Previous page Next page

Canon EOS M specifications

Price
MSRP$799.99 with 22mm lens, €849/£769 with 18-55mm lens, €1049/£949 with 18-55mm + 22mm lenses, €979/£879 with 22mm lens + EF adapter
Body type
Body typeRangefinder-style mirrorless
Sensor
Max resolution5184 x 3456
Other resolutions3456 x 2304, 2592 x 1728, 1920 x 1280, 720 x 480
Effective pixels18 megapixels
Sensor photo detectors19 megapixels
Sensor sizeAPS-C (22.3 x 14.9 mm)
Sensor typeCMOS
ProcessorDigic 5
Color spacesRGB,Adobe RGB
Image
ISOAuto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200, 6400, 12800 (25600 with boost)
White balance presets6
Custom white balanceYes (1)
Image stabilizationNo
Uncompressed formatRAW
JPEG quality levelsFine, Normal
File format
  • JPEG: Fine, Normal (Exif 2.3 compliant)
  • Design rule for Camera File system (2.0),
  • RAW: 14bit RAW
  • Digital Print Order Format [DPOF] Version 1.1 compliant
Optics & Focus
Autofocus
  • Contrast Detect (sensor)
  • Phase Detect
  • Multi-area
  • Selective single-point
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Face Detection
  • Live View
Digital zoomNo
Manual focusYes
Number of focus points31
Lens mountCanon EF-M
Focal length multiplier1.6×
Screen / viewfinder
Articulated LCDFixed
Screen size3
Screen dots1,040,000
Touch screenYes
Screen typeClear View II TFT LCD
Live viewYes
Viewfinder typeNone
Photography features
Minimum shutter speed60 sec
Maximum shutter speed1/4000 sec
Exposure modes
  • Program AE
  • Shutter priority AE
  • Aperture priority AE
  • Manual
Scene modes
  • Creative Auto
  • Portrait
  • Landscape
  • Close-up
  • Sports
  • Night Portrait
  • Handheld Night
  • HDR Backlight Control mode
Built-in flashNo
External flashYes (via Hot-shoe)
Flash modesAuto, On, Off, Red-eye
Flash X sync speed1/200 sec
Drive modes
  • Single
  • Continuous
  • Self timer
Continuous drive4 fps
Self-timerYes (2 or 10 sec)
Metering modes
  • Multi
  • Center-weighted
  • Spot
  • Partial
Exposure compensation±3 (at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
AE Bracketing±2 (3 frames at 1/3 EV, 1/2 EV steps)
WB BracketingYes (3 frames in either blue/amber or magenta/green axis)
Videography features
Resolutions1920 x 1080 (30, 25, 24 fps), 1280 x 720 (60, 50 fps), 640 x 480 (60, 50 fps)
FormatMPEG-4, H.264
MicrophoneStereo
SpeakerMono
Storage
Storage typesSD/SDHC/SDXC
Storage includedNone
Connectivity
USB USB 2.0 (480 Mbit/sec)
HDMIYes (HDMI mini)
WirelessEye-Fi Connected
Physical
Environmentally sealedNo
BatteryBattery Pack
Battery descriptionLithium-Ion LP-E12 rechargeable battery & charger
Battery Life (CIPA)230
Weight (inc. batteries)298 g (0.66 lb / 10.51 oz)
Dimensions109 x 66 x 32 mm (4.29 x 2.6 x 1.26)
Other features
Orientation sensorYes
GPSOptional
GPS notesvia GPE2
Previous page Next page
530
I own it
64
I want it
48
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 544
12345
Lilmer
By Lilmer (3 weeks ago)

Is this a good for a beginner who want's to try exposure photography?

0 upvotes
Scavenger39
By Scavenger39 (1 month ago)

I wish to take the lens off the camera and attach the adapter supplied for attaching the lenses of the SLR. I do not wish to attach one of these lenses but to use a T-ring to attach the camera to a telescope.

The camera has obvious advantages for this purpose. It is compact and relatively light and the shutter can be released by the wireless release. There is no mirror and so no mirror slap. The screen is a decent size for manual focussing. The model is supposed to afford a fully manual exposure mode.

But can anyone tell me whether the Canon EOS-M will actually work without one of its own dedicated lenses?

0 upvotes
crashpc
By crashpc (1 month ago)

Too late anyway. Hope M3 will make it to the final review :-)

0 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (4 months ago)

Preview since 2012............

