Previous page Next page

Samples Galleries (Preview)

There are 27 images in the samples gallery. Please do not reproduce any of these images on a website or any newsletter / magazine without prior permission (see our copyright page). We make the originals available for private users to download to their own machines for personal examination or printing (in conjunction with this review), we do so in good faith, please don't abuse it.

Unless otherwise noted images taken with no particular settings at full resolution. A reduced size image (within 1024 x 1024 bounds) is provided to be more easily viewed in your browser. As always the original untouched image is available by clicking on this reduced image.

Note: Some of the images in the gallery were shot with pre-production firmware, DNG's converted using a beta copy of Adobe Camera RAW 5.5 (no calibration data was available for the M9).

Leica M9 Preview Gallery

27 images • Posted 9 September 2009 • View album
Sample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photoSample photo
Previous page Next page
155
I own it
103
I want it
33
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 20
Wildbegonia
By Wildbegonia (Jun 16, 2012)

Guys,
I have a vision problem that causes not double but quintuple images. So for me, an excellent auto focus system is the only bridge between me and photography. I do not read it any where, does this mean the Leica M9 do not have this feature?
Thank you all and i do welcome suggestions.

0 upvotes
KonstantinosK
By KonstantinosK (Jul 3, 2012)

No AF. Keep your money for something else.

0 upvotes
Wildbegonia
By Wildbegonia (Nov 22, 2012)

Thank you boy, ;)

0 upvotes
jadmaister2
By jadmaister2 (Jun 3, 2012)

dear dp review.
Isnt it about time the actual review was published...I mean 3 years is a fair ol time to wait.

2 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Feb 18, 2012)

guys if you need an m9 review, just read the m8 review, and add the information of this preview as it covers the differences of those two.

i dont know whats the big deal about that, if some of you want to buy a 7k camera, why on earth would you base that on a review site anyway? ^^

i personally find the looks of the m9 ugly, i would like to have an m9 in an m8 body, i cant understand why they made this ugly cutout next to the viewfinder

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
mka78
By mka78 (Jan 24, 2012)

Leica is all about the glass, the digital version of the cameras and the sensor are below canon and nikon

0 upvotes
Superka
By Superka (Oct 4, 2011)

What are you waiting for? It must be a very short review. Something like "It is the best camera"" (on every of the 25 pages), ""100% Platinum award!" at the end. And thats all.

2 upvotes
Luta M
By Luta M (Oct 4, 2011)

The best M9 review I have found so far is written by Danish photographer and writer Thorsten Overgaard: http://www.overgaard.dk/leica-M9-digital-rangefinder-camera.html
I'm keeping a blog about my experiences with the M9 here:
http://lutaatwork.blogspot.com/
There's some reviews on it as well, but the main thing about the blog is to show that it is possible to switch from a DSLR to a rangefinder and that it is fun, but hard work.

0 upvotes
DeMaatin
By DeMaatin (Feb 4, 2012)

Well, thank You for introducing Scientology to dpreview !

Overgaard is an avid messiah all over the world.

Respectfully,

Tom C.Ruise

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Feb 18, 2012)

his photos are not really an advertise his business^^ while the characteristics of the glass is clearly visible in some shots, the compositions are boring to extremely boring ..

this guy shoots like a tourist with a very expensive camera, that should be in the hands of a gifted unwealthy photog in my opinion

1 upvote
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Feb 18, 2012)

oh and he is in scientology, well that explaines A LOT hehe

there is not one single gifted artist in this moronic club, at least i dont know any

2 upvotes
DigitalPowerShot
By DigitalPowerShot (Aug 12, 2011)

dpreview is waiting for the M10 to be previewd ;-)

7 upvotes
bpalme
By bpalme (Aug 11, 2011)

Yes.. should be a review by now. Probably not too many users but a lot of people that would really like to read it anyway. Need some Leica lens reviews too.

3 upvotes
Jason Butler
By Jason Butler (Aug 7, 2011)

2 years later and still no proper REVIEW. I've noticed a trend here at DPreview lately: lots of PREVIEWS but few REVIEWS. Lazy.

7 upvotes
Ben1977
By Ben1977 (Jul 8, 2011)

I Noticed that there is a Leica M9 Prizedraw cometition or whatver call you them

here http://www.iloverangefinders.com/2011/06/win-a-leica-m9/

0 upvotes
Scotsloon
By Scotsloon (Jun 22, 2011)

I wonder why we have never had a full test of the M9, just a preview?

5 upvotes
snake_b
By snake_b (Jun 24, 2011)

Same here. Now they've come out with something so incredibly different in the form of the P model.

2 upvotes
Poss
By Poss (Jun 24, 2011)

There's not much good to be said about the sensor I guess...

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Feb 18, 2012)

i guess the reasons are more that the m9 is essentially an m8 with upgraded sensor, and that potential m9 buyers do not go to dpreview to decide if they gonna buy it or not ^^

this is no mFT or slr where you could judge whether buying the panasonic 400€ version or the olympus 399€ version.

so anyone that wants an m9 allready owns another m, and knows whats in the box, also, i guess if you want to spend 7k on a camera body, the least thing you gonna do is visit a review site^^

at least for me, whespending that much money, i go to a shop and review it myself

0 upvotes
Wang Man
By Wang Man (Jul 11, 2012)

I started with the M4, then the M6, now with the M9.
If you did not start early with Leica M cameras, you will find the M9 old school, manual focus, aperture setting, etc. I skipped the M8 and M8.2 because they did not have a full frame sensor.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Total comments: 20