Previous page Next page

July 2014 | By Barney Britton
Buy on GearShop$3,296.95


Preview based on a pre-production Nikon D810

Two years after Nikon shook up the high-end DSLR market with the 36MP D800 and D800E, it has consolidated the 800-series with the release of a new camera, the D810. The D810 replaces both previous 800-series models, and will be offered at an MSRP of $3299 - about the same as the D800E, and a little more than the D800. Why is the D810 priced like the D800E, and not the D800? Well, the D810 takes the D800E's 'AA filter cancellation' trick one step further by dispensing with an AA filter entirely, which should result in a camera that offers greater resolution than either of the two models that it replaces.

Anti-aliasing filter aside, the D810 is not by any means a reinvention of the popular D800/E concept, but the handful of major changes should make the new camera more capable than its predecessors. Perhaps more importantly, they should also make the camera more attractive to potential buyers who have been weighing up whether or not to jump into full-frame. The D810 isn't a camera that you should necessarily sell your D800 or D800E for, but it's a better camera than both older models - at least on paper.

Following Nikon's general philosophy a few of the refinements made in the D4S have trickled down into the D810 and videographers especially should be pleased with a couple of the additions to its video feature set. Other welcome changes include a redesigned shutter and mirror mechanism to mitigate resolution-reducing shock from shutter actuation, and a new S-Raw mode for reduced-resolution raw capture (Nikon owners have been asking for that one for years).

Nikon D810: Key Specifications

  • 36.3MP Full-frame CMOS sensor (no AA filter)
  • ISO 64-12,800 (expands to ISO 32-51,200)
  • Electronic first-curtain shutter and redesigned mirror mechanism
  • New 'RAW Size S' 9MP Raw mode
  • Expeed 4 engine
  • Max 5fps shooting in FX mode, 7fps in DX (with battery grip + EN-EL18 / AA batteries)
  • 3.2in 1,229k-dot RGBW LCD screen with customizable color
  • OLED viewfinder information display
  • Improved Scene Recognition System allows face detection in OVF mode
  • 'Split screen zoom' display in live view allows horizons/lines to be leveled precisely
  • 51-point AF system with new 'Group Area AF' mode (inherited from D4S)
  • New 'flat' Picture Control mode (intended to appeal to videographers)
  • Auto ISO available in manual exposure mode
  • Zebra strips for exposure checking in video mode
  • Uncompressed HDMI output with simultaneous recording to memory card
  • Built-in stereo microphone

D800 and D800E: Two become one...

In testing, we found that the practical difference in raw detail reproduction between the D800 and D800E was minimal except in a very narrow range of circumstances - specifically, tripod-mounted short shutter duration shooting at wide apertures with prime lenses.

As such, if two models must be consolidated into one, it makes sense for that single model to offer the highest possible resolution. We can only hope that Nikon has given the D810 the same sharper, more detailed JPEGs that it (apparently arbitrarily) gave the D800E, which were significantly more print-ready than those from the D800 for no obvious reason at all beyond justifying the extra $300 MSRP.

Some people might not have been entirely sure why Nikon released the D800 and D800E as separate models two years ago. Our take on it at the time was that the D800E offered some advantages, sometimes, but if you weren't too bothered you could be perfectly happy with the D800 and you'd have saved a little cash. Perhaps now, after success with the D7100 and D5300 the company felt more confident about omitting the AA filter from its highest-resolution body - albeit naturally at the risk of more moiré than we'd expect from the D800 and possibly also the D800E.

D810 versus D800/E: Specification highlights

  • 36.3MP full-frame CMOS sensor with no AA filter (D800E has effects of AA filter 'canceled')
  • 5fps maximum shooting in FX mode (compared to 4fps in D800/E)
  • New 'Group Area AF' mode (5 AF points can act together)
  • New electronic first-curtain shutter and redesigned sequencer/mirror balancer to reduce vibrations
  • New 'highlight-weighted' metering option (to preserve highlight detail in contrasty scenes)
  • 1080/60p movie recording with built-in stereo mic (compared to 1080/30p with monaural audio)
  • 3.2" 1,229k-dot RGBW LCD screen (compared to 3.2" 921k-dot RGB)
  • Power aperture available while shooting video to SD/CF card (compared to only when using HDMI)
  • The ability to record to memory card while simultaneously outputting video over HDMI
  • New 'flat' Picture Control mode (intended for videographers who need broader dynamic range)
  • Unlimited continuous shooting (previously 100-frame limit)


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2014 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
319
I own it
390
I want it
65
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 1533
12345
LeanderL

I handled a D750 yesterday for a couple of minutes. I was considering it to replace my D700. But that is not going to work for me.
It felt so much smaller and less comfortable in my hands. Also the finder seemed much dimmer and smaller (don't know if that is only my perception).
In all the D700 is in a totally different class. So I am looking at the D810 again, even though the 36MB files are a bit too much for my taste.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Do not have d810 in hand...yet. Have downloaded both d810 and d750 users manual. The d750 seems to have limitations in Live View mode regarding live exposure preview. It will not totally show image in all scenarios, such as extreme low light. Has anyone compare the two cameras Live View exposure preview differences? I rarely use histogram, preferring to see my manual settings on lcd.

0 upvotes
JohnD5100

How is the audio quality from it, and what is the video sampling quality?

0 upvotes
PeterFree

I don't know what you are doing with your lens in the studio test, but you are not getting the maximum out of the Nikon D800E/D810 compared to other AA filter equipped sensor cameras, the D800 being the first example. One does have to have the right glass and the correct technique to get these AAlfree sensors to really shine and you are not accomplishing this. Done correctly with the right glass and the difference is HIGHLY visible at 100%. DxO Mark rates the resolution increase at 30% and it is definitely visible in many other comparisons. Something is not right in your testing...

0 upvotes
luigibozi

hi guys
could anybody explain to me how does this
"Viewfinder type: Optical (tunnel)"
work?
It's a typo in the article?!

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Greetings,
Been researching intensly D810. Also D610 , but does not have Live View exposure preview...what a stupid deletion.

Does anyone know if new iPhone soon to be released work as as external monitor directly out of hdmi port?

0 upvotes
olyflyer

Ask that question on an iPhone forum.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

My question is not directed toward general iPhone users, nor is it directed toward general D810 users, but to the many, many D810 users who have experience with external monitors and might understand technical data within present and the future iPhone about it's compatability as external monitor. That question fits this forum much better than on Apple forums.

If a iPhone buyer knew of this, he would not rush out to buy a $3,500 camera...but if a D810 owner knew the $150 iPhone he had or could soon buy would work as external, he just might rush out to buy.

I will be buying D810 soon. Have researched external monitors. If iPhone worked as external monitor, i would wait to buy new iPhone 8.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

This is best logical forum to ask D810 users if they are using or plan on using iPhone 8 as their external monitor

0 upvotes
PBear2

check out " idisplay" it might be a solution, maybe some workaround somewhere.

0 upvotes
ihv

Indeed, the lack of the exposure preview seems to be weird.
I wonder if that could be implemented later on in the firmware?

0 upvotes
Galbertson

No exposure preview??? In specs it states it has Live View preview. I would not contemplate this camera if I could not see my shutter speed/f stop/ISO settings before capture.

Quite some time ago, rejected purchase of Nikon D5300 because it did not have live view preview, only histogram before capture. I believe most, perhaps all, pro level FF cameras have live view preview. The D810 certainly a pro camera.

Will certainly dig into this, need to confirm before i purchase.

BUT, maybe you were referring to lack of live exposure preview in D610, which is true. Have yet to hear of any camera that live view preview added with update.

Nice to hear D750 has it, amongst other improvements over D610. Might even sway away from D810...but D750 has AA filter.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 10 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
ihv

Looks like the exposure preview on the live view is there in the D810 by pressing the 'ok' button.

However didn't catch that in the manual for movie mode (maybe just got unnoticed when browsing quickly).

0 upvotes
munro harrap

With no filters sharpening is unecessary, but colour tends to improve with NX2- better than Adobe.

Is anyone using Capture One with theirs?

0 upvotes
Coliban

Hmm, when i consult the studio scene, the IQ of the D800E is better than that of the D810. I would expect the IQ of the D810 should be better. It is clear when you compare the test charts at the left and bottom corners. Is this a result of this special setup, I can't imagine that the D810 performance is below the D800E.

Or do I misinterpret something

0 upvotes
RichyjV

The raw processing software manufacturers take some time to really get the most out of the conversion, so while it is supported now it should get better over time. I'm a D800E owner and I would expect to see a very small difference in favour of the D810 after a few months.

0 upvotes
Coliban

@RichyjV
RAW is the RAW data, from the sensor and needs no big conversions, once the data I captured, I compared the raw data. The process which is constantly improved is the jpg-conversion. Off course all processes are improved, but the raw data is the data the sensor delivers, without fundamental conversions.