0 upvotes
reaganroad
By reaganroad (4 months ago)

Will the EOS M support an off brand Lens Adapter with another Prime Lens ??? I have the Canon Adapter and it is Great for Canon EF Lenses , but I have tried to use an off brand Lens Adapter with a Leica M Lens and no luck , so far !!! Thank You , R E Keay

0 upvotes
SergeyMS
By SergeyMS (8 months ago)

I like very much EOS-M after firmware update. IQ is very good, AF speed is not the best, but like many bulky DSLR. They have very promised project.

3 upvotes
SRT3lkt
By SRT3lkt (8 months ago)

Are you certain about 3-10x digital zoom?
I had chance to play with the one with latest firmware, and couldn't find that feature.

0 upvotes
Dave Smith Trelawnyd
By Dave Smith Trelawnyd (8 months ago)

An excellent camera once the latest firmware is downloaded which gives an entirely acceptable auto focus speed which was previously too slow. This camera seems to be victim of the one issue Canon baiters, most of whom just repeat the received image from its initial reviews. The image quality is excellent, and the ability to use the full range of Canon lenses on a compact body is wonderful if you have a collection of lenses. The build quality is very good and exceeds my Canon 700 dslr handsomely.We have even used it for astro photography where it is also good, its native prime lens being excellent. The camera was bought for my wife who likes dslr image quality but not the size, encumbrence and anoraklike image that goes with them. All in all, a well made camera that is excellent for all normal purposes and has a great appeal for Canon lens owners. I would reccomend it any day.

4 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (7 months ago)

How can you say the image quality is excellent when the competitors blow it out of the water. Even an smaller M4/3 sensor has more dynamic range and similar high iso capability these days.

The native prime is indeed good but that's the only thing it has.
That is why you can find them on sale everywhere. The price collapsed with a reason. It can't keep up with the competition.

0 upvotes
dali777
By dali777 (6 months ago)

Canon EOS M New Firmware Auto Focus Test

no more complaining skeptics and semi experts :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JW-fcHl39y4

Torwong Salwala 2how.com

Lens

EF-M 22mm 1:2 STM
EF-M 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 IS STM
EF-S 18-135mm 1:3.5-3.6 IS STM
EF 35mm 1:1.4 L USM
EF 50mm 1:1.2 L USM

Can a $400 camera take as good a picture as a $4000 pro shooter?

yes

see this review:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxfaou8uJfg

3 upvotes
MikeFairbanks
By MikeFairbanks (9 months ago)

There seems to be an error on the part of DP Review or mine in regard to the touch control for focus and shutter. Here's what DP Review says: "There are four touch buttons at the corners of the screen, allowing you to change exposure mode, call-up the onscreen Q menu, enable/disable touch focus and touch shutter, and magnify the display."

The segment that says "enable/disable touch focus and touch shutter" might be inaccurate. The button does, in fact, turn the touch shutter off and on, but I don't think there is any way to disable touch focus.

I would love to be wrong, as I really want to be able to put the camera on center-point focus (like any other DSLR) and not worry about it shifting on me when I accidentally touch the screen in the wrong place.

I love the touch focus as a feature, but not as a mandatory feature. I've always used center-point focus and want that option. I don't think it exists on the EOS-M.

0 upvotes
Ben Ramsey
By Ben Ramsey (9 months ago)

Mike,
It definitely should disable touch focus as well. My best guess as to what you are experiencing is you probably (hopefully) have your camera set to continuous focus. If you disable that in the second tab of the shooting menu (with the red cameras), it should work as you want. I haven't been able to recreate what you are describing in any other way, so I hope that will work for you.

1 upvote
l_d_allan
By l_d_allan (9 months ago)

Is there EVER going to be a full review? There are some potentially VERY attractive close-out bundle deals, but I'm reluctant to purchase without a full review from DPReview.

And my speculation is there may be some terrific bargains near Thanksgiving for Black Friday. But I really don't want to be as ignorant as I am now when considering such a bundle purchase.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (9 months ago)

Image quality is like every other 18mp Canon Dslr.
Poor high ISO for an Apsc and poor dynamic range.
However it's comparable with the 16mp M4/3 sensors.
The AF of the Canon however is not. It's the worst performer in this for some years. even with the firmware update. Combine that with limited native lenses and no interest of Canon to change that and you have 1 very poor option.

