Previous page Next page

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5 Hands-on Preview

July 2012 | By Lars Rehm, Barney Britton


Preview based on a production DMC-G5

This year marks the 10th anniversary of Panasonic's Lumix digital camera brand which makes it an appropriate year for launching some exciting new products. One of those is the Panasonic Lumix G5, the ninth model in the G-series which introduced the world to the Micro Four Thirds standard and mirrorless system cameras in the shape of the DMC-G1, in 2008.

With its electronic viewfinder and SLR-like form factor the G5 is arguably the most direct competitor to 'traditional' entry-level SLRs in the current Lumix lineup. It sits above the simpler GF5 and below the top-of-the-line and enthusiast models GH2 and GX1.

Under the hood, the G5's 'newly developed' 16MP Live MOS sensor is what Panasonic calls a 'digital sensor' with some of the processing happening on the chip itself. In theory this translates into improved high-ISO performance which is very welcome news, the more so because the G5's maximum ISO setting has been increased to 12,800. The continuous shooting rate has also been bumped up compared to the DMC-G3, from 4 to 6 frames per second, but almost certainly more important to most users is the increase in resolution for the touch-sensitive rear LCD, from 460,000 to 920,000 dots. The LCD now also comes with a feature that is called 'Touchpad AF'. It allows you to move the AF area across the frame with your finger on the LCD while you're framing the shot through the EVF.

Video specs have also been improved. Like the GF5 the G5 now records video in the MP4 format, as well as the now-standard (for Panasonic) AVCHD. The latter Video clips shot in the MP4 format are easier to organize because they're not stored in a separate file structure to stills, and are far more widely compatible when it comes to playback. However, shooting in the AVCHD format allows you to capture footage at 1080 60/50p, vs 1080 60i on the G3. In this mode the camera captures video a t a bit rate of 28 Mbps which is in line with Panasonic's high-end consumer camcorders.

With most of the competitors in the mirrorless system bracket of the market offering a variety of digital filter it was only a matter of time before Panasonic followed. The G5 boasts nine new filter options in the camera's Creative Control Mode (namely Soft Focus, Impressive Art, Cross Process, Star Filter, Miniature Effect, Dynamic Monochrome, One Point Color and Low key). As with the GF5 these filter effects can be previewed before they are applied and when the camera is set to intelligent Auto or intelligent Auto Plus mode it will suggest filter effects that it thinks might enhance your photo, based on an analysis of the scene.

All in all the G5 comes with some interesting improvements over its predecessor. We will have to see how many G3 users can be tempted into upgrading to the new model but on paper the G5 certainly looks like a compelling camera that should be attractive to a wide range of photographers. We are looking forward to putting the G5 through its paces to see what the sensor is capable of and what difference the new features make in real-life shooting. In the meantime we've produced a 3-page preview which should give an overview of the salient points.

Panasonic GF5 specification highlights

  • 16 MP Live MOS sensor
  • ISO 160-12,800
  • 3.0", 920k dot touch-sensitive LCD with Touchpad AF control
  • 1.44 million dots electronic viewfinder with eye sensor
  • Full AVCHD 1080/60p video with 1080 30p MP4 recording option
  • 6 frames per second continuous shooting, 3.7 fps with AF-tracking
  • 14 Creative Control filter effects options

Differences between the G5 and the G3

  • 16MP 'digital' Live MOS sensor (vs analog)
  • Maximum ISO of 12,800 (vs 6400)
  • 6 frames per second burst shooting (vs 4 fps)
  • 1080/60p AVCHD and 1080/30p video recording (vs 1080/60i)
  • MP4 video recording option (vs AVCHD and 720p MJPG only)
  • 3 inch 920,000 dot LCD screen (vs 460,000 dots)
  • Eye-sensor below the EVF
  • Function lever
  • Touchpad-AF control
  • Aluminium front plate (vs plastic)
  • Position of the shutter button
  • Redesigned rubber hand grip and four-way controller
  • Improved battery life (320 shots vs 270)
  • 14 filter options in Creative Control Mode (vs 5)

Compared to its peers:

