stabilization. The camera sports a mic input, and manual audio level adjustment. Enthusiasts will be pleased to know that the NX30 can output uncompressed video over HDMI at 30p.

One nice extra is that Samsung is throwing in a copy of Lightroom 5, at least in the USA and Europe (other regions TBC).

Smart Camera 3.0

Samsung was really the pioneer of Wi-Fi-enabled cameras, and its 'smart camera' lineup is now in its third generation. Notably, if you're using a compatible smartphones you'll be able to take advantage of the NX30's NFC feature, which allows you tap the devices together to share photos.

A new Remote Viewfinder Pro app offers further control over exposure and camera settings compared to previous versions of the software.

Other features include AutoShare (which transmits photos to mobile devices as they are taken), MobileLink (sends a photo to four devices at once), and tighter Dropbox integration. The NX30 can also serve as a baby monitor (or surveillance camera) - something we haven't seen before, for better or worse.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Samsung NX30

Comments

Total comments: 353
12
mscheuren
By mscheuren (5 days ago)

Here is a short review of mine, not about image quality.
Ahead: Sorry for my none native english:

I have had serveral cams, Nikon (D80/D90), Canon Analog, Sony A7.
Tested D5200, GH3, NEX-7, DX10
I sold my Sony due to I was very sad about the noisy shutter, no lenses, long time to wait for the FW update, bad Sony service and WEB (no response)....

I saw the NX30 and bought it several weeks later, and I am positive surprised what Samsung in this marketshare.

Pro’s
Lightweight, due to only plastic, thats’s what I have looking for trekking... ok, so the build is not so strong
Depth preview button, it feels like in analog times....
Very good handgrip,
Have more features than in the tech specs (HDR, Intervall)
Very good manual
Samsung released already a FW update, so they are working on this...
Very good and sensitve AMOLED Display
Nice quite shutter
Good video quality, also 60p in PAL
Fast Power On time
Tilt EVF, I don’t want to miss it anymore.
Samsungs service is very responsive

2 upvotes
mscheuren
By mscheuren (5 days ago)

Cons:
EVF and display lags, special in lowlight
Control of viewing picstures is in oposite of standard (left = forward / right = back)
Level Gauge is only for horizontal and less sensitve than others
Defnitions are strange, specially in German (Monochrom or B/W) = classic....
No add battery
No external charger
Short USB cable
Cutomizable settings are limited, (e.g in Auto no RAW)

Could have:
GPS
More and / or better Telezoom-Lenses
Earphone jack
Improved EVF
Vertical level gauge
Cutomizable switches (left / right, see cons)
iFN more customizable (is double with other buttons)

The design is „OK“, that means better than Canon, but not so nice as Nikon. OK, but this is personal.

Comparable to D5300, anyhow if you can, you should wait until price drops.
I got mine with 18-50 & 50-200 for about USD1050 (w/o taxes)

Hopeful we see here a final review soon..... and some FW updates....

2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (5 days ago)

There are significantly better lenses. Few bodies come with a second battery.

In the USA, retailers list a wall charger, so that would be external.

Right the D5300 likely uses an excellent Toshiba sensor, but it's a bit of a mystery.

"auto" rarely allows the use of raw, that's what P is for.

0 upvotes
mscheuren
By mscheuren (1 week ago)

Any idea if Samsung will release a 50-150mm/2.8? Like some rumors?

0 upvotes
AndreSJ
By AndreSJ (1 week ago)

photographyblog.com Has produced some great sample images from the NX30 paired with the NX 16-50mm f2-2.8 S ED OIS

check them out here:

http://www.photographyblog.com/previews/samsung_16_50mm_f2_2.8_s_ed_ois_photos/

3 upvotes
Shamael
By Shamael (1 week ago)

I see only one image subject there, 2 people standing for a shooting in front of a screen, shot at different lens length and all at ISO 100. That is, to my opinion, a bit weak to give an impression of what the camera can do.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Shamael:

That above link to PhotographyBlog is more about the new fast zoom than about the NX30.

The PhotographyBlog review of the NX30 has raws for download:

http://www.photographyblog.com/reviews/samsung_nx30_review/sample_images/

0 upvotes
Milan1958
By Milan1958 (1 week ago)

NX30 seems to be a very good camera, but for less money you get a reasonable DSLR kit. Mine Nikon D5200 is not much heavier and seeems to edge the NX30 in some things.

2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

And good Samsung lenses are optically better than Nikon lenses.

2 upvotes
mumintroll
By mumintroll (1 week ago)

HowaboutRAW yea sure. Check left side of pictures how bad is it. Even cheap nikon 18-135 is far better in corners. Especially first picture. Best samsung lenses are a lot worse than best nikon lenses.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
arbuz
By arbuz (1 week ago)

@mumintroll - reviewer says the lens were decentered. Besides, these are kit lens. The best Samsung lens are primes - with excellent 30 f2, 45 f1.8, 85 f1.4. Check DXO ratings and compare with your nikons, you may be surprised.

2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

mumintroll:

Boring, I never wrote that all Samsung lenses are better than all Nikon lenses.

However, yes Nikon can't keep up with the optical quality of good Samsung lenses--nor can Canon. Perhaps this will change, when Canikon realizes that Panasonic/Oly+Fuji also really challenge Canikon for optical quality.

0 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (4 days ago)

The NX30 has a superb quality touch screen (sensitive and responsive). Not sure you will find that on any DSLR. There are reasons to buy both. Why would someone buy a D7100 when they can get a D3300 cheaper? Your logic is a bit flawed.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

As an owner of several nx cameras and lenses, I'd never buy this camera.

Here are my reasons:
1) iq very similar (identical?) to that of my one year old nx300 (lower than fuji x and sony nex in high iso and dr)
2) same for af performance, (which is for sure lower than fuji x-t1 and seemingly lower than sony a6000)
3) price, too high imo
4) form factor and look, I prefer rangefinder shape ala nex7/pana gx7. The nx30 is big by my standards, and, again imo, ugly.
5) evf is still sequential and I see rainbow effects in it. I hate this. The one in x-t1 is so much better, bigger, with better colors

2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

It has better image quality than the Fuji X T1.

It is also better than the Sony Nex/A+Fuji Xs at higher ISOs, this point includes the Sony Nex5+A5000 and the Fuji XT1.

I still see no rainbow in the EVF, however in shadows, the Samsung's EVF lags, while the EVFs on the Fuji XT1 and Sony A7 don't show any appreciable lag.

So: That leaves EVF rainbows, which no one else reports, and the fact that it's not a rangefinder style body as valid points.

(I really like the image quality from the Sony A5000--it's a big leap for Sony including the kit lens. I've only seen raws from the A6000 from Imaging-Resource, so reserve judgement, but high ISO does not look promising with the A6000.)

4 upvotes
Usee
By Usee (1 week ago)

What should I write, as a owner of several Sigma cameras and lenses, if I'm not interested in a product, like the SD1M?

Should I moan, that I never buy this camera, because:

1) My NX 1000 is better at high ISO?

2) slower af performance (which is for sure slower than my NX 1000 with the 45 mm attached - especially in low light conditions)

3) too expensive, if compared in every regard to other cameras...
...especially in regard of the very restricted software choices and speed.

4) far to big and too heavy, I prefer light weight cameras with big grip, like the NX 30, NX 20.