In the mirrorless market there are 3 great options.
M4/3 for formfactor and lot's of amazing lenses.
Fuji X-mount for Retro styling and stunning image quality.
Sony NEX-mount for great image quality with manual lenses becouse of the good Apsc sensors(Nikon D7000 sensor) and focus peaking.

0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (9 months ago)

The Fujis do have better image quality although not dramatically so. If they were $300 there would be no contest.

As for the EOS M. the focusing is slow and it has no viewfinder or option to add one.

The image quality is fine and the price is right. Dynamic range is typical of Canon; less than Fuji but enough for millions of people, every day. Noise is also typical Canon; not as good as some others but not a problem unless you use ridiculously high ISOs that are a bad idea in the first place. If you grew up with film, where "pushing" to ASA 800 was possible but with a big loss of quality, the fact that the EOS M is noisy at 12,000 ISO won't be of much concern.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
geoffphuket
By geoffphuket (9 months ago)

Something is going on because it's now available on-line, or in stores for around 50% of the original price. If it performs the same as the EOS650 (identical to the 750), it's now a real bargain.

3 upvotes
26AEB270D33248B3B40B603EDDD48C61

I forgot to add to my list of complaints... My Canon DSLRs (350D and 600D) have lenses generally with a 58mm filter size....

Guess what? I now have a camera with 2 lenses both of which are not only incompatible with my 58mm filters but also with each other!!! The zoom thread is 52mm, and the other 22mm lens has a 43mm thread despite being the same size barrel!!

Who designed this? Canon, do you think I like lugging around tons of camera kit when I travel? Please spare a thought for us traveling photographers and try to make everything properly compatible with the DSLRs (including a decent battery) on your next attempt.

Great images, but what is this camera supposed to be and why is this not the G16 replacement I paid for?

0 upvotes
Dr Aref
By Dr Aref (10 months ago)

Hey Canon wake up. Please observe the mirrorless ILCs that are bursting around you. EOS M is a good camera for still shots, but not a great one. It is high time to come with EOS M II with -
1. Better sensor (like the 70D sensor with better focusing capability)
2. Tilting LCD, at least vertical tilting to get the advantage of 0.15m close
focusing ability of EFM 11-22mm in low angle shot and also for macro works
3. Electronic viewfinder either built in or add on
4. Better grip to hold the camera (it wanted slip of my hands several times)
5. The battery life is very poor. If the battery type could not be changed, then a
built in electronic viewfinder will enhance the battery life.

0 upvotes
26AEB270D33248B3B40B603EDDD48C61

My 6th Canon camera and the EOS-M is a big disappointment. Images are good but the user interface is terrible. Handling is poor. Hard to hold without accidentally resetting something OR blocking the autofocus beam which is stupidly placed right where your hand needs to be to steady the zoom lens. And I don't even have big hands.

No built in flash. Poor battery life. (Really poor compared to my G12.) Lack of manual buttons. Proprietary strap lugs so you can't use a generic strap.

Worst of all - the focus position cannot be centre locked, so if you accidentally touch the screen, you end up focusing on something you don't want to. In fact, there doesn't seem to be any lock for the touch screen and I've ended up taking photos when the camera was resting on my chest.

Nice idea but very badly executed. Canon should have done better.

0 upvotes
robinl59
By robinl59 (11 months ago)

I finally cracked and decided that Thom Hogan is right - leave the 22mm lens in place and you have a very pocketable camera which can certainly rival the Nikon A, Ricoh GR nd other luxury single fl cameras at a bargain basement price. My initial analysis is that IQ is very good and AF is a little slow. Anyway, my point is don't dismiss this camera out-of-hand ...... actually its pretty good.

6 upvotes
AKH
By AKH (4 months ago)

??

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
buzzbob
By buzzbob (11 months ago)

In case some don't know this, dpreview never upset Canon. They will never review one of their products they can't say nice things about and if a review is missing you can take it that in their opinion, the camera is lousy. Anyway, you will never see a review of this camera because they always bottle it when it comes to the crunch. Maybe they have to, but it sure does stink a bit

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
Stephane R
By Stephane R (11 months ago)

I bought one yesterday and I absolutely love it for still photography. For moving subjects, it's not the right camera; other than that i am so far very satisfied with this purchase. I also ordered the adapter so that i can attach my glasses to it, hopefully i won't be disappointed. I did experience once in a while the AF issue and it did not really bother me that much (latest fw is 2.02). It seems like the quality of the pictures are as good as a 7D, for sure they are much better than my old T2i. I'm also wondering how this camera could turn out in macro-photography with the 100 mm lens.