The Panasonic G5 and Olympus' flagship Micro Four Thirds camera, the OM-D, have similar dimensions but the Panasonic comes with a rounded, contemporary design while the Olympus features a retro-style. The latter also comes with an all-metal body. On the G5 only the front-plate is made out of aluminium.
Despite the different approaches to body design the control and button layout of the two cameras is not too dissimilar, with a four-way controller and a few buttons located to the right of the screen and a screen that can be flipped out and tilted. However, the Olympus features two control dials (G5 only one).
The G5's general size and shape are ver similar to the its predecessor G3 but in this front view the larger handgrip and the changes position/angle of the shutter botton are immediately visible. The new model has also gained an aluminium front plate.
On the back we can see the new eye-sensor below the EVF and the new design of the four-way controller which is now shiny and silver. There's also a new thumb rest next to the control dial and a slightly changed button-layout.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2012 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
226
I own it
13
I want it
29
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 93
12
Luminar
By Luminar (Jul 3, 2013)

question, when you dont specify if it has external microphone, is because it doesnt have one?

0 upvotes
snegron2
By snegron2 (Jun 1, 2013)

Recently purchased a G5. Fantastic little camera! I wonder why DPreview hasn't reviewed it yet?

0 upvotes
AltairZ
By AltairZ (Feb 21, 2013)

My friends, I'll see a strange problem on my Panasonic G5 cameras:

When I turn on the AVCHD FHP (30p) video I get the video only 30i (interlaced) - I can see this information in a video player, but the instructions should be 30p (progressive) video ???

Check this bug at this can only NTSC version…

Comment edited 28 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
bluejaguar
By bluejaguar (Feb 18, 2013)

I have a G5, my first M/43. I am impressed and it's the first camera since way back when I got started (30 years ago) that I really ENJOY using.

It's really strange that dpreview will be among the last, if ever, to review this camera. I used to look to dpreview as my major camera review source. No more. They need to get on the ball in general and to have a video review presence like cameralabs.com.

1 upvote
DukeN
By DukeN (Feb 18, 2013)

So is there a video limit?

One of the Amazon reviews mentions a 29 minute recording limit.

This can't possibly be true in 2013 can it? This is huge for a lot of people that just like to put a camera on a tripod, start to record and walk away for events like school performances, games, etc.

Thanks!

0 upvotes
MrTaikitso
By MrTaikitso (9 months ago)

That's the fascist EU for you, and why Britain wants out! (Import duty on camcorders etc - use Google to learn more.) Sorry, posting this almost a year after your comment, but I'm thinking of buying a G5 with 14-42 and 45-150 for knockdown price in John Lewis and seeing what others think.

0 upvotes
kpadude
By kpadude (Jan 29, 2013)

Currently, own G2 -seems G5 is partially moving closer to g2 in terms of ergonomics. G2 already has much of the g5 features. I love my camera, and the only thing I'm interested is picture quality and low light.

0 upvotes
Maplefoto
By Maplefoto (Jan 18, 2013)

I WANT MY G5 REVIEW!!!!!!!!

3 upvotes
DavidF
By DavidF (Dec 16, 2012)

I have the G3 and love it. In fact I just bought a second c3 as a backup and replacement. The g5 may be a nice camera but I just don't think the improvements over the g3 justify it being twice the price-- seems like a scam by Panasonic to make more profit.

0 upvotes
Mahmoud Mousef
By Mahmoud Mousef (Mar 2, 2013)

Nah, that's just normal camera pricing on new models and run-out prices on those being run-out. This practice has been going on for years and with all of the manufacturers.

I agree; the G3 is good value priced as it is now. But a similar thing occurred when the G3 arrived in 2011; G2 was being heavily discounted at similar levels to the G3's price now.

Moral of the story: don't be an early adopter unless you have money to burn :)

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Mar 31, 2013)

G5 has a better sensor (see how it did on DxOMark), build quality and LCD.

0 upvotes
Maplefoto
By Maplefoto (Dec 14, 2012)

Hands up all those who think five months between a preview and a review is just a little bit too long.
Maybe Lars and Barney would like to comment...

