Previous page Next page

Operation and controls

The EOS M is distinctly stripped-down in terms of physical controls compared to Canons SLRs - deliberately so, as it's designed to appeal to a different type of user. But it still allows you to control many of the main photographic functions without having to use the touchscreen.

Top of camera controls

The top-plate controls are sparse indeed - there's just the three position mode switch surrounding the shutter button, with the power switch on the top plate behind it. On the camera's shoulder is the red movie record button, which is only active when the top-plate dial is set to movie mode.

Rear of camera controls

Again, there's not a huge amount here, but it's sufficient to set all the key exposure parameters while you're shooting. The rear dial behaves much like it does on an EOS SLR - it's used to set exposure parameters and change settings. While small rear dials like this can often be fiddly and unresponsive, the one on the EOS M is actually pretty good; it's relatively resistant to accidental settings changes, with clear click-points providing tactile feedback that you've moved it a notch.

In the P, Av, Tv and M modes the EOS M behaves rather like an entry-level SLR. The rear dial is used to control program shift, aperture or shutter speed by default - pressing the +/- button toggles it to operate exposure compensation, or change the aperture in Manual. The 'Left' key provides autoexposure lock, while the 'Up' key sets the drive mode; single, continuous or self-timer. The 'Down' key can be customized; by default it returns the AF point to the centre of the screen, but can alternatively be set for Depth-of-field preview, ISO, Flash exposure compensation, or to temporarily increase the LCD brightness. So if you set it to control ISO, you have direct access to all the key exposure parameters without having to use the touchscreen.

The 'Q' button activates the onscreen Quick Control menu, and it's entirely possible to navigate around this and change settings using the direction keys and SET button. But this is the point where it just makes more sense to embrace the touchscreen interface, as it'll often be quicker. Indeed the EOS M's touch controls are often quicker and more direct than the button-operated onscreen interfaces found on simple entry-level SLRs such as the Nikon D3200.

Around the controller are three buttons that are used to access the camera's menus, enter playback mode, and change the amount of information displayed onscreen. In typical Canon fashion the menus are context sensitive, and are simpler and have fewer options when the camera is set to full Auto mode.

Previous page Next page
563
I own it
61
I want it
49
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 546
2345
marike6
By marike6 (Jul 23, 2012)

In the Nikon 1 review, DPR was heavily critical of the lack of external controls. In this EOS-M Preview, the same lack of external buttons is described more as a feature, not a bug because of the "target audience" caveat. Clearly a GF3 is not as nice to use as a GF1 because of the touch screen, yet it's implied in this EOS-M preview that the touch screen can replace mode dials and ISO buttons. Why is it not OK for the Nikon 1 to remove external controls (Nikon was very clear about the target audience for the Nikon 1) yet perfectly fine for the EOS-M?

5 upvotes
thisisjh
By thisisjh (Jul 23, 2012)

Maybe DPR just likes Canon better...? or has a weak review protocols.

0 upvotes
DStudio
By DStudio (Jul 23, 2012)

In the preview they suggest that it's the best touch screen they've yet used - I think this could explain it!

Comment edited 20 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Jul 23, 2012)

I have nothing against touch screens, just don't want them to replace hard buttons.

0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

Does that Nikon has a usable, capatitative touch screen? Or even any touchscreen at all?

So there is your answer... Menus driven by some keys/dials combo are simply inconvenient contrary to good quality touchscreens.

1 upvote
micdair
By micdair (Jul 23, 2012)

I'd say that there is a difference between review and preview :). Anyway, lack of controls + the touch screen is probably better than without. Also there may be a better and worse layouts even with the same amount of controls. I wouldn't blame them for not being harsh enough before in-depth review...

0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

I'm more interested if function is easily accessible than if its hard button or place on screen to press. It's simply easier to make them really accessible, bigger etc on that 3" screen real estate not on that 1" margin besides the screen.

Besides... Good touchscreen could be operated in gloved hands easily. Tiny buttons (they have to be tiny on tiny camera if they are tiny on cameras like D800 or EOS-5d) are pretty unusable.

0 upvotes
yslee1
By yslee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

While a touchscreen isn't ideal, having used a EOS 650D, I find it way better than the heavy menu-based system of the Nikon 1. Also, Canon might just be sensible and allow exposure settings be controlled with that rear dial, instead of a rocker switch...

0 upvotes
photohounds
By photohounds (Jul 25, 2012)

OMD EM-5 has both external controls AND touch screen :) This is entry not state of the art.

Lenses - will they match zuikos?
I doubt it - at least for a few years ...

1 upvote
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

So Ricoh was right with the GXR A12 mount module? ... Some time ago.

0 upvotes
wwcove
By wwcove (Jul 23, 2012)

Where's the beef?

0 upvotes
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

The beginning of the end for my stock of regular EOS EF lenses. So where is the professional level mirrorless camera that might mount my regular EF lenses natively without need of an adapter?
If Canon think that they can supersede my existing EF lens stock and make me re-buy as EF-M they had better think again.

Comment edited 54 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

Mirrrless camera for full frame EF mount wont happen. It makes no sense as it'd be too thick to make a difference against DSLR.