2 upvotes
NickL01
By NickL01 (Jul 23, 2013)

I bought an EOS-M at the discounted price about 3 weeks ago.

It's a superb little camera. I read all the comments about autofocus speed, but it's not an issue for me. It might be a tad slower on the spec sheets than other cameras, I know not, but in real world use it's fine. No signs of it having to hunt significantly more often than any other autofocus I've owned (rather too many...). It happily locked on to the Red Arrows screaming over my house at a few hundred feet, which is a reasonable challenge. (I'd updated the firmware by then, but it was OK before)

Not having a viewfinder has always been a deal breaker for me, because of screen visibility. Not an issue. It's entirely usable with unshaded sunlight falling directly on the screen.

I'm amazed at how easy it is to grip and hold steady - with big hands I usually struggle with small cameras.

I envisage my DSLRs staying home more often. I think I may finally have found my ideal walk round camera... Absolutely delighted!

10 upvotes
vroger1
By vroger1 (11 months ago)

Just bought it- and I mean JUST from Amazon with the 22- The APS-C sensor got me- I intend using My 50mm EOS Canon with it. As far as the v/f is concerned I will use accessory optical v/fs. I would think that being a Canon the image results should be very good. As to IQ I have heard no complaints. I believe that they brought out a "fix" upgrade for focussing speed.

1 upvote
Gerardjan
By Gerardjan (11 months ago)

Agree with you totally! It has an amazing IQ, with the slow AF one can learn to live.Just set it on your favorite position and start taking pictures. I just wonder, will there EVER be a review?

2 upvotes
Playful
By Playful (Jul 15, 2013)

I have a canon eos m w/ the 22mm lens. Is there another way to zoom besides clicking on the magnifying glass at the bottom right corner? If not, should I return this kit and buy the 18-55mm kit?

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (Jul 16, 2013)

22mm lens does not zoom, period. The magnifying glass just magnifies the display, it doesn't zoom the image.

If you wanted a lens that zooms, then yes you should trade for the 18-55. Keep in mind the 22mm lens is much more compact and with its f2 aperture will be better in low light, so some of us think this compensates for the lack of zoom.

2 upvotes
Kurnia Lim
By Kurnia Lim (Jul 19, 2013)

yeah, that's prime lens so it doesn't zoom, however that 22mm can produce good IQ

0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (Jul 13, 2013)

It's funny to look back at the older comments. As I write this, Canon is blowing out the EOS M at $300 with lens. Why? Because they made some horrible "fail"? Because they are embarrassed and humiliated? Ah...no. Because they are a really big camera company and they can afford to unload the first model, if that's what it takes to build a consumer base eager to get more lenses and better bodies. How successful is this strategy? Right now, the slow focusing, viewfinder-less EOS M is the #1 selling camera on Amazon.

I bought one to use as a doorstop but it's turning out to be sort of fun with the finger squeezing thing on the LCD. If I keep it, I'll get the wide angle zoom and Canon will make their money back.

3 upvotes
Denis James Evans
By Denis James Evans (9 months ago)

I got an unbelievable deal on both lenses and the flash. Half the price of Olympus body only but the IQ is better. Touch interface is very intuitive!

1 upvote
joe1512
By joe1512 (Jul 8, 2013)

Despite all the griping, its CHEAP! 300 bucks and it is comparable to the Ricoh GR and the other $800+ APC-S prime lens cameras out there. Very compact, same sensor pretty much, same IQ, and good 2.0 aperature.

Sure it might have slower autofocus or whatever, but heck... for 1/3rd the price?

3 upvotes
Kurnia Lim
By Kurnia Lim (Jul 19, 2013)

I don't mind for slower autofocus, beside it depends on what kind of photography everyone loved? For me, I only like flowers, Long exposure and landscape, I don't like to take people's photo or sport, so AF is not a problem for me. However lack of viewfinder make it harder to take picture under bright sunlight.

1 upvote
arboreus
By arboreus (9 months ago)

It's not that cheap in Europe. It's more like €650 for a 22mm f/2 kit ($900).