8 upvotes
calisierra
By calisierra (Nov 28, 2012)

When do you anticipate to post the full review ?

2 upvotes
bluerocklobster
By bluerocklobster (Nov 21, 2012)

Dpreview, are you planning on doing a full review of this camera before the next generation comes out? Is there a particular reason why the only M4/3 raw comparisons, etc. are ridiculously out of date?

3 upvotes
Greentrees
By Greentrees (Oct 16, 2012)

G5 compared to GH2 ..any body tested them is their any difference negative or positive any comments please help decide as they are now the same price?

0 upvotes
bluerocklobster
By bluerocklobster (Nov 21, 2012)

I would love to know too. I wonder if dpreview will ever update any of their ancient info on the Panasonic M4/3 system? I am guessing that IQ/ISO is much better on the G5 but the GH2 is a better all round camera in terms of build, functionality, etc.

0 upvotes
Graeme27
By Graeme27 (Oct 15, 2012)

Have just come back from a month in Europe, and have to say the new Lumix G5 camera with the 14-42 power lens (I was able to purchase the kit duty-free at Heathrow) is just about the best combination I've ever experienced for travel. It is very fast to start up, has a super fast sensor and good specs. It is almost infinitely customisable with great manual controls and various auto combinations up to fully automatic. Those who wonder about the function control next to the shutter-control have evidently not had to hang on with one hand whilst trying to zoom and take a photo - it was very handy. I rarely felt the need for a larger zoom, and the quality of the finished product is great. I haven’t used the touch screen, still getting used to the HDR (needs a tripod I guess) and still learning other functions but so far brilliant. I had a G1 from early on, which has been good, but this is an even better successor and I can use the legacy lenses, although unfortunately not the battery.

2 upvotes
tom1027
By tom1027 (Sep 22, 2012)

Why would Panasonic only make this camera in a kit with the non-power zoom lens, while the GF5 comes in a kit with the power zoom? This is a higher camera, with the zoom control built into the camera, but they don't make it available with the power lens? I'd be interested in this camera with the power lens, but it is too expensive if you have to buy them separately.

0 upvotes
The Jacal
By The Jacal (Sep 24, 2012)

In France, where I live, it comes in a kit with the powerzoom, €899.

0 upvotes
Vitruvius
By Vitruvius (Sep 20, 2012)

What would I need to use the Olympus ED 12-60mm f.2.8-4 lens with this camera and retain all functionality and weather protection of the camera and lens?

Is it the Olympus MMF-3 adpater?

0 upvotes
wuming
By wuming (Sep 11, 2012)

come on with the review

:)

9 upvotes
Valiant Thor
By Valiant Thor (Sep 3, 2012)

Hello, would someone please answer if the Olympus M.Zuiko OM-D lenses can be used with this camera? Thanks in advance.

0 upvotes
Marcin Moscicki
By Marcin Moscicki (Sep 4, 2012)

yes

0 upvotes
zavart
By zavart (Aug 14, 2012)

Why can't just Panasonic -or for that matter other makers -make TRUE multi aspect sensor i.e words SQUARE ! After all we're just talking about extra 4-5mm (17,3x17,3) or 4,5mm (13,2x13,2 or perhaps slightly bigger) in case of Sony RX100 This would really allow to fully utilize the whole area of the sensor in 1:1 to 16:9 aspect. As a additional benefit You could switch to take photos in either landscape or portait mode without changing the physical position of the camera- just appropiate switch would do. This would be really something with which they could differentiate these types of cameras from DSLR, where due to their use of pentaprism and the size of the sensor this kind of thing is impossible to do!

3 upvotes
Blade Runner RJ
By Blade Runner RJ (Oct 21, 2012)

I think exactly the same!!! It's a wast not to do it as a square...