Google "Flange focal distance" - it's a hard fixed parameter of particular mount type - it's a distance between lens mount surface and sensor/film surface. For EF it's 44mm. On (D)SLR it is the space where mirror fits. Then, sensor has nonzero thickness and then there is LCD screen behind it. So ~50mm thicness is a minimum for classic EF camera. You could remove the mirror and still be left with an useless empty space.

EF-M mount has aforementioned distance of 18mm - as there is no mirror - thus cameras can be simply significantly smaller that way.

So don't wait for mirrorless classic EF mount -- it most probably won't happen ever. Adapter is the only real and realistic (and sensible) option.

1 upvote
michalc
By michalc (Jul 23, 2012)

When Nikon introduced N1 I thought Nikon designers/planners/ strategic thinkers did not work hard creating simplistic design/philosophy. Now I've grown to appreciate it. At least they INVENTED new sensor size enabling producing SHORTER and smaller lenses. And what is this thing? cheap looking (but not cheap at all), ugly P&S with good (?) old (cheap) sensor that has been beaten by competition ages ago in every respect. Long live m4/3 and NEX!!! (have one of each). What a relief!!! One less to buy! Thanks Canon!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (Jul 23, 2012)

The GF5 ($599w/14-42 zoom) has 1080p60 , flash and 40 native m4/3rds lenses with two being faster (F0.95) than any Canon or Nikon lens.

1 upvote
marike6
By marike6 (Jul 23, 2012)

GF5 has no 24p making the EOS-M much more desirable for video.
For lenses, the Voightlanders are great lenses, but over $1200 for a lens with the DOF of a f1.9 on FF is not really something to brag about. Personally if I'm going to use a crop sensor camera I'd rather it be APS-C a good compromise for size, DOF control and ability to use wides.

Besides in m43 after the 2 Noktons there is only one f1.4 lens and tons of slowish zooms. So that 40 may sound good, but in actuality there are really only about 6 or 8 nice, but fairly pricey m43 primes/zooms. Contrast that with Canon and Nikon have over 280 native lenses between them and many more third party lenses of all speeds, focal lengths and prices.

3 upvotes
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 23, 2012)

Great, one more reason for idiots to hold up a bright screen and ruin my view at a concert. Thanks Canon!

2 upvotes
Steve
By Steve (Jul 23, 2012)

NO EVF
i've been waiting for along time for canon's entry here.. but no evf kills any chance of me buying this one.. i need to be immersed into a composition.. i need a viewfinder. lol, i thought they would at least have that crappy viewfinder i have in my g11..

1 upvote
nathanleebush
By nathanleebush (Jul 23, 2012)

Who is Canon aiming at with this camera? No direct external control and lack of EVF rules out enthusiasts. Soccer moms don't care about sensor size and will balk at the price tag. The Sony RX100 kills this with the point and shoot upgraders, while the EM-5 and NEX-7 crush it from above with EVF, control and IQ (Canon doesn't seem to feel the need to update their APS-C sensor tech). And the EF compatibility is a moot point. No pro is going to be to be throwing their $2k 70-200 on this toy. Touch screen is a nice feature, but there are plenty of places for external dials left blank.

Canon seems to be banking on brand recognition and deep pockets. Will it work? Let's watch.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

To me it looks like damage-control for the infringement on their market share by the Nikon1 and micro4/3 consortium. It's not nice enough to want to move from another Canon to this one, but enough of a distraction to tell Canon clients "yes we have that too".

Comment edited 4 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

I seem to remember the EF-S a while back - optimised for aps-c cameras but still fitted on an EF mount. Sort of still-born. Now they seem to think they can launch EF-M and users will happily start buying yet another lens mount system of lenses. Hey! What sbout those that have a big investment in regular EF lenses and wish to go mirrorless? An adapter on to a consumer level body with "oh so beaut" touch screen is hardly a solution. Oh that EOS lenses would easily adapt on to another EVIL-type body, I would have been gone a long time ago. Meanwhile I refuse to upgrade my currently three dslr bodies until I get some news of a professional level mirrorless camera from Canon. One man's protest. And super-video? I guess I can manage my photography without need for any video.

0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

Sorry, but mirrorless accepting EF lenses without adaptor won't happen. Since it makes no sense whatsoever.
EF mount has flange focal distance of 44mm to accommodate full frame mirror. Such a distance makes no sense on mirrorless camera - body would be unnecessarily thick and too big.
So your only option will be an a adapter.

One day Canon will certainly introduce enthusiast level MILC, probably with more better EF-M lenses. But I suspect that
fully proffessional body won't happen.

0 upvotes
Thomas Kachadurian
By Thomas Kachadurian (Jul 23, 2012)

This really makes me worry that Canon just doesn't get it.

You'd think they'd learn from the E-P1 mistake of making a camera with no option for a view finder.

So they are late to the game, but haven't even learned anything from those who came before them.

I'm a Canon guy with lot's of Canon DSLR gear, but the EOS M doesn't even make me think twice about trying a Canon Mirrorless and will do nothing to make me stray from my beloved M-43 cameras. For 13 of the last 15 years my biggest camera expenditures have been Canon hardware and lenses. But I haven't bought a Canon body since the 5DII and haven't bought a lens since 100L macro. Lately I've bought many expensive lenses for M43 and I have three M43 bodies.