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Mssimo
By Mssimo (Jul 3, 2013)

Just got discounted to $300 with 22mm lens in most online stores.

1 upvote
dISEr
By dISEr (Jul 3, 2013)

The "preview" was issued a year ago. The camera is already discounted by some stores as somewhat old model. Any chance to see a real review of the only mirror-less camera by Canon? Otherwise it seems like one terrible camera, even dpreview refused to test it :(

7 upvotes
username123
By username123 (Jul 1, 2013)

I updated my EOS M firmware and am quite pleased with the results.

In bright light the autofocus speed has improved when using single point focus and the 22mm f2 lens. Rather zippy, in fact. In poor light there is quite a notable improvement in autofocus speed and almost no "hunting".

As I said in an earlier post here, "I do like this camera. Don't write it off."

8 upvotes
Skrocki
By Skrocki (Jun 29, 2013)

I can't believe there is no full review of the Canon EOS-M or any report of the newly released firmware update 2.0.2 in DPREVIEW. The faster autofocus, a newly released wide angle stabilized zoom combined with a greatly reduced price make this camera an attactive alternative to competitors.

7 upvotes
Dames01
By Dames01 (May 23, 2013)

Was interested in this camera, as a walkabout camera, as soon as it came out but was put off by the negative reviews on the AF speed and the price. However the latter having dropped by almost 1/2 I bought one online in order to be able to return it if I was not happy with it. That was just over 1 month ago and I have decided to keep it.
The AF performance with the kit zoom is much better than what I feared. In the large majority of cases, the AF has locked on by the time I have composed the picture, ~ 1 sec. Only very occasionally the AF is unable to lock.
I am a Canon user (5d mkII) and the ability to put on some EF primes (50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, etc) is a real bonus.
Another great thing is the fact that the flash unit supplied has a transmitter to set off other Speedlites.
I like the design and the handling as well as the touchscreen are great. It would be nice to be able to attach a OVF to it, but other than this I highly recommend this camera.

3 upvotes
950sm07
By 950sm07 (Jun 7, 2013)

Same here. Bought it for 1/2 price a month ago for biking and hiking where I don't want to carry the 5DIII and this little baby turned out to be amazing. I was skeptical because of the negative reviews about the AF but in real use it's really not that bad and the IQ is great. I bought two extra batteries from ebay because the original one goes empty quickly but now the three batteries last for a whole day.
I had a NEX-5N before and hated its touchscreen (and the whole menu system) but luckily Canon figured out the way to do it properly and I really like it on the M.
Agree on the OVF but it's a compromise that I'm willing to make because it's a great little camera with super build quality and IQ.

P.S.:The firmware update is coming soon and Canon promises a faster AF with it. :)

3 upvotes
Dames01
By Dames01 (Jun 18, 2013)

The point with the OVF is that as soon as you attach certain prime EF lenses, it would be partially blocked. For using the 22mm pancake, it is possible to attach OVF made for other cameras with fixed 35mm lenses, eg Voigtlander or Leica which attach to the flash hotshoe.

0 upvotes
rchwallace
By rchwallace (May 12, 2013)

Just tested this in the shop and was totally geeked out by the touch screen..."touch and shoot". I thought it was actually relatively fast considering I touched the screen and it focused on the subject there and took the picture all at the same time. Very cool.

2 upvotes
gdfthr73
By gdfthr73 (May 9, 2013)

I just Got this camera yesterday and I feel like all the negative reviews of this camera are ridiculous. Claims of slow start up time and shutter lag are false. Either these are blatant lies or are based on earlier firmware. I would not put this camera in the fastest category but it is fast enough for any normal human.

I also have a Sony NEX 7, which is no faster starting up and only marginally faster focusing.
The build quality is amazing. It feels like it was made from a solid piece of granite.

Amazing image quality and versatility (especially for Canon users)
All in a beautiful simple design with subtle curves that are hard to appreciate from pictures. Hold one in your hand and you begin to appreciate the design.

I will admit that the focusing is not the fastest but so what.

If you have to have the fastest focusing speed possibly you probably do not care about composition or light and have no business being behind a real camera anyway.

Comment edited 23 seconds after posting
4 upvotes
Robert Krawitz
By Robert Krawitz (Apr 27, 2013)

I just bought one with the 22 pancake (and another with the 18-55 as a gift). Got a very attractive price for a gray market.