1 upvote
Drofnad
By Drofnad (Aug 11, 2012)

Nit: "Panasonic GF5 specification highlights"
should read "... G5 ... ". (to repeat a prior post's similar alert)

(-;

0 upvotes
Eskilsson
By Eskilsson (Aug 6, 2012)

The grip is back. I like it. It`s important for me to have the opportunity to hold my cam with just one hand. That`s why I didn`t get the G3. Thank you Panasonic. Of course the price of G5 now is double against G3. Shame on you Panasonic, but I will buy it anyway...............and just hope it is near OM-D in IQ

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
John Wilkinson
By John Wilkinson (Jul 28, 2012)

No remote shutter control?

That's an essential feature, to me at least.

1 upvote
John Wilkinson
By John Wilkinson (Aug 5, 2012)

Specs updated: The G5 has remote shutter control.

2 upvotes
slncezgsi
By slncezgsi (Jul 27, 2012)

While I prefer the design of the OM-D, but the G5 has 1.4x (0.7x effective) viewfinder magnification and the OM-D only 1.15x (0.57x effective) - that is a sizable difference.

3 upvotes
skytripper
By skytripper (Jul 27, 2012)

I thought Panasonic was going in the right direction with the G3's reduced grip. The G5 may be a good performer, but it is one ugly camera—really ugly! What a shame.

0 upvotes
Panasonicus
By Panasonicus (Jul 26, 2012)

Not much to tempt me to upgrade from my G3. Give it a year and a big price drop and then, maybe. I agree that the Panasonic 12-35mm 2.8 is too expensive but help may be on the way as Sigma and Tamron begin building DSLM lenses. I moved from a huge and heavy Canon 450d and used a huge and heavy Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4 and it was a great all round lens. After 6 months with the G3 I am finidng the weight and size together with easy access to movie mode a massive advantage over DSLRs. The only negative I have found with the G3 which the G5 seems to address is the battery life which is appalling on the G3. 150 shots if you are lucky. I believe DSLMs will kill off entry level DSLRs and it is surprising Canon went with a bland viewfinderless offering to try to stop the drift to M43 and the Sony offerings. The market demands a viewfinder due to that bright thing up in the sky!

3 upvotes
redalien
By redalien (Jul 24, 2012)

"It sits above the simpler GF5 and below the top-of-the-line and enthusiast models GH2 and GX1."

Considering the price of GX1 and a few of the specs, it is most definitely sitting above the GX1. The business practices of Panasonic are terrible, they are driving the value down on their own products .....

1 upvote
paper1p
By paper1p (Jan 13, 2013)

Capitalism at its core-best

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

The G5+Pana 12-35/2.8 would be a killer kit... if the 12-35 would not be so damn overpriced.

2 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

Looks like a very, very good camera with one fatal flaw - it is still daylight-only with most m43 lenses, and if there is daylight, almost any modern P&S will suffice these days. They should add IBIS already. And if it is hybrid - combining the effects of IBIS and OIS in Pana zooms - it will be a killer feature.

Comment edited 51 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

The 6 fps sequential mode - does it fix focus and exposure, or AF and AE works, just not tracking?

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

DPR, you have an error in the article:
"Panasonic GF5 specification highlights

16 MP Live MOS sensor
ISO 160-12,800"

It should be G5, not GF5.

0 upvotes
jessicajp
By jessicajp (Jul 22, 2012)

I actually like the looks of the G5 (much more than the G3, G2, G1, GH2 or GH1). Reminds me of the new sony SLT styling (like a compact SLT). And I agree with the comments below, the viewfinder and lens have shifted to the left (like the G3) but still remain in line with each other which is to me perfect.
This one might be the right mix of features to finally convince me to upgrade from my GF1.

1 upvote
OneGuy
By OneGuy (Jul 18, 2012)

Looking forward to comparing the G5 pics with Oly OM-D JPEG-wise, and then moving on to comparisons with intro-level DSLRs. Having a second invader in the DSLR territory, I'll love to see m4/3 go 30+ Mpix (or Merill) on the sensor side while pushing WiFi to the limit (including video conferencing/broadcasting).

Also, improve DR (even locally) and go for improving WB without flash (quick WB rotary set knob).

Using m4/3 size and lens speed advantage, squeeze DSLR's profit margins. But of course, you must have fun doing it.