I think Canon is waning in terms of photography, with the best days behind them. There was a time when a new Canon would have set the standard for everything else, with this introduction they aren't even keeping up.

5 upvotes
vincelau
By vincelau (Jul 25, 2012)

This is exactly the same situation I found myself in. Long time Canon pro and still own the three 2.8L zooms plus the 35L and 135L, but I have not purchased any Canon gears since 5DII except for replacing blown flashes.

I'm utterly disappointed that Canon created yet another mont in EOS-M that is paired with APS-C -> this severely limited the compactness of this system as any quality/pro grade/L lens will have size that is unrealistic on a mirrorless body. This design choice demonstrate the company's focus is still very much on FF DSLR and any venture in mirrorless/light/small camera is purely amaturish. Readers who are not familiar with mirrorless may be lured in with "compatability" with EF/EF-S lens but will be quickly disappointed both in terms of handling and performance as I found out trying to pair 4/3 lens with the first generation m4/3 body.

Agree with Thomas the best balance is m43 with the quality primes and serious body/sensor and size.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

800$ with a fixed or 1000$ with a cheap (f3.5) kit zoom...

and WHY do they call it an "APS-C" when it is only 1" across?

This is definitely misleading advertising to those who trust and don't check!

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 11 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

According to the graphic here,
http://www.dpreview.com/previews/sony-dsc-rx100/
an APS-C is more than double the surface area (or close to double in the case of the mini-aps-c in the G1X). What gives? Can someone clarify how an APS-C can at the same time designate a sensor the same size as a Sony RX100 or Nikon1, or one that is 1.5" across or more?
Is APS-C even a size designation anymore?

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
1 upvote
micdair
By micdair (Jul 23, 2012)

1" of the Nikon is not the diagonal size of the sensor.

13.2 x 8.8 mm - RX100, Nikon 1

22.3 x 14.9 mm this one (Canon's ASP-C)
23.4 x 15.6 mm Nex (Standard ASP-C)

It realy is an ASP-C (Canon's 1.6 crop factor)

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

Thanks for your help. Why do they call it a !" sensor then? 1" is an absolute value, not a relative one. Indeed, that would make them only 15.9mm diagonally.
So are you saying then, that all the data on the little graphs they give us here is erroneous?
http://4.static.img-dpreview.com/reviews/nikonv1j1/images/Sensorsizes.png?v=1546

Comment edited 43 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
micdair
By micdair (Jul 23, 2012)

I'm not the right person to educate anyone about this.

But generally it is some sort of non-standardised naming convention historically based on cathode tubes used in video cameras dozens years ago. It is not any physical dimension of the sensor. Probably just good for marketing.

There is an old but nice article here on dpreview
http://www.dpreview.com/news/2002/10/7/sensorsizes

3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 24, 2012)

OMG I'm such a NooB! Thanks for the info.
Just found this one this morning and was coming here to post it
http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/key=sensor+sizes
it's a little more extensive, but thanks so much for your involvement and the info. Very much appreciated.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
micdair
By micdair (Jul 23, 2012)

Quite disappointed. It is pretty expensive (hopefully, this will settle down after while but not enough I'm afraid), no peaking - MF lenses hardly usable, weak battery life 230 vs 430 of e.g. NEX 5n, no viewfinder option, fixed screen...

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

Yeah, it looks like they just threw something together in a hurry.

0 upvotes
Bill3R
By Bill3R (Jul 23, 2012)

Yawn....

1 upvote
forpetessake
By forpetessake (Jul 23, 2012)

And the question is who's gonna buy this Canon if far better APS-C mirrorless are available for less (Sony, Samsung)? -- Probably people with EF lenses, but why do they need a simplistic camera with an expensive crutch (adapter) to attach those big lenses, which won't even work well, if cheaper and better DSLRs already work with them a lot better?

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

I agree.
May as well get a Nikon D3200.
After all, don't they deserve people going to the competition if they sit on their laurels?

0 upvotes
VJVIS
By VJVIS (Jul 23, 2012)

BORING

Next...

2 upvotes
Peter Bendheim
By Peter Bendheim (Jul 23, 2012)

I guess this just edged the RX100 off my wish list. Yes I know it's bigger with a zoom lens on, but only marginally so with the pancake, but the thought of that film-like Canon IQ in a small package is kinda hard to resist. I don't care too much about all the bells and whistles, I can do that with my other cameras.

1 upvote
tkbslc
By tkbslc (Jul 23, 2012)

I don't get people saying that the 18-55 is "too big"

It's only 61x61mm

The Olympus 14-42 II (which retracts) is only 11mm shorter (57x50mm)
The Panasonic 14-42 is 61x64mm
The Sony NEX 18-55 is 62x60mm.

So really they are all the same basic size give or take a half inch.

Samsung is the true marvel here at 64x39mm on their 20-50, but they made a retracting zoom design with noticeably less wide angle.

1 upvote
GregGory
By GregGory (Jul 23, 2012)

First of all, the Samy is 30mm equ. at WA, while the "noticeably" wider Canon is 29m...

