Previous page Next page

Canon Powershot S110 hands-on preview

September 2012 | By Andy Westlake
Buy on Amazon.com From $179.00


Preview based on a pre-production Canon Powershot S110

When Canon announced the Powershot S90 just over three years ago, it almost single-handedly defined a new class of camera - a genuinely pocketable compact for serious photographers, with RAW format recording, lots of manual control, a larger-than-average 1/1.7" sensor and a fast lens (at least at wideangle). For a couple of years the S90 and its successors - the S95 and S100 - were near-undisputed leaders of the class, and the camera of choice for enthusiasts looking for the ultimate in portability, without sacrificing too much in the way of image quality or manual control.

This all changed with the appearance of the Sony Cyber-shot RX100, a camera whose substantially bigger 20MP 1" sensor in a barely-larger body places it as new king of the hill. Fujifilm has got into the act, too, with today's announcement of the XF1, a beautifully designed compact that uses Fujifilm's clever EXR-CMOS sensor. The upshot of all this is that Canon's latest offering, the S110, enters a considerably more-competitive marketplace than that faced by its predecessors.

An updated S100, with WiFi and Touchscreen

The S110 is a relatively gentle update of the S100, with the guts of the camera - the lens, sensor and image processor - staying essentially the same. So it still uses a 12MP 1/1.7" Canon-made 'High Sensitivity CMOS' sensor, DIGIC 5 image processor, and 24-120mm equivalent lens offering a usefully-fast F2.0 aperture at wideangle, but distinctly slow F5.9 at telephoto. The camera's control layout is identical too, including the excellent and much-copied programmable control dial around the lens.

The main additions are a smartphone-like multi-touch capacitative touchscreen, along with this year's must-have feature, integrated WiFi connectivity. The latter comes at the expense of the S100's built-in GPS module, but the camera can still geo-tag your images by syncing with your smartphone's GPS - assuming you've got one, of course.

The touchscreen offers the usual features we'd expect, including the extremely useful touch-focus that allows you to specify your subject by tapping the screen. A particularly neat addition is the ability to temporarily change the function of the lens control dial by pressing on a 'virtual dial' on the right edge of the screen. For example, in aperture priority mode this means you can quickly switch the dial from controlling the aperture to exposure compensation, a thoughtful addition to the S100's already excellent control system.

The S110's WiFi offers a fairly standard feature set too. You can transfer images to a smartphone or tablet, and upload stills and movies directly to social networking sites such as Facebook and YouTube. If you're out of range of a WiFi network, you can still upload via your tablet or phone using Canon's CameraWindow app. It's also possible to print wirelessly to WiFi-enabled printers, such as Canon's Selphy CP900 or Pixma models announced alongside the S110.

The S110 also gets what Canon is calling 'ZoomPlus', an enhanced digital zoom that attempts to use content-aware upsampling for better image quality. If this sounds somewhat familiar, that's probably because Sony offers similar-sounding technology called 'Clear Image Zoom' on its recent cameras, including the RX100. Canon's implementation, like Sony's, essentially doubles the camera's zoom range for JPEG shooters, while in principle offering better quality than a standard digital zoom.

The S110 will be generally available in two colour options - a very attractive-looking glossy white (with silver top plate, lens barrel and rear controls), or for those who prefer their cameras not to be noticed, matte black. A version in a gun-metal finish (similar to that used for the S100 - click here to see it) will also be available though some outlets.

Canon Powershot S110 key features

  • 12MP 1/1.7" Canon CMOS sensor
  • 24-120mm equivalent F2.0-5.9 lens, 4-stop 'Intelligent IS'.
  • DIGIC 5 processor
  • ISO 80-12800
  • Touch-sensitive 3" 460k dot PureColor II G screen
  • Built-in WiFi
  • RAW format recording
  • Built-in 3-stop Neutral Density filter

Sensor sizes compared

The diagram below compares the size of the S110's 1/1.7" sensor with a range of other enthusiast compacts, including its most direct competitors, the Sony Cyber-shot RX100 and Fujifilm XF1.

The S110's 1/1.7" sensor is larger than the 1/2.3" type used in most compact cameras. But Fujifilm's 2/3" sensor in the XF1 is 50% larger again, while the 1" sensor in the Sony RX100 is almost 3 times the size.

