Previous page Next page

Body Elements

The EOS M is built around Canon's latest 'Hybrid CMOS' sensor, which has pixels dedicated to providing phase detection autofocus. It has a 1.6x 'crop factor', which means that an 18mm lens offers a similar angle of view to a 29mm lens on the 35mm 'full frame' format.

The EOS M accepts EF-M lenses directly, along with Canon's full range of EF and EF-S lenses via an adapter.
The top corner of the camera has an LED illuminator that assists autofocus in dark conditions, which can be disabled if you prefer. Below it is a receiver that's compatible with Canon's RC-series infrared remote control units.

Here you can also see the EOS M's proprietary strap connector.
The top of the camera has few controls - just the power button, shutter release and its concentric three position mode switch.
The gunmetal-finished hotshoe is placed on top of the camera in line with the centre of the lens. It's compatible with Canon's Speedlite EX series flash units, most notably the 90EX that will be included with the camera in some markets.
Also on the top plate is a pair of tiny, narrowly-spaced stereo microphones that provide sound during movie recording. It's also possible to plug-in an external stereo microphone to a socket on the camera's side.

The EOS M provides an impressive degree of control over sound recording - you get a volume control with left/right sound meters, and a wind cut-off filter.
The movie record button is placed on the camera's shoulder for easy operation by your thumb. It's somewhat exposed, but the chances of accidental activation are minimized by the fact that it's only active when the mode dial is set the movie position. In stills shooting modes it does nothing.
The main physical control point is this combined 4-way controller / dial. It offers direct access to drive mode, autoexposure lock, and exposure compensation; the Delete key re-centres the AF point by default, but can be customized to control other options including ISO sensitivity.

The central Q button activates the onscreen, touch-sensitive Quick Control display as seen on Canon's EOS SLRs.
Here's a close-up of the EOS M's strap connectors. The clasp on the strap attaches to the circular lug on the body and can rotate freely, allowing the camera to hang at whichever angle best-suits the lens attached.
The various connectors are on the left side of the camera under a plastic cover. From top to bottom, there's a stereo 3.5mm microphone jack, mini HDMI connector, and combined AV out/mini USM socket.

The EOS M is CEC-compatible, meaning you can control playback over HDMI using the remote control of many TVs.
The battery and SD card go into a compartment on the base of the camera. The EOS M uses a new battery, the 7.2V 825mAH LP-E12. It provides 230 shots per charge according to the CIPA standard.
The tripod socket is placed in-line with the centre of the lens. It's quite close to the base compartment door, so don't expect to be able to change card or battery with the camera on a full-size tripod.
Previous page Next page
Our favorite products. Free 2 day shipping.
Support this site, buy from dpreview GearShop.
Canon EOS M

Comments

Total comments: 541
12345
Ryanide
By Ryanide (Jul 25, 2012)

Boy Canon is really messing up. This camera looks like something you give your 5 year old as their first camera. (ULGY!!) Apparently they have not been watching their competitions SONY's RX100 is killing them in what the G1X and this mirrorless should have been. And these M lens choices are slow!! What is the point If I have to use an EOS lens adapter to use a good lens? I'd rather carry my 5D3 in that case. Any person using a 70-200 2.8IS on this camera would be a fool (much less look like one).

2 upvotes
rishardana
By rishardana (Jul 25, 2012)

I want to like this one so much. Been postponing to buy any mirrorless waiting for this one, yet the pricing and the lack of external dials and buttons is very disappointing for me personally.

0 upvotes
Eric Glam
By Eric Glam (Jul 25, 2012)

- No articulating screen
- Battery lasts for only 230 shots (0.825Ah x 7.2V = 5.94Wh)
- Video framerate is still capped at 30fps
- Price is way too high

4 things that really kill it.

6 upvotes
bradleyg5
By bradleyg5 (Jul 25, 2012)

Man I want one, I have a Panasonic GF2 which has the same sensor as the GF3 and the image quality is seriously sub par. If I could get a camera that is just a little bit bigger but has the image quality of a Canon DSLR PLUS auto focuses my DSLR lens. Very interested, will start saving.

4 upvotes
Fredy Ross
By Fredy Ross (Jul 25, 2012)

Canon does not read the news about the smartphone taking over the world. No viewfinder and no articulating screen is a killer as far as I am concerned. Maybe the next model will suit all my good canon lenses. In the meantime I will stick with my 600D and my sony nex 5n. Sold my 7D as it was too heavy. I miss the viewfinder and speed of it but my neck thanks me.

1 upvote
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 26, 2012)

People are going to eventually wake up and realize that smartphone pictures blow. I really believe this.

Obviously, the smartphone is going to suffice for many (if not most), but I don't think the compact camera is going anywhere anytime soon. The fundamental limitations of what you can do with a smartphone sensor make it unsuited for so many of the things you can do even with a subcompact. But here's the way I look at it--no one wants to take a big vacation and be left with nothing but crappy smartphone photos.

0 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 25, 2012)

I just wish this had come out earlier. I've been a devoted Canon P&S user, but I chose to go to Nikon for my first DSLR. I love my D5100 and the glass I've got for it so far, but the idea that had I bought a T3i, I could have eventually upgraded my G10 to something like this, maintaining some amount of compatibility, would have been pretty compelling. I probably wouldn't buy this EOS-M, but it's pretty easy for me to visualize this thing's descendents being pretty badass cameras.

I wonder how devoted Nikon is to CX....I can't really see them launching a separate DX compatible MILC mount while maintaining CX.

1 upvote
utomo99
By utomo99 (Jul 25, 2012)

This cameras is too big for compact use. this only good for DSLR backup. so it must have many good features which available on DSLR.
If canon want to catch more compact user, they must release : with built in flash, smaller lens. otherwise user will not buy it

1 upvote
George Veltchev
By George Veltchev (Jul 25, 2012)

Then go for the impressive little G1 X ....