Maybe I am wrong, but it seems to me, in this studio scene, that the IQ of the D810 is worse than the IQ of the D800E and even other cameras.

Can you confirm that?

0 upvotes
Willie

RAW data is RAW data, but computers cant directly display RAW files. The RAW files have to be converted to something that can be viewed.

1 upvote
marc petzold

To get the most out of the D810, just like any other Nikon DSLR, you need a Nikon-based RAW Converter - "generic" ones like ACR into PS or LR doesn't show the full potential the Sensor is capable of.

@Willie

RAW is not simple RAW, each Brand does their own format, and some RAW files are pre-cooked inside the DSLR/DSLM, and the IQ varies with different RAW converters.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
MikeF4Black

@Marc: do you mean that switching for my D800E from my current LR4.4 to NX2 would show a noticeable improvement?

That is of interest to me, as I'm in the process of getting a new laptop and possibly a separate screen (Eizo 24?).

0 upvotes
Coliban

@marc

I have already a "Nikon based raw converter" I own the D800E and I've downloaded the RAW-files of D810, D800E and compared them. But I can't see much difference in IQ between them.

Besides that, what is the advantage in buying for a higher price a camera, which has no advantages in IQ, no matter, if the camera or the raw converter is responsible or not, if the user is not able to benefit from the higher price.

Regards

0 upvotes
marc petzold

@Mike4Black LR4 vs CNX2 (it's into german, my bad - but you can see the sample comparsions) http://www.foto-just.de/vgl_raw.0.html

@Coliban That's a very good question from you, indeed. Besides the slightly detail improvements of the D810, your D800E is a very good DSLR. My best Nikon currently is only a DX-based D7000, and i have a FF A7 Sony, too. The D810 is no revolution,
but a slightly evolution of the D800(E) concept. When you compare the D800E & D810, they're way close together with DxOMark, for some ppl it's worth to upgrade to the D810 because of many minor enhancements. Enjoy your great D800E Nikon.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

@Marc, vielen Dank; I can read German!

Cheers (Schüsz?),

Michiel

0 upvotes
marc petzold

Alright, nice. ;) Cheers!

1 upvote
HFLM

The difference of D800E to D810 is there, but requires the best lenses to be visible. I subscribed to diglloyd.com. He has a very thorough test comparing both. The D810 is slightly sharper (could be sensor filter stack), but it's very close. The main advantage is autofocus improvement, LCD, EFCS amongst others. I really like my D810 and have problems now using our D610 or XT1, as the D810t is just mazing in most respects and the other cameras feel like toys compared to it.

1 upvote
Galbertson

Question regarding tripods for D810.

I am accustome d to large, heavy tripods for my 4X5. Since D810 has mirror up and electronic first curtain, can i use a much lighter tripod? I am used to working slowly, giving time for camera to settle down. Also will only be shooting 24-105mm lenses. How light can i go and still make full IQ of 36 mp?

My guess if i purchased light Sony A7R, would need my 4X5 tripod to settle down its agressive shutter shake.

0 upvotes
TBImages

The answer to this question may be obvious to those on this forum exceptionally familiar with the engineering details of the D810, not so much for me....

Is there an impact on dynamic range, noise, etc. when using the D810 in something other than full resolution mode? 20 megapixel or 9 megapixel mode for example?

0 upvotes
R Vaquero

At least noise is less visible shooting with lower resolutions, don't know about DR

1 upvote
StevenMajor

OK DPR we've been patient. it's been 2 + months since the this first impressions review was published. Where is the review? Have you found something that Nikon would not like to see in print? Have politics intervened? Are you just overworked? Understaffed? What could it be that delays publishing the test results of this marvel?

3 upvotes
mayurgogoi

May be DPR will be more cautious before giving 80+!Because after DPR giving Gold Ratings to FUJI FILM XT1--light leak discovered--same is happened in case of NIKON 610D--even some users complains about 610 WHEN THEY TRAVEL TO HIMALAYAS--

Comment edited 17 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Hasa

Viz. the lab report: To me it looks like the raw images of the D810 are the same as the raw images of the D800. This should not be so. I would like to suggest that dpreview stop using the 50mm lenses of Canon, Nikon and Sony and use the 55mm Zeiss Otus instead on tests of all 3 brands. This is not a lens test. It purports to be a sensor test. How can it be a sensor test when the D8xx sensors outresolve Nikon's 50mm lenses by a far margin?
I guess people who upgrade to 810 also have Zeiss lenses and they would like to see what more they will get from the 810 that they do not already have in the D800 (e). If time permits: The Zeiss 15mm, 50mm and 135mm would be good choices. ( I only have the 35mm F2 ). This test would also show us what more we get from 36 Mpix that we do not already have from the 20-24 Mpix range. ( I have a good idea - but that is not a professional's opinion ).

0 upvotes
jerrywielo

Nikon’s service advisory for thermal issue (white dots) during long exposures with the D810 camera...

Read more on NikonRumors.com: http://nikonrumors.com/2014/08/19/nikons-service-advisory-for-thermal-issue-white-dots-during-long-exposures-with-the-d810-camera.aspx/#ixzz3AqgPMT6x

0 upvotes
Love nic

I am considering D810 and like to know if the lens I am thinking about a single lens for general photography is good choice. I am thinking of Nikon AF-S FX 24-70/2.8D.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
StevenMajor

For 3oz and $ 700 less the Tamron is better says DXO lens testing.

http://www.dxomark.com/Lenses

The site requires searching but the test info is there...for every worthy lens

0 upvotes
duttind

I went for the Tamron 24 700 f2.8 could'nt have been happier

0 upvotes
HFLM

Cameralabs has a very good comparison: http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Nikon_vs_Tamron_24-70mm_comparison/. I tested both, find the Nikon focuses faster and behaved better when shooting into the sun. As to DXO: look at the curves: Tamron is better for wide angle shots, wheres Nikon takes over from 50-70mm, so depends on your needs.
Another thing: if you want to use fine tuning, only ONE lens of a non-Nikon company can be tuned. All others use the same preset (or you remember it and set it to the desired value everytime you shoot). In case you add a macro or other lens, it's good to know that.

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Galbertson

Hoping to get D810 soon, use my pro AI manual lenses.

I know i will need to get into menu to set up for non cpu lenses. Do i have to go back into menu every time i change lenses, or does connections and memory in camera remember the lens attached? It would be frustrating and time consuming if have to dive into menu to make settings every lens change. If so, might be forced to buy new set of lenses.

0 upvotes
StevenMajor

Concerning Lab Report No 10.
What does this say (if anything) about shutter vibration caused sharpness issues when using a shutter speed higher than 1/80 sec? Will a higher shutter speed eliminate the shutter vibration caused sharpness issues? if so, at what shutter speed will all vibration issues be eliminated?
or
Are there shutter vibration issues at all shutter speeds, and the only way to eliminate them is by using the mirror up mode ?

0 upvotes
TBImages

Anyone done any performing arts photography with the 810 yet? I shoot mostly dance and theater and have relied on my D4 pretty exclusively to do so. However, the D810 looks pretty interesting.

FPS speed is a non issue for me. Focus speed / accuracy and high dynamic range are.

0 upvotes
sgoldswo

All I'm going to say is that after nearly a month, this is a special, no, exceptional DSLR. Really great. All of the issues associated with the D800E have just been solved. The camera just works.

Some user impressions here:
http://wp.me/p2wMAg-C5

Pity that in true DPR fashion we have plenty of people with sour grapes everywhere on this comments section. I guess that is what it is. However, if people get put off by that they are missing a treat...

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Strangely I just turned in my D800 for a new discounted E. I must be certifiable. ;-)

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Thank you for your experienced reply. Also for your user website. Gives me good reasons to purchase. Interesting that there is only overall complimentary websites on D810, but only in DP Review so many have no better thing do do but bash the camera. The more great cameras, the more griping trolls.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

@Galbertson: I'm not sure if your commentas directed at mine, but if it was, you misunderstood me by a country mile. I wasn't bashing the 810, nor your praise for it, at all. It happens a lot on the net.
The 810 is an incrementally better camera than the 800/E on every imagineable front. At least, that's my opinion after having tried it a few times.

Any questions?

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Sorry, my poor eyesight mistakenly responded, intended for sgoldswo. I have .been noticing how many positive responses to the D810.. It has every single function i need to at times replace my 4X5. The only thing missing is articulating LCD. But would get 5" external monitor. Its peeking feature would help me see for focus, apparently not available on camera. Still will need my magnifiers to help me read words of menu. I do not have central "target" eyesight, but compose with perifera portion. Not easy, and needing assisting tools to improve camera operation.