0 upvotes
BJN
By BJN (Jul 18, 2012)

The G5 isn't pretty, but I'll take function over "styling". OM-D, despite its trite homage to real OM cameras deserves credit for weatherproofing, in body stabilization, and I suspect Panasonic still falls short for in-camera jpegs.

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (Jul 18, 2012)

@Richard Butler

Does the G5 allow manual video controls? There is some confusion about whether it does or doesn't.

1 upvote
tombell1
By tombell1 (Jul 18, 2012)

Outside of weatherproofing this looks a more practical tool than the OMD .... for a DSLR with any large lens the OMD grip is a joke

5 upvotes
eltocliousus
By eltocliousus (Jul 21, 2012)

The grip makes the OM-D easier/better to hold than the G5, argument invalid.

0 upvotes
qwertyasdf
By qwertyasdf (Jul 18, 2012)

Any top view comparison of G3 n G5?

1 upvote
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (Jul 18, 2012)

Why is the EVF still aligned to the lens? What sense is that? Move the EVF to the left (viewing from back) so people can use the touch focus thing they added.

1 upvote
Klarno
By Klarno (Jul 18, 2012)

Even SLRs can have the viewfinder pushed all the way to the left. But they don't do it that way. Having the viewfinder aligned with the lens is the least disturbing way of doing things for macro photography, and is the best ergonomic compromise for right and left eyed users.

5 upvotes
CollBaxter
By CollBaxter (Jul 18, 2012)

Also when you take your eye away from the viewfinder and look up, you are seeing what in line with the lens and what the lens basically sees. With wildlife you can use the hot-shoe as a crude sight to find your target and then drop your eye to the viewfinder.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
TheEye
By TheEye (Jul 18, 2012)

The finder above the lens means as close to a direct line of sight as possible. Do you see any scopes mounted next to a gun's barrel instead on top of it? ;-)

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
igorek7
By igorek7 (Jul 20, 2012)

But the EVF in G3 and G5 is moved to the left(!), even though it is not exactly in the corner, which is great since it's aligned with the lens optical axis.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 24, 2012)

I guess they needed to justify the extra cost of the articulated LCD... you have to justify a need for it somehow... and imitating canon doesn't cut it.

0 upvotes
Hen3ry
By Hen3ry (Dec 30, 2012)

The moment you turn your camera to vertical -- as you often do for portraits, for example -- the VF is on the left (or right) of the lens. So much for the argument about the importance of it being over the lens axis in horizontal mode. Cartier-Bresson's Leicas always had offset VFs and he did OK! :)

I really like the look of the G5 and for my money, neither it nor the 12-35 lens is overpriced.

0 upvotes
SirSeth
By SirSeth (Jul 18, 2012)

Looks ugly to some below, but to me it looks like a very comfortable/practical photographic tool. Doesn't look worse than anything Canon makes. ;) The hand grip as reported is function over form (unlike so many micro grips that are small form over function). Also, for a right eye shooter it looks very nicely sculpted for us. I can even see the touch pad AF working out for right eye shooters. Left eye shooters with LCD out might work too.

What I'll be curious to find out is: 1. what will the street price be? 2. Does it have multi-aspect sensor like GH2? 3. Is the high ISO really better? 4. What battery? 5. How does video compare to GH2.

Should be interesting.

3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (Jul 18, 2012)

would say OM-D looks ugly and uncomfortable and it really is. this G5 looks beautiful as a camera, way better than G3. easy to use itself means better performance (I assume the technical performance same as old models?).

3 upvotes
SamKnopf
By SamKnopf (Jul 19, 2012)

The battery is the same as the GH2:

http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/systemcamera/gms/pdf/g_series_system_chart.pdf

0 upvotes
Bob Meyer
By Bob Meyer (Jul 18, 2012)

Yes, the Panasonic web site doesn't show the same resultions at aspect ratios other than 4:3 that this preview shows. Please clarify. Can you actually confirm the G5 uses the multi-aspect sensor the same was the GH2 does?