0 upvotes
Riezer
By Riezer (Jul 25, 2012)

how come Canon camera's always look like they're toys?

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 25, 2012)

I suspect that all their designers quit, so they are stuck releasing them in a pre-production plain packaging.

0 upvotes
pepelegal
By pepelegal (Jul 25, 2012)

Or else they concentrate on function rather than in making the camera and the photographer look professional? Last time I checked the camera was behind the picture, not in front of it.

1 upvote
eivissa1
By eivissa1 (Jul 25, 2012)

You are quite right. This camera has a "non-design". Does not even look like a camera.

1 upvote
huffy49
By huffy49 (Jul 25, 2012)

meh

1 upvote
tonytonytony
By tonytonytony (Jul 25, 2012)

Usually, I only read your posts here. On the account of Canon's debut into mirror-less, I thought I'd join in on the brouhaha.

Canon is smart. Canon is testing the market on their terms, design and all. I imagine that both the advancements in EVF technology and Sensor technology will alter the course of this model. It may even become a vanguard for their product-line: Compact, EVF, DSLR.

In the next five-years, I want this camera to be THE travel-camera. I imagine Fuji to hold the highest competition --looks and other things. (I am a digital Fuji-patron, despite only having a GW690II.) Yet if this Canon is endowed with an EVF in future models, along with improved sensor capabilities (given Canon's impressive algorithms), tack on a silk-nightie and she can go with me anywhere.

3 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 25, 2012)

I totally agree. There are a lot of short-sighted people on this forum who seem to think this is the last word on Canon MILC. Right now, they've put themselves in a great spot to feel out the market. If MILC really catches on, we might see EF-M really replace the bottom end of the EOS lineup. Or it might replace the G series. This is just the vanguard, and there are a lot of directions they might go with this.

2 upvotes
c_henry
By c_henry (Jul 25, 2012)

I respectfully disagree, Canon has had plenty of time to see what's happening in the market and release a product that would compete. They could have, and I feel should have, come out strong, but they decided to protect their DSLR sales, similar to Nikon.

Their main rivals are Olympus and Panasonic who have no DSLR sales to protect and are going after Canon, Nikon, Sony, et al, in the majority of the DSLR markets (beginner, enthusiast, etc.).

I don't doubt that Canon will produce a more enthusiast version of the EOS-M, but it would have been nice to see them go for it straight out of the blocks. Maybe releasing two versions like Nikon. They have the engineering expertise and user base, they just needed to use it.

Regardless, there's some very interesting times ahead...

2 upvotes
alfa
By alfa (Jul 25, 2012)

This IS the future of camera bodies and systems. The DSLR may never be replaced for the specialist but everyone who has Oly and Panasonic DSLR kit and recent MFT stuff is carrying the smaller kit 90% of the time, even if there are some lumpy old lenses and a converter in the bag with it.

Ultimately, outside the studio and a few specialist applications you can do more with lighter, handier kit, if you are not making big sacrifices on IQ

2 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 26, 2012)

c_henry: You're right that they've had plenty of time to observe the market, but as of right now, I would bet you that the mirrorless market is still a tiny fraction of the overall market. So even though they're a bit behind the curve, years from now, no one will remember how late they were or what the EOS-M was. Remember, Kodak had the first commercially available DSLR--they're hardly leading the market now.

1 upvote
ppastoris
By ppastoris (Jul 25, 2012)

From the first page of the preview: "It [GF5] also uses the slightly smaller Four Thirds sensor."

Since when is 1.5 times smaller (225 vs 329mm^2) considered "slightly smaller"? It is the same as saying that Toyota Yaris is "slightly smaller" than Camry. :))

5 upvotes
ProfHankD
By ProfHankD (Jul 25, 2012)

Actually, Canon uses a 1.6X crop which is "slightly smaller" than real APS-C's 1.5X crop, yet bigger than micro4/3 2X crop (which also has a different aspect ratio). Crops are linear measures; sensor areas in square mm are approximately: micro4/3 225, Canon "APS-C" 329, other APS-C 370, and full frame 860. The fact that Canon's APS-C is 12% less area than other APS-C is quite noticeable when using wide-angle lenses and has always been a factor against Canon for me.

Taking the car analogy way too far, micro4/3 is a two-seater, Canon APS-C seats 2 adults and 2 kids, other APS-C can comfortably seat 4 adults, and full-frame is a van seating 9. Medium formats are busses and Nikon 1 is a motorcycle. ;)

Comment edited 60 seconds after posting
9 upvotes
mytake
By mytake (Jul 31, 2012)

Now thats a good analogy...I'm shooting a sports car!!!

0 upvotes
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (Jul 25, 2012)

Very small. Looks ridiculous with anything but a pancake lens. Pretty uninspiring to look at.

4 upvotes
jrfoto53
By jrfoto53 (Jul 28, 2012)

I totally fail to see why the looks are relevant. It's a clean and neat design and it's tool for taking pictures. That's it. It is not a sculture to put on display or anything.

0 upvotes
wkay
By wkay (Jul 24, 2012)

this is just a spec sheet, without real images the 'preview' is nothing but advertising fluff for Canon

0 upvotes
GregGory
By GregGory (Jul 24, 2012)

"The movie record button is placed on the camera's shoulder for easy operation by your thumb. It's somewhat exposed, but the chances of accidental activation are minimized by the fact that it's only active when the mode dial is set the movie position. In stills shooting modes it does nothing."

Then what the hell /is/ it for?? In video mode, the shutter button could just as well be used..

So here we have Canon bragging about slashing 1/3 of the buttons /while/ keeping an utterly redundant button next to the thumb?

4 upvotes
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (Jul 25, 2012)

Agreed. If they want to prevent accidental recording then make it so you need to press for 1 sec to activate (but instant off).