5) no (tiltable) evf and no articulated screen, like the NX 30...

-

Oh, and there are probably several hundred other cameras I'd never buy, but I'm not interested in spending my time to moan about every camera I don't buy...

3 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 week ago)

Where are the A6000 raws on Imaging Resource? Their usual comparison images are straight from the camera JPEGs.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Revenant:

Down at the bottom of this page there are raws for download, to confuse matters the are also jpeg only samples mixed in:

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/sony-a6000/sony-a6000A7.HTM

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 14 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
AndreSJ
By AndreSJ (1 week ago)

photographyblog.com Has produced some great sample images from the NX30 paired with the NX 16-50mm f2-2.8 S ED OIS

check them out here:

http://www.photographyblog.com/previews/samsung_16_50mm_f2_2.8_s_ed_ois_photos/

0 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 week ago)

@HowaboutRAW
Thanks for the link!

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

It's ridicolous to see the usual fanboys defending samsung :-) I expressed my personal reasons, so that ppl can read them and decide if they share them or not. The fanboys won't share them and they'll buy 10 copies of this camera, good for them. I won't buy any, and so will do anybody who shares similar opinion. Is that a problem to share personal opinions? :-)

0 upvotes
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (1 week ago)

@tecnoworld No problem here; I own the NX30 and you're perfectly welcome to share your opinion on the camera and the multiple reasons you won't buy it... you have already done that lots of times anyway, I think I'd be able to list all the things you "hate" in the camera by heart. So, how are those Fuji/Sony/Panasonic cameras working out for you? Or do you still spend time talking about cameras you don't own and never will?

1 upvote
kandorian
By kandorian (1 week ago)

then you must really love bad cameras. you have all the choices in the world to buy lots of better camera gear but elected to choose and kept on buying an inferior brand.

there must be something wrong with you if you kept on ridiculing your own gear which you kept on wasting your money on but haven't really done anything to buy a camera gears which you say are better than your own.

what you are saying is self-contradiction and by that means anything you say defies rational thought.

if you can't appreciate your own gear, then throw them away since it seems that your gear disgusts you very much. buy something that you really like, otherwise you are looking more like a hypocrite.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

@tecnoworld:

A big problem, your claims about what cameras have better image quality, when shooting raw, are highly questionable, and simply not true when shooting at higher ISOs.

And I like the Fuji X T1, and think those lenses plenty good. But those Fuji lenses just aren't up to the best Samsungs for optical quality, and the Fuji struggles with higher ISOs. Same point applies to the Olympus EM1, but it has even greater high ISO problems than the Fuji.

So, you're left with the point that you don't want the EVF centered.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

How about, sorry but dxo proves you are wrong. Look at the a6000 results and compare those to nx300. And also look at older nex7, k5-ii, nex6, d5200, d7100, k-01...all of them score higher than nx300.

Fuji is not there since it does not have bayer sensor. My posts are based on numbers...what about yours?

0 upvotes
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (1 week ago)

High ISO wise, what DxO shows is very little differences between K5-ii, nex6 and nx300 (less than 1/2 stop, closer to 1/3rd stop...). Pretty negligible and certainly not something you'll notice in prints of any size. The main difference is DR where a max gap of 1 stop exists between the Samsung and others. The relative importance of this is up to you to decide but given the various techniques at your disposal to get more DR (from ETTR to HDR on the fly), it's not very significative IMO and doesn't really destroy Samsung's credibility. And don't forget, at low ISO (<400) the images are superb with lots of details (weak AA filter), high DR and low noise.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

tecnoworld:

DXO scoring is next to useless, for both sensors and lenses, this is point is generally well known by those who care about image quality. (For lenses DXO can say if the lens is reasonably good, but can't distinguish good from extraordinary.)

For lenses try Lenstip for lens reviews.

For higher ISOs the Nex 7 is not considered a serious camera, this is well known.

Then Nikon D7100 does NOT use a Sony sensor, so why bring it up? It's not the same sensor as the Nex 7. The Pentax K5 ii has that good Sony sensor used by so many, but at ISO 6400 it struggles, whereas the NX30/300 has no trouble with ISO 6400. Nor can Pentax lenses keep up with the optical quality of good Samsung lenses.

I believe the Nikon D5200 uses the same Toshiba sensor from the D7100, and right that is an excellent sensor. But it's not one you brought up originally.

I've only seen Imaging-Resource raws from the A6000, so reserve judgement, the A5000 looks a bit more promising--but not up to the NX300.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Iznogoud:

It's best not to go by DXO scoring at all, because that sensor scoring used by DXO ignores two incredibly important image quality factors: the lens, and the camera's internal processor.

Optically better lenses and better internal computing both significantly improve high ISO performance and dynamic range.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (1 week ago)

@HowaboutRAW overall scores at DXO are one thing but I generally look at the curves and they pretty much tell the truth about the IQ potential you can expect from RAW files (at least it's well in line with what I see in my cameras). Their lens tests are less clear to me so I don't use them. Sure, lenses are important (the most important factor?) and processing power also but even the very best lens and most powerfull processor won't get your images any better if the sensor is rubbish so RAW measurments are important too.
BTW, I don't agree about your comparative assesment of Samsung vs Fuji or Sony vs other lenses... I love the 30mm, 45mm and even 21 or 16mm from Samsung but Fuji's (23mm, 56mm or the 18-55 zoom) or newer Sonys (24f1.8, 35OSS or 50OSS)... are no slouch either. As for the 85mm being a Godsend only matched by the best Leica... I'll tell you when I'll buy one but my expectations are a bit lower ;-)

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 week ago)

Since DxO's measurements are based on the raw files, they do include any processing that is done by the camera before the data is saved as a raw file. 'What the sensor saw' at the moment of capture is not something that we (or DxO) have access to.
But what DxO doesn't take into account, besides the optics, is the influence of the raw converter you use. They don't convert their raw files into actual images; they draw their conclusions from the raw values.

Personally, I think the best way to compare IQ is to convert raw files from different cameras, and then use my eyes to assess them, rather than going by a restricted set of metrics that doesn't necessarily capture all aspects of what we call IQ. After all, aren't we interested in the quality we can get from our usual work flow, with the software of our choice? That seems more photographically relevant to me, than going slavishly by DxO's results.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Revenant:

I wasn't aware of DXO taking the internal computer into account.

However, as you say, going by conversions with serious software of photos taken with lenses is a better method.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Iznogoud:

I don't think that the 85mm Samsung matches the performance of the best Leica lenses, but yes very good Leicas.

Fuji makes excellent lenses, probably more than Samsung(Optron), but the best Samsung are better.

0 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 week ago)

HowaboutRAW:

Since the raw file is the starting point of DxO's analysis, anything that happened to the data before that point, is included in their findings. However, when they suspect that NR have been applied to the raw file, they usually mark those values as 'smoothed' in their graphs.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Revenant:

I had thought DXO started with output data from the sensor, not the raw files.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (5 days ago)

Revenant:

Quoting from the DXOMark website:

"All sensor scores reflect only the RAW sensor performance of a camera body. All measurements are performed on the RAW image file BEFORE demosaicing or other processing prior to final image delivery. DxOMark does not address such other important criteria as image signal processing, mechanical robustness, ease of use, flexibility, optics quality, value for money, etc. While RAW sensor performance is critically important, it is not the only factor that should be taken into consideration when choosing a digital camera."