My primary body is a 7D (actually a pair of 'em). But I think I'm going to like this little puppy for going walkabout. Yes, I prefer to compose through a viewfinder, and no, this doesn't have one. But the size -- with the 22 f/2, it's lighter and much smaller than my SX-1 (which EVF I really don't care for, anyway) -- is extremely attractive for going places where I don't want to take a heavier load and/or don't want to draw attention to myself. And of course, it can AF during video, which the 7D can't. I've ordered a third party adapter to use my other lenses with, but I suspect a lot of the time I'll just stick with the 22. I look at it as a classic rangefinder with a 35 f/3.2.

The AF takes some getting used to, but my sense is that it's not too bad as long as I don't try to go beyond its capabilities.

3 upvotes
InsertTextHere
By InsertTextHere (Mar 5, 2013)

I have to say that it is a bit tiring to read all of the negativity about this camera in these forums. It may not be perfect, but show me a camera that is.

I've had mine for over a month now and am very happy with it. It is a great camera to accompany me on my adventures. It is more compact than a DSLR, and also many of the other mirrorless cameras. It fits great into my backpack when I go hiking, climbing or kayaking. I haven't been inconvenienced at all by the supposedly slow autofocus. I've taken great scenery and low light photos with it. I will be heading out this weekend to photograph comet Pan-STARRS.

3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Mar 2, 2013)

a "me too" product to put them in the mirrorless category, because appearances are everything - "look, we have mirrorless too, but..." (says the salesman)

yet handicapped so there isn't a chance of putting even a dent in their mirror business... or even in the mirrorless competition. even the design screams of amateurism - in contrast to a Rebel that at least looks like a serious camera.

bland vanilla

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Rob E
By Rob E (Dec 20, 2012)

I sure am a fan of this camera. Been using it for a while now to document my skate- and snowboarding. Before I used a 600d but this size is more relevant for me. You could get footage like:

http://www.tacky.nl/surf/video/?id=251891

or

http://www.tacky.nl/skateboard/video/?id=251914

I like it!

3 upvotes
username123
By username123 (Dec 8, 2012)

I purchased one (with fixed 35mm eq) to replace my Nikon D80 / 17-55 2.8; too much to carry about.

First got a Fuji XF1, not happy with images, returned it. Then wanted to get an X100. Played with the EOSM and chose it over the X100.

Image quality is excellent.

I do like the touch screen. Odd, as I am a viewfinder / button / dial freak.

It does not draw attention to itself. It just looks like a slightly bulky compact camera.

Oh yes, the autofocus is not great, but nowhere near as bad as some would have you believe. Try one out in store for yourself.

I do like this camera. Don't write it off.

4 upvotes
Prairie Pal
By Prairie Pal (May 20, 2013)

I am putting off further investments in Nikon and M4/3 systems as long as I can in order to wait and see where Canon takes their compact DX platform. I've always preferred Canon for their IQ and ergonomics in compacts. I would love to be able to pare down my closet of multi brand equipment to just Canon for FX and compact DX.

0 upvotes
Sad Joe
By Sad Joe (Nov 24, 2012)

Gotta say - just played with my 1st EOS - M and am impressed! I'm off to Warner Studios Harry Potter Tour next week - will take a whole lotta kit.. wish I was taking an ESO-M !

1 upvote
fred 76
By fred 76 (Nov 21, 2012)

This SLR is of no use in astro-photography :

http://www.ubergizmo.com/2012/11/canon-eos-m-no-remote-shooting/

Remote Capture is impossible with it !

That's crazy for such an expensive camera.

1 upvote
fred 76
By fred 76 (Nov 26, 2012)

Tethered shooting is not allowed, and Live View through the computer screen is also not allowed.

This appears to be a last minute decision from Canon's marketing team since these functions were listed in the preliminary specification (as of early oct 2012).

The EOS M should therefore be rebranded as "Powershot M" instead of "EOS M".

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
netjunkie9
By netjunkie9 (Dec 26, 2012)

SLR?

1 upvote
fred 76
By fred 76 (Jan 9, 2013)

Sorry I dropped the "D" !

0 upvotes
akjos
By akjos (Nov 9, 2012)

Whoever designed the body should be SO
fired... Even gf3 is more appealing :/

1 upvote
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (Nov 7, 2012)

Did Gumby design that ? It will look good on the shelf at Walmart.