Secondly, the Pansonic 14-42mm is a low budget kit lens essentially bundled for free - or $130 sold separately. The Canon is $300... Which puts in in the league of the $280 Panasonic 14-42X - which happens to be 44% of the volume of the Canon..

4 upvotes
Janez Sturm
By Janez Sturm (Jul 23, 2012)

But Canon has larger and better sensor!

1 upvote
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 23, 2012)

"But Canon has a larger and better sensor!"

Pull up the GX1 and compare it across the range in RAW format to the new Rebel T4i. To my eye, there isn't a world of difference. The Canon sensor is certainly larger, but I wouldn't run out and say "better". http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canon-eos-650d-rebel-t4i/9

And this new Canon cam lacks an EVF option and mature lens selection (adapted doesn't count in my book, for a camera that is supposed to be compact).

(and yes, the T4i has the same sensor)

Comment edited 20 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

The good news is that lenses are now priced by volume, the smaller ones are cheaper :)

0 upvotes
JohnFredC
By JohnFredC (Jul 23, 2012)

The description of the touch screen UI is particularly encouraging. It's about time the camera guys took a hint from the smart phone guys, don't you think?

Enthusiasts' cameras of the future will have form factors and behaviors similar to small touchscreen tablets (5"-7") but with lens mounts like the EF-M.

The EOS M is Canon's big step in that direction (already taken by Sony et al), and at first glance a positive one...

...but I'll wait for the EVF and tilt-screen model.

2 upvotes
forpetessake
By forpetessake (Jul 23, 2012)

After using two cameras (Panasonic, Sony) with touch screen I am a firm believer in separate mechanical buttons and dials. Touch screen is good for one thing only -- choosing a focus point, - mechanical controls are better for everything else.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 23, 2012)

OMG I HATE touchscreens!
About time they took a hint?
I think, given that touchscreens have been around for years, many manufacturers "took a hint" from Sony's early foray into that and added manual controls instead.
Touchscreen is great for selecting a manual focus point - the rest should be dials.

0 upvotes
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

Focus peaking even replaces the need for selecting point of focus by touch. That is if manual focus continues it's comeback, which it surely will not unfortunately. Much the same as automatic transmission is "good enough" so nobody knows how to use a clutch. So manual gearboxes become passe and the law of average will alway predominate. Focus peaking is a bit like IS once was, only those that have a camera with it know how useful it actually is. Soon enough it will be touted as a selling point by every manufacturer and even Canon might use it to sell their next model.

0 upvotes
Vlad S
By Vlad S (Jul 23, 2012)

Totally a soccer mom camera.

1 upvote
Ross Murphy
By Ross Murphy (Jul 24, 2012)

Glad to hear you'll like it Vlad

0 upvotes
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (Jul 24, 2012)

slow AF and no zoom in the kit? Yeah that will do great capturing a kids soccer game.

0 upvotes
Lucas_
By Lucas_ (Jul 23, 2012)

It's nice to see that Canon is trying to keep up with the competition with this new "EOS M" mirrorless. Although it doesn't seem to show anything new or outstanding it looks like a handsome camera that may please Canon users.
As it's been the current trend, the great inspirer is still the Sony NEX system, which although being available for some time it has gone through clever upgrade iterations and kept as the standard to be pursued.

3 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (Jul 23, 2012)

an elegant camera,
not interesting enough lenses.

1 upvote
bcalkins
By bcalkins (Jul 23, 2012)

Ironic that the G12 has far more direct controls, but far less ability to actually control depth of field. Now finally we have a large sensor mirrorless from Canon and it barely has a mode dial. I don't have an issue with the body itself as surely Canon will produce one with more direct controls and a viewfinder down the road. But if this is aimed at the P&S crowd it seems pricey...

I don't see the lack of EVF as a problem on this particular camera body. It would be tough to shoot with the camera to the eye with so few direct controls.

0 upvotes
skytripper
By skytripper (Jul 23, 2012)

I don't see why Canon would aim a camera like this at the P&S crowd. Those looking for better image quality can have that for much less money—and without buying into an interchangeable lens camera system that many (if not most) will never take advantage of.

0 upvotes
Marty4650
By Marty4650 (Jul 23, 2012)

This camera seems to be very similar to the much cheaper Panasonic G1X.... except the G1X gives you built in pop up flash, a built in EVF, digital zoom, and lenses with OIS built into them.

I see Amazon has the G1X down to $559 with the standard (non folding) kit lens.

Canon needs to offer a better value than this one.

2 upvotes
Tee1up
By Tee1up (Jul 23, 2012)

I think you've made an accurate assessment. Indeed the G1X is a more well rounded camera. I 've gone through the review a couple times now and it occurred to me that the inspiration for the design was probably the Powershot SX240 HS.

1 upvote
unknown member
By (unknown member) (Jul 23, 2012)

The G1 X is a Canon camera. The GX1 is Panasonic. Easy mistake.

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (Jul 23, 2012)

Are you thinking GX1? If so, it has no built in viewfinder. The other points are valid. Of course it's about a year old at this point and has a smaller sensor, but I think your point is valid in that this Canon will have some tough competition.