Enthusiast compacts: lenses, sensors and background blur

The table below compares the S110's lens specifications and sensor size against its main competitors and the co-announced G15. Along with the familiar 35mm-equivalent focal length, we've also included a 35mm-equivalent aperture range, which gives some idea of the control over depth of field offered by each camera's lens.

  Sensor area, mm2
(dimensions)
Focal length range Focal length range (equiv.) Aperture range Aperture range (equiv)* Dimensions (mm)
Canon S110 41
(7.4x5.6)
5.2-26mm 24-120mm F2.0-5.9 F9.3-27.4 99x59x27
Sony
DSC-RX100
116
(13.2x8.8)
10-37mm 28-100mm F1.8-4.9 F4.9-13.4 101x58x36
Fujifilm XF1 58
(8.8x6.6)
6.4-25.6mm 25-100mm F1.8-4.9 F7.0-19.1 108x62x33
Canon Powershot G15 41
(7.4x5.6)
6.1-30.5mm 28-140mm F1.8-2.8 F8.3-12.9 107x76x40
Nikon Coolpix P7700 41
(7.4x5.6)
6.0-42.8mm 28-200mm F2.0-4.0 F9.3-18.7 119x73x50
Fujifilm X10 58
(8.8x6.6)
7.1-28mm 28-112mm F2.0-2.8 F7.9-11 117x70x57
Panasonic DMC-LX7 34**
(6.7x5.1)
4.7-17.7mm 24-90mm F1.4-2.3 F7.1-11.7 111x68x46
Samsung EX2F 41
(7.4x5.6)
5.2-17.2mm 24-80mm F1.4-2.7 F6.5-12.5 112x62x45

* Equivalent aperture, in 135 film terms - this gives an idea of the depth of field control offered by the lenses when the sensor size is taken into account.
** Panasonic DMC-LX7 sensor area figures based on 4:3 aspect ratio mode

Photographers tend to be interested in how well a lens can blur backgrounds when shooting portraits at full telephoto, and the S110's small aperture places it at the bottom of the pack for enthusiast compacts. This is the tradeoff for it being the slimmest and most pocketable of the lot.

The equivalent apertures also give a rough idea of how the cameras might compare in low light; to a degree they indicate how far a larger sensor should be offset by a faster lens. Obviously this isn't the whole story; the characteristics of the individual sensors matters too, as does the quality of in-camera processing for JPEG shooters. But the story is essentially the same - the S110 is competitive at wideangle, but behind larger cameras when used at the tele end.


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2012 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
148
I own it
13
I want it
15
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 106
robertbrowning

How long a stretch of continuous video will the S110 take? (The RX100 claims 30 minutes). How good are the mics and audio pick-up? When played through "high-fidelity" amplification and speakers, is there reasonably realistic bass and treble along with balanced mid-range? (My sense is that personal movie cameras are less popular than primarily still photo cameras. Many of us are now using our Canons--Elph, SX series, and S series--primarily as video cameras.

0 upvotes
robertbrowning

I've been pleased with the available light shots captured by my Elph--the rare, rapidly discontinued SD4000. How much better (if at all) is the lens of the S110?

0 upvotes
edhume

I have an LX5 and an LX7, but I want something better than my iPod Touch to put in pants pocket. So I am looking at the S110.

To the author: I am glad you guys sprinkle some overhead shots so we can compare thicknesses. But please remember, on these pocket cams, to include overhead shots with the lenses retracted.

Thanks.

0 upvotes
5C4FB9F1B2C54CA89C48BE4A07B6E5BA

I've had the lens mechanism replaced TWICE at a cost of $165.00. No apologies whatsoever from Canon. They say not to store it or keep in a bag where the "on" button could be inadvertently pressed, activating the lens. Well that's aal the time. I keep the battery out now, most of the time. An easy fix should have been to employ a Lock for the ON/OFF button.
Too easy I guess.

1 upvote
robertbrowning

I've fixed my Canon SD780, which I dropped with the lens out, by closing my eyes, taking a deep breath, and pushing with all of my might in the direction opposite to the crooked angle of my useless lens. Suddenly, I heard a snap and looked down, expecting to see trash metal. Instead it was straight and operated with the retraction button like it was a new camera. For $165 I'd try the same thing. If it didn't work, I could get a new camera for that price; a slightly used, refurbished one for less still.