2 upvotes
robjons
By robjons (Nov 7, 2012)

ditto here: "no viewfinder = no purchase"

Also, re lens size: "...which means they're smaller than corresponding SLR lenses;" If its an APS-C sensor, why can't APS-C SLR lenses be this small?

Also, why the new mount? The standard Canon SLR mount wouldn't fit?

Also, why no innovative, i.e., integrated shape. Its a Sony NEX-like can stuck on a bar of soap. How about this: a cylindrical shape extending from the lens that morphs into a handle?
Whatever; Not for me anyway.

3 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Mar 2, 2013)

Why new mount: backfocus distance has to be reduced, or you will have camera as deep as one with a mirrorbox, which defeats the purpose (think Pentax K01). You can still buy an overpriced adaptor to use old lenses with it, that adds the distance needed for them to focus if you like.

0 upvotes
RoccoGalatioto
By RoccoGalatioto (Nov 7, 2012)

To me it's simple no viewfinder= no purchase. I simply cannot use a camera that I have to hold in front of me. During the day they are useless and when you use it you look ridiculous. For that I can get a lousy smart phone. What were they thinking. At least allow the possibility to have an EVF. Sorry Canon, no sigar.

5 upvotes
bruce20D
By bruce20D (Nov 7, 2012)

agreed .. no viewfinder = non-starter for me. the NEX-6 looks like my NEXt camera (with the gorgeous 35mm f1.8 prime)

2 upvotes
Timmbits
By Timmbits (Mar 2, 2013)

That's the point... they have you thinking of getting a Rebel, instead of a NX or NEX or MFT.

0 upvotes
Marco Nero
By Marco Nero (Nov 7, 2012)

Picked mine up yesterday to use with my other Canon L-series lenses and it's a great camera. Size is just a little bigger than the s95 and a little smaller than the G1X. Picture quality and AF is going to vary based on the lens used. Good lens = excellent images. I tested the 18-55mm-M lens and found it to be VERY fast in relation to Auto Focus. The 22mm-M lens is known to be slower for some reason. The touchscreen is actually very responsive and fast to alter settings with. Being an APS-C sensor, I can get some very lowlight handheld shots with this camera. Works well with my L-lenses (via the included adapter when buying the Body-Only option). Certainly very well built and quite solidly constructed. Just like a DSLR in many respects, including image quality. Faster than my PowerShot G1X in many ways.

3 upvotes
abi170845
By abi170845 (Nov 7, 2012)

I'll skip this camera, my friend bought it, sold it the next day at clubsnap singapore buy and sell section. The autofocus just awful, I'd rather buy another cheap rebel body. also the battery is horrible, and can't find extra batteries. for all the troubles, I'll skip the M.

1 upvote
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (Nov 7, 2012)

I imagine the feel of this new M baby to be the same as that of the Walter PPK.

.

3 upvotes
KitHB
By KitHB (Nov 7, 2012)

Do you mean "...it's for ladies, and not very nice ladies at that."

0 upvotes
fuglee
By fuglee (Nov 6, 2012)

I just got the production model and it does NOT have the 3-10x telephoto digital zoom in movie mode. It's nowhere in the owner's manual either. This could have been a really useful feature for video shooters and a shame to know that Canon removed features from the preproduction models.

1 upvote
Hugo808
By Hugo808 (Nov 1, 2012)

I just had a go on one of these lovely looking things. Having seen some pics I was hoping for a replacement for my 90% of SLR work, but the autofocus! It's awful, really slow and hunts around all over the place before settling.

I tried the Panny GX1 for comparison and it focuses like lightning. I can only assume Canon has deliberately hamstrung this camera so that people still buy the SLRs. Big shame.

PAMS and an input dial would have been nice too but that would make all of Canon's APS-C cameras obsolete. We really can't have everything it seems.

2 upvotes
LaFonte
By LaFonte (Nov 7, 2012)

Canon usually needs some time to fine tune anything. The slow focus is very sad, even the fuji improved things on their x mount to fully usable speed now. Hopefully they will improve firmware, but releasing slow focus after all the users critique of older 43m and last year fujis...well this should tell that people do have very little patience with slow focusing now.

1 upvote
stuntmonkey
By stuntmonkey (Oct 3, 2012)

APS-C with on-board phased detection AF in a compact body would be an excellent proposition, but the two things that hold this back are that the they kept compatibility with the EF mount (large flange diameter) and the control layout. When you look at it, nobody in the mirrorless is putting it all together.