This suggests some part of in camera computing is skipped in determining DXOMark scores. If you know otherwise please provide a clear link.

Now I realize there's some ambiguity in the above quotation but it needs to be clarified, because indeed there is processing done to all raw files by the camera before the raw is written to storage.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (5 days ago)

I just looked at the DPR comparison test scene (low light). ISO 3200, RAW, with Fuji X-T1, NX300 (NX30 not there, yet), Pentax K3 and Nikon D7100. Looking at print size (same size for all).

My personal taste is:

1) Fuji X-T1
2) Nikon D7100
3) Pentax K-3
4) Samsung NX300

Comment edited 27 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (5 days ago)

tecno:

And get raws from elsewhere, that's not a good scene for any camera. Try PhotographyBlog or shoot your own raws, I did, with all of those cameras above ISO 3200 too. And the one with the Toshiba sensor is the only serious competition for the Samsung NX30. (And I like the K3 well enough, but yet again like with the D7100 you've added another camera to your list that wasn't there to begin with.)

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (5 days ago)

Unfortunately the Sony A6000 is not on dpreview scene, yet. From the samples I saw, its high iso images are really good.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (5 days ago)

tecno:

Imaging-Resource has raws from the Sony A6000.

0 upvotes
pixelpushing
By pixelpushing (4 days ago)

Veteran Samsung hater and basher tecno-antifanboy here says he will 'never buy this camera'. Goes on to post tons of lying FUD about NX series, how he prefers pretty much anything and everything else.

...Absolutely nobody is surprised, impressed or interested in why.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (4 days ago)

I'm such a samsung hater that I bought four cameras from them and 10 lenses...

And I first got to nx well before you even started being a samsung fanboy...that is long ago :-)

So learn before talking. I talk about facts and numbers...what about you?

Look at how much interest the nx30 arises when compared to k3 or x-t1. Wonder why?

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (4 days ago)

tecno,

Interest in the K3 or X-T1 has a lot to do with those bodies being by well known and established camera manufacturers. The X-T1 (with the XE2) is also Fuji finally getting many of the bugs out of the X APSC system, while making the smart decision of sticking with basically the same excellent 16MP Sony sensor from the XPro1.

Not sure why the great interest in the K3 over the K5, K5ii or K5iis. Interest seems to be more about where the review is/was.

I've handled the K3, seems excellent, but why would one buy it unless one is committed to the Pentax system? I guess it has better weather sealing and a faster buffer than many of the Canikon APSC alternatives. Not sure its buffer is faster than the higher end Canon APSC DSLR bodies.

I'm less than impressed by the optical quality of most Pentax lenses I've tried--they're down with Canikon.

0 upvotes
CaseyComo
By CaseyComo (1 week ago)

That's some aggressive noise reduction in low light.

3 upvotes
Usee
By Usee (1 week ago)

...that's why one can shoot RAW and show that one can do better in pp, than the OOC JPG, or default converter settings.

I prefer the fine grain, that I can get from NX RAWs, depending on the converter and the settings.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

I agree. Even with nr turned off, my nx300 applies heavy nr at iso 1600 to 3200, making the jpg unusable - for me - at those isos. Luckily raw files are better.

0 upvotes
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (1 week ago)

Indeed, NR is heavy handed and could be much better. RAW it is to make the best out the camera @ high ISOs.
@tecnoworld, I have also noticed that the setings for high ISO NR are inefective bellow ISO 6400 on my NX30 and are only active for ISO 6400 and up. Bellow ISO 6400, there is no way to adjust NR AFAIK. Samsung would be well advised to offer the same NR settings for all ISO or, even better (look at Pentax) to be able to select NR strength ISO by ISO.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

I bought the nx300 one year ago. I immediately noticed the nr thing, and I sent several reports to samsung about this. I just got a couple of standardized emails, nothing more. Of course, nothing was done to improve this issue and the nx30, which is basically a nx300 with the evf, did not improve this as well. Very bad, imo.

1 upvote
ChuckTa
By ChuckTa (1 week ago)

Why not trying shooting raw, it came with a free Lightroom software!

1 upvote
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

Of course I shoot raw+jpg. Sometimes I just don't have time to use a pc on a raw and I'd like to have a decent jpg even at higher iso, as any other comparable camera can do.

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (1 week ago)

I agree with tecnoworld here. the fact that you can get very decent results by working with raw is even more frustrating IMO since we know that the potential for great jpeg is here.

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
1 upvote
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (5 days ago)

The fact is that the fanboys will always say: is this bad? Well don't use it, since it's not important! Rather then: is this bad? Then fix it, since it's important!

0 upvotes
pixelpushing
By pixelpushing (4 days ago)

Despite supposedly owning an NX300, Tecno is the most rabid anti-Samsung poster on this website. I would take his 'analysis' with a grain of salt. He's had his comments moderated before and is (obviously) quite antagonistic toward anyone suggesting NX cameras are capable of good or superior results.

My NX300 NR in JPEG is not significant unless the ISO tops 1600. The JPEG engine for the NX2000/300/30 is vastly improved over prior models, and I find it on par with most other cameras in this class. Even my A57 had smearing at BASE ISO in JPEG. No camera is perfect.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (4 days ago)

:-) look at any review around. They'll all talk about the nr issue in samsung jpg. Even if you are such a fanboy, please try to be objective from time to time. Oh yes, that would negate the fanboism, right :-)

0 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (1 week ago)

I get no respect.

1 upvote
Usee
By Usee (1 week ago)

Try to be a red dot Leica...

...that's the point...

...some people rather want to see a little point, instead of a wide horizon.

-

Ever met people with a pointless point of view?

If one has a horizon, it is no harm to skip a single point...

2 upvotes
Ben Ramsey
By Ben Ramsey (1 week ago)

...some people rather want to see a little point, instead of a wide horizon.

Like macro photographers. ;)

0 upvotes
Usee
By Usee (1 week ago)

...yeah and some even think that a 1:1 ratio is natural (or original)...

...for the natural sensor of the camera, or what...

...silly isn't it?

-

It is just a question of the POV...
...and I like a horizon with a whole lot of POVs!

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (1 week ago)

Some comparison to its competitors would be interesting. Does it have any real advantages compared to Panasonic G6, GX7, Olympus E-M10, Sony a6000? What are the disadvantages?
Why does it cost more, even with the old big and and boring 18-55?

Seems to be very close to G6, just bigger.
http://camerasize.com/compact/#455.374,497.105,ha,t

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Better at high ISOs than the OlyPana. Also better than the Fuji XT1 at higher ISOs.

More and better native lenses than the Sony.

Much better video than Oly.

Right: The highend Pana, Oly, Fuji, all have bodies built to a higher standard.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (1 week ago)

I don't see better image quality than any of them, all about the same (except Samsung JPEGs are awful, especially at high ISOs).
Better video than E-M10? E-M10 has pretty good video, better than say Nikon D610 (see DPR comparison), and don't forget 3-axes IBIS which makes handheld video usable even with primes and legacy lenses (unlike all other mirrorless brands).

2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

peevee1:

Haven't seen video, or shot it, with the Olympus EM10; it's not really out on display yet. However the EM1's video is not good.

My judgements about still image quality, which I stand by, are based on my own raw shooting with these cameras.