0 upvotes
The Davinator

Came out what, 6 months ago? Still no review

0 upvotes
Joed700

I recently bought the S110 to replace my s90. I really like the wi-fi feature where you can put your pix on the web via smartphones. I also like the 24mm, which is a great feature for traveling. On the other hand, I don't notice any major advantage using the s110 over my s90 in terms of picture quality. In fact, my friend's s95's LCD screen displays better colors; the s110 has somewhat a green tint on the LCD screen.

0 upvotes
Timmbits

Canon STILL can't afford designers for this ugly uninspiring chinese-junk-toy-looking camera series?

Surely a company like canon can afford to devote at least a 1 person design team to this...

1 upvote
B1ackhat

I've always liked the S-series design, as have many others based on the fact that has been nearly replicated by various manufacturers.

2 upvotes
marike6

I think it looks very nice. And perhaps you missed the "Made in Japan" stamped right next to the tripod socket?

5 upvotes
Ilovechocolate

I think this is the nicest looking small camera on the market. Very plain, slim & stylish...

1 upvote
eliedata

My colleagues and I bought 3 S100 cameras about 6 months ago. we were extremely satisfied with the image quality & the matchless convenience.

I used my camera really well travelling to Italy, Sicily, Dubai, Lebanon and other places. I shot about 3000 images and a few short movies.

However, the lens unit on my camera failed about a month ago for no reason at all. The same happened to one of my colleagues camera today even though she hardly used her camera.

Canon should pay more attention to the lens mechanism issue that caused many people to stop buying their products even though the image quality is really good. Reliability is a great issue!!!

I am so reluctant to advise anyone to buy the S110 if there is no assurance that the lens mechanism has been revamped.

2 upvotes
ryansholl

Every Canon compact I've ever owned (s200,2x s400, s500) has also had a less than stellar longevity because of lens mechanisms. I thought they'd have gotten around to solving this issue by now, but I see they haven't.

1 upvote
PeterSchleger

My S100 died in Venice, the usual lens issue, and I can't explain how naked I felt. The internet seemed to have no comments on the issue. I could not find a camera in Venice...really another S100. However, when I got back 3 days later I called Canon and they know about the issue and it was fixed free. No questions asked. Now, boys and girls, I just bought the S110 as I will travel with both. One as a spare. I love the size, the photos, the low light, the zoom, and so on. Both cameras use the same battery and charger. Maybe the lens delicacy is a function of size. I will live with it and Canon's terrific service. They answer every phone question I have had along the way.

0 upvotes
maboule123

At least yours was a happy ending story. Not the same as those who saw their Fujifilm X10 dishing out white orbits followed by the denial from the manufacturer that something was wrong. I understand that a product can have some flaws, but as you said it: No questions asked. They just went to repair it. I'll bank on Canon just by the fact that they CARE.

0 upvotes
Timmbits

I remember reading reviews where they said not two brand new cameras had the same lens sharpness... their assembly seemed rather random, like it came out of an antiquated chinese factory.

0 upvotes
Timmbits

...and I thought they couldn't make them any UGLIER!!!!!
they've outdone themselves!

Canon, hire yourselves some designers!
This is getting embarrassing for you.
Looks like a chinese no-name pos you can get at the dollar store.
You sure are making the competition look really good.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Kodachrome200

well i have not tried it so i dont know but all this hating on a touch screeen baffles me. compact cameras have been plauged with the inablitly to easily and on a dime place the focus. its easy on an iPhone. just touch the screen. seems like a good way to implement this on a small body and not impede exposure control. even on a sony nex 7 there is no easy way to do this. well atlest i consider it fussy. given this painful limitation of compact cameras i should think users welcome a touchscreen

0 upvotes
Tee1up

Does anyone really shoot 12 mp and then wifi or piggyback on their cell phones to move these images around? I guess I am just too old to get the usefulness of this. And yes, even a cheesy optical view finder would put this camera on my radar.

0 upvotes
PhotoPoet

I gave my daughter my S95 and am using the S100, I seem to still believe the S95 takes better shots... and no thank you.. .touch screen.. I get it, camera phones, but we do not need that on a compact camera...