The tactile feel and function of contols and buttons tremendously important, the D810 appear excellent, but will only know when in my hands. I have had many cameras in my hands, can honestly say Fuji X-T1 has buttons for baby fingers, tiny and no sense of activation. Cannot afford to make that mistake.

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Yes, I noticed in some other entries that your eyesight is impaired; you're not to be envied for that. My father was an enthousiast photographer, and when at 75-80 his eyesight went, it took a lot out of him. I admire how you're coping. Difficulties are put in your way to overcome them I suppose.

The D810 is an excellent camera, and I hope and expect it will work for you like that.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Since you have D810, if shooting highest res for main card, will it automatically put lower res in cf card, or do i have to shoot again for lower res file?

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

No, I had the 800, and now have the 800E, not the 810, but I'm guessing they work the same in that respect. You select image quality (f.i. Raw + Jpeg) and primary and secondary card selection. Maybe in the 810 you can choose a combination of high res and lower res Raw, and send to cf and sd respectively; you'd have to look in the menu.

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Galbertson

Mike,
Appreciate your more than you might image. Have studied in depth the world of blindness. For some fortunate reason, my compositions have refined and matured. Magic happens I guess.

D810 question...if shooting hi res raw image, can i set up camera to automatically load a low res jpeg into CF card? Or do I have to go into menu to set the camera, then shoot the same image again? My hi res files for large printing use. The low res jpegs for web , cataloging and emailing. I have a good fried who does my post work, but I would hope to not depend on him to downsize from raw files for my low res use, would hope to download jpegs directly from camera to my iPad.

Again, thanks for your words of confidence.

1 upvote
Galbertson

Mike
Darnit, sorry didnt catch your answer to my question.
One thing about loss of eyesight is screwing up...just something to get accustomed to. I might call tech support to confirm. Camera still ideal for me.

1 upvote
chris1444

Have you seen the moiré on the tests? Look at the close-up of the b-w picture on the left. It is a deal breaker for me. The Canon does not have such an issue. The picture is completely clean.

The most worrying is that it is also present for the D800 and D800E.

BTW I am not a Canon troll. I am a real Nikon fan since decades. I and have bought several Nikon bodies so far plus several lenses, and no Canon. But moiré puts me really off. I am not talking about video where the amount of moiré is ridiculous.

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Guenter Hofstaedter

i wonder why they make the sample shoots with all this zooms and not with a good prime ! I got my D810 on the first day it was released, just can tell you the samples here showed on DP are not the max you can get out of this camera !

0 upvotes
ecube

I have reservations about the "Real World" sample photos presented here. What are the sample photos suppose to illustrate? Good looking pictures does not mean anything for evaluating the camera performance because there is no basis of comparison. As for the processed RAW, what does it proved regarding the camera capability? If the purpose is to illustrate the dynamic range, then the three or four samples illustrate the shortcoming of this D810. I have gotten better results of high and varying lighting condition from my D800 than the samples shown in this review. It seems to me that the shooter did not set the HDR properly.

Is the purpose of the sample photos is to compare the D810 against the D800 and D800E, then why not make a side-by-side shots from all three cameras? The comparison to the Canon camera shows the lack of knowledge by the tester because there is no common and controlled basis of comparison. Moreover, it is not relevant.

Was I expecting too much from DPReview?

1 upvote
InTheMist

You can look at test charts if you like, I suppose.

0 upvotes
ecube

@Inthe Mist - In the 2003-2006, DPR used to present a side-by-side photos of subject taken by cameras being compared against one another. Shots were of identical setting from identical lenses. Test charts were also used. The side-by-side photos illustrates the tester's point and removed reliance on memories. As I recall, the photographs were NOT post processed. . . I wonder if you recall those times.

1 upvote
InTheMist

Ok, I get you're pining for the old days, but I quite like real-world photos.

1 upvote
ecube

Oh yes, REAL WORLD photos of outdoor scenes, bridges, buildings, lakes/rivers/mountains, sporting events . . . name it. The point is the "side-by-side" comparison of JPEG files right off the camera. While you did not mention RAW, I have nothing against raw files, only that I prefer to compare the ability of the camera on the consumer's view point. Of course D800/800E/810 are not for the average consumer who thinks that raw applies to how their food is prepared.

0 upvotes
PVCdroid

For some reason the D810 isn't as sharp as the A7R and contrast isn't as defined. I thought DPReview used the same lens for these tests? idk but can definitely see a difference. Weird. I'm also surprised at how much moire the D810 is generating compared to the A7R.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
shutterbud

"DPReview.com is kindly brought to you by the Nikon Corporation."
This blatant infomercialising should be beneath this site. It really is beyond insulting. Why should we have any other reviews? I mean, it's not like any other camera in history has ever been as important as the D810.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Without focus peeking, how would i see expanded areas before shootin to see total focus area in broad landscapes? I have limited eyesight and use 15X loupe to see focus on my 4X5.

I have read(i cannot see to read, only recognizing word shape with large magnifier, but use Voicr Over on iPad to speak the words) that external monitors have image peeking. That might be the answer...yes?

0 upvotes
thejohnnerparty

Did anyone happen to catch the photographer's reflection on the old truck's headlight rim?

Comment edited 30 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
munro harrap

I'm looking for how the D810 moves groups of focus points around like the D200, D300, and D700 do. It is advertized but there is not a sign of it here. I do hope this really is included in the full review, because it is a huge factor in photography.
The Group AF option on a D700 is excellent and so much easier to use than any of Canon's slow two-stage options. It will be the biggest factor in purchase options for many, as mis-focussing is inevitable on occasion when you have zero AF control of where the focus goes, as with the D800(E) and D7100. I am certainly hoping Nikon supply a firmware fix, as that would be easy using the pad that only works ( and so slowly!) using manual focus (and just one point).

This is more important than anything else! As to moire, well, I get moire with my D800 quite often.It's a normal occurrence.Had I known, I would have an E got! Using Capture NX2 I remove it, so moire is a non-issue except for video, and well you can just defocus a little?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
SmilerGrogan

Yes. It does. And the autofocus seems to be a little faster than other Nikons I've used.

0 upvotes
Al Cris

Nikon - if you read this - add a real quiet shutter on the next D 820 or D 900 :-)

0 upvotes
Zoron

and Trinity Reboot with Fluorine and vaseline coating

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Mikael Risedal

best SLR camera out there IQ wise, if you are a spray and pray sport photographer, then you have D4s or 1dx
But for now, there are no competition regarding , metering, resolution, DR, AF, etc etc. Nice work Nikon

10 upvotes
munro harrap

I have not seen a D810. I am curious about comments made regarding vibration at some shutter speeds with the D800(E) models. What are these shutter speeds please, as I have no VR lenses yet have not ever seen this phenomenon using a D800. I have had blurred due to my movement and/or subject movement. And blurred due to the lens being imperfectly focussed, but nothing as described here that I can see.

Nikon removed the filters as at this magnification you can see that everything is slightly off-at all speeds. That said I have not ever been able to detect a visible difference in resolution-just micro-contrast and acuity.tight 0.2 pixel @ 400% USM deals with that.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Mikael Risedal

look at this video, sum up what I think, now are also AF improved , better than my 5dmk3 ps I have also Canon.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VR7Kjeq2aH4

3 upvotes
mayurgogoi

Dear Shooters--what is your experience abt ISOs performance of NIKON D810?

0 upvotes
solomonshv

the ISO performance is as good as you can get at this price. if ISO performance is what you are looking for then look no further.

FYI, I am a Canon user but I currently have a D810 in my possession. ISO performance definitely shits all over Canon but I still find that my 5D Mark III units are more complete cameras and easier to use.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
EricCul

ISO performance is excellent on the D810. Better than the 5D MkIII.

I'd go with the D810 for handling too, but which is easier to use really depends on where the user is coming from. I adjusted to the Nikon system very fast after previously being a Canon shooter.

4 upvotes
rfsIII

It's really great, at least the jpegs out of the camera are—Adobe is still fine tuning its raw converter. But I've shot a lot at 6400 and they're wonderful as long as you look at them as photos and don't go all nerdtastic over them...
If you zoom in to 200 percent they're a little grainy but nothing that makes them unusable. And if you set your masking at 80 or 90 percent in ACR they're awesome.

3 upvotes
Ben Lazar

I sold my D800 to a friend and got the D810 over the weekend. In my opinion, it's absolutely worth it, mostly for the improved mirror mechanism--much less vibration and it's so much quieter. With far less mirror vibration, focus acuity is noticeably improved, and I can bring my shutter speeds down without any fear of the slight blur that I would sometimes get out in the field with my D800, and which relegated it to mainly studio shooting for me. All the little changes have added up to a greatly enhanced shooting experience--the D810 is a camera I'm enthusiastic to take anywhere, under any shooting conditions--Fashion, Landscape, event work, etc. I'm still just getting into the camera, but so far it just feels wonderful, with no niggling issues whatsoever.