0 upvotes
sukabad
By sukabad (Jul 23, 2012)

I just bought the Panny GX1 to try something different. Not a good choice by all means if you're used to a DSLR. The image quality was not nearly as good as one of my newer Canon point and shoots.

Comment edited 27 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 23, 2012)

sukabad, you must be shooting jpegs. The GX1 is not a replacement for my D700 or D7000, but it is certainly a cut above any point and shoot I've used.

0 upvotes
MikeNeufeld30
By MikeNeufeld30 (Jul 23, 2012)

I think Canon made exactly the right move and are targeting the perfect audience/market. Touchscreen controls, great form factor(S100 body but bigger) simple to use interface similar to most of the smartphones on the market but with a pretty damn good sensor and AF with Low light capabilities that are pretty much class leading and good resolution. I feel it is priced just right and the masses will come and buy this. And to boot, fantastic video capabilities for the consumer/prosumer who wants the best of both worlds.

Good job Canon. Little innovation with the use of existing components and assembly, for great profit margins. Can't say it was a bad business move in any regard.

2 upvotes
Marty4650
By Marty4650 (Jul 23, 2012)

This looks like a nice little camera, that will deliver very good results. Certainly better than any P&S camera out there, and as good as any MILC camera available today. And remember, this is Canon's first mirrorless effort and not their last. Canon will be a force to reckon with simply because they are very good at making and marketing cameras.

The problem will be the price. At $800 without an EVF or flash, it makes the Olympus OM-D and Sony NEX 5N look like absolute bargains.

If they were to price the camera and kit lens around $650, then they couldn't make them fast enough to meet market demand.

2 upvotes
vincelau
By vincelau (Jul 25, 2012)

Price is definitely a huge problem, but the key to how successfully/unsuccessful any mirrorless SYSTEM would be the lens choice - and m43 clearly had a huge advantage at the moment.

By going with APS-C I'm skeptical on whether the image quality/high iso performance advantage will justify the much larger lens size (assuming same optical quality lens for 4/3 sensor).

Given the EF-S line up, I'm not hopeful for Canon to match/surpress the m43 range with EF-M mount.

1 upvote
iae aa eia
By iae aa eia (Jul 23, 2012)

it seems better looking and its thickness gives me the impression of being more robust. i like it, but there is one thing i didn't appreciated at first: they could make use of the g1 x sensor size, since it is a little smaller and could make possible more compact lenses and more distinction from their ff models.

canon is bringing, according to their rumor website, an entry-level ff, and that let me think they may lower the number of dslr offerings in favor of more mirrorless. good move. a lot of people, including me, would like to afford using an ff and never accepted aps size very well.

regarding the tradeoff between quality (but ignoring all the benefits of dof) and compactness, nothing, imo, comes better than the sony rx100 (nikon only needs to fine-tune their 1s). smaller sensors should have started to be avoided, unless for ultracomp internal zooms and cell phones.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 13 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
iae aa eia
By iae aa eia (Jul 23, 2012)

about the price, now i understand that every launch is an opportunity for them to keep up with the economy variation (inflation), and thus they have to ask for more. but no doubt they are taking advantage of this fact and trying to make much more money on this model, since it has many mechanical components left out and consequently needs lots less manual labor involved. not very ethical (but not an exclusively action of canon either).

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
b534202
By b534202 (Jul 23, 2012)

Oh geez ... we don't need a EF-S-M mount too ...

1 upvote
FTW
By FTW (Jul 23, 2012)

And again, that bloody video button is exactly where the thumb goes and presses on it when not needed or wanted

0 upvotes
bcalkins
By bcalkins (Jul 23, 2012)

But the mode dial has to be set to movie for it to work, so less of an issue than with other cameras...

1 upvote
fberns
By fberns (Jul 23, 2012)

I'm glad Canon finally put their cards on the table.
I think this camera could appeal to the ever-growing touchpanel-used crowd.
Let Canon add a few nice pancake lenses (a 2.0/35mm!, 2.4/70mm...) and another camera with more manual controls and EVF (or EVF add-on) and the enthusiast users will be happy too.

2 upvotes
thisisjh
By thisisjh (Jul 23, 2012)

I need viewfinder viewfinder viewfinder....

4 upvotes
bionet
By bionet (Jul 23, 2012)

Why? LCDs work great as viewfinders most of the time, and the holding position is stable if you keep the camera near your face. If you are far-sighted, get glasses.

0 upvotes
thisisjh
By thisisjh (Jul 23, 2012)

You must have viewfinders for outdoor/bright condition unless canon offers a "brighter" LCD screen and some kind of loupe that goes with it. Manual focusing typically with manual lenses in bright conditions will also require viewfinders (good quality ones) especially if you want a precise control.

If you don't care about these, then LCD will be perfect for you.. You will be happier with especially the high res LCD that canon is offering for this model.