2 upvotes
John Usa

I just bought the S100 as I found it to be a much better value than this new S110. I paid only $290 compared to about $450 for the S110.
I gave up 2 features, the wireless and the touch screen.
But for pure value the S100 is fantastic.

1 upvote
PocketTool

Touch screens have no business being on a pocket camera IMO. This is the wrong direction for me. The Fuji XF1 on the other hand is a far more interesting camera. I think the Fuji folks have got a much better grasp of "dancing with those who brung ya". There's no need to turn everything into a video game or an iphone when there is a rich history of proven designs to mine for new ideas.

Want to get me excited Canon? Put a large bright optical viewfinder and analogue controls on your next shirt pocket camera.

4 upvotes
PhotoPoet

So very much agree with this. No touch screen needed... Optical viewfinder... yes please

1 upvote
Bulva

does canon add this camera to the woman's newspaper instead of movie on dvd?. Both canon and nikon forgot their core business and sony bites every month more and more that cake. Seeing what nikon/canon are doing I predict that next their models will be equipped with razor or micro oven ...
I owe RX100 and my next will probably be RX1 not only because they create benchmarks but also because they are good!. On the other hand I hate policy of sony to launch almost every month new model, but OK, I can live with that.

1 upvote
ennemkay

the lx and xz cameras have the same sensor and much better lenses. and the rx100 has a much better sensor and lens and similar pocketability. if it's priced more than $299 why would anyone but canon devotees buy an s110?

0 upvotes
Jery99

LX have similar senzor(but croped) like S100(110) but XZ-1 is two clases below panassonic canon standart.

0 upvotes
marike6

two class below the pany and canon? The XZ-1 and LX5 have 1.63" sensors, and the S100 1.7". But both the LX and XZ-1 have much faster lenses, with large max apertures throughout their zoom ranges. The only reason to prefer the Canon is size. Like the RX100, XF1, the S110 to keep it small have made the lens f4.9 at full tele.

1 upvote
ennemkay

um, that would be lx7 and xz2.

0 upvotes
grafli

@marike6: have you seen the high ISO output from the XZ-1? compared to the superb S100/S95/S90 its two classes (F-Stops in Sensor Noise) behind!

Ok, you could argue that at tele the XZ-1 is 2 Stops brighter than the Canon... But thats the price for beeing pocketable...

1 upvote
Valentin Stan

None of those cameras are as small as S110. If you want pocketability and quality you go with Canon.

1 upvote
tbcass

My RX100 fits easily in my pants pocket. Sorry, the Sony is a much better camera than the S110 and worth a lot more than the $150 difference in price. Canon, time to go back to the drawing board.

0 upvotes
jeds

If the Sony had a 24mm lens it would be my pick. Of course if it did other properties would likely be compromised so maybe it would then not be my pick. I suppose the truth is you can't have eveything.

0 upvotes
ennemkay

this is incredibly boring. not much has changed since the s90.

7 upvotes
dchollis

Hello, Lot's of differing opinions on the camera so far. I'm wondering if the camera actually does have remote control capability as it says in the DP review - the photo of the outputs mentions it but it's not visible unless it is actually the USB socket? It's not mentioned on the canon website or even the S110 manual I downloaded from the US site. Can anyone help? Cheers

0 upvotes
antiplex

thats what i am wondering about as well plus if the USB-socket allows finally to charge this compact companion without carrying the bulky stock-chargers...

1 upvote
CarstenKostrzewa

By coincidence I just published an article that is related to the section above "Enthusiast compacts: lenses, sensors and background blur". Anybody that is interested in some additional viewpoints (like e.g. which camera is capable to product background blur for a typical portrait situation), please have a look at:
http://www.dpreview.com/articles/6091822765/background-blur-and-its-relationship-to-sensor-size

2 upvotes
Michael_13

Thank you for this very good article!
If you're interested, I also added one result in the comments.

0 upvotes
Timmbits

Hey DPR: shouldn't the the image for the Panasonic 1/1.7" crop be the same height as the other 1/1.7"? whereas, in 16:9 is is shorter but as wide?

