Previous page Next page

Ricoh GR Digital IV Preview

September 2011 | By Amadou Diallo


Preview based on a pre-production Ricoh GDR IV running firmware 1.02

With the announcement of the GR Digital IV, Ricoh updates its premium compact camera model. A successor to the GR Digital III, the GRD IV retains key elements from its predecessor. A fixed 28mm F1.9 lens sits in front of a 10MP 1/1.7" type CCD sensor, capable only of VGA video output. There's also a built-in pop-up flash and hotshoe. However, dig a little deeper and the changes are considerably more extensive.

Ricoh has taken the opportunity to introduce numerous enhancements to the GRD IV. As you might expect, there's an updated image processor that Ricoh is using to wring more out of the sensor. Beyond this the most notable addition is an image stabilization system that uses sensor-shift to counteract camera shake. Ricoh also adds its 'Hybrid AF' system with which they claim a 2x improvement in AF speed over the GRD III. And, in what has become something of a Ricoh tradition, the GRD IV features a cutting-edge display: Sony's WhiteMagic RGBW LCD screen that promises greater luminance than traditional LCD displays while consuming less power.

The camera's electronic level gauge has also been overhauled, and now detects not only horizontal roll, but also tilt inclination, which is eminently useful when photographing buildings or other vertical structures. In one of the best (and sadly, rare) implementations of multiple exposure shooting, the GDR IV allows you to overlay up to five separate image captures into a single composite, with the option to automatically save the individual image files as well.

The GRD IV maintains the external control layout of its predecessor, providing easy access to shooting and exposure parameters without having to change your grip from the shooting position. This well thought-out, ergonomically sensitive design is enhanced by many useful customization options. The camera's two Fn buttons can be configured in pairs, allowing you to setup and switch between up to four combinations of dual-button function sets. A well-placed 'Adj.' lever provides quick access to a maximum of five shooting parameters. The specific selection and order of these parameters can be customized from an exhaustive list of options.

The external body design of the GRD IV is virtually unchanged from the GRD III. And while the camera's rather box-like, spartan aesthetic may not win any beauty awards in comparison to its more showy competition, it is solidly built, comfortable in hand and offers a sure grip. Owners of the GRD IV can opt for Ricoh's grip customization service with a choice of metal, leather or carbon replacement hand grips.

Ricoh is simultaneously releasing a limited edition (10,000 unit) version of the GRD IV in a white body with a metal lens cap and leather camera strap.

Ricoh GR Digital IV key specifications:

  • 10MP 1/1.7-inch CCD
  • 28mm equivalent/1.9 lens
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • 'Hybrid AF' focus system
  • 3.0 inch RGBW 1.23 million dot LCD
  • GR ENGINE IV image processor
  • 30fps VGA video capture
  • Multiple Exposure mode (up to five overlapping image captures)
  • Electronic level gauge

Compared to the Panasonic DMC-LX5

Ricoh's GR Digital cameras, with their fixed focal-length lenses and compact sensors have no direct peers (the closest equivalents, such as the Panasonic LX5 pictured here, all feature zoom lenses), but have developed a loyal following. What this picture can't convey is the GRD's excellent build quality and superb control system.

Differences between the GRD IV and GRD III

  • Improved AF speed (up to 2x faster) combining external AF sensors with conventional contrast AF
  • RGBW 1.23 million dot VGA LCD screen vs. 920,000 dot RGB
  • New GR ENGINE IV image processing engine
  • Sensor-shift image stabilization
  • Two new Image Setting presets (Positive Film and Bleach Bypass)
  • New Auto-bracketing options for contrast and dynamic range compensation
  • Enhanced level gauge that detects tilt direction in addition to horizontal inclination


If you're new to digital photography you may wish to read the Digital Photography Glossary before diving into this article (it may help you understand some of the terms used).

Conclusion / Recommendation / Ratings are based on the opinion of the reviewer, you should read the ENTIRE review before coming to your own conclusions.

Images which can be viewed at a larger size have a small magnifying glass icon in the bottom right corner of the image, clicking on the image will display a larger (typically VGA) image in a new window.