Right, Samsung does not have a good reputation for out of camera jpegs, but that's not the image quality of the NX30--that's the jpeg quality.

Also right better stabilization helps with video, but no one really complains about the lens based stabilization of Samsung.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (1 week ago)

Peevee: I totally agree. Imo this is a 'just' a good camera, too expensive, that does not shine in any field.

1 upvote
pixelpushing
By pixelpushing (4 days ago)

Search tecnoworld's posting history vis-a-vis any Samsung product and judge for yourself if he's a fair critic of the NX line.

0 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (4 days ago)

Like my comments here?

http://www.stevehuffphoto.com/2013/06/29/samsung-nx300-improved-site-speed-buy-and-sell-and-more/

Haha :-)

0 upvotes
tjobbe
By tjobbe (1 week ago)

Jeff,

try looking thru the view finder with your left eye and you will find the pulled out EVF to be revelation

The benefit of that compared to the GX7 is not the tilting only but that you have your nose no longer stick to the display.

You might as well find the diopter dial now placed in a location where it can no longer accidentially change its setting when you pull the camera out of a tight messenger bag.

4 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (1 week ago)

"I wasn't a big fan of this feature on the Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX7, and my opinion remains unchanged. I just don't feel the need to look down into the EVF when I have the much larger OLED display that I can use for the same purpose."

Wow. You make the "nice bonus when shooting in bright light" sound like it is a bad feature.

Jeff Keller, you have to work on your writing style. At the very least, when talking about non-intrusive gimmick bonus features you should sound neutral, not negative. Negative - only for the gimmicks which break some workflows, make features less accessible, etc. Tech-writing wrapped in a consumer friendly format isn't easy and you need to work on it.

"A smartphone-like pull-down menu [...]"
"While the camera can do silly things like act as a baby monitor [...]"

Hehehe. So Samsung stopped "hiding" the fact that the NX cameras run the Tizen, a mobile OS for phones and in-vehicle infortainment.

14 upvotes
Sonyshine
By Sonyshine (1 week ago)

Hmmmmm Damned with faint praise.

7 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (1 week ago)

Why would you need a grip that deep, as opposed to the NX20 grip? So you can get your fingers stuck between it and the lens?

1 upvote
AdamT
By AdamT (1 week ago)

Someone on the Samsung forum complained about that regarding the 85mm . the solution is to get an NX20 ;)

Comment edited 16 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

AdamT:

The NX20 has serious raw buffering problems.

Haven't tried the 85mm on the NX30, so can't comment on how universal this stuck fingers thing is.

0 upvotes
tjobbe
By tjobbe (1 week ago)

my fingers get plenty of room....no complaints here

0 upvotes
AdamT
By AdamT (1 week ago)

I don`t have an issue with NX20 RAW buffering (didn`t with the 1100 or 200 either), I don`t try and use drive mode in RAW though .. if you want to see REAL RAW buffering issues try a recent Nikon Compact like the P330 or P7800, 4 secs between shots

0 upvotes
Leandros S
By Leandros S (1 week ago)

Never been a problem for me with the Pentax K-30, which has an even deeper grip, although if anyone wants to donate a particularly large legacy lens for testing, feel free. ;)

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

AdamT:

Depends what you're trying to do on the NX20. Put an U1 SD card in, and try to shoot say 5 single raws over the space of 5 seconds--it will lock up on the third.

Yes, I've tried the newish firmware on the NX20, and it only slightly helps with buffering. So unless there's some massive new firmware upgrade from early 2014 that solves the problem, it be there.

The NX300 is good, but not real good for buffering.

And the NX30 is a bit better.

One experience I had with the Galaxy NX was excellent, the other not so much. But I'd never consider buying that camera so didn't chase down the differing results.

Comment edited 8 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
AdamT
By AdamT (1 week ago)

Just tried it (admittedly indoors where its a bit slower locking) and took 5 in a row with a brief "Processing" (1 sec) and could shoot again so really not an issue - Tried Drive mode and it took 7 shots before Processing and a wait .. using a Sandisk Exteme 20Mb Per sec 8Gb card and the firmware is the one released this month .. I`d have thought the 30 and 300 would be the same ..

the biggest buffer on earth wouldn`t make me buy the Galaxy NX ! .

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

AdamT:

That sounds like a real improvement. I don't own the NX20 anymore so can't try out that early 2014 firmware.

The problem is that it took Samsung more than a year's time to release that firmware.

Anyhow the NX30, which I've tried, is good at fast shooting, and is better at high ISOs than the NX20.

0 upvotes
AdamT
By AdamT (1 week ago)

The New Mk3 version of the bulky 18-55 was supposed to be a lot better than the crappy versions which criippled the NX10 , 5, 11 & 20

Try a 20-50 , I`ve used 5 samples of this stellar little lens from the Original NX100 version to the latest white ones which ship with the 2000 (it's what I`m using on my 20) and every one was bang on corner to corner wide open, CA is almost nonexistant even in RAW with no correction ..

It`s not magnificent at 50mm when shot at infinity for sharpness (fine at closer range) but if you look at it as a 20mm Prime that zooms if necessary then I can`t see anyone would be disappointed , it`s better than the 20mm Prime at the same apertures for edge performance and CA .

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
Caerolle
By Caerolle (1 week ago)

Really, this is all that got added? Not much into.
BTW, the monitor on the back of a camera may have a bigger picture than the viewfinder in absolute size, but to me the view finder image is much larger when I look at it, as it is much closer and fills much more of my field of view. I can see far more detail than on the monitor screen, plus it makes it easier to get a good composition. That is just me, though.

0 upvotes
ViCorp
By ViCorp (1 week ago)

Any chance in the future when one clicks on a link on the front page to an article, it actually goes to the article and not some intermediate page with the true article link? It is really annoying.

10 upvotes
Caerolle
By Caerolle (1 week ago)

I assume that is so they get more page clicks, but it is annoying for sure.

2 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (1 week ago)

It's not so confusing, if you think about it.

The original article (which is linked from the intermediate page) was published long time ago.

This article intermediate article is needed so that you have something on front page to link to the 3 month old and now updated article.

1 upvote
Michael Ma
By Michael Ma (1 week ago)

Why not just a regular review?

2 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (1 week ago)

I don't own it, I didn't have it, I don't want it. It's a pity Samsung is such an also-ran, given it's done a better job than Canon OR Nikon in mirror-less.

4 upvotes
targut
By targut (1 week ago)

You have really a hard job posting about every product you don't have, don't like and are not going to buy. The live is so short and there are so many product that you have never heard about.

Or, may be you are paid for such posts? In any case, thank you. It tells something about you but nothing about this particular product.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 24 seconds after posting
8 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

RichRMA:

For many years, even in Japan, Honda was considered an "also ran" car maker. Honda was considered a motorcycle maker.

Honda's real successes with cars came from abroad.

So careful when saying that Samsung is an "also ran" maker of digital mirrorless cameras. Sony and Apple, Motorola, HTC and Panasonic have all made the mistake of treating Samsung less than seriously--and only Apple seriously competes with Samsung where their businesses overlap. (Ironic that Google, the maker of Android, owned Motorola mobile for a while.)

1 upvote
Gesture
By Gesture (1 week ago)

Samsung makes a quality camedra. Ergonomics and interface on the NX cameras is world class. And the interface/capabilities isn't stripped bare on the netry level models. My Samsung NX1000 focus accuracy is as good as anything I've seen.