4 upvotes
Alashi
By Alashi (Jul 23, 2012)

I agree 100%. Never again will I buy a camera without one. Fuji did it, so can Canon. Of course, this is not intended to be a pro camera. Try following gulls on a brightly lit beach! Go on, try it! Trivial with an SLR; nearly impossible using a screen at arms length obliterated by sunlight. You can't even tell if it's focused, let alone see them. The whole idea of these smaller cameras is convenience, less expensive lenses and SLR quality. Being able to follow action and visualize focus is still essential.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 6 minutes after posting
5 upvotes
Tee1up
By Tee1up (Jul 23, 2012)

I agree. In spite of promises of bigger, more detailed and brighter, rear LCDs so far they all completely suck in bright sunlight. No exceptions. I suppose the challenge for Canon now is that even if they offer a nice EVF it will make this a pretty expensive camera.

I was hoping to see Canon take the Fuji XPro 1 and put their own spin on things.

2 upvotes
Scales USA
By Scales USA (Jul 23, 2012)

I call a camera with no viewfinder a point and Hope!

3 upvotes
SeeManRun
By SeeManRun (Jul 23, 2012)

This camera is not intended for those kinds of scenes, much like you don't buy an SLR to take pics of license plates after car accidents... Leave that to cell phones.

0 upvotes
simondeweyphoto
By simondeweyphoto (Jul 23, 2012)

I must admit I don't see the appeal - and neither did I with the Nikon entrants. For the moment I'm toying with a Nikon FM body and putting my money into film and development. Otherwise the Fuji models are the most appealing to serious- proffessional models.

Mind you, ebay is packed full of hobbyists selling their D700's because there's no auto mode and the live view is rubbish.....

3 upvotes
ManuelVilardeMacedo
By ManuelVilardeMacedo (Jul 23, 2012)

I can't help laughing at those Canon fanboys who ridiculed the Olympus E-P1 for having no viewfinder or built-in flash three years ago. This is a point-and-shoot with large sensor and interchangeable lenses. Surely Canon can - and will - do better than this. For now they'te just taking their little fight against Nikon to the mirrorless arena.
This camera has no appeal to me.

5 upvotes
kodachromeguy
By kodachromeguy (Jul 23, 2012)

"There's neither a built-in viewfinder, nor connector for an external unit - composition is solely using the camera's rear screen." This is an oddly expensive camera to be aimed at the hold-in-one-hand-while-they-point-and-shoot crowd. $799 without the lens adapter? I personally will never buy another camera without a viewfinder of some sort.

7 upvotes
everiman
By everiman (Jul 23, 2012)

my thoughts exactly

1 upvote
FTW
By FTW (Jul 23, 2012)

Me too, I had the choice between the NEX-7 and the OM-D and I aimed at them because of the viewfinder that I use in more than 75% of all my shots. I took NEX for the reason of the sensor size. I do not like the 4/3, and I am not the only one. Give me the OM-D with the NEX-7 sensor and I buy it right away. This Canon might be a nice gear for tourism and some other hidden works, like concerts, but the price is far away from reality. You get the NEX-3F for a lower price with 2 lenses. And, it has atilt screen. That Canon makes this one with a fixed screen is a riddle.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
SeeManRun
By SeeManRun (Jul 23, 2012)

The $799 is justified because this allows you to use all your existing Canon lenses with this camera. No other miniature camera allows this. It would be nice to have the adapter included though, or at least very cheap.

If you want a viewfinder, use an SLR. This would be uncomfortable to use up to your face because it is so small.

0 upvotes
pcake
By pcake (Jul 23, 2012)

I was disappointed that there was no mode dial, as in bright sun that screen will be a pain to use for things like switching modes, but it's the lack of either a built in or optional EVF that will keep me from buying this camera. Too bad, as I've been considering APS-C mirrorless cameras, and the new Canon has got features (plus the size/weight) that would have made it my next camera otherwise.

2 upvotes
Ibida Bab
By Ibida Bab (Jul 23, 2012)

It should have the Canon fold out screen

1 upvote
mikewhalen5
By mikewhalen5 (Jul 23, 2012)

Without a viewfinder, my interest level is zero.

3 upvotes
kodachromeguy
By kodachromeguy (Jul 23, 2012)

I agree. In bright light it is almost impossible to compose on a screen held out in front of your face. And it is hard to brace and steady a camera out in front of your body, especially if a big lens is mounted. This $799 Canon is the oddest thing.

5 upvotes
SeeManRun
By SeeManRun (Jul 23, 2012)

Wait for the review. Perhaps the brightness on the screen overcomes the bright light (unlikely in direct sun, but should be useable in bright areas outside of direct sunlight).

0 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

I think people are being a bit hysterical about the lack of EVF. Before I finally went SLR, I took thousands of great photos with my G10, almost never using its optical viewfinder, and often in bright conditions.

0 upvotes
Jim2386
By Jim2386 (Jul 23, 2012)

Does anyone know if this one will have eTTL for the strobe? I was so hopeful with the G1x but it only has minimal controls of the strobe through the camera where you can set it to Low, med, or high on the camera screen.

I'm hoping this one has evaluative TTL like a normal SLR. Anyone know?

1 upvote
FrankS009
By FrankS009 (Jul 23, 2012)

Marketing is an art, not a science. We will see how many they sell, although I suspect the Canon name will sell a lot, both to the uninitiated and to brand loyalists who think they will be able to use their existing investment in lenses. This body and the adapter is more expensive than I thought it might be. Personally I prefer M43rds, but to each his or her own. ( I am looking forward to an enthusiast quality Panasonic GX1 -not a Canon G1X!- with a viewfinder in the corner.)