7 upvotes
TravelPhotog

I always knew the D800 was only good for in-studio!! ;)

(we can say that now that the D810 is out right?? Which makes Nikon still awesome right??? Even though we were saying they were awesome when they weren't....??? ;) )

Comment edited 28 seconds after posting
1 upvote
DaveE1

TravelPhotog , the D800 is a great camera; one of the best out there. The D810 improves on it.

That's not that different to how technology has always improved over time, so no real need to over analyze or worry about it.

1 upvote
francowan

Cool. I want it.

2 upvotes
Galbertson

Another question...if using EyeFi card, will iPad/iPhone/iPod Touch work as extermal monitor? Will controls operate camera wirelessly from one of these devices? This might solve my need for external monitor that Hoodman loupe works on.

0 upvotes
EricCul

@Galbertson First, I haven't used EyeFi, so I'm not able to directly answer your question. My guess is that EyeFi is for the transfer of files, rather than remote control via iPad/etc. I'm sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.

The CamRanger product may be of interest to you... I have no affiliation whatsoever to the company that produces it; I just thought this link may be helpful:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=seGKsbRyQrE

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Galbertson

Eric,
If i had cam ranger on d810, connecting to my IPad, would Voice Over speak the worded options showing in live view?

0 upvotes
Gunawan Budihardjo

As long as I understand EyeFi is only to transfer photos directly from your camera which is using the EyeFi SD Card to your mobile or other gadget so that you can send the photos directly to your friends and family. Also to empty you cards directly to iPad or other gadgets.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

Okay, i understand. But assume there is a way to connect and use iPad as external monitor. But my most important question is if the Voice Over function on iPad speaks words when fingers touches screen. I am still waiting for Apple to introduces MacBooks or iMacs with touch screen/Voice Over. Then i could do my own post of raw files. I can see color, but need lots of magnification to see sharpness. But still cannot read words unless Voice Over speaks to me. I accept this rare issue.

Thanks for your help.

0 upvotes
Galbertson

When attaching external monitor to D810, does it disble lcd on camera?

Ideally want 3.2" external monitor, but not made. Because of very limited eyesight, need to use magnifying lcd hood, such as Hoodman. Since D810 does not have articulating lcd, seeking ideas. I even thought purchasing articulating lcd from D5300, but not sure if electronics compatible, plus no technician to manufacture with hdmi out cable.

Any help greatly appreciated.

0 upvotes
HFLM

Conclusion of someone testing thoroughly (shutter shock, resolution ...):
http://blog.kasson.com/?p=6704

1 upvote
jackspra

Found the sample shots boring and unimaginative.

2 upvotes
muesliman

Thanks for that, mate.

0 upvotes
GrahamJohn

Finally. A sensor that matches or exceeds Sigma's Foveon.

3 upvotes
BarnET

They already have it for some time. D800(e) and the sony a7r.
Besides even an decent compact beats the crap out the foveon at anything above base iso.

1 upvote
Pierre Bellefeuille

Too much people don't catch that with cameras having over 20 megapixels there a real need to calibrate the lenses for a specific body. The best thing to do with Nikon or Canon Camera is to bring the lenses and the body to an expert technician that will make very fine tunings. This is of a prime importance with a body such Nikon D800 or D810. With 36 megapixels, it can be pretty easy to mess with focus if anybody doesn't understand well that matter.

I bought lately a Sigma 50mm, f/1.4 Art and a Sigma 17-70, f2.8-4 Contemporary. I am using these lenses with a Nikon D7100. I bought too the Sigma USB Dock to calibrate the lenses. It is really easy to use. I used a Datacolor target to better identify the back or front focus at many distance for predetermined focals on my zoom lens, as an example. The whole procedure is too long here to describe, but if you would like to know more, there is lots of valuable informations on the internet. It makes a huge difference. Really accurate!

Comment edited 33 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Pierre Bellefeuille

By the way, many pro just do that: they bring their cameras and lenses every two or three years to an expert that calibrate the whole kit for them.

0 upvotes
marc petzold

@MikeF4Black

Troll on the roll'? Nice bashing...but just think about who makes many of "Nikon" Sensors - Sony! You must be a die hard Nikon Fan, i like the brand since the 80s - but i enjoy my A7 way much, and it's not sh*t - way silly comment of yours.

Comment edited 26 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Which particular entry are you referring to Marc? It was probably in jest. I maybe a longterm Nikon user (although there once was a Leica M5 in my life, and there still is a Contax RTSIII), but I don't consider myself to be a fanboy, and really dislike bashing other brands in the process.

But to be honest, you wouldn't catch me using a viewfinderless or EVF-equipped camera (nor an SLR with a porthole viewfinder).

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
marc petzold

it was more to the bottom, but there was no "Reply" button, so i wrote it just on top - you said it that way. I'm way happy to have a FF DSLM with my old lenses. The RTS III - was a dream since my teenage days...someday i'd buy one as collector item for my camera collection. If i'd be a billionaire, i would resurrect the Contax brand from the dead & just develop HighEnd DSLR/DSLM under the Contax brand.

I do like a OVF much more then an EVF, but it does have it's advantages - live histrogramm, picture playback into the EVF,
Zebra Mode, etc..the EVF from the A7 is great, but at the end
of the day, i'd like to look through the OVF from my D7000 more.

1 upvote
MikeF4Black

I tried the OMD, X-T1 and A7 in a shop, and was frankly very disappointed by the glimmer, and the noticeable building-up of the image when you swayed the camera. I really don't see any advantage, but I'm old (my first camera was a Werra, very small plain viewfinder) and probably oldfashioned.

Speaking of viewfinders, the D800's not bad, but certainly doesn't reach the level of that of my F2AS or my RTSIII... ;-)

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Ahh Marc, I've found it. "We could all just agree" etc.

I found the discussion on the merits of adapters and Sony's apparently severely lacking lens range less than interesting, so tried to stop that discussion. I think I succeeded. Ha!

0 upvotes
issac sam

Pray tell me why Sony took almost 2 years to release a 36 MP DSLR?
Hope you understand that while Sony's fabricating the sensor, they've not designed Nikon sensors.

0 upvotes
marc petzold

It's comparing pear & apples - 2 years ago the A7R have been into the works. The D810 is a great DSLR, but let's face it - DSLR technology would simply fade away within the next years - too heavy, too big, etc...even the IQ is a bit better, i'd prefer the A7R all time over the D810..why? because i wouldn't travel with such heavy gear...and very expensive FX glas, for Studio, Fashion & Landscape Photography the D810 is *the* King, perfect...but for light traveling, mounting any old mf lens with adapter, and saving a lot of money - the A7R rulez.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

People have been forecasting the death of the DSLR (a superior system imho) for years and will be doing that for many years to come.

Good luck in the forecasting business, and enjoy your evf.

0 upvotes
marc petzold

@MikeF4Black
as i stated in other Posts - i do like my OVF onto the D7000 - but EVFs like into the A7 Series do have their advantages, too. Apart from that, i've shot since the 80's with OVFs on DSLR.

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Two points:

I've disliked every EVF I've met in a serious camera. Who knows it's a personal thing.

As for weight and size: 6D/Df/D610/D750(?) are approaching the optimum for a full frame (SLR) camera. Anyone finding that "too heavy!" will have to do with inferior ergonomics and handling, and will find that less mass makes for more blur. The RX1 still is a very nice, albeit flawed, camera though.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
marc petzold

The EVF into the A7 Series is great, for now...not bad for sure.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Sorry, I intensely disliked it when I tried it. Glittery, unnatural, and the building up of the image when moving the camera was really annoying.

The camera itself exhibited the handling disadvantages I listed above. That thing is even more awkward than a Leica M5.

0 upvotes
marc petzold

At least that's only your thought - i'm happy with my A7. I wouldn't walk with a D6xx, D8xx DSLR into the field, way too heavy, especially with a bunch of lenses inside the bag.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

I walk around with a D800E, usually just one prime, wriststrap, no problem, Tumi messenger bag with a Billingham insert, an iPad and some accoutrements. I would never give that up for a small light awkward body (I'm not speaking about the lenses; that's something else again).

0 upvotes
marc petzold

Thanks god, everybody does have different needs & preferences into that way, and so is the market, you can buy anything you personally need - there is always a choice, not a must.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Of course, but your prediction of the imminent death of the DSLR is a sweeping statement that conveniently ignores personal preferences, don't you think?

0 upvotes
marc petzold

There's life in the old dog yet, yes. ;)

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

;-) I'm just oldfashioned I guess...

0 upvotes
marc petzold

Me too, but life goes on... ;-)

1 upvote
MikeF4Black

We can only hope...