0 upvotes
Jon Rista
By Jon Rista (Jul 25, 2012)

I would assume that this EOS M works the same way as their DSLR's....while shooting video, you can capture stills by pressing the shutter button. In that case, this is most assuredly NOT a useless button, and they most assuredly could NOT re-purpose the shutter button in movie mode.

1 upvote
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 25, 2012)

ROTFL
@gregory you are so right... reading these posts is a blast!
I wonder if Canon is going to wake up and fire the clowns who designed their latest lineup...

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 25, 2012)

@GregGory:
Then what the hell /is/ it for??
Good point here! I think that cute red little button will go find with red camera, if you know what I mean :-) Or Magic Lantern will turn it into something more useful.

0 upvotes
GregGory
By GregGory (Jul 25, 2012)

@ Rista

Of course they could re-purpose any button in every mode/ function imaginable.. lol, these are all soft buttons, not a film Leica where the shutter button is mechanically coupled to the shutter mechanism :)

They could easily make eg. the "info" button into full res pic button in video mode, but you do have a point that consistency with the Drebel UI could be a priority. In this case, it's an insult to the buyers that they didn't turn the rec button into an "AF/AE lock" button in stills mode...

1 upvote
Xellz
By Xellz (Jul 24, 2012)

Still no real competition to m4/3, they can relax and take it easy. Especially early reviews tell, that Canon M is slow as a turtle. Would be nice, if m4/3 had to push a bit more quality of sensors used.

3 upvotes
HowaboutRAW
By HowaboutRAW (Jul 24, 2012)

Which real review says the Canon is as slow as turtle? Aint in the DPReview preview.

2 upvotes
Xellz
By Xellz (Jul 25, 2012)

From "imaging-resource" review this quote - "I'll gladly retract all these words, returning to this preview to make all the necessary changes if Canon makes speed improvements over the T4i's Hybrid AF, but I'd be remiss not to report that if the AF system is "just like the T4i" a lot of buyers are going to be frustrated with the EOS M."

0 upvotes
Xellz
By Xellz (Jul 25, 2012)

Can invest happily in m4/3 lenses, this camera doesn't even trigger "gear lust" :) Even if i was canon user in the past with 40d.

2 upvotes
Gothmoth
By Gothmoth (Jul 24, 2012)

this system will be an huge success.. no matter what some clowns on internet forums say.

8 upvotes
Traciatim
By Traciatim (Jul 24, 2012)

It's unfortunate that it's not because the system will be great or innovative or a good value . . . but because it says Canon on the front.

7 upvotes
Xellz
By Xellz (Jul 25, 2012)

How you're different from clowns that say it's a fail? Did you do deep marketing research or something like this? It's same, saying it will be fail or success.

3 upvotes
webrunner5
By webrunner5 (Jul 24, 2012)

Canon has had almost over 2 years to look at the other players in this group. People act like Canon is just stupid. They are not the 800 pound Gorrila in cameras for nothing.

They will be the top dog in mirrorless in the long run like it or not. This is their first effort, but trust me they have a long term plan, and it is to be #1.
They wil set the standard.

9 upvotes
thisisjh
By thisisjh (Jul 24, 2012)

I am sure they do have a promising long-term plan. But this particular camera whether this is their first mirroless or not failed.

2 upvotes
rrccad
By rrccad (Jul 24, 2012)

@thisisjh .. could i have the lottery numbers for next week please?

Comment edited 19 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Gothmoth
By Gothmoth (Jul 24, 2012)

olympus could not make money selling kokain... canon knows exactly what the markted wants.

that is why canon is no. 1

a few internet trolls and forum clowns will not change anything on that fact.

Comment edited 37 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
alendrake
By alendrake (Jul 25, 2012)

That's the truth. unfortunately, Number1 and Best do not always come together, aint they? Otherwise McBurger and Cola would be the best food and drink in the world.
Canon makes mass products. They know how to make best profit. And they care in making best particular products much less than any other camera company.

3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Jul 25, 2012)

I couldn't disagree more...
with the quality control issues (s100 (lens) and rebel (handle)),
poor drab thoughtless design in compacts for a few years now,
a sluggish g1x (so it doesn't compete with their dslr line),
and now this...
THE WRITING IS ON THE WALL...
this could well be one of those turning points where the giant stumbles and others come in to fill all the lacks... and one or two of those will shine...
as for the long term, 5 years, you may as well toss a coin - no one can predict that.
Might you be wearing Canon glasses that are distorting your sight?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
Henry Falkner
By Henry Falkner (Jul 24, 2012)

I currently own and use an Olympus SZ-30MR 24x zoom P&S, doing a lot of video on it. Compared to that the attractoion of the EOS-M is the adjustable volume control and the external microphone, the hotshoe and the APS-C sensor. I see the EOS-M as a passable back-up for professional use.

To the gripers - if you are not in the market, that is your problem. Don't make it a problem for everyone else.

2 upvotes
Eleson
By Eleson (Jul 25, 2012)

So if you had $800 (or more for the zoom kit) this would be your preferred choice?

I'm not saying it's a bad camera, but when looking around it doesn't come across as a "breaking-new-ground-worth-a-premium-price" product.

Granted to Canon, if they can pull this off, reusing their EOS DLSR hw/sw development and selling a MILC at that price, with very low capital investment, they will make lots of $$$ and as such be the winner.

1 upvote
alendrake
By alendrake (Jul 25, 2012)

Good question.
If you want best canon lens compatibility and smallest solution and if you want it now (now means octoberish:)) then you have no other choice. But if you want best canon lens compatibility and care a little less about size, you could go for 600D or 650D. Added viewfinder, flash, swivel screen and proper grip of upcoming (next year octoberish?) enthusiastic EOS-N, will anyway make it much larger. And the price tag around $1200-$1400 will make safe the sales of Rebels.