1 upvote
Olymore
By Olymore (1 week ago)

I'm not sure why a camera's popularity should be used to judge its quality. As you said yourself they've done a decent job of developing a good system.
I suspect they are in this for the long run. After all it took Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Olympus etc. a long time to become accepted as makers of quality equipment at a time when the high end market was dominated by German firms.

0 upvotes
justmeMN
By justmeMN (1 week ago)

Our Samsung microwave oven was mirrorless too. :-)

9 upvotes
h2k
By h2k (1 week ago)

hehe, you joker.

1 upvote
Olymore
By Olymore (1 week ago)

As are Canon copiers

1 upvote
beavertown
By beavertown (1 week ago)

Can't wait to see the full review.

I hope the NX Mini also gets a review.

2 upvotes
ipecaca
By ipecaca (1 week ago)

Why would one be interested in samsung cameras, what's the catch? Truly interested, can owners tell me?

1 upvote
h2k
By h2k (1 week ago)

One aspect, there are almost no mirrorless cameras that combine
- a pronounced grip and
- a side-hinging touchscreen monitor

As far as i see, there are only Pana's G6 and GH3 and GH4 offering these combined features in the mirrorless market, and perhaps a few bulkier DSLRs from Canon and Nikon.

I for one do need exactly this:
- pronounced grip
- side-hinging touchscreen monitor

And i wish there were more cameras of that style (also slimmer ones, omitting the view-finder).

7 upvotes
targut
By targut (1 week ago)

Sorry for you. But, find it yourself.

One tip though: think about lenses.

2 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (1 week ago)

Not an owner, but followed Sammy for some time. NX advantages:

- Good sensor with lots of headroom in RAWs
- Good selection of affordable lenses
- Pancake lenses
- Shortest flange distance or all mirrorless. *ANY* legacy lens, literally, can be adapted.

Disadvantages:

- Crippled JPEG engine.
- No 3rd party lenses so far.

Also, previously Samsung was charging a premium for everything. But in the last two years prices for NX gear have dropped considerably.

The prices of old + poor JPEG engine = unpopular. Heck, even Sigma doesn't make lenses for them...

3 upvotes
cinemascope
By cinemascope (1 week ago)

@thephilips
Actually it's one of the longer flange distances, and Leica M lenses cannot be adapted, which is a major bummer...

4 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (1 week ago)

Presumably, for the same reason one would be interested in any other company's cameras.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

cinemascope:

In fact Leica M lenses can be mounted on Samsung NX cameras, however one needs to unscrew the mounting ring and install another one of a different thickness; it’s thicker I believe. So that NX body would be somewhat dedicated to M lenses.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

ThePhilips:

I agree with those reasons for seeking out NX bodies and lenses, but to pick a nit: There are indeed manual focus 3rd party lenses--eg by Samyang/Rokinon.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

ipecaca:

The best Samsung NX lens, the 85mm f/1.4 is the optical equal of good Zeiss and Leica lenses, so optically a good bit better than the best from Fuji or Olym/Pana, and much better than anything from Canikon. (The new Sigma 50mm f/1.4 "Art" looks promising.") And I don't want to read a word about any testing.

There are other very very good Samsung NX lenses, eg the 30mm f/2.0.

This newish sensor for the NX300 and 30 is somewhat better at high ISOs than the good Sony sensor in the Fuji XT1.

Unlike Fuji and Sony, Samsung doesn't do many stupid and confusing menus on these NX bodies--the Galaxy NX excepted.

2 upvotes
ipecaca
By ipecaca (1 week ago)

The lens range is big, but not as fast as say fuji. But I reaaly like (and wait from fuji) that sammy goes to 16mm instead of usual 18mm in the standard zooms (both pancake and "pro 2-2.8(wow)").
The flange distance is 25.5mm, so the longest in mirrorless (excluding leica). I doubt anyone will adapt mirrorless lenses, but the question is: is there room for speedbooster adapter?
Checked out the nx300 sensor here in studio test - really good, can't agree that it's better than sony sensor in terms of noise, but on par. Although looking at sample shots - jpeg engine somewhat takes away the advantage of good sensor and lens. So you shoot mostly raw?

1 upvote
ipecaca
By ipecaca (1 week ago)

Personally, I was choosing between fuji and sony some months ago, but now I see I should have been choosing between sammy and fuji)
But anyway, I really like controls on fuji, that was the catch for me, as I used to shoot a lot on fixed 40mm rangefinders. And I see that sammy is the better dslr-like grip (now I know where to address all the "bad grip" moaners in fuji forum)) ).

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (5 days ago)

ipecaca,

I suggest you get raws from the NX30 or NX300, more raws than here, shot with better lenses, then extract with ACR 8.4 and you will see the Samsung doing better high ISO performance than all sorts of cameras that used APSC Sony sensors, including the good 16MP Sony sensor. (This means downloading raws, PhotographyBlog has them.)

Please pay attention to this as a general rule, when making image quality claims about raw capable cameras, DO NOT cite jpegs, as you did above.

Then it's well known that Samsungs don't have a great jpeg engine, so if you only shoot jpeg use a Fuji X APSC body.

One APSC camera that does outperform the Samsung NX30 for image quality, particularly at high ISOs: The Nikon D7100. However even good lenses from Nikon can't match the optical quality of good Samsung lenses. So to get the most out of the D7100, you'll need Zeiss lenses. (And the D7100 uses a Toshiba sensor, not a Sony sensor.)

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 weeks ago)

the cheap 20-50mm kit zoom is optically excellent.

the 30mm f/2.0 is also optically excellent.

the 45mm f/1.8 is just very good.

have no idea what that 12-24mm is.

the big+expensive for Samsung f/1.4 85mm is optically staggering--like good Leica and Zeiss lenses.

2 upvotes
mscheuren
By mscheuren (2 weeks ago)

Thanks HowaboutRAW..

for the 12-24 I mean this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-12-24mm-4-0-5-6-Camera-Black/dp/B00FB2XA18/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1396557059&sr=8-1&keywords=samsung+12-24

Also:
Whats about the 50-200mm?
I assume it will be "not bad"...
and the 18-200mm will be worthlesse, isn't it?

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (2 weeks ago)

Don't know anything about the smaller zoom, here are reviews from B&H:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/898208-REG/Samsung_ex_w1224anb_kr_12_24mm_f_4_5_6_ED_Wide_Angle.html

The bigger 50-200mm isn't optically great, I owned vII and it didn't have great colour when fully zoomed, vIII didn't seem much better when I tried it.

As a general rule, the more expensive Samsung NX lenses are excellent at a minimum. The some of the less expensive ones like the 30mm f/2.0 are also excellent.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (2 weeks ago)

mscheuren:

I wasn't real impressed by the optical quality of the more expensive 18-200mm zoom. It's certainly no bad, but nowhere near what Samsung (really Optron) can do with lenses.

1 upvote
mscheuren
By mscheuren (1 week ago)

Thanks you HowaboutRAW

0 upvotes
targut
By targut (1 week ago)

I have the 12-24mm one. It is a very good lens: sharp and excellent contrast. NX200 + 12-24mm have replace my ex-5DII+17-40 without any loss.