Why is this, all of a sudden, looking very biased towards canon? advertising revenue, or kickbacks for the article?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Andy Westlake

The LX7 uses an unusual sensor - it's 1/1.7" type, but 3:2 aspect ratio (so lower but wider than a conventional 4:3 1/1.7" sensor). The 4:3 frame that we're showing here is then cropped-in from the edges of sensor, leading to a smaller active area than Canon's 1/1.7" sensor.

(The giveaway here, BTW, lies in the two lens's focal lengths. Both offer 24mm equivalent wideangle, but the S110's is 5.2mm while the LX7's is 4.7mm. This means that the LX7 must be using a smaller active area of the sensor.)

So no, this isn't biased towards Canon, it's just the way the two cameras work. Your allegation that we're unfairly manipulating the information presented for 'advertising revenue' or 'kickbacks' is therefore utterly unfounded, and simply reflects your own lack of understanding. Your apologies are accepted in advance, BTW.

Comment edited 28 seconds after posting
10 upvotes
BeanyPic

Watch out the Area 51 will be on here next.

3 upvotes
emeff

I bought an S100 for a major trip to South America last February. I took around 1800 photos and the results were everything I had hoped for. My wife made up a large photo book from the results, sometimes using images across 2 pages and the effects were sensational.

As a professional photographer, it does sadden me to see people here writing incessantly about equipment but ignoring that these cameras are tools for photography - the image ought to be what we are aiming for, not the pixel count or wifi ability.

13 upvotes
Joachim Gerstl

I would not be surprised if the next S camera has a 1" sensor. This camera obviously was already finished when Sony announced the RX100.

2 upvotes
marike6

If someone doesn't print large then the S series Canons are excellent choices. Just as FF sensors of professional DSLRs don't obsolete smaller format cameras like APS-C and m43, the RX100 1" sensor doesn't obsolete 1/1.7" sensor or 2/3" sensor compacts like the XZ-1, S100, LX-7 or X10. In fact, with a camera like the X10 or LX7 that has a faster max aperture lens than the RX100 at the telephoto end, it's much easier to get nice subject-to-background separation.

1 upvote
ennemkay

the 1" sensor compacts will eventuially obsolete the 1/1.7 compacts now that there is no size difference, and since the prices are now similar (rx100 648 vs xz-1 599 vs lx7 549). the next lx camera will probably have a 1" given the success of the rx100, then canon and olympus will be forced to follow suit or to greatly lower their own price points.

1 upvote
B1ackhat

Canon has no need to lower the price of the S110. It's $380 versus a ridiculous $650 for the RX100.

1 upvote
GSD_ZA

If you buy this camera, be sure to order a Freniac grip for it. Without one, it is a bar of soap.

0 upvotes
Michael Doleman

Is it just me, or is Canon's output in anything except their DSLR line increasingly yawn-worthy? As a former S-series owner & fan, this is disheartening. I'm now a Sony RX100 owner and have to say (hopefully without going too far down the road with the hype bandwagon) that it's now difficult to view these tiny-sensor enthusiast compacts as anything but irrelevant. My assumption was that Sony just happened to be lucky enough to be first to market with a large(ish) sensor in a pocketable form factor. I expected the next round of compacts from Canon, Samsung, and Panasonic to all sport larger sensors and be very significant upgrades to each respective model series... Instead: minor refreshes only, right across the board.

5 upvotes
peevee1

Their current DSLR line also sucks, with the lonely exception of 1D X.

1 upvote
Dougbm_2

Yes the RX100 is THE desirable compact of the moment but the S110 is about 30% cheaper and still an excellent little camera. But where is the grip Canon?

2 upvotes
tje1964

Canon's S Series cameras are not yawn-worthy to those of us who DON'T have $650.00 to spend on a compact camera.

6 upvotes
marike6

And they are not yawn worthy if you don't need a 20 mp P&S, or don't print huge, or care more about how a camera handles than you do about it's sensor size.

If sensor size mattered above all else, we'd all be shooting FF.

2 upvotes
Kitamura

Got an S90 when it first came out. It has served me well and although I've dropped it many times and it's died and come back to life and I still love it, I think it's time for me to start looking for a new compact. Like the article says, its a great time to be in the market since we're spoilt for choice in this category.

The RX-100 looked like exactly what i need, until I saw the price. If it came down a couple hundred bucks I would reconsider. Then I considered the LX-7 with it's F1.4 lens. Could be great fun. The G15 is also an attractive camera, although I'm disappointed they took away the flipout screen. The new Fujifilm XF-1 is interesting too. I even considered the new Olympus TG-1.