0 upvotes
disraeli demon
By disraeli demon (Jul 24, 2012)

Canon were never going to do anything radical on their first outing into mirrorless - they've got far too much invested in SLR sales to risk frightening the horses. What's interesting is how much more leeway they've left themselves compared to Nikon - using an APS-C sensor leaves them room to make much more capable models in the future. There's no reason why there couldn't be an EOS-M equivalent of the Sony Nex 7 if the market shifts towards mirrorless and they don't feel the need to protect the original Eos line so much. Given the performance of the Eos 7D (and what Fuji has been able to do with the APS-C sensor in the X-Pro 1) the fact that the Eos M mount can't support full-frame doesn't mean we won't eventually see some high-performing enthusiast/pro Eos M bodies.

But I'm convinced Canon will move very cautiously, at least for the next few years.

6 upvotes
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 24, 2012)

If Canon is protecting their SLR sales, then they should done better with 650d.

0 upvotes
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (Jul 25, 2012)

Beats me why they didn't use the G1-X sensor. Then it less of a competitor to their DSLRS and allows smaller lenses etc. I think they are floundering at the moment while the third party players innovate.

1 upvote
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 25, 2012)

Dougbm_2: Because they couldn't have had EF/EF-S compatibility ahd they done that. Sony's proven that an APS-C can work with mirrorless. And now, they're always going to be able to lord sensor size and compatibility over their real competitors: Nikon.

0 upvotes
Esmee Farquhar
By Esmee Farquhar (Jul 25, 2012)

@Jokica: What according to you is missing from the 650D that it already doesn't have?

0 upvotes
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 25, 2012)

@Esmee: May I start with better IQ in comparison to 3 year old 550d? Nothing is really missing when compared to predecessors. There is no significant progress, however.

0 upvotes
tmyuen
By tmyuen (Jul 24, 2012)

I think the weight of the zoom lens is 210g, rather than 120g.

0 upvotes
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 24, 2012)

I guess we will see new forum on this site, where users (other then NEX) will scream for more native lenses!

2 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 25, 2012)

Jeez, the format JUST launched. Maybe give them a year to develop more lenses? Nikon's CX system only has four so far, and isn't even compatible with their other gear.

0 upvotes
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 25, 2012)

I think if Canon launched M mount 18-135mm STM, we would be reading whole different story here. That kind of range would satisfy most of needs. But, Canon want early adopters to buy first pancake, than 18-55mm, maybe some legacy with adapter, and after than they will happy their brandlovers with 18-135mm STM

0 upvotes
Albino_BlacMan
By Albino_BlacMan (Jul 24, 2012)

Can you include a shutter sound video in all review with some way of standardizing volume (same recording settings, same distance from the microphone, quiet room etc.) I know with some other cameras (early PEN's) I was blown away by how loud and intrusive the shutter was for such a small camera

0 upvotes
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 24, 2012)

Now Canon have joined Sony, Fuji and Samsung in APS-C league, how will Nikon respond? Stay with 1" sensor, or design new APS-C mirrorless line?

0 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

I think Nikon made a huge mistake with the CX format, and I thought so months ago. Canon chose a larger sensor that provides continuity with the rest of their pro line. For people who make most of their decisions between the big two brands, I think Canon is much better positioned for the future.

1 upvote
Dougbm_2
By Dougbm_2 (Jul 25, 2012)

I think the CX format is ideal for premium P & S. Just check out what Sony have done with the RX100. Much better compliment to a DSLR than this.

1 upvote
Jokica
By Jokica (Jul 25, 2012)

Agree with both comments. Exactly what I had in mind. So, I think Nikon should consider this mirroless game seriously and start working on APS-C line, if they do not want to stay behind.

0 upvotes
Gesture
By Gesture (Jul 24, 2012)

Excellent preview.

0 upvotes
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 24, 2012)

WOW! What a slug! Watch for the autofocus: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa_9kNAMcIw#t=02m00s

Really, I'm not enjoying bashing this camera. Indeed, I wish it were smashingly good, which is only good for competition. What were Canon thinking?

"35% fewer buttons"? Whether you think that's good or not, that someone from marketing put that figure out in the world to discuss says some things about how disconnected from the market and actual photography the people who made this camera were.

1 upvote
thisisjh
By thisisjh (Jul 24, 2012)

It is slow because it is in video mode. That is typical/normal.

However, this camera leaks many features that all other same class mirrorless cameras have or already introduced years back. Not worth the money. Canon failed... whether this is intentional or not..

0 upvotes
Jon Rista
By Jon Rista (Jul 25, 2012)

@thisisjh: Only a troll would state something has failed before its even hit the market. I'd bet you (a pretty penny) that when this thing hits the streets it'll sell like hotcakes. It was always intended to be a middle-ground entrant, and not necessarily a "king of the features" type mirrorless option. Personally, I'll hold out for a Canon EOS M entrant that has an EVF, which I'm sure is on the way, but so far I'm fairly impressed.

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
1 upvote
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 24, 2012)

OHHHH! That dial around the shutter button isn't for exposure/aperture?! What a horrid design decision!

This was obviously designed by the fools who mucked up the *0D designs, and not by the folks who put together the remarkably straight forward point and shoot models.

Ick.

This crap is stillborn. Nobody wants it, yet...it is still born.

0 upvotes
GregGory
By GregGory (Jul 24, 2012)

Let me correct you. "What a horrid MARKETING decision"..

2 upvotes
micahmedia
By micahmedia (Jul 25, 2012)

Well played, yes, it probably was marketing and not a wise ID.

0 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

I think it's pretty clear that this is only Canon's first foray into mirrorless, and that they've targeted this toward the bottom end of the poweruser market. Not to knock this camera, because it looks really nice, but with any fewer features, it would appear a bit deficient. And with only the two lenses available, it seems positioned to be just behind the G1 X.

I fully expect to see a more premium model out within a year or so with features (like an extra control dial, EVF, swivel screen, pop-up flash, etc.) that clearly establish it as the superior to the G1 X and stack up nicely to Sony's NEX-7. This is just a taste of what's to come, so I think it's a bit erroneous to look at this as Canon's final word on MILC.