0 upvotes
sneakyracer

Word on the forums is that the D810 improvements are most welcome and really make working with the camera much more enjoyable. The improved Live View is receiving high praise and is a great asset for landscape and architectural users. The quieter and smoother shutter also.

3 upvotes
SushiEater

Who cares about D810, we already know what Nikon is capable of.
I just shot with 2 D800e over 3000 photos in 4 days in really lousy conditions and not a single photo is out of focus!!!!! Two years ago I was doing the same with Canon 5D2, 5D3 and 7D and I had lots OOF.
So there is absolutely no reason making any complaints about D810 because it should be even better.

1 upvote
Lassoni

it's a little so-so. There's plenty of users out there who aren't happy with the consistency of D800 AF.

4 upvotes
SushiEater

That is because these users don't know what they are doing. D800 has very consistent AF.

0 upvotes
_Federico_

No way. I've sold my 2 D800e because focus was terrible. With df the consistency is way better. Ops...the same photographer.

6 upvotes
_Federico_

D800 is a very poor camera for consistency with f1.4 AFS Nikkors.

3 upvotes
SushiEater

Maybe you needed to sell f1.4 nikkors. I use 35 and 85 Sigmas. No problem at all.

0 upvotes
R Vaquero

The D800 hasn't a really accurate AF, not bad but it should be better, as the D810 would surely be...

1 upvote
SushiEater

The proof is in the pudding. It is certainly better than Canon 5D III which I used for a year with D800e. And Canon claim that 5D III has the same AF system as in 1DX. But 1DX has better processor so AF in it is better. Pro friend of mine has 1DX and we compared AF with my D800e and could not really determine which one is better. In over 2 years I have shot with one D800e body close to 100K (already have 20K on the second body) I am only getting few OOFs and all of them my fault. I just don't see anything better than that. No left AF point problem either.

0 upvotes
matthew saville

I'd love to personally peruse 3,000 images shot at f/1.4 (or even at f/2.8) that are all perfectly in focus, LOL.

As a professional post-producer who edits plenty of images, (and as someone who teaches entire workshops on the subject of autofocus alone) ...I have to say, you're full of it. Yes, the D800 / D800e are amazing. But no, they're not perfect. They miss focus all the time, in tough conditions. They're not impervious to front / back-focus, either. I've used plenty of fast Nikon AFS-G primes, and Sigma Art lenses, and the results are the same. There is room for improvement, plain and simple.

Unfortunately, I think that improvement comes in the form of hybrid AF using an EVF, but that's just my personal experience. (As someone who tests and reviews cameras for another well-known website, BTW...)

=Matt=

=Matt=

1 upvote
SushiEater

All together I shot over 120k images with 2 cameras and there is hardly any OOF. That is why I got rid of Canon entirely. I have plenty images with Sigma 85mm F1.4 of actors being interview in low light and as long as I pre-focus and wait until peek movement stop I get perfectly focused shot. Same thing with F2.8 lenses (70-200mm and 120-300mm) at very close distances.
You know what they say: If you CAN you DO and if you CAN'T you teach or review.

0 upvotes
sierranvin

Why does dpreview dribble out their testing in pitiful fragments instead of presenting us with a complete review?
It is a habit that suggests, sloth, stupidity, understaffing... many possibilities, none correlating with competence or pride in a job properly done!
I'm f'in' sick of it!
(emits loud Brooklyn raspberry sound, followed with some quality Philly boos!!!)

1 upvote
matthew saville

Unfortunately, as someone who works in this industry as well, I have to say this is just the nature of the social media beast. It's becoming more and more normal to produce content in this manner. Personally I'm not a fan, but I do understand the system and why it is implemented this way...

A full review will come when it is done. It simply couldn't be done this quickly. DPR's reviews are incredibly thorough, and probably take many days / man-hours to accomplish.

=Matt=

1 upvote
StevenMajor

The dribble creates more copy (why produce 1 article when you can produce 3), anticipation ( to bring back readers), and most importantly, increased advertising opportunities.
It IS crap, and the price of admission at DPR...and, just one of the many dark corners of capitalism displayed.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Barney Britton

@sierranvin and StevenMajor - I totally fail to see how the timely delivery of studio and real-world samples, plus initial findings regarding handling and image quality could ever be regarded as a bad thing. As for the nonsense about 'creating copy' that's just sheer ignorance (each page is after all only published once...) and ditto 'advertising opportunities'.

If you really, really REALLY just want to wait for the full review, you're totally free to go ahead and wait. But characterizing this kind of content as 'pitiful fragments' is offensive and wrong-headed.

6 upvotes
sierranvin

OK, Barney, let's approach it from a different tack:
please explain why you don't release full reviews, prompt and complete, rather than bits and pieces, spread across weeks?
All you did in the above was act as a vigorous apologist for the status quo, it didn't explain anything!
As for "wrong-headed" - that sounds like Tennyson's description of someone who opined the French rather than the British should have attained colonialist hegemony over India. Of course thinking the French should have ruled India was simply wrong-headed! But I still think reviews parsed out as crumbs and morsels days and even weeks apart rather than arriving as one timely cupcake is annoying and cheap from a Google-owned company! Why not use some of your billions, Dr. Evil!

1 upvote
Barney Britton

"please explain why you don't release full reviews, prompt and complete, rather than bits and pieces, spread across weeks?"

Because if we did that, you'd be waiting for quite a long time to read anything, meanwhile lesser competitors suck up all of the interest in the product and the final piece lands with a dull thud of more-or-less indifference.

As has already been (correctly) pointed out, our reviews represent a lot of work, and that work takes time. Our thinking is that we may as well provide you with as much as we can, in as timely a manner as possible.

6 upvotes
sierranvin

Well, I thank you for an explanation. I have a life, and prefer to visit the website less frequently, and find and get what I need when I do steal time from my life to visit- i.e., one visit per new camera, not three visits. The "crumb and morsel" method is one potential strategy, and I respect your at least explaining why. I still don't like it; not liking it DOESN'T make me "wrong-headed"; good businesses like Eddie Bauer and Nordstrom actually listen to their customers, as opposed to berating them with Victorian opprobrium! I suggest you have one or more part time employees charged with showing up for a couple days' intense technical work when a significant new camera release occurs. This might allow you to complete a prompt review. Really, for billion dollar Google to do otherwise SO points to Stephen Major's "let's string'em out and make 'em visit again and again " increased ad revenue theory! Deeds, not words!!!

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Barney Britton

I'm not sure where your reference to 'Google' comes from (we have no relationship with that company) and I'm sorry if you took offense at 'wrong-headed' but to put it in context, this was in reaction to your somewhat uncharitable characterization of our publishing philosophy as 'slothful, stupid and incompetent'.

Ultimately, if you want to wait for a full review before reading anything, you're entirely free to do so.

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
sierranvin

Yeah, Amazon, Google, Microsoft, we're all grist for the corporate mill in the sky...
You're not encouraged to acknowledge you're owned by Amazon, then, I take it? Amazon, not Google, yet ... SCHMOOGLE .. Who cares? The point, which you continue to minimize, is that your site, owned by the megacorp Amazon with a market cap of $147 billion could certainly produce timelier and complete results if anyone felt it was a priority. Also, pretty uncool how you've twisted my original criticism around from what was actually stated. Bogus.

0 upvotes
Barney Britton

"The point, which you continue to minimize, is that your site, owned by the megacorp Amazon with a market cap of $147 billion could certainly produce timelier and complete results if anyone felt it was a priority"

Seems like you're straying from your original point...

0 upvotes
phoman

It really is a silly thing to say that D810 is not suited for wedding photographers

2 upvotes
MikeF4Black

No it's not. It's too sharp. As are the 800 and the 800E. Too sharp.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

Mike:

Why do you think it too sharp?

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

&HowaboutRaw: at the lower to medium ISO's it shows so much detail it can be embarrassing. I shot some new female colleagues for our website a while ago, amd the detail the 85/1.4G gave at f4.0 with the D800 was slightly frightening. Some details you'd rather not see, and I wished I'd put on my old 85/2.0Ai... ;-)

0 upvotes
cpkuntz

One of the best in the business, Ben Chernivsky, uses a D800.

http://love.chernivsky.com/

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW

MikeF4Black:

On a website these embarrassing details were more visible than they would be if say a Canon 6D had been used?

That doesn't make sense unless you were putting up full sized jpegs that started out as raws.

1 upvote
MikeF4Black

Well, to go into a bit more detail: it didn't matter anyhow as they were destined to be converted to a coarse b&w for that website, but looking at the RAW's, even after my customary sharpening and a bit more luminance reduction than usual to soften things up a bit I was still wondering if one of the subjects regularly shaved her chin, if you get my drift. Ambient lighting outside in front of the office didn't help either I guess, although there was no direct light involved. I can't compare to any other camera as I don't use those...