2 upvotes
mscheuren
By mscheuren (3 weeks ago)

Which Samsung lenses do you recommend?
I am thinking about the 12-24mm, 30mm, 45mm, and some others, but not finalized?

Also what's about the Samsung adapter for Pentax K-Bajonett adapter and the usage of Pentax lenses?
Any experience?

Thanks
Michael

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 15 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 weeks ago)

the cheap 20-50mm kit zoom is optically excellent.

the 30mm f/2.0 is also optically excellent.

the 45mm f/1.8 is just very good.

have no idea what that 12-24mm is.

the big+expensive for Samsung f/1.4 85mm is optically staggering--like good Leica and Zeiss lenses.

0 upvotes
EthanP99
By EthanP99 (1 week ago)

Samsung 85 is terrible actually (price/performance wise)

http://www.dxomark.com/Lenses/Compare/Side-by-side/Samsung-NX-85mm-F14-ED-SSA-on-Samsung-NX-20-versus-85mm-F1.4-EX-DG-HSM-Canon-on-Canon-EOS-100D-versus-85mm-F1.4-EX-DG-HSM-Canon-on-Canon-EOS-6D___422_802_322_871_322_836

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

EthanP99:

No, the 85mm is extraordinary.

And DXO lens testing is nearly useless; it can only tell if a lens is decent, whereas anyone with decent vision can see how much better a good Leica is than an ostensibly good Canikon. And this particular Samsung stands with Leica and Zeiss for optical quality.

So try using lenses and then commenting instead of commenting on silly tests. DXO sensor scoring isn't real helpful either.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
h2k
By h2k (4 weeks ago)

Any large-sensor camera with a side-hinging monitor is very welcome.

2 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (1 month ago)

PLUS: At least Samsung hasn't given up on proper cameras just. CONS: Samsung - don't they make phones that can suit 4K video etc already?

0 upvotes
mscheuren
By mscheuren (1 month ago)

Hi, does anyone know the Bit Rate of The Samsung RAW (SRW 2.0) format?
Thanks

The NX looks pretty well to me....

0 upvotes
Daniel Lauring
By Daniel Lauring (2 months ago)

Every Samsung I've ever seen falls down on high ISO image quality. From the sample images this one does too. IMHO, that makes it a no sale.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (2 months ago)

Let's see shooting raw and extracting with serious raw processing software, not the old included Silkypix variation: The NX100 is useable thru ISO 2000, the NX20 thru ISO 4000, and the NX300 thru ISO 6400.

So that's an odd definition of the term "falls down". Unless you can think of an APSC body that's easily useable in 2014 at ISO 50,000.

Albeit, some Samsung NX jpeg engines have a bad reputation.

7 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (1 week ago)

Compare RAW to Sony NEX 7 and it is very similar. DXO Mark will confirm this (check NX300).

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

viking79:

I'm pretty sure that the Nex 7 can't really shoot at ISO 6400, whereas both the NX30 and 300 can. Even the Sony Nex 5/Fuj XE2 have more trouble at ISO 6400.

So, no on the Nex 7.

0 upvotes
AussieBarb
By AussieBarb (2 months ago)

What is the AF like? I ditched my NX11 sick of it "hunting" and focus system poor.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (2 months ago)

Seems good, like the NX300.

Not amazing or anything like that.

0 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (1 week ago)

Depends on the lens. The 45mm f/1.8 focuses almost instantly, as fast or faster than most DSLR and 50mm lenses. Some of the other lenses are notably slower. It will still hunt in low light of course, as any mirrorless camera will, but it does much better than my A7 or something.

1 upvote
Karroly
By Karroly (1 week ago)

In my living room, when lit by a 80W bulb only, my NX11 with the 18-55mm OIS II zoom, set at 55mm F5.6, focuses in less than 1 second on a contrasty target, in up to 2 seconds on a low-contrast target and hunts only on targets with nearly no contrast and does not hunt @ 18mm F3.5...

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (1 week ago)

Karroly:

What does the NX11 have to do with the original question? The NX30/300 use a significantly different type of AF, even with the same lens.

0 upvotes
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (1 week ago)

AF is very good for this kind of camera. Slower than my 1DMkIIn but it gets on target even in modest light. As with any other system, speed is also up to the lens used. I find it very fast with the 20-50 and 45mm, a bit less with the pancakes.

0 upvotes
tmurph
By tmurph (2 months ago)

The nearest competitor is the Panasonic GX7...not the G6 then, strange one that, considering they are both DSLR type cameras whereas the GX7 is more like a Olympus Pen.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (2 months ago)

No, that Panasonic can't match the high ISO performance of this sensor. This NX30 competes with Fuji X APSC sensored bodies.

And the best Samsung lenses are better than the best Fuji lenses.

2 upvotes
ipecaca
By ipecaca (4 weeks ago)

Can you name one of that lenses?

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 weeks ago)

ipecaca:

The Samsung 85mm f/1.4 is optically the equal of good Leica and Zeiss lenses. The best Fuji lenses are not. Yes, the best Fuji lenses are very good, but no, not extraordinary like this particular Samsung.

1 upvote
ipecaca
By ipecaca (1 week ago)

I hope now it is equaled in IQ by fuji 56mm f1.2. The thing is that samsung lens line-up seems slow to me (apart from the 85 f1.4 and 16-50 f2-2.8). And it's not extensively tested neither here or on slrgear, or photozine, so I'm no expert in samsung. Just wanted to say that fuji glass is really stunning to use.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (4 days ago)

ipecaca:

I'm sure that 56mm Fuji lens is optically very good, it sells out immediately. And hasn't been extensively reviewed. No one is disputing the optical quality of well done Fuji lenses.

However, I've never seen a good Fuji lens that's the optical equal of good Leica or Zeiss lenses, whereas this particular Samsung (really Optron) is the equal of good Leica and Zeiss lenses.

For fast Samsung NX lenses, there's also the 45mm f/1.8 and the 30mm f/2.0, no not as fast at that Fuji, but both small, light and both optically very good. (The 30mm f/2.0 was reviewed here and at LensTip. Not sure if the 45mm f/1.8 has been reviewed at LensTip, the 85mm hasn't.)

0 upvotes
Ionut Stoica
By Ionut Stoica (2 months ago)

Well... tested it, used it. Here is the video review: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BtIR_7s1Wmo

0 upvotes
h2k
By h2k (1 week ago)

I don't even know which languare you're talking in that video. I did switch on EN subtitles, still didn't feel enlightened.

1 upvote
Krogs
By Krogs (2 months ago)

I'm planning on a long trip (a couple months), including safari, birding in Asia, etc. My old heavy Nikon D80 won't cut it, I thought about a D7100 or Canon 70D, but I'm thinking a lighter camera is the way to go (and I'll likely use it more after the trip if it is smaller than a full DSLR). I'll shoot mostly stills, but want decent video for occasional use. Any suggestions?

I leaning towards the Olympus EM1, but also like the specs on this Samsung NX30. There are more lens for the Oly and I'll need a good long telephoto for safari. What would be the best long lens (under $1,300) to pair with the NX30?

Thanks!