1 upvote
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (Jul 18, 2012)

WTH .. if it would have multi aspect, it would be written right under .. top features

1 upvote
bg2b
By bg2b (Jul 19, 2012)

Yes, you would think so, but dpreview originally listed the resolutions as wider in 3:2 and 16:9, and still says that the sensor is 18MP (like the GH2's). Dpreview has now corrected the resolution specs, so presumably that confirms it's not multi-aspect.

0 upvotes
bg2b
By bg2b (Jul 18, 2012)

Is the sensor true multi-aspect like the GH2's (as the specs here suggest)? There seems to be some conflict about the resolution in 3:2 and 16:9 modes among different sites.

0 upvotes
ThePhilips
By ThePhilips (Jul 18, 2012)

No orientation sensor? Again??

That's ridiculous. Even cheapest P&S have them this days.

4 upvotes
igorek7
By igorek7 (Jul 18, 2012)

Check the official Panasonic web-page:

http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/systemcamera/gms/g5/specifications.html
LEVEL GAUGE: Yes (Built-in 3 shaft accelerometer sensor)
DIRECTION DETECTION FUNCTION: Yes

8 upvotes
artyone
By artyone (Jul 18, 2012)

Does it have a new battery type?
I already have a few bodies that share the G3, GX1 and GF2 battery... was hoping that the G5 has the same battery and therefore avoid carrying extra chargers and more new batteries

Can ADMIN or someone confirm please

1 upvote
John Koch
By John Koch (Jul 18, 2012)

Very clever of Panasonic to require different proprietary batteries, with maybe only two exceptions, for every G, GF, GX, or GH camera. How catestrophic if the industry were to converge on a few common standards, as in the case of SDHC cards or AA-sized Li-ion.

0 upvotes
igorek7
By igorek7 (Jul 18, 2012)

Look on official specifications and see that G5 is using a standard H-PS14042 or H-FS45150 batteries:
http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/systemcamera/gms/g5/specifications.html

1 upvote
phototransformations
By phototransformations (Jul 18, 2012)

The H-PS14042 or H-FS45150 refer to lenses, not batteries. It has a 1200mAH battery, so it's probably not the same as the G3/GX battery, which I believe is 1050mAH.

2 upvotes
Bob Meyer
By Bob Meyer (Jul 18, 2012)

That's the same capacity as the GH2 battery, so *maybe* it uses the same battery as that camera. Which isn't all good, since there are still no chipped 3rd party batteries available for the GH2.

0 upvotes
artyone
By artyone (Jul 18, 2012)

Thanks phototransformations for spotting the mAH differnce. It sickens me to have a sea of different batteries to charge in the family. A quick look around the lounge just now reveals 7 cameras using 6 different batteries needing 6 chargers.. what a pain when travelling.
The new standard within the cellphone industry to aim for recharging via standard usb would be great with cameras when traveling. Just plug a mini usb into your camera from the laptop usb or a usb wall charger then charge your batteries... simple :)

0 upvotes
igorek7
By igorek7 (Jul 18, 2012)

I'm sorry, I've made mistake selecting the wrong line in the table, the battery is the same as in GH2: 7.2V, 1,200mAh.

1 upvote
xlynx9
By xlynx9 (Jul 18, 2012)

"It sits above the simpler GF5 and below the top-of-the-line and enthusiast models GH2 and GX1."

How is it below the GX1? G5 has:

- digital sensor
- higher output resolution
- newer processor
- EVF
- fully articulating LCD
- 100% higher resolution LCD
- higher flash range
- faster continuous shooting
- creative effects
- more physical controls
- better grip
- touchpad AF

In the side-by-side, the only thing the GX1 wins on is having a built-in orientation sensor.
http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=panasonic_dmcgx1&products=panasonic_dmcg5

DPR, please explain or fix.

9 upvotes
qwertyasdf
By qwertyasdf (Jul 18, 2012)

Marketing positioning.
FYI: "Marketing" and "BS" are inter-changeable words.

0 upvotes
matt_nnn
By matt_nnn (Jul 18, 2012)

The GX-1 has a metal body.