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

cpkuntz:

And the colour in most of those shots would be improved a lot by the use of a different body.

So "best" is stretching things. Good composition though. Nice to see clichés avoided, for the most part.

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

MikeF4Black:

All I can say is that painters have known since the Renaissance to avoid reproducing every small detail. And when one sees a painting with the wrong details in exacting execution it can be disconcerting. Similarly not good scenic back grounds can have these problems--explaining why good scenic painters earn a good living.

More recently, since about 2005: Why do you think those street photos of Hollywood types rarely look like the images in movies?

A Zeiss, or very good Sigma, lens could improve things with the Nikon D800, the "problem" details will still be there, but they won't jump out as much since those lenses do better colour than even good Nikon lenses. What this means is that a Zeiss sees the subtle color differences around the detail so it's lost in gradations. And of course some Zeiss MF lenses aren't real sharp, like the old 50mm f/1.4.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

HowaboutRaw

Interesting points, and you obviously speak from vastly more experience than I have.

I've contemplated going back to Zeiss mf zf.2 lenses more than once (I've had them) but decided against that. AF suits me with a DSLR, and I find the 24, 35, 58 and 85 1.4G primes I use have their own character that's certainly not just neutral or clinical. So I'm sticking with these, and will just try to optimize the AF.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

MikeF4:

Those are good lenses. But the richness of Zeiss will fix some of the too many details, because there will be other details to see that Nikon lenses don't really see. (Realize I've repeated myself.)

Perhaps you could try the Sigma "Art" 50mm. I've not used it.

Yes I tried the Zeiss Otus outdoors on D800, though not shooting people.

All I'm trying to say is that there are options.

1 upvote
MikeF4Black

@HowaboutRaw: yes there are, I know that, Zeiss glass seems to give you an extra dimension; I had the 2.0/35, 1.4/50, 2.0/50 Makro-Planar amd the 1.4/85 for my D700 and D800. The last Zeiss to go was the Makro-Planar and the new 58 Nikkor came in; just couldn't resist. That's one h*ll of a challenging lens, but I wouldn't let it go now I've learned to use it. For my type of portraiture it's invaluable; for anything else it might be deemed mediocre at best. The 85 might be just too sharp for flattering portraiture; I actually don't use it a lot. The 58 just seems to cover most of my bases in that respect.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

Mike:

That new 58mm lens is a good portrait lens, but I've only taken a few test shots with it.

It's not a lens I'd choose.

I like the Zeiss 85mm f1.4, though yes I understand it's only sharpest in the center.

I look forward to trying the Sigma Art 50mm at some point.

The new Foveon sensor in the Sigma Quattro shows real promise thru ISO 400, and a bit beyond. I'd be interested in a Sigma DSLR with that sensor and fast buffer.

1 upvote
matthew saville

I've been using the D800e for the past wedding season, and just took the D10 out to a huge Hindu wedding ceremony. LOVE it! I use it in 1.5 DX crop mode for telephoto shots when I don't need all that detail, and I use it FX for large group portraits of 5+ people and / or wide-angle portraits etc. The D800e was, and the D810 is, the ULTIMATE wedding camera.

(And this is coming from a die-hard dual-D700 user who SWORE never to upgrade, BTW.)

=Matt=

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

matthew saville:

What lens(es) do you use on the D800 when shooting weddings.

(The D800 isn't really an "upgrade" to the D700; they're different full framed camera lines.)

0 upvotes
SMPhoto

I've shot plenty of weddings with D800 and I can't imagine why it's capture of detail would be an issue. Detail can easily enough be softened in Raw to JPG workflow where desired to be flattering to people, and retained where it benefits, such as venue, decorations, flowers, large groups, etc.

0 upvotes
rwdphotos

"It's too sharp."

Well, then downres. You don't have to give all 36MP every time.

0 upvotes
PVCdroid

That's the craziest thing I've ever heard. I'd much rather have too sharp and post process it softer than have to sharpen shots from a lousy sensor or lens.

0 upvotes
MikeF4Black

Uhhh... You're all so serious. It's too sharp!

0 upvotes
HowaboutRAW

MikeF4Black,

What lenses are you using?

0 upvotes
wherearemyshorts

What the Sony Nex/Alpha has over any Nikon and probably will have forever, I can basically use any lens I want. I am not stuck with Nikon lenses or Nikon mount lenses.

1 upvote
MikeF4Black

That's such a sad comment. But enjoy your "Sony".

5 upvotes
ecube

It work both ways, with Sony, you need a converted to use Nikkor lenses. But let's be practical, there are third party lenses such as Tamron, Sigma, Zeiss and others made for Nikon.

0 upvotes
sandy b

And what Nikon has over Sony is a fantastic selection of lens that will actually AF on the camera.
If you want great selection, your pretty much stuck with third party. Course, most if it wont af worth a hill of beans on those adaptors, but what they hey, you can take pictures of statues.

3 upvotes
armandino

You sort of have to with the Sony as the native lens selection sucks so bad!!!!

1 upvote
ecube

I have repaired cameras and lenses back in the the mid-1960s. Before adapters were commercially available, I machined various adapters for Asahi Pentax, Canon, Miranda, Kodak Retina, Nikon, Minolta lenses. I did that as a hobby and favor to friends. Time became a scares commodity when I started working for a living that I did not have time to repair camera or make lens adapters.

I had collections of Leica, Minolta, Retina, Canon, Nikon, Konica, Asahi camera and lenses. I DONATED most of my gears in the mid-1980s, keeping only the Nikon body and Nikkor lenses. I started easing back to serious photography in 2002 with an inexpensive digital Minolta, then "SLR-like" Lumix. Because of my compliment of Nikkor prime lenses, I purchase a D90. Successfully use all my "ancient" Nikkors on the D90. My three latest toys are the D5100, D600 and D800. I wish I kept the Summicron lens.

I am not a "fanboy" of any manufacturer. Each camera and system has merits. Happy clicking ... Enjoy!

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Galbertson

Enjoyed your experiences and perspective.

Hope to soon purchase D810 and use my nikkor AI lenses. But have yet to find honest IQ tests on D800/D800E. Some say "great" , some say "poor"have no seen or shown examples of their meanings.

0 upvotes
ecube

@ Galbertson - Thanks for the compliment.
NIKONIANS is a Nikon user's group I stumbled upon in November 2013. There are FREE and PAID Membership, I assume the benefits for each type is self explanatory. Nikonian posted a Nikon body V Nikkor lens compatibility matrix.

It is evident that I used my vintage Nikkors on D90 some 8 years before reading the Compatibility Matrix. All my "ancient" Nikkors has the Indexing Fork. I took the fork out to ensure against damaging the camera. I don't know if AI lens has Indexing Fork. You know what to do if it has. Also check the lens for contact terminals. You MIGHT need to apply a dub of nail polish to insulate the terminal. My Nikkors do not have terminals.

If you want to experiment, I suggest you buy a used D40, 50, … 3100. You should be able to get a used one for under $100, perhaps as low as $50.

I posted ways to get sharper images (not sure if it was yesterday or early today). To save time, search for my post.

Best regards

0 upvotes
mayurgogoi

I have gone through many reviews regarding Nikon D810--but the summery may be like this--This camera is the house of technical upgrade,but not in noise!

Am I correct?

I am not a pro-technical man to give certificate to Nikon D810--but my opinion is removal of Anti-Aliasing filter is creating a new problem--moire is seen in cloths etc--and though pics are more clear,but due to Moire Nikon is finding an solution --!

I am also noticing that Nikon D810's pics are little colourless,faded as Compared to 800E/800?My observations may not be correct!But My final words--Nikon D810 is technically best camera of Nikon,but We can not certify that it is 100% stunning--some faults are here!

http://www.pocket/-lint.com/review/129959-nikon-d810-review-says--NOISE is seen@ISO 560 in shadow areas(100% crop)

Comment edited 10 minutes after posting
1 upvote
AlephNull

Are you making judgments based on images in reviews? That's generally a mistake.

AA filters were needed, even vital, back when digital sensors were comparatively low in resolution - 2 megapixels, even 8 megapixels. As resolutions increase, they become increasingly unnecessary.

I owned and used a Leica M9 for a while, and I owned and used a D800e for two years. Moire has not been a problem (however, I mostly shoot models without nasty moire-inducing clothing). I am looking forward to seeing how much better the D810 is than the D800e - no AA filter is better than half a filter and a reversal.

There are other benefits I have already discovered - the shutter is much more discreet, for example.

It's not perfect. The strap that comes with it is rather cheap and nasty - disappointing.