0 upvotes
Nabitha
By Nabitha (2 months ago)

My purely beginner reply is do not go on Safari unless the camera has built-in GPS. My D5100 took very good pictures on Safari, but now without GPS I have to rely on the date of the picture to tell me what camp I was in. Even with the date available, I have no idea where those lions were within the preserve. Apparently, the NX does not have built-in GPS

0 upvotes
JEROME NOLAS
By JEROME NOLAS (2 months ago)

My NX10 is looking better each day...Can't believe it, is it so hard to design a good looking camera?

2 upvotes
austin design
By austin design (1 week ago)

Form follows function, most especially with cameras. I bet there's never been a single photographer whose name we might know (Adams, Karsh...) who cared one iota about how his camera looked.

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (2 months ago)

is the extra thickness merely due to the handle and evf protrusions?

if that is the case, it's not much bigger than a nx20 - only about 1/2 cm or less than 1/4" wider and higher.

but OMG is the central section (evf housing) ever ugly!

0 upvotes
SalmanH
By SalmanH (3 months ago)

Don't know about the IQ, but wow, that is one ugly camera!

3 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (2 months ago)

That's ugly to you-not necessarily others.

Have you ever seen a Samsung NX20 in person?

1 upvote
austin design
By austin design (1 week ago)

I like real, useable grips. Which makes this Samsung the most attractive one I've seen.

2 upvotes
whtchocla7e
By whtchocla7e (3 months ago)

This camera is large compared to the new Fuji X-T1 and the Sony A7. That's a shame.

0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (3 months ago)

It's not THAT large. Not when you compare the cameras with mounted lenses. NX30 on average would be the smallest, because NX system has more smaller lenses.

0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (3 months ago)

Plus, NX30 has fully articulated LCD.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 months ago)

whtchocla7e:

And the Sony A7 has many fewer native lenses and is a good bit more audible.

The the AF was better with the Samsung NX bodies years before Fuji started to work out the X APSC AF with the Fuji XE2--only released in the fall of 2013.

The best Samsung lenses, too few, are optically better than the best Fuji lenses, but of course on average the Fujis are better.

0 upvotes
jennyrae
By jennyrae (3 months ago)

Shame a7 is large compared to rx1.

2 upvotes
EthanP99
By EthanP99 (1 week ago)

http://camerasize.com/compact/#497.102,520.388,487.369,ga,t

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (3 months ago)

Why so voluminous (compared to the nx20)?

So it "looks" more expensive?

I've been waiting for this, but now I feel disappointed - a mirrorless should be more compact. I might just stick with my NX20!

1 upvote
Iznogoud
By Iznogoud (3 months ago)

I'm thinking better grip, better balance with larger lenses to come and larger eye-relief for the VF...

As for mirrorless having to be more compact in general... I just disagree, smaller cameras are often very inconvenient to shoot with. All a matter of taste I guess...

3 upvotes
CalvinLayne
By CalvinLayne (2 months ago)

The main selling of the mirror less system is it's size lol.

0 upvotes
Macintosh Sauce
By Macintosh Sauce (3 months ago)

I can't wait to get this new Samsung NX30, because it has many of the features I've been looking for in a mirrorless camera.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 months ago)

Piece of advice: check the buffer before plunging into purchase. And: Samsung does not have a great reputation for in camera jpegs, so if that's important to you, check that feature too.

0 upvotes
AlpCns2
By AlpCns2 (3 months ago)

Renowned pro Kirk Tuck has tested several Samsung cameras and was impressed, also for the excellent optics. You might want to check out his VSL (visual science lab) site with several fine and balanced articles.

0 upvotes
Pete peterson
By Pete peterson (3 months ago)

It looks like Samsung has it's sights on Sony again. It killed off Sony's (ericsson) strong mobile phone position, it killed of Sony's No1 position in TVs and now it's gunning for their camera position as well.

If the Samsung sensor will be on par with the excellent NEX sensor and the samsung F2-2.8 zoom beats the very average sony PZ 16-50 F3.5-5.6, then this could be the beginning of the end for NEX dominance.
The NEX has two things going for it small size and excellent sensor.

3 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (3 months ago)

So far, Samsung hasn't done anywhere near as good a job marketing and distributing its cameras, as its smartphones, tablets and TVs.

2 upvotes
Pete peterson
By Pete peterson (3 months ago)

That is a good point but people that are into photography, especially the younger ones, can easily switch to a company that offers more for less, just as they did with mobiles. Sony is now trying to play catch with its Z series mobiles.
If you are not buying Nikon, Canon or Olympus then it doesn't matter what your camera is called and people will opt for the one that does what they (think they) want at a lower price.

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 months ago)

Pete:

The sensor in the NX300 is already well established as an excellent APSC sensor.

And Samsung already ships more and better lenses for the NX system than Sony ships for the Nex system. The best Samsung NX lenses easily best anything from Sony. And are really only matched by good Leica or Zeiss lenses.

2 upvotes
srados
By srados (3 months ago)

Depends...Sony's TV domination was when we had old fashion TV's not the new ones.Sharp was the best TV in my taste couple years ago not Sony.Sony-Ericsson telephones, maybe at the time Nokia was killing all the competition.Sony never captured marked with one successful telephone product and build on that platform.Usually their products fall apart after a year of use.And Sony again in camera department, did not manage to put product forward good enough to swing for example a canon-nikon user to switch to their camera system (the snobbish crowd)...I still do not have trust in Sony since everything (and I mean EVERY SINGLE SONY ELECTRONIC DEVICE did fail me in one way or another).Only product I have at home that is Samsung is my TV, that cracked by itself in the corner from heat emitting controls.I would rather buy a camera from camera manufacturers than camera from a fridge makers, since they have reputation to keep.Home appliance maker has nothing to loose.That is how I "rate" companies

0 upvotes
Pete peterson
By Pete peterson (3 months ago)

I was referring to Sony's dominance and quality in the CRT days. I don't know about their other product quality but the common view was that they we solid which you had to pay a premium for. I never bought their laptops cos they were always £200 more than Dell.
All my "rock solid" nokia phones died on me two years into their light use.
Samsung makes fridges but its camera department is as serious about photography as their TV department is about their killer TVs.
All Samsung needs is a sensor that reviewers and users say beats the Sony sensor and it is curtains for Sony alpha.
I also think it is a nationalist thing. The Koreans really want to sock to the Japanese, especially since the Japanese in general, look down on the Korean people.

0 upvotes
pew pew
By pew pew (1 week ago)

such a fanboy comment.

0 upvotes
finestglasses
By finestglasses (3 months ago)

It that is helpful makes a situation more pleasant or more easy

0 upvotes
1llusive
By 1llusive (3 months ago)

Beauty Face mode? What exactly does this do? O.o

0 upvotes
lol101
By lol101 (3 months ago)

This mode just cuts any ugly faces out of your pictures and replaces it by some handsome ones (there's a menu with various actress/actors and models to choose from...)
Very useful if you have grotesque friends and relatives as I do!

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
12 upvotes
AussieBarb
By AussieBarb (3 months ago)

You know what, someone will run with that and make a fortune.. lol too funny!

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Karroly
By Karroly (1 week ago)

The Beauty Face mode just repaints your grand-mother's face so she looks 50 years younger...

0 upvotes
HUGO888
By HUGO888 (3 months ago)

I like the fact that Samsung tries to push harder to make good cameras with nice spec and price. Looks pretty Impressive!

1 upvote
lol101
By lol101 (3 months ago)

Buffer size seems to be improved compared to previous Sammy cams: nice!