But then I remembered why I bought the S90 in the first place. It's the size. Not sensor size, but the body size. It was the only camera in this class that actually fit in my trouser pocket comfortably. Again, there is some tough competition, but none beat the S110 for pocketability.

2 upvotes
peevee1

Both S110 and RX100 are pocketable. But S110 is still a P&S, in terms of image quality, speed of operation, video, number of shots per charge etc, while RX100 matches or beats any APC-S or smaller-sensored DSLR or mirrorless with their 3.5-5.6 kit lenses (the only exception seems to be Fuji X-E1 because the kit is 2.8-4 and the sensor and JPEG are good).

0 upvotes
Andrew Butterfield

I'm glad they've gone back to the simple uncluttered design of the S95. And I like the knurled dials and the touchscreen. This will obviously be a very good high-quality and very compact camera. But it's looking a bit like the golden boy has moved to a new school and isn't king of the playground any more. Can Canon up its game? I hope so.

0 upvotes
raiden78

RIP Canon

4 upvotes
BeanyPic

You have no idea have you....

1 upvote
Yod

Same sensor,same lens and Probaly the SAME LENS ERROR MESSAGE.Best wishes.Yod

10 upvotes
Khizer

I resent buying the S100 and paying no heed to feedback from some users about the infamous 'lens error'. My camera jammed within a month of the purchsae and I had to spend 50% of the camera price in Dubai to replace the lens unit, because I did not have local warranty. Disappointingly, Canon has shown insolence by using the same lens in their new model.

0 upvotes
donabc

The product information on Amazon states that the lens is "Newly engineered specifically for the PowerShot S110".

1 upvote
Jennyhappy2

Very disappointing Canon!

8 upvotes
peevee1

Ha, they are officially out of the names for the cameras, and reuse the old ones. See what DPR offers in their price box:
Canon PowerShot S110 2MP
with 2x Optical Zoom
$29.49

1 upvote
Klaus dk

I could live with the Sony competitors larger size if it was equipped with a wider zoom. Having a 24 mm equivalent wide angle lens in a pocketable body is a must for holiday and social photography for me.
So I'll keep my S100 until the competition combines those two features with better IQ and better low-light capability.
If you think the S100 or the S110 sucks, then just don't buy it. How hard can that decision be?
Different strokes for different folks.

8 upvotes
peevee1

Well, Fuji XF1 has 25 mm on wide end. Not a big difference, but better low light and much better shooting speed.

1 upvote
Ciapka

I have owned a fuji xf1 and have gone back to the canon s110. Maximum aperature drops significantly at the telephoto end (f/4.9) on the fuji xf1 and I much prefered the images from the canon s110. A friend of mine owns the rx100 and when showing pictures taken with both the rx100 and the s110, people usually pick the s110 as the winner. Photos are sharp and colors are rendered beautifully. I picked up an s110 for $329 CDN. Is the sony really worth $699 CDN. Not in my opinion. If you love your rx100 for more than twice the price go for it. The s110 slips in my pocket and is easy to use. By the way, all of you that simply say the s110 "sucks"...have you even tried one?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
PeterSchleger

Klaus, agree 100% but as this is a discussion board angry people have a place to be angry. It would be nice if Canon reimbursed Khizer for his repairs. I have had the whole line of Canon G series products (my disease) and my lens locking in Venice is the first mechanical problem I have had. A friend broke his leg skiing after 7 years and said he would take that rate of injhury for the joys of skiing.

0 upvotes
pcworth

Wow! What an uninspired update. I was looking at the RX100 and hoping for an amazing update to the xz-1, and Canon come out with this in response? I guess they have just given up in this segment. Off to check out the G15 now!

5 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer

If the S110 and RX100 were the same price I would agree with you.

5 upvotes
peevee1

S110 sucks even more than S100. Same sensor, same processor, same lens, same display, not GPS, and shoots even slower (2.1 fps vs 2.3 fps). Canon has not produced a single competitive camera this year short of 1D X.

3 upvotes
photofan1986

"S110 sucks even more than S100."
Ah because the S100 sucked?
I, for one, really liked it, even though it's not perfect by any means.