0 upvotes
mayurgogoi

Ofcourse--yes--because--though it is a mistake--but I have no option--since to buy and give a review--difficult thing from me--but My opnion is moire is problem for NIKON and they must solve this problem and noise of Nikon D810!If@ISO560--noise is obvious--why I should buy giving more than $3000 us dollar?This price is great for me to bear--I must take a loan from Bank before buy this camera at high price!--Thanks for your opinion--

0 upvotes
SMPhoto

AlephNull, I'm not sure if you mean that the clothing your models wear doesn't induce moire, or that they aren't wearing any... If the latter, Chapeau! lol

0 upvotes
AlephNull

Your opinion is that moire is a problem, even though you have never tried using the camera. Have you any experience with any digital camera without an AA filter? Have you used a D800e?

I have over two years experience using the D800e, and moire was never a problem. I had almost a year of experience using the Leica M9 (no AA filter) and moire was not a problem. I have several days experience with the D810, and I haven't seen a problem yet :)

I do not think moire is an issue for Nikon. I'm not the only one - there are quite a few articles discussing moire on the D800e, and some of the reviews of the D810 make a particular point of mentioning the subject.

Most important point, though - if the D810 is too much of a commitment for you, then don't buy it. Buy a camera you can afford comfortably. I understand wanting the best, and I have over-committed myself in the past. Don't do it.

1 upvote
AlephNull

@SMPhoto: you got it - skin doesn't show moire.

1 upvote
mayurgogoi

Infact I was worried when I read the reviews that ISO PERFORMANCE @100% crop becomes noisy,and pics are seems little dull in videos --thanks for your kind comments and sharing experiences with Nikon D810---<and you are very correct on over committment---I trust one thing--the man behind the camera...>

0 upvotes
issac sam

Rent a D810, use it & then make a comment. Rather than shooting from your couch!

0 upvotes
mayurgogoi

issac sam--truth can not be neglected;no Nikon D800 was bought in my District,it is not France,England,USA,or metro cities--we read reviews--we depend on reviews--there is still to develop photography as industry here--we are trying to develop it among people,even children--so pl do not comment harsh--after spending the all money , taking a loan from bank I wish a best camera--in my place there are no servicing centres,no big shops--;;so who will give a camera in rent?--so We are bound to follow the couch like DPR--otherwise what is the use of DPREVIEW?

0 upvotes
issac sam

Then it become all the more important that you test the camera extensively at your dealer. I too do not have options to rent, but spend quite a lot of time at the dealer to make an educated practical assessment. Not everything that you see/read on the Internet is true. If you are purchasing online after reading comments on the Internet, then I wish you all the best.

0 upvotes
mayurgogoi

In fact,--if DPREVIEW is not biased,and since they do scientifically-so we usually follow dpreview.Another method--I ask my friends about a camera before buying--so when a camera comes new--it is our problem--there is no dealer here,no rental--in such situation what could I do?You are stretching the practical touch,but here in my place it is tough to touch a Nikon D810!MAY BE A Nikon 5200/canon 7D--but not high end cameras!--like Canon Mark1v series!Any how--thanks for your comment!

0 upvotes
Mr Physics

I never really had a use for the "Qual" or WB" buttons. If they just had a 2-button thing for metering and ISO, I might get one of these. O.K., I'm not telling the truth. I'll still get one of these, despite too many buttons. :)

2 upvotes
ecube

@Mr.,Physics - Do you have D800/E and never used the Qual nor WB buttons? I use these two buttons (on my D800) frequently.
Naturally, you could set or change the size/ quality and the WB by other means such as going thru the menu each time,or creating My Menu, or performing Custom Settings (A, B, C, D).

If there is one button I find redundant, it is the OK button because the center button on the multi-selector is also an OK switch.

Does your last sentence mean you do not have D800 or D800E?

1 upvote
Mr Physics

I'm a D700 and RAW recording guy so it makes sense for me to be in 14 bit compressed NEF always. I've always tweaked the WB in post processing and generally leave the WB in auto.

I've been wondering if the quality and range of actual light data captured would be better if I'd simply select an appropriate WB at capture time but never had the ambition to study this question in detail. I wouldn't know where to start. We have the options of direct sunlight, shade and cloudy but there doesn't seem to be an in camera compensation to accommodate the difference in the Sun's light from bright mid-afternoon to the red-ish orange of dusk. When I find myself with mixed source lighting indoors (often a combination incandescent and florescent lighting) I don't have a clue what option to pick at capture time. I usually choose "Auto" and sort it out in post processing. So I haven't ever used the WB and QUAL buttons.

0 upvotes
Mr Physics

The last sentence should imply that I lust the D810 and I'm trying to rationalize the expenditure despite already having very good light writing machines (D700 and D90).

0 upvotes
ecube

Mr. Physics - Physics was my favorite subject in High School that my classmates called me "Senyor P6" . . . no I am not Hispanic.

I have never used a D700 so I don't know the choices for it. I use the WB button in D600 and D800 when on artificial light such Sodium Vapor, Florescent and Tungsten (Incandescent) other than that I just live it at Auto. Outdoor, I want to capture the mode be it sunrise, sunset, cloudy, sunny so I don't bother making changes.

The Qual button is a faster way for selecting the type: RAW, TIFF, Fine, Standard, Normal, Basic AND the size (pixels): Large, Medium, Small. The front and rear wheel is used with the Qual button.

If I were you, I would not waste my money of D800/810 for the QUAL and WB buttons. I believe the D700 has "My Menu". Simply add these two functions if they are important to you.

BTW - for me, D90 and D300 maybe the best DX format camera. I am able to use ALL my 40+ year old Nikon F prime lenses.

1 upvote
Peter K Burian

Capture NX2 supports D810 RAW files ... apparently, anyway. v.2.10.0
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19104

There is an update which will provide this support but today, I could not get it to work (HELP > Update NX2) ....

I got a message when I tried that: Could not communicate with server. .... I'll need to try it next week.

0 upvotes
Reality Check

"Anyone who has ever used a Nikon D800/E or, for that matter, a D700, D7100 or D4 could pick up the D810 and feel completely at home."

You obviously meant to say -D7000-, not D700, because there are significant real-time use differences between the D700 and D8xx in external controls if nothing else.

4 upvotes
AnHund

"This is good news, although for D800 shooters it might leave a slightly bitter taste in the mouth (there's really no reason why the D800's JPEGs couldn't look sharper, too with tweaked firmware)."

Despite a nice and fair review the above statement is complete nonsense imho. The jpgs can be very, very sharp from the d800, but I'm not sure who would ever shoot jpegs with any of the D8xx series, well yes, I think Ken Rockwell would :-)

8 upvotes
Barney Britton

JPEGs from the D800 are not as sharp and detailed as those from the D800E and D810, even at apertures where diffraction removes any distinction in raw image quality. We demonstrated this in our review of the D800/E.

2 upvotes
RichRMA

Still wouldn't matter. The images from the D800 compared to the E look almost like the camera lens lacks contrast or suffers from some minor spherical aberration. For lack of a better term, D800E images look "less veiled."

0 upvotes
skyrunr

IMHO it is spot on. I owned the D800 for eight months. There is NO reason why it shouldn't render JPG's, or why they can't address that in firmware.

1 upvote
Peter K Burian

I am still wondering whether the new CLARITY feature in Picture Control modes is one reason that D810 images have greater apparent sharpness. Clarity increases mid tone contrast making images appear sharper. (No previous camera includes this feature).

1 upvote
ecube

@AnHund - your last statement sound like you are thumbing down on those who are contented shooting Jpeg. While I am not impressed by Ken Rockwell, I feel you are claiming you are better than him. Is it possible you are trying to bring him down to your level?

I set my SD card to record Jpeg and the CF to record NEF. Very seldom do I have to post process but when I do, it is not to pixel peep. The various settings available in D800 at my disposal gives me the image I want to create. The six basic picture control setting by itself gives the user control on the sharpness. Each of this setting can be tweak to suit individual TASTE of preference.

I also select the appropriate lens I fell is best suited to express the mode of the photograph I want to create.

1 upvote
AnHund

@ecube - I think I learned a lot from KR, but one thing I would suggest, is never to shoot jpegs only (like KR always suggests), because that limits your possibilities of changing your images at a later time.

1 upvote
ecube

@AnHund - do you then mean that the last sentence on your original post should be" … , but I'm not sure who would ever shoot jpegs [ONLY] with any of the D8xx series…"?

As for KR. I do not know him personally nor am I a fan, still, I feel it is best to not disparage him.

0 upvotes
munro harrap

Raincheck time people. IF there is an increase in resolution you will not see it. You will see increased microcontrast and acuity, no more than that. Yes, it is a lot, it is quite a big improvement, but all current lenses have no more than 16MP across the frame resolution at best, including Nikon's dream team (dream on!) and the best Zeiss and Sigma Art offerings.

We are nowhere near what a 36MP sensor can resolve yet, and the impression of greater resolution is due to size-to magnification, not resolution, so people who keep using their D800s gain enormously as when that day comes that they actually do manufacture decent enough lenses they will have saved up to be able to buy one!!