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 months ago)

Where are you getting confirmation of this point?

0 upvotes
jennyrae
By jennyrae (3 months ago)

@howaboutraw, there is someone upload video I think and visit CES. claim is double performance than previous NX (not Galaxy NX).

Comment edited 32 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Prime_Lens
By Prime_Lens (3 months ago)

Check out NX30's video quality.. wow..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXEQIC4Qkmw

4 upvotes
avich
By avich (3 months ago)

Looks like it has time-lapse capabilities? Through the phone app, probably.

0 upvotes
KenfromDublin
By KenfromDublin (3 months ago)

BBC production quality, all it was missing was a David Attenborough narration, seriously impressive.

Comment edited 30 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
mscheuren
By mscheuren (3 weeks ago)

Yes, it does have timelaps / Interval recording.

1 upvote
intruder61
By intruder61 (3 months ago)

meh

3 upvotes
lol101
By lol101 (3 months ago)

Fascinating comment.

It has totally changed my perspective on this camera...

Thanks.

20 upvotes
Revenant
By Revenant (3 months ago)

I really enjoyed the comment too. Every time I read it, I discover something new.

13 upvotes
KenfromDublin
By KenfromDublin (3 months ago)

Meh too

3 upvotes
Adrian Van
By Adrian Van (3 months ago)

The NX20 body is selling about $729. (link in second paragraph for NX20) This NX30 as an update could be about the same, I imagine, once available. Would make it a possible good alternative over buying a EM5 or Panasonic G for those that want larger APSC sensor at 20MP. Plus Samsung has a few lenses to use, which is also in the link at bottom of that page.
Like the rotating screen, and titling EVF, APSC sensor, grip.

Never really liked the small NEX bodies of Sony, as perhaps too small in proportion once lenses are attached. Perhaps only my opinion, but Sony may have been better off using this type of body for its NEX APSC line, as lots of consumers upgrading from P&S still perceive the DSLR (compact or regular DSLR body) and equate with image quality, whether right or wrong. That is how Nikon in entry level, and Canon Rebel market them.

Samsung could sell a lot of these NX30.

1 upvote
b craw
By b craw (1 week ago)

New NX20 w/ kit lens is around $500.

0 upvotes
DVT80111
By DVT80111 (3 months ago)

Baby monitor, cool.
What's about security web cam?

0 upvotes
Enderhuman
By Enderhuman (3 months ago)

Of course, that is clearly what the camera for. It's for hanging up in somewhere that no one would notice, not for take out and take photos. The appearance is ... for me.

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (3 months ago)

I like the new lens! Small(er?) as the old 20-50 but with OIS,

hmmm, this gets me thinking...
Since it has the same silly swivel screen (rather than a back tilting one) as the NX20, I could live with keeping my NX20 and just getting this lens as an add-on. And my new camera could be the new A7. :D

8 upvotes
BBking83
By BBking83 (3 months ago)

That image looks like the aperture is f/3.5-5.6 (hard to tell...) at but a quick google search yields a f/2.0-2.8 aperture (which is pretty good!).

What lens did you test and what lens is in this image?

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/samsung-nx30/images/front.jpg

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (3 months ago)

There are two new 16-50mm lenses, one is a collapsible 3.5-5.6 and the other the S f/2-2.8.

7 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (3 months ago)

... the lens in the story photo appears to be an older 18-55mm.

0 upvotes
BBking83
By BBking83 (3 months ago)

My link (from here: http://www.dpreview.com/previews/samsung-nx30) is NOT the 18-55mm, hence why I asked.

But that's interesting if there are two types of the 16-50mm.

0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (3 months ago)

@BBKing83 the lens/link you refer to, is f3.5-5.6 if your monitor didn't have enough DR to see it, I was able to by tilting my monitor back.
@Viking79 you're right, the lens on page 2 http://www.dpreview.com/previews/samsung-nx30/2 is the 18-55 in the photo - quite obvious.

Thanks for letting us know that there will be an f2 offered. Would love to have that one - hope it'll also have OIS and be as compact! (I'm probably wrong on at least one of those counts)

3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (3 months ago)

I found my answer... the 16-55S lens is rather large (the size of a 60mm by the looks of it), but that won't deter me from getting one. f2 zoom here I come! ;-)

4 upvotes
Hasa
By Hasa (3 months ago)

Ref. the quest for a silent shutter: A totally silent electronic shutter on APS-C is found on the Sony R1.

0 upvotes
abortabort
By abortabort (3 months ago)

The R1 has a leaf shutter, like the CP A, GR, X100/S, RX10, RX100, RX1/R, DP1/2/3M etc (I realise the RX's are not APS-C). The R1 was not electronic.

1 upvote
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (3 months ago)

Samsung has:
1) a dslr like body with evf w/o phisical controls (galaxy nx)
2) a slightly smaller dslr like body with evf (nx30)
3) a smaller rangefinder body w/o evf (nx300)
4) an even smaller body w/o evf and w/o physical controls (nx2000)

There will possible be a micro body during 2014.

So what's missing? The body I'd personaly want: one similar to #3, but with evf on the left (or at least with an optional evf to be added).

This is a huge lack, since sony, fuji and m4/3 all have this kind of product.

2 upvotes
samfan
By samfan (3 months ago)

Some companies simply insist on having the EVF in the middle, for some reason. Nikon is another one. I find it unlikely that either of them would change their stance in this matter.

1 upvote
Sergiusbr
By Sergiusbr (3 months ago)

@samfan EVF in the middle is a classic that is adequate for people that use the right eye and also for those that use the left eye for composing a photo.

2 upvotes
tecnoworld
By tecnoworld (3 months ago)

Having a choice is always good. Evf in the middle makes the body shape irregular and often bigger and thicker. Anyway the best would be having an optional tiltable evf for a body like nx300.

2 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (3 months ago)

its also interesting that, there are no right shutter buttoned cam !

Do not judging, interestingly just not exist.

Comment edited 12 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
viking79
By viking79 (3 months ago)

@samfan, central EVF is better for aiming the camera since it is in line with the optical axis.

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (3 months ago)

> in line with the optical axis

it's TTL, which means same axis.
you can put the viewfinder (monitor) in another room.

1 upvote
Rehabdoc
By Rehabdoc (3 months ago)

I just dont get how anybody can argue that a central EVF is more ergonomic for left eye or right eye people than a left EVF.

For right eye people, a left EVF gives 100% relief for the nose.

For left eye people, a left EVF has camerabody and nose interact exactly the same as a middle-position EVF hump style camera, since you still have to shoot right handed to do the shutter release. In fact, a central hump puts the face of left eye people too close to your shooting hand and you're still better off with the EVF on the left.

And yeah, as far as "optical axis" goes, the EVF view is TTL, so whats the difference? Neither configuration gives puts your free eye over the optical axis, except possibly left viewfinder-left eyed user.

People like the hump if they're used to the hump. But its intrinsically less ergonomic. And its added bulk that is unnecessary.

Comment edited 52 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Spectro
By Spectro (3 months ago)

Love the spec. If it came out earlier i would of considered it. Got the a7 and love it, except for the price.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (3 months ago)

More native lenses for the Samsung system, better battery life, quieter shutter, faster AF starting with the Samsung NX300.

Right the A7 has a higher build quality and is a bit better in lowlight.

1 upvote
Total comments: 353
12