Also, for all the critics out there, I think people are discounting the amount of pull the Canon brand, sexy form factor, and EF compatibility will have at the point-of-sale. Additionally, the price is obviously going to come down a couple hundred bucks over time.

1 upvote
Vitruvius
By Vitruvius (Jul 24, 2012)

"bottom end of the poweruser market"??? It is priced at double the Samsung NX200 with less features, smaller sensor, less pixels, and lower fps. Canon is WAY off target!

9 upvotes
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 24, 2012)

@Vitruvius According to Amazon, the NX200 lists for....guess how much...

$899

You've gotta take these initial MSRPs with a grain of salt.

1 upvote
acjohnson55
By acjohnson55 (Jul 25, 2012)

I might also add that it is at least comforting that all 7 of the Amazon reviewers for the NX200 think it's a great camera.

0 upvotes
joelfoto
By joelfoto (Jul 24, 2012)

Looks like a beauty!

My only wish is that the touch screen would swivel and move as on the 650D.

0 upvotes
ProfHankD
By ProfHankD (Jul 24, 2012)

Unlike the NEX-5N (which oddly wasn't shown in the comparison shots on page 1), this camera is so dependent on the touchscreen that an EVF actually could be rather awkward. We'll have to see if a later version heads more in the direction of the NEX-7, with controls that work well with your eye on the EVF....

Incidentally, Canon's sample images posted for the EOS M (at http://web.canon.jp/imaging/eosd/samples/eosm/) look overly smooth, lacking the crispness one would expect from this sensor. The EOS 650D images at dpreview certainly look much more crisp...?

0 upvotes
Sam Carriere
By Sam Carriere (Jul 24, 2012)

I am trying really hard to figure out why anyone would even consider this camera, given the really strong field. This is a bit less than so-so, but then I always think that when a camera is offered in red, it's not really targeting serious photographers anyway. This is for snapshooters with lots of money who don't follow reviews.

9 upvotes
RichardBlaney
By RichardBlaney (Jul 24, 2012)

Nice comment, to which reviews are you referring to? I did not see any around yet. And judging a camera from body color, wow, that-s an argument! Thanks for that, buying black only cameras will for sure make my photos better, thanks. Judge photographers from their photos not their gear please.

Comment edited 43 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
Sam Carriere
By Sam Carriere (Jul 24, 2012)

You missed my point about reviews entirely Richard.
And you really don't think that manufacturers think about demographics before they offer something in fuschia? That would no doubt be news to them

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
RichardBlaney
By RichardBlaney (Jul 25, 2012)

So where are those reviews you are talking about? Can you also link a portfolio of yours just to understand if you don't fit as well in the snapshotters demographic area?

I see a lot of chatchat here, but looking at the galleries no one criticizing this camera really needs more than a P&S...

Comment edited 17 seconds after posting
1 upvote
DeMaatin
By DeMaatin (Jul 24, 2012)

I share all the gripes about the dull user's interface with You, no doubt. As a part-time Canon pro for 15yrs, I expected a much more refined entry into the ILC market.

But, on the other hand, this little camera appeals to me like no mirrorless camera else. Maybe we should take the livin' easy and just point and shoot with it. The fun potential is immense. If one had offered to me a P&S with the IQ of the EOS T2i (550D) one or two yrs ago, I'd have jumped up and down.

This lil' gem is by all means a proper alternative to the G1X, and I wonder how the pics will be looking like if my Tokina 11-16 is attached once...

0 upvotes
Sakura Sakura
By Sakura Sakura (Jul 24, 2012)

Yet another camera without a viewfinder, when will these manufacturers take on board that LCD screens are useless in bright sunlight?

0 upvotes
dopravopat
By dopravopat (Jul 24, 2012)

Needs a solid HQ lens line-up, better battery perforance and two dials instead of one.

A nice toy. But I need two dials to operate in M mode, too bad that the top is not a real dial, just looks like one. Also the battery performance is poor and the system needs way more small but high quality lenses. The slow f2 pancake is nothing for me. However a set of dedicated EF-M lenses 10 f2.8, 15 f2, 20 f1.8 (ok this is close to the 22 f2), 30 f1.4,50 f1.8, 85 f 2 and 135 f2.8 would be appealing. Throw in zooms 17-50 f2.8 50-150 f4, both stabilized and you have a highly attractive system.

0 upvotes
Cax
By Cax (Jul 24, 2012)

Do you write the bit on how you need two dials on every single camera launched which has only one dial and is clearly not aimed at you as a user? Must take a lot of time!

0 upvotes
dopravopat
By dopravopat (Jul 24, 2012)

Actually it is quite a long time since I posted.

0 upvotes
Zoeff
By Zoeff (Jul 24, 2012)

@DPreview, I'm confused about this part...

"It allows all of Canon's existing EF and EF-S mount lenses to be used on the EOS M with full functionality (although AF speeds are unlikely to be anything to write home about)." referring to the adapter of course.

This camera has pixels dedicated to phase detection, wouldn't that mean that in theory the focus speed is identical when compared to canon DSLRs?

0 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (Jul 24, 2012)

In short, no. The EOS M uses what Canon calls Hybrid AF, with phase detection pixels used to set approximate focus, then contrast detection used to set focus accurately. This exactly the same system as used by the EOS 650D, which focuses distinctly slower using Hybrid AF in Live View compared to its conventional PDAF with the optical finder.

0 upvotes
don_van_vliet
By don_van_vliet (Jul 24, 2012)

Is hybrid AF faster than CDAF when using lenses designed for PDAF then?

I hope that sentence made sense...

0 upvotes
John Cal
By John Cal (Jul 24, 2012)

I'm so happy to be a Pentax user. The Pentax K-01 has in body SR, needs no adapter to fit K mount lenses. ......Canon should have done better, but it will sell by the bucket load no doubt.