Nikon have a "damned cheek" increasing the price over the D800 and D800E, since this D810 is what they SHOULD have "given" (LOL) us in the 1st place!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
sandy b

You really think 16 mp cameras out resolve the best lens today? I am no optical whiz, but I have read here that the best lens are capable of more than 50 mp. Just curious.

7 upvotes
BBQJim

Lens Rentals tested the superior Canon 24-70 II on the 5dIII to Nikon's 24-70 on the D800 and found that the higher resolution sensor allowed for a greater resolving ability across the board. Even mediocre lens's will benefit from higher resolution.

8 upvotes
munro harrap

you need to check out Photozone de. and DXO mark tests. You there will see for yourselves that the 16MP Fuji APS-C sensor resolves more than 3000. When I had a 1Ds MkII (16.7MP) no lens Canon made could outresolve the sensor except in very small areas at specific apertures. I use both a D800 and a D7100 and despite having very good optics indeed, and having bought used and returned all dream team lenses (as simply not sharp enough) I have not yet used a lens that can resolve 36MP at all, not by a huge margin, and I have 105mm macro and 85mm primes. The advantage with nothing in the way of the lens is however obvious- you do not need to sharpen your images at all. They are already as sharp as can be. Now do you see how the 1 stop improvement in high iso noise comes about, as sharpening ALWAYS increases image noise, which then requires noise reduction and the pics go soft again.
The Canon 5D MkIII, like the MkII I bought and returned smooths away low contrast detail- and resolution!

1 upvote
munro harrap

As to the 24-70mm f2.8 , if you divide the image area like a noughts and crosses game into nine rectangles, then the lens at 24mm is only ever sharp in that central ninth area. You are inside a sphere of lens curvature. The sphere you are inside can only contact the image field where it is focussed-even at f8 (beyond which aberrations kill resolution anyway-f5.6 is best here) because the camera image field-that of the lens curvature is circular, not flat ( see the photozone APS-C test for this lens).
I was really heartbroken to discover this at huge cost, as I had traded in my perfectly good 1Ds MkII believing from reviews that the Nikon zoom-my standard go to lens -was much better than Canon's.
Not only was it not, but additionally if you want detail and do landscapes the red/green fringing on the 24-70mm nano nikkor is so bad you get three images of all detail outside the central area-making it useless for film and bad on 36MP

0 upvotes
Galbertson

If you shooting landscapes, you should not be using zooms, only primes.

In a perfect world, sensor/film matches capability of lens. Just use the best primes you can afford, and accept the results. If camera manufacturers do not make the perfect camera and lens up to your perfect standards, don't buy them.

Why sooooooo much bickering? Go ahead and enjoy your D800/E, the D810 just slightly better, both great capturing machines. For me personally, don't have Neither, so choice easy, beings price of both same. If i could afford, would get Pentax 645z. I can guarantee you, i will love using my next camera. If any photographer is truly out in the field using their camera, he or she shouldn't have so much time to worry soooooo much what camera soon to be released.

2 upvotes
EricCul

Terrible misinformation and pseudo-science there, munro! Besides, your experience seems to be at odds with a lot of others, including the testing labs.

The bottom line is... if you can't take sharper images with better equipment, you'd be foolish to part with so much money to upgrade. Most people I know, who are quality focused in their work, do notice a difference. And so do I.

Enjoy your photography and shoot what you feel most comfortable with. Just, refrain from confusing personal feelings and technique with technical measurements.

3 upvotes
EricCul

@Galbertson Good comment!

0 upvotes
ecube

@Galbertson - "Why sooooo much bickering?" - - - Perfect! In my opinion, there are those who want to appear to know it all. There are those who rely too much on the gadget instead of using their eyes and imagination to create the picture they like. There are those who are NEVER pleased with the photos (or "data" as one reader put it) captured by their lens, camera and digital memory card, hence, insists on taking RAW file only and processing that data to create the viewable picture.

For me, photography is a hobby to capture scenes, events, and everything else that gives me pleasure viewing over and over.

I very much agree with your post.

0 upvotes
munro harrap

Cul?
I am not a lobbied, sponsored, advertizing test lab, but if you do go by them and not me try actually reading DXO on, for example CA on the 24-70 nikkor and Photozone de. on the field curvature problems.
I am here to try to get people like you to avoid the suffering falling as I did for this lens caused me. I own use and love my D800 dearly, and everything I have said here is true. I go ENTIRELY by what comes out of the cameras, and tell you what I see.

0 upvotes
AlephNull

The D810 is the same price as the D800e, and given that it is the development of the D800e, that's understandable.

You are sorely mistaken about lenses being unable to out-resolve a 16Mpixel sensor. Roger at LensRentals has measured a great many lenses on the D800 (and he measures multiple samples of each) - I suggest you read his results.

Still, you are under no obligation to buy a D810. Feel free to use a D800 if you have one, or something else, if that's what you have.

I told myself I didn't need the D810 as an upgrade over the D800e. I wanted it. I traded in my D800e on it. I am not regretting it! YMMV :)

0 upvotes
munro harrap

IF I did not have a D800 already, and had no full-frame Nikon at all, and wanted one, it goes without saying I woyuld buy a D810. BUT, the fact remains that at this size focus has to be spot on, and depth of field too for landscape shots to succeed.
As to primes, well folks, list to my rant! They shrink your vision. You have to go around looking for 24mm or 50mm or 105mm shots etc. You have mentally to be a limited 35mm 50mm or 105mm viewfinder yourself- you have to become only that.
The pictures can be good, sure, but they are only certain types of pictures, rather than the infinity of types a great zoom makes POSSIBLE.

Hence the NEED for sharp zoom lenses. Their lack is wrecking photography's ability to progress visually.

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
munro harrap

And the other factor is the dreadful digital colour we are still stuck with. Do you realize that a correctly balanced spectrum in camera would mean you did not have to waste weeks of your life trying to get the reds somewhere near what you saw etcetera. We still have 1999 colour- these has been NO progress. Progress is no need for ANY correction at all. You are still paying several thousands for an inherently defective machine that then requires expensive time-consuming software to be able to function at all.

0 upvotes
ecube

@munro harrap - Reading your post in this thread, specially the last two makes me wonder if you have taken time to know your D800. While I do not totaly agree with Galbertson's statement of limiting landscape shots to prime lenses, your rant on color, sharpness, and claim the the D800 being a defective machine is irresponsible. Since you claim earlier that you LOVE your D800, I wonder if you keep track of your posts.

Would be nice to know how you set you camera, the lighting of the subject, where you view your photos (the LCD on your camera or computer), the color calibration of the computer, etc.

Other than cropping, straightening and adjusting light intensity to correct for under or over exposure to SUIT MY PREFERENCE, I practically avoid post processing. I have adjusted and customized the setting for the type of photos I want to take (Action, Portrait, Landscape, and General photography). I have created several customized WB. My computer monitor is color calibrated.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
munro harrap

Nothing special. Calibrated 2713H monitor, all from Adobe RGB RAWs, camera set to -2 and standard for nature and neutral and -2 saturation for people shots as dayglo reds and pinks are dreadful.
process in Capture NX2 with camera settings, but I might try changing the neutral on people shots to portrait if the reds and pinks are the kind you can do this with (not many!).

The camera is the THIRD I have had. The first had AF problems and bad colour, the second trashed completely the odd raw file and had bad colour, and this one direct from Nikon they claim is perfect but the colour is as bad (which is why they gave me NX to help out). But despite this reds visibly shift in highlights unacceptably and obviously- to what depends on the initial hue.

For happy snaps using sRGB I have no idea as I do not cripple my colour work using sRGB. So I dont post Abobe RGB jpegs now, as last time every impertinent fellow demanded I send RAWs to Dropbox, as if using sRGB they could not see the problem

0 upvotes
ecube

If Nikon D800 is not good enough for you, how about ditching your Nikon D800 in favor of Canon or Hasselblad or Olympus, or Leica or Pentax or Sony.

You must be a very important customer of Nikon for them to GIVE you Capture NX2. I only have the basic Nikon View NX2 and I don't have any problem with photos taken with Nikon D90, D5100, D600 and D800. My fallback PP is the old PhotoShop 7.0.

I do very little PP. I definitely do not waste my time pixel peeping. You and I have divergent setting because we have different preference. I wonder if you have experimented with different setting. I did until I found the settings most pleasing to me.

I am confused by your last paragraph. The first sentence of that paragraph is contradictory. In the last sentence, you put RAW and sRGB as if you are treating RAW to be an sRGB. That very much confused me.

You made me feel being in a gondola lifted by hot air with the strong wind pushing the gondola in 360 degree different directions.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 1533
12345