1 upvote
peevee1

Well, in comparison to RX100 S100 certainly sucked. It could certainly be explained by their release dates, but S110 does not have that advantage already.

0 upvotes
Dougbm_2

How about the 6D? That seems competitive.

0 upvotes
B1ackhat

The S110 and S100 do not have the same sensor, same lens, or same display. The sensors have different sensitivity levels. Canon has announced that the lens is new. It's obvious that the display is new since it's a touchscreen. No, there is nothing innovative here, but the S110 is still an evolutionary improvement over the S100.

0 upvotes
voiceoverguy

Every camera maker will forever come out with a new camera every few months. The market is so competitive, do not do so would spell doom for a manufacturer in no time. With wi-fi, the S110 is simply providing another way to get pictures from here to there (which an Eye-Fi card does very well), and the touchscreen is another way to speed up an already fast way to take photos.

That said, I love both my S90 and S100. The Sony may have a "much larger and therefore better sensor", but when you can take a really sharp, colorful photo with either Canon, even at it's slower zoomed range, and then print a decent 11x14 or larger print, then you probably have a good enough camera… certainly considering it's much less money than the Sony.

One thing is true for Canon S models: there are few, if any other cameras you can truly slip into a pair of jeans or an inside sport coat pocket and barely notice it's there.

Sony would be nice; Canon suits me perfectly.

Comment edited 59 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
GabrielZ

I must say, lately Sony are really pulling out all the stops with their new product introductions and are taking the technological lead from rivals Canikon! In fact I've noticed in other areas of consumer electronics Sony are getting their act together in a big way of late, maybe it's because of that new CEO of theirs and competition from Apple.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
danaceb

Globally Sony has found itself being pounded into the dirt by the Korean mega corps for over a decade. It's only been in the USA due to stronger brand respect it has there, this new found resurgence is indeed welcome if a good 8 years late imho.

Camera enthusiast are blind to the death brand loyal next to your average TV consumer, Sony has a far bigger fight with Canikon and their efforts show. My only peeve with them is lacking lenses on E-mount and menus with the nasty Android smartphone like habit of lag and momentary freezing.

Comment edited 38 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
danaceb

The RX100 has indeed caught Canon and the others off guard, but there fortress like brand name and lower price will ensure this one is still a good seller.

3 upvotes
Deeso

Seeing what Canon and others have done, it's pretty obvious Sony caught the others by surprise. Although the Sony is expensive enough to consider an EVIL system instead, in its own category the RX100 is the best by some margin.

14 upvotes
Abhijith Kannankavil

In the market ths camera has to compete with the sony RX100. But in canon's line up, this may not be the answer for it. The sony is too much for the s110 to handle.

Apart from that, it looks very good and has some decent specs

0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer

The S100 sells for $350. The RX100 sells for $650. I don't even see the comparison, let alone competition.

7 upvotes
ennemkay

s100 is a generation ago. you can't compare its pricing to the just released rx100. the s110 will most likely retail for 499. at that price, the rx100 is a much, much better value even at 650.

2 upvotes
fbx

S110 is $339 at Amazon, half the price of the RX100 ($648). If you're going to spend $650 on a camera there are plenty of options.

2 upvotes
Digital Suicide

I must say, I had a good laugh when I saw S110 thumbnail in the "Latest reviews" column on the right. Good one :))

8 upvotes
MortonH

Seems like a decent camera, if a llittle uninspiring. What a great choice of compacts we have these days.

0 upvotes
gail

The image for the s110 under Latest Reviews show the S110/S400 Digital Elph, which I believe is about a decade old!

3 upvotes
EmailYasmin

S110 won't hold candle to RX-100.

Although Sony has packed so many pixels on its 1" sensor, still the RX-100 quality is simply amazing.

4 upvotes
Jens_G

Have they finally fixed the lens mechanism issue?

5 upvotes
donabc

Apparently. The product information on Amazon states that the lens is "Newly engineered specifically for the PowerShot S110".

0 upvotes
Thsoft

Very disappointed. 1080p has only 24fps. It should be 60fps

1 upvote
MortonH

Why all the focus on sensor sizes? Isn't pixel pitch more important? The RX100 has a larger sensor but nearly twice as many pixels. Or did I miss a square law somewhere?