0 upvotes
Zoeff
By Zoeff (Jul 24, 2012)

Or maybe the pentax just has a big adapter that you can't remove, thus permanently increasing the bulk of the camera with an empty mirror box...? ;-)

5 upvotes
Andy Crowe
By Andy Crowe (Jul 24, 2012)

Yeah but at the K-01's size a DSLR like the K-5 or K-30 makes more sense technically, especially as the lack of any PDAF greatly hampers the K-01's focussing performance on almost all lenses.

0 upvotes
Professor999
By Professor999 (Jul 24, 2012)

As mentioned in a previous thread there's quite a difference in size between K5 and K01.

0 upvotes
The Squire
By The Squire (Jul 24, 2012)

Canon manages to launch an ILC with even less lenses than the Sony NEX system. Didn't think that was possible ;)

How times have changed. Electronics companies who started selling cheap compact cameras now own the high-end ILC market with the NEX7 and GX1, while the 'proper' photography company releases this dull, me-too point and shoot for the masses.

I'm sure canon have aspiration to release a high-end ILC but they're playing catch-up. This camera shows just how far behind they are.

I dont think they've got the investment to catch up 3-4 years of R&D to create a system that can compete with the well-rounded M43 cameras or even the NEX range. Just because they make good DSLRs doesnt mean they have the capablity in the business to launch a whole new range. Lesser challenges have sunk companies in the past.

Stick to making great DSLRs for a few more years.

2 upvotes
rrccad
By rrccad (Jul 24, 2012)

sony launched with the 16mm and the 18-55mm lenses.

unless you are counting the 18-200mm that didn't come out 5 or so months after the release as part of the "launch"

I suspect canon out of all the camera manufacturers is intimately aware of how to roll out a new mount successfully.

1 upvote
Pro Jules
By Pro Jules (Jul 24, 2012)

I am sad it doesn't have a flip out LCD. Thats what I was waiting for. No chance for covert candid shots that I can get on my G11..

Bummer...

Back to wait...

For the next release..

2 x 480 speed lights waiting...

3 upvotes
12fps
By 12fps (Jul 24, 2012)

Well. Canon waits for their competitors to put out EVIL, instead of rushing out a new standard. The competitors all have their all mounting system. 4/3, APS C, Nikon V1.. At the end, the one that wins out is the best mount, with compatibility of today's legacy system... The larger sensor, of course the better, but the least sexiest. The smaller sensor allows zoom shooters to enjoy higher crop factor, while punishing the wide angle shooter with fewer alternatives. Since only Canon & Nikon are really great at sensitives at high ISO, I presume they will lead the mirror-less system as time goes, but Canon uses larger sensor, that will even give it more of a edge. For guys like me, I won't buy one, whatever mirror-less on the market are no comparison with today's APS-H, Full Frame, or offer the flexibility of pro-APS-C (e.g EOS 7D). So, it is exciting, but I think Canon G1X will satisfy this crowd for casual and wide-angle shooters. 1D/5D/D3 users no worries. EVIL not yet there yet.

1 upvote
Mal_In_Oz
By Mal_In_Oz (Jul 25, 2012)

Welcome back from wherever you have been (for a long time).

1 upvote
ageha
By ageha (Jul 25, 2012)

"Since only Canon & Nikon are really great at sensitives at high ISO"
- Haha, that's funny mate. :P

0 upvotes
12fps
By 12fps (Aug 13, 2012)

Ageha.... It is funny.. Whenever you go to any shop, these 2 brands stand out by a significant margin, because they are too awesome... Of course 4/3 is nice, but far from awesome..

0 upvotes
Mal_In_Oz
By Mal_In_Oz (Aug 18, 2012)

12fps.... It is funny.. Whenever you go to any shop, these 2 brands stand out by a significant margin, because they are dinosaurs and old looking... Of course 4/3 is nice, and far more awesome..

0 upvotes
EnsitMike
By EnsitMike (Jul 24, 2012)

Everyone, keep in mind how business works. This is their "entry" into the market, and this should and does very well reflect that. They have to phase out their other lineups, like the G1X. This entry camera is going to give their mirrorless sector independent CAPITAL, which will fund an explosion of development for this EOS-M line.

Just wait ;] this is business

1 upvote
TongY
By TongY (Jul 24, 2012)

Canon EOS M slow focus lock on 24-105/F4 - 2 seconds (video)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7iHHHPOHV7E&feature=relmfu

1 upvote
RichardBlaney
By RichardBlaney (Jul 24, 2012)

I went through all the comments and everyone is just talking about missing viewfinder, ibis or price or whatever, no one talks about lenses and image quality. If sensor is up to expectation this camera will be at least on par with N5 and N7, so, if this 22mm pancake is decent will make a better combo simply because no one realizes that Sony 16mm pancake simply sucks! So you can have a wonderful N7 with your viewfinder and all that geeky cool stuff but then your pictures will suck because that 16mm is barely usable.

On top of this we have to consider that this is Canon, so 10 years from now there will be a lot of EF-M lenses, a huge used market and a lot of new cameras, why? Because it has always been like this with Canon. Regarding other brands, except for Sony and Nikon who can say this? Olympus may not even exist 10 years from now.

So, imho this camera and the EF-M lenses are a good long term investment, and, as always, launch price means nothing, lets see 3 months after launch.

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
EnsitMike
By EnsitMike (Jul 24, 2012)

There are full resolution shots from the EOS-M on the Canon Japan website, and they are stunning. The 22mm is tack sharp. The image quality isn't a question anymore, it is a fact.

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (Jul 24, 2012)

A lot of EF-M lenses?
Unlikely.
Maybe a handful. Because the good interopability with EF-lenses.
some zooms and some fixed lenses.

0 upvotes
RichardBlaney
By RichardBlaney (Jul 24, 2012)

Important thing is to have good pancakes, an f2.4 wide, and a 50mm f1.something macro would be more than enough if quality is what it seems to be. Canon will deliver such lenses for sure they have the firepower to do that.