3 upvotes
ManuelVilardeMacedo
By ManuelVilardeMacedo (Jul 23, 2012)

It will sell. It's a Canon, right?

1 upvote
wwcove
By wwcove (Jul 23, 2012)

Snore... Another example that, again, shows Canon is out of touch with what is really trending in mirrorless cameras like the Olympus OMD and other serious cameras that a pro or semi-pro might want to carry in his bag or take instead of a big bag of equipment...out of touch (almost sounds political)

2 upvotes
Serhan Oksay
By Serhan Oksay (Jul 23, 2012)

Recently I decided NOT to wait for a Canon mirrorless and opted for a Lumix GX1.. I am happy now, I think I've made a good desicion. GX1 with its kit zoom is cheaper than this Canon, ultra compact with its new 14-42x lens, conventional/professional controls and the results are stunning. A camera I can carry in my bag.
What I expected from Canon was completely different, innovative and stylish. (Like a T90) A chrome/black classic design which is well suited to the retro fans (i.e.lomotics).

Comment edited 47 seconds after posting
1 upvote
WT21
By WT21 (Jul 23, 2012)

Is this the first Canon WITHOUT a direct print button??

11 upvotes
Frank Stjerne
By Frank Stjerne (Jul 23, 2012)

I have an iPhone with only one button. But it can print.

1 upvote
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

Will it be missed by anyone?

0 upvotes
SirSeth
By SirSeth (Jul 23, 2012)

This is just what we've all been on the edge of our seats for; chomping at the bit; keenly anticipating!

Revolutionary strap lugs! I'm so excited! Way to knock their socks off Canon!

Otherwise, very predictable.

7 upvotes
eliaspt
By eliaspt (Jul 23, 2012)

I really don't understand, Canon comes really late to the party and don't add anything at all to what we already had in the market a few years ago (original Nex-5 for ex). I was really expecting something new/different and I don't see any reason for someone who already owns a mirrorless cam to move to this one.

2 upvotes
mmcfine
By mmcfine (Jul 23, 2012)

what don't you understand? Canon has such a huge user marker with millions of EF and EF-S lenses that they only needed to create a small APS-C with an EF adapter and call it mirrorless. Canon does not need to follow the mirrorless evolution, they just needed to show that they can.

4 upvotes
FTW
By FTW (Jul 23, 2012)

Stupid talks here. Canon needs to sell, that is the goal, business. You might say that they earn with the big things. But also that is stupid to say. You can sell 10 big trucks a year and earn a million, the Vatican earns that in an hour by collecting pennies. So, where is then the big deal? This Canon is old stuff, nothing innovative except a touch screen one doesn't needs. Beside that, no viewfinder, expensive kit-lens too, an adapter that is far overpriced for a simple tube, here they step together with Sony. All in all. a NEX-5 copy with less good features at double price. Sony will be delighted to see this one. If you want to sell this, drop the price with big lens to 600$. Even then, no viewfinder facility, no flip and tilt screen. This camera is just an item to say, "we have one too".

1 upvote
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Jul 24, 2012)

FTW:

The Vatican has huge, often untaxed, real estate holdings.

As for the silly Sony Nex 5n claim, well yes a similar body, however Sony just can't compete on the lenses--unless you want to spend $1100 for the one good Sony Nex series lens.

0 upvotes
AmaturFotografer
By AmaturFotografer (Jul 27, 2012)

deleted

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
craigrc
By craigrc (Jul 23, 2012)

More importantly, the lens adapter is $200! WTF?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/883406-REG/Canon_6098b002_EF_M_Lens_Adapter_Kit.html

Sounds like they're trying to extort their power users.

2 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

It's not a high-volume item, yet it takes a decent bit of engineering to produce. It will come down in price over time.

0 upvotes
robbo d
By robbo d (Jul 23, 2012)

Canon has a huge following worldwide and an offering for someone who wants more than a mobile phone, but not DSLR, this should sell in reasonable numbers
The photographer in the family will buy DSLR's, but the 'significant other' will want something more suited to their mobile phone style, of which millions if not billions are now using.
Forum followers are already in their zone of interest and therefore not necessarily the target market for this. MOST SMART PHONE USERS DONT WANT A VIEWFINDER......
Same whinging and moaning as we saw about the Pentax K-01, yet real world users are getting stunning results, so its all about perception.
Again, being able to use existing Canon lenses, albeit with an adapter is another bonus. Be interested to see what the full review makes of this, which will be a comparison with other similar offerings, so Nex and K-01.
The onus will be on the reviewer to look at their K-01 review and judge accordingly................

0 upvotes
Olivier in Belgium
By Olivier in Belgium (Jul 23, 2012)

Strange analysis from dpr on some points.

"So don't expect a future full frame EF-M mount camera - it's not going to happen."
Of course not. EF-M lenses don't cover full frame image area. Still, this says nothing about Canon developing or not-developing a full frame mirrorless camera.