0 upvotes
technic

no, sensor size is far more important to image quality than pixel pitch. It's all about the amount of light that is used to capture an image.
Plus a larger sensor can have other advantages like more DOF control (although some users would consider that a disadvantage compared to their cameraphones ...).

12 upvotes
Jens_G

The RX 100 has more AND larger pixels.

9 upvotes
EonStrife

S100 pixel size : 3.4 µm²
RX100 pixel size : 5.8 µm²

source : http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-S100-vs-Sony-Cybershot-DSC-RX100/specs

1 upvote
DStudio

The Canon Powershot S90 to S110 cameras are impressively small, which is important. But they still haven't improved the lens - it continues to have over 3 stops variation in the maximum aperture.

So if you really need a camera this small it could be a good choice. And interface improvements are always welcome. But if you can use a slightly larger camera there are much better choices from Olympus, Fuji, and now Panasonic. You really don't have to go as large as a G15 to get a proper lens.

Comment edited 7 minutes after posting
1 upvote
leventhan

"When Canon announced the Powershot S90 just over three years ago, it almost single-handedly defined a new class of camera - a genuinely-pocketable compact for serious photographers, with RAW format recording, lots of manual control, a larger-than-average 1/1.7" sensor and a fast lens (at least at wideangle)"

Have you ever heard of Sigma DP? Ricoh GRD?

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
danaceb

Sigma and Ricoh insistence on their price premium for innovation will always relegate them as niche unknowns.

1 upvote
AbrasiveReducer

Sigma cameras require much more effort than most point and shoot users are willing to make. Ricoh's best performing cameras lack zoom lenses and most users won't accept that, either.

3 upvotes
J D Tranquil

I would love to see a change in IQ rather than the added wi-fi capability. I just want the RX100 so badly.

9 upvotes
Strachen

Ditto. Although I love the Canon menu system, I kinda think they missed the boat on this one.

5 upvotes
Digital Suicide

Do it man. Just get RX100.

6 upvotes
gavin

Ditched my S90 and got the RX100. Long time canon user and just don't see Canon innovating that much lately. Quite different from a few years back.

3 upvotes
JPLane

As a Canon S95 and 40D owner, I keep wanting to spend money on Canon upgrades, but I just don't see any improvements. Canon used to have such a lead on Nikon that I felt sorry for Nikon. I thought they would fail. Not anymore.

I want a RX100 too, I do wish that it was 24 wide. I use that all the time on my S95.

0 upvotes
Dorigatti

I recently had the Sony RX100 in my hands. It is quite a bit larger than the S100. To me, it made an immediate negative impression. Then there is only 100 mm vs 120 mm at the long end. Again, I need those 20 mm. Today I had the S110 in my hands at Photokina. Guess what? the small bar grip on the front is gone... a back step from the S100.

1 upvote
Doug Bale

I never thought the matte-surfaced S95 lacked grip-ability, and putting the front bar grip on the S100 seemed to me to spoil a beautifully clean design for the sake of solving a problem that didn't exist. But for people who needed it, at least it added nothing to the camera's size. The thumb grip, though, does — extending out unecessarily farther than the mode dial. I can't imagine that it will give a better grip. What /would/ do that would be two small roughened patches, back and front, for thumb and second finger, adding no protrusion at all.
For me, the significant improvement, which hardly anyone seems to have noticed, is that remote control is finally available.

0 upvotes
photohanked

Thankfully mine was stolen so I bought a rx100. No camparison.

0 upvotes
Ciapka

I hated the grip!!! Love my s110!!

0 upvotes
Ironmanscr

I bought one of these about a month ago in Taiwan for about 300 USD. I was a little bit on the fence at first. However, when I picked up the camera, I noticed immediately how easy it was to use. IMO dialing in the controls in manual mode is quick and easy. The touch screen is a selling point for me. My biggest complaint is the battery life. I bought two extra batteries just to compensate. I unfortunately didn't get a chance to use the RX100, so I can't comment on it; although given what I've read, it doesn't seem fair to even compare these cameras given the pricing. I have also never owned an S90 or S100, but it seems like the consensus is that nothing too major has changed. Overall, I think it's a great camera for it's size, functionality, and price.

Comment edited 14 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Total comments: 106