Investment is always based on the "platform" or the lenses never on the single body, bodies are going to be changed every 3/4 years, good lenses last decades.

0 upvotes
jcuknz
By jcuknz (Jul 24, 2012)

Another blessed camera mount URRRGH!

1 upvote
Aaron Sur
By Aaron Sur (Jul 24, 2012)

one of these with a EFS 55-250 will reach out to 400mm optical ,stabilized as well , at very little cost in price and weight . Perfect for the amateur enthusiast.

0 upvotes
photohounds
By photohounds (Jul 25, 2012)

Optical stabilised - 2 stops slower than the best IBIS systems. This is a feature?

0 upvotes
pjsalty
By pjsalty (Jul 24, 2012)

For full disclosure, I own a Panny GH2. If I was venturing into a MILC system now I would stick with micro 4/3, but I would definitely buy the Oly OM-D for the in-body image stabilization, gorgeous IQ, and very competitive high iso performance. Plus it's damn sexy.

M4/3 lenses are smaller, and the lens selection has become good over the past six months. This Canon announcement makes me feel good about being in the m4/3 system.

4 upvotes
ageha
By ageha (Jul 25, 2012)

I couldn't agree more.

0 upvotes
sj2
By sj2 (Jul 23, 2012)

Lots of opinions and lots of people seem to think a camera should be everything to all people. No one camera will ever do that. It is a tool with specific application in mind.

To my mind, unless you are new in the market and have no lens/system, comparison with other brands makes little sense. I have been down the path of owing two systems and did not work.

Lenses are the real investment so to me, makes sense to build a good lens line-up that you enjoy working with. Then fit bodies around your lenses. And that what I like about this little fella.

I can pack it in my bag with the primary Canon dSLR body and lens and when I don't want to lug around the primary body, this little guy comes out and does the job.

Going to sell my m4/3 body and lens now. m4/3 vendors have simply wasted too much time with mediocre lens. If you are new buyer with no existing setup then Sony and Pentax seem like good alternatives except Sony's lack of lens. Nikon with a sub-APSC is a competition?

1 upvote
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 24, 2012)

Exactly!

I was considering m4/3 or other MILC as a secondary system for small backup unobtrusive camera I could take wherever I want without thinking where to put that fat DSLR. But now, as Canon introduced EF-M mount going with "foreign" MILC makes much less sense for me.

Of course I'd have to get some basic EF-M lens but for less frequently used ones adapter will do.

And while lacking viewfinder and stuff this tiny camera will make perfectly good pictures yet be small and unobtrusive. Will do not only as a backup if main camera gets damaged, runs out of battery, etc. but in some situations it'll be simply better (small cameras, especially those looking "unprofesionally" like ones typical compact "idiotencamera" does not scare away subjects ;) ) or even will be the only option (like in places where big camera can't be used without permit due to being "professional"). I would have yet another use of the small one, but it's niche, very niche...

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
agray88
By agray88 (Jul 24, 2012)

Seriously? M4/3 have wasted too much time with mediocre lenses?? What about the Oly 45mm/1.8? The Oly 75/1.8 which is described by multiple multiple reviewers are nearly optically perfect? How about the Panny/Leica 25mm/1.4 which is universally highly regarded? Also the Panny 20/1.7 and Oly 12/2 are great lenses. In fact m4/3 lens lineup is light years ahead of every other manufacturer's lineups. Plus they are smaller and lighter (and generally cheaper) than Sony or Pentax's marginal lineups. You are basing your decision based on vapor lenses that haven't even been released or reviewed! M4/3 isn't perfect but one thing is does have is a stable of quality glass! And don't tell me you are basing your decision based on legacy lenses. Wait until you try to pair your huge tele lens *with* adaptor with that tiny body. Good luck on the balance with that.

5 upvotes
EnsitMike
By EnsitMike (Jul 24, 2012)

agray88 They are not vapor lenses, the Canon Japan website has full res samples up and they blew my mind. Canon is going to gain momentum and blow everyone out of the water as they phase out the G1X and move pro-sumer compacts to the M line. You stand by your small sensors all you want ;]

0 upvotes
sj2
By sj2 (Jul 24, 2012)

@agray88 Yes, seriously :-) I agree m4/3 has few good primes. Not very fast but not bad either. That f1.8 aperture on APS-C isn't the same on the m4/3 so not apples to apples comparison. Consequently, f1.8 on m4/3 is slower than on APS-C (and APS-C is slower than 35mm and so forth).

On Canon, you not only have very nice prime lens line up but the L series of zooms are really good too. Can't say that about zooms on m4/3 which are slow and optically mediocre.

Don't get me wrong - I brought a E-PL1 to a trip to Hawaii, used it with a 135mm Pentax screw mount and thoroughly enjoyed it. I love the Olympus E-Px interface too and currently have a E-PM1 that I sincerely hoped would work for me. But every time I compare the pictures from the E-PM1 + prime with my Canon T2i + 35mm f1.4L, the m4/3 simply does not measure up. I am not really blaming Oly/Panny for all of it - some of it is physics - you simply cannot the same DoF on m43 as on APS-C and that totally changes an image's character.

0 upvotes
sj2
By sj2 (Jul 24, 2012)

Overall, I don't get comparisons with other formats/systems unless you are a new buyer. I tried maintaining two systems and did not work for me. This is not to say that current M offering from Canon is perfect and yes, I would not buy it at list of $800 but it would be a welcome addition for me in terms of weight and size.

Regarding the viewfinder rant, I was in that crowd earlier. I have a VF2 for my E-PM1 that's mostly collecting dust now. One, I think an add-on EVF defeats the ergonomics of a small mirrorless camera unless it is built in. Two, I think Canon have done the right thing by providing touch focus/shoot while doing away with EVF. Having used the same touch/shoot on my iPhone, I found is surprisingly intuitive and would even say, it opens a different style of shooting. Sure, it can be disconcerting at first since you are used to the VF for decades but all I can say is, try it with an open mind. Like any other tool, some take time to grow on you.