1 upvote
Helen
By Helen (Jul 18, 2012)

I agree with MarkInSF - was about to post the same point myself. The G3 definitely has an aluminium front panel, just like the G5 has - far colder than the plastic rear half and top trim. My G3 is early production - unless they altered the build in later ones (unlikely, but not impossible I suppose).

1 upvote
igorek7
By igorek7 (Jul 18, 2012)

Admins, are you sure about lack of a Orientation Sensor in G5?
According to http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/panasonic-g5/panasonic-g5A.HTM

"Also new is the Panasonic Lumix G5's level gauge, based around input from a three-axis accelerometer sensor. This provides a dual-axis (side-to-side roll and front-to-back pitch) level display, helping you get level horizons and prevent converging verticals."

4 upvotes
MarkInSF
By MarkInSF (Jul 18, 2012)

The front panel of the G3 is aluminum, not plastic, per your review and many others. The construction of the G5 looks to be essentially the same, aluminum except for the back, including the articulated lcd, and some small bits. Perfectly sensible way of building a mid-priced camera. I'm looking forward to trying one out.

3 upvotes
noegd
By noegd (Jul 18, 2012)

One of the most interesting new features vs the G3 is the silent (i.e. electronic) shutter option.

This, combined with all the other improvements (touchpad AF, eye sensor, high bitrate video...), make it a great upgrade to the G3 IMO.

3 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (Jul 18, 2012)

If all anyone has to complain about is that this camera is not aesthetically pleasing then I think Panasonic has done a great job.

The new features on this camera look great. However, the FZ200 makes me want to rethink the whole interchangeable lens solution. An LX7 and an FZ200 would get me about 90% of what I have with my GH2 and a bag full of lenses.

Nice to have so many choices.

7 upvotes
Bob Meyer
By Bob Meyer (Jul 18, 2012)

Except for image quality. The much smaller sensors in those cameras will definitely compromise IQ, especially at high ISO or in dim light.

3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (Jul 18, 2012)

Bob, you may see it from another perspective that the 4/3 and mf/3 systems don't have good enough lenses. that they won't be able to compete with 24-70/2.8 from Canon and Nikon without 12-35/1.4 ones (of the same aperture size, 24/2.8 = 12/1.4 = 8.5mm). the Pana 12-35/2.8 is equivalent to 24-70/5.6, a real joke.

2 upvotes
Aleo Veuliah
By Aleo Veuliah (Jul 18, 2012)

True, but you do mostly video, for stills the G5 is still better than the FZ200 and LX7, but I agree is great to have good choices

0 upvotes
BelePhotography
By BelePhotography (Jul 18, 2012)

"The LCD now also comes with a feature that is called 'Touchpad AF'. It allows you to move the AF area across the frame with your finger on the LCD while you're framing the shot through the EVF." - that doesn't sound very practical too me. I imagine my nose being a tad bit in the way when looking through the viewfinder. A touchpad or joystick next to the screen still seems like the more ergonomical solution.

1 upvote
Gesture
By Gesture (Jul 18, 2012)

GF3 has something like this. It is neat to be able to touch a spot on the LCD and the camera focuses there and takes the exposure. One of the few touch-screen innovations that appeal to me.

1 upvote
BelePhotography
By BelePhotography (Nov 14, 2012)

Agree - but not when you use the EVF.

0 upvotes
igorek7
By igorek7 (Jul 18, 2012)

Excellent comparison and the camera! G5 appears to me much more convenient to work with than G3, which I already prefer over EM5. Both the thumb rest and the grip with slanted shutter button show good ergonomics. The Fn1 and QMenu buttons are very well placed. Based on the GF5 reviews, I can expect the same excitement over improved imaging quality (particularly in low-light situations) and excellent video, plus new 920k dot touch-sensitive LCD, etc.
IMHO, G5 is a first serious contender to upgrade from any other previous Micro Four Thirds cameras with built-in EVF.

4 upvotes
axelpix
By axelpix (Jul 18, 2012)

Am I seeing the Multi-Format sensor finally approaching the G series?

0 upvotes
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (Jul 18, 2012)

No, the camera just don't read from the entire sensor surface. Max image width is still the same regardless of ratio.

1 upvote
Total comments: 93
12