My vote:
- EOS-M sensor
- Fuji X-1 body
- Sony NEX manual control layout

0 upvotes
SFfPhoto
By SFfPhoto (Oct 3, 2012)

I'm keeping my Lumix GX1 - it is part of my Canon system. GX1 features would seem to outweigh most of Canon's consumer offerings. I love the leveling indicator on screen and the built in bounce flash.

I use with the 10-22mm EF-S for a 20mm shift lens via the Fotodiox EOS-4/3 shift adapter. Of course if you don't need shift there are standard adapters.

I pre-set the f-stop at 9 which seems the sweet spot for this lens. Set focus to infinity. If I do need to focus a push on the thumb-wheel brings up the magnified view.

ref: http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/kw08/fs/shift_723.jpg

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
hiplnsdrftr
By hiplnsdrftr (Oct 1, 2012)

This is essentially the camera I've been lusting after for years... only Canon left out a flash, which renders it useless for my needs.

The great thing about this camera is its size, adding the external flash destroys that attribute. Including a flash would have made it only slightly larger I would guess, but much more versatile.

I'm impressed with the size and design of this camera, unfortunately the lack of flash forces me to stick with my GF1 or buy something else, maybe the Fujifilm XE1.

0 upvotes
shuutrr
By shuutrr (Sep 30, 2012)

The Samsung NX 20 has everything this should have.....a little disappointing, Canon....

0 upvotes
Baxter Bad
By Baxter Bad (Sep 27, 2012)

The physical controls of a compact, but no built-in flash? A live RGB histogram but no Kelvin white balance? OK, so Canon wanted to combine the simplicity of an Elph with some of the advanced features of an EOS. I don't think they got the formula quite right.

Sony tried the ultra-stripped down approach with the first NEX models and now they're adding the built-in flashes, mode dials, etc., that buyers of this type of camera seem to expect. Strange that Canon would make the same mistake given they've sat back so long and watched the market mature.

For the next version, I hope they think more along the lines of the Panasonic GX1 - pop-up flash, front or top control wheel (instead of the rear dial) so I can do exposure comp one-handed, bit more of a grip. Add GPS and Wi-Fi. Send a clear message that this is an $800 camera, not an Elph with interchangeable lenses.

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Banhmi
By Banhmi (Sep 25, 2012)

Why didn't they include built-in GPS??? That feature is now standard on $250 travelzooms. You pay $800 for the EOS-M and you still have to pay another $250+ for a bulky GPS add-on that occupies your hotshoe? Infuriating. Canon really knows to build ill will with the customer base. The Japanese camera oligopoly is ripe for disruption.

2 upvotes
Roberto Mettifogo
By Roberto Mettifogo (Sep 26, 2012)

to sell you the external gps units...

0 upvotes
CJ Chen
By CJ Chen (9 months ago)

Personally, I do not like built-in GPS. My Sony H200 has a built-in GPS. It takes a long time to get a lock and drains on battery. It is useless if you just want to stop, shoot, and go. Instead, I just want to have a bluetooth interface that would allow me to use an external GPS device

0 upvotes
abi170845
By abi170845 (Sep 12, 2012)

There's no bulb setting? I'm a landscapist and bulb hardcore, 100% of the time I bulb my exposures for 10 minutes starting at twilight( if twilight starts at 5:27 a.m, I usually bulb for 10 plus minutes at around 5:20 a.m)

And how about the availability of extra batteries and remote control or cable release?

1 upvote
fred 76
By fred 76 (Sep 13, 2012)

It seems that in Bulb mode, you can only select 400 ISO. However it should be possible to remote control the M from the EOS Utilities' Remote Capture tool.

For the batteries, it usually takes a few month (weeks) before a chinese maker supplies a compatible battery.

1 upvote
abi170845
By abi170845 (Sep 14, 2012)

Thanks for the reply, I guess I'll have to wait until next year for extra batteries, cable release, wait and wait again for a compact body.

0 upvotes
fred 76
By fred 76 (Sep 25, 2012)

It should be worth treating such long exposures as the astronomy photographers do, by substracting a "dark" and dividing by a "flat" master images. The noise will drop down dramatically and the vigneting/dust traces will disappear.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 544
12345