"As you can see, eliminating the reflex mirror and optical viewfinder has enabled a dramatic reduction in size." The "dramatic reduction" in size is most probably also related to the lack of grip, flash, external controls, probably weaker battery...

By the way, I fail to understand why so many mirrorless camera have no built-in flash. Part of their interest lies in convenience. Needing an external flash is all but convenient.

4 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

For your first point, that's exactly what the review was saying. They didn't say anything about Canon not developing a FF, just that it wasn't possible for EF-M.

For your second point, there's not much point in reducing the size of the auxiliary parts of your camera if your mirror, prism, and lenses already are taking up so much space. As long is it's gonna be big already, might as well add some functionality to the brick. With those gone, a lot of the other space-taking parts become superfluous. That's why there are no DSLRs without all the things you mentioned.

0 upvotes
Geoffrey Kitt
By Geoffrey Kitt (Jul 23, 2012)

Hmmm .... still disappointed by 5D3 and now this.

I had hoped for a lot more to interest enthusiasts rather than casual shooters.

4 upvotes
Photomonkey
By Photomonkey (Jul 23, 2012)

The casual shooters represent a far larger market and are still shelling out good money for their toys.

0 upvotes
GregGory
By GregGory (Jul 23, 2012)

Hmm, the GF3 never really was pretty, but this new Canon body makes it a bombshell... Yes, it's more about the guts, but what the hell were they thinking in the design dep? OTOH, the lenses look mighty fine, so ugly head, pretty nose(s) :D

Btw. unless the 18-55mm is made out of tissue and inflated membranes, there's no way it weighs only 120g/4.23 oz... Keeping it compact like the Panasonic 14-45mm is quite an achievement, but let's hope Canon didn't do it the way Sony did, simply by butchering the optical performance of the E-18-55..

Comment edited 7 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
vincelau
By vincelau (Jul 25, 2012)

LOL I feel the same.. I was like WTF!!! when I first saw the EOS-M pictures on rumors site and said to myself Canon designer can't be that dumb..... and the APS-C sensor all but basically eliminated any hope for light weight small bright primes...

Disappointed

0 upvotes
Isabel Cutler
By Isabel Cutler (Jul 23, 2012)

Minimum and maximum shutters speeds are reversed.

2 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (Jul 23, 2012)

Depends on how you look at it, but this is correct. Where maximum speed means the least amount of time = 1/4000

0 upvotes
EsVeeFoto
By EsVeeFoto (Jul 23, 2012)

Doesn't look like they have BULB mode. They may not know how to innovate, but they sure know how to cripple a camera.

1 upvote
Photomonkey
By Photomonkey (Jul 23, 2012)

And the average shooter needs bulb why? The average shooter being defined as the millions of people using cameras that aren't posting rants here.

2 upvotes
Claudio NC
By Claudio NC (Jul 23, 2012)

M Jesper,

shutter speed is shutter speed.
Is not only "speed" (that is an old word, commonly used, near to a no sense, or if you prefer, with a mystification sense, in other words, a bad technical definition, when used for a lens, but here is for a camera).

Jsabel Cutler, of course is right, and the values are obviously inverted.

Also write "Articulated LCD . . . Fixed" is a really stupid label.

0 upvotes
ksraghavendra
By ksraghavendra (Jul 23, 2012)

Wish the PASM modes were available on external dial :( Pricing of this & 650D don't seem too attractive.

1 upvote
cxsparc
By cxsparc (Jul 23, 2012)

+ EOS-Lenses can be attached and used (requires adapter)
+ EOS flashes can be attached
+ Mic connector and volumen control options
- uncompetitive price (5N with kit zoom 630 Euros,
EOSM with 22mm 799.-, kit zoom 300 Euro)
- no EVF
- LCD not tiltable
- User interface probably not faster then 5N

So as summary, IF you already own EOS lenses (which worldwide a lot of people do) you might consider this camera. There are enough people who bought the microbones adoater for 300 $ and it cannot even perform AF.

The question though is why would you buy this camera if you already own an EOS DLSR? Going to another brand would be cheaper. Only the weight reduction could be a point in favor. EOS lenses are big.

0 upvotes
SirSeth
By SirSeth (Jul 23, 2012)

My gut says that those owning many good EOS lenses will want something more than this to attach them to and something Canon is unlikely to give them. Rather, they will sell a boatload of these to those who want a "professional" brand camera and haven't already bought a Nikon 1. Just my opinion, but the EOS adapter is just so they can say "we have lots of compatible lenses." Ala. Sony.

1 upvote
epo001
By epo001 (Jul 23, 2012)

No viewfinder? Too expensive in the UK. No interest.

2 upvotes
Paul Saxby
By Paul Saxby (Jul 23, 2012)

If this camera had the option of an external viewfinder, not necessarily an EVF, just a simple optical one even, then I might consider getting this. it might only be a glorified point and shoot but it does offer an alternative to an Ixus or Powershot. If it was between this or the G1X I would probably still get the G1X, but if it was between this and the G12, then it would be this... Thats just my opinion anyway..

1 upvote
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 23, 2012)

See: http://www.ebay.com/itm/170881382441

I still would prefer a real EVF. You can't judge focus on these lenses, since they're fly by wire.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 546
2345