0 upvotes
photohounds
By photohounds (Jul 25, 2012)

You haven't tried tyhe 12/2 45/1.8 and 75/1.8. Kills any lens canon will be likely to put on this type of body for 3 years. Wanna wait that long?

Oh yes a little thing called quality ... not sure if that interests you.

Compare this ...
http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/1443/cat/14
to this ...
http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showproduct.php/product/150/cat/10

the 1.2 is even SOFTER

1 upvote
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

Maybe this camera is a case of panic-attack from Canon. They had to have a camera without a mirror ovf as all their opposition had one. But they could not destroy their dslr nest in the process.

The Canon dslr nest must surely be in disarray, no amount of touchy-feely lcd can disguise this.

So if you have EOS EF lenses you might as well run your existing Canon dslr gear until it breaks and then buy second hand bodies. Good enough I guess.

Surely not to spend up big on the latest and greatest professional bodies only to find a professional level mirrorless body announced real soon now? No way is this offering going to be up to large EF lenses, adapter or no.

Furthermore - has Canon now kissed the bald head of this camera with the seal of recognition that the mirror-ovf is well and truly dead. Any viewfinder?

1 upvote
Jas H
By Jas H (Jul 25, 2012)

My conclusion is exactly the reverse i.e. mirrorless cameras are no match for full frame dSLR cameras. Serious users will therefore stick with 5D and better. Mirrorless cameras could well decimate the crop sensor models though, in time. I don't see any mis-step or panic from Canon - just a very late entry to market.

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Jul 23, 2012)

In the Nikon 1 review, DPR was heavily critical of the lack of external controls. In this EOS-M Preview, the same lack of external buttons is described more as a feature, not a bug because of the "target audience" caveat. Clearly a GF3 is not as nice to use as a GF1 because of the touch screen, yet it's implied in this EOS-M preview that the touch screen can replace mode dials and ISO buttons. Why is it not OK for the Nikon 1 to remove external controls (Nikon was very clear about the target audience for the Nikon 1) yet perfectly fine for the EOS-M?

5 upvotes
thisisjh
By thisisjh (Jul 23, 2012)

Maybe DPR just likes Canon better...? or has a weak review protocols.

0 upvotes
DStudio
By DStudio (Jul 23, 2012)

In the preview they suggest that it's the best touch screen they've yet used - I think this could explain it!

Comment edited 20 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Jul 23, 2012)

I have nothing against touch screens, just don't want them to replace hard buttons.

0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

Does that Nikon has a usable, capatitative touch screen? Or even any touchscreen at all?

So there is your answer... Menus driven by some keys/dials combo are simply inconvenient contrary to good quality touchscreens.

1 upvote
micdair
By micdair (Jul 23, 2012)

I'd say that there is a difference between review and preview :). Anyway, lack of controls + the touch screen is probably better than without. Also there may be a better and worse layouts even with the same amount of controls. I wouldn't blame them for not being harsh enough before in-depth review...

0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

I'm more interested if function is easily accessible than if its hard button or place on screen to press. It's simply easier to make them really accessible, bigger etc on that 3" screen real estate not on that 1" margin besides the screen.

Besides... Good touchscreen could be operated in gloved hands easily. Tiny buttons (they have to be tiny on tiny camera if they are tiny on cameras like D800 or EOS-5d) are pretty unusable.

0 upvotes
yslee1
By yslee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

While a touchscreen isn't ideal, having used a EOS 650D, I find it way better than the heavy menu-based system of the Nikon 1. Also, Canon might just be sensible and allow exposure settings be controlled with that rear dial, instead of a rocker switch...

0 upvotes
photohounds
By photohounds (Jul 25, 2012)

OMD EM-5 has both external controls AND touch screen :) This is entry not state of the art.

Lenses - will they match zuikos?
I doubt it - at least for a few years ...

1 upvote
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

So Ricoh was right with the GXR A12 mount module? ... Some time ago.

0 upvotes
wwcove
By wwcove (Jul 23, 2012)

Where's the beef?

0 upvotes
Tom Caldwell
By Tom Caldwell (Jul 23, 2012)

The beginning of the end for my stock of regular EOS EF lenses. So where is the professional level mirrorless camera that might mount my regular EF lenses natively without need of an adapter?
If Canon think that they can supersede my existing EF lens stock and make me re-buy as EF-M they had better think again.

Comment edited 54 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
kalisz
By kalisz (Jul 23, 2012)

Mirrrless camera for full frame EF mount wont happen. It makes no sense as it'd be too thick to make a difference against DSLR.

Google "Flange focal distance" - it's a hard fixed parameter of particular mount type - it's a distance between lens mount surface and sensor/film surface. For EF it's 44mm. On (D)SLR it is the space where mirror fits. Then, sensor has nonzero thickness and then there is LCD screen behind it. So ~50mm thicness is a minimum for classic EF camera. You could remove the mirror and still be left with an useless empty space.

EF-M mount has aforementioned distance of 18mm - as there is no mirror - thus cameras can be simply significantly smaller that way.

So don't wait for mirrorless classic EF mount -- it most probably won't happen ever. Adapter is the only real and realistic (and sensible) option.

1 upvote
michalc
By michalc (Jul 23, 2012)

When Nikon introduced N1 I thought Nikon designers/planners/ strategic thinkers did not work hard creating simplistic design/philosophy. Now I've grown to appreciate it. At least they INVENTED new sensor size enabling producing SHORTER and smaller lenses. And what is this thing? cheap looking (but not cheap at all), ugly P&S with good (?) old (cheap) sensor that has been beaten by competition ages ago in every respect. Long live m4/3 and NEX!!! (have one of each). What a relief!!! One less to buy! Thanks Canon!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
Total comments: 541
12345