To navigate the review simply use the next / previous page buttons, to jump to a particular section either pick the section from the drop down or select it from the navigation bar at the top.

DPReview calibrate their monitors using Color Vision OptiCal at the (fairly well accepted) PC normal gamma 2.2, this means that on our monitors we can make out the difference between all of the (computer generated) grayscale blocks below. We recommend to make the most of this review you should be able to see the difference (at least) between X,Y and Z and ideally A,B and C.

This article is Copyright 2011 and may NOT in part or in whole be reproduced in any electronic or printed medium without prior permission from the author.

Previous page Next page
41
I own it
9
I want it
7
I had it
Discuss in the forums

Comments

Total comments: 187
DaytonR
By DaytonR (Jan 23, 2013)

Dear DPReview

Is there going to be a full review of this camera or is this all there is going to be ?

4 upvotes
Leichhardt
By Leichhardt (Oct 7, 2012)

This is a beautiful lean mean street machine.

2 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 17, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 17, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 17, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

1 upvote
Francis Carver
By Francis Carver (Oct 3, 2012)

I'm getting one, definitely, as I had always dreamed about moving up to whopping 640 x 480 pixel VGA class video. That is higher resolution than them HD cams can deliver, correct? CCD sensor is great, too, I love that new technology over yesteryear's CMOS. All in all, a total winner for placement under the tree at Christmas 2012.

3 upvotes
Leichhardt
By Leichhardt (Oct 7, 2012)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/37409260@N02/7317936996/in/photostream/

2 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 16, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

1 upvote
Meljoe San Diego
By Meljoe San Diego (Nov 17, 2012)

@ Leichhardt & Lightcycle
Please don't used my photos w/o asking my permission! Give some respect!

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 17, 2012)

Are you blind man? Nobody used your photos, the URL is only pointing on it, this is absolutely and 100% legal, and nobody needs your f...ing permission!

3 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 17, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

1 upvote
Desmond Crofton
By Desmond Crofton (Nov 21, 2012)

Lightcycle, in every post you link to Meljoe San Diego's photos without attribution. That may not be strictly illegal but it is 100% dishonest.

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

2 upvotes
leventhan
By leventhan (Sep 5, 2012)

Dude where is the review?

2 upvotes
Samuel Dilworth
By Samuel Dilworth (Sep 1, 2012)

In September last year, snake_b said, 'where's the review?' It's now September 2012. Has this review been cancelled?

2 upvotes
Blockmania
By Blockmania (Aug 30, 2012)

"Ricoh's GR Digital cameras, with their fixed focal-length lenses and compact sensors have no direct peers"

Utter nonsense. Have you not heard of the Sigma DP range of cameras? Seriously, how DPReview can make such a comment is ridiculous. It has also been superseded since with the Fuji X100 too of course, but the Sigmas have been around for years.

0 upvotes
Samuel Dilworth
By Samuel Dilworth (Sep 1, 2012)

But the Sigma DP cameras don't have 'compact sensors' – in fact, their main selling point is their large sensors.

Even today the Ricoh GR Digital has no direct competitor. It's a unique proposition, in part because it appeals to few people (though I'm one of the few, it seems).

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7160/6765379927_56d766d6b6_z.jpg

1 upvote
snake_b
By snake_b (Feb 26, 2012)

Sept 2011? Preview? Where's the review?

0 upvotes
brisstreet
By brisstreet (Feb 19, 2012)

I'm buying one.

0 upvotes
jpmac55
By jpmac55 (Nov 16, 2011)

Does it utilize DNG files? I'm an Apple Aperture user and although they don't support RAW processing on other Ricoh cameras, I am hoping the GRD IV makes the cut.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 16, 2012)

Yes DNG is still natively supported. It is one of the major advantages of the camera.

1 upvote
gilcel
By gilcel (Oct 12, 2011)

@fotomaster: do you see any image quality improvements compared to GR III ? I have a Lumix LX5 ... do you think it is worth the "upgrade" ?
and finally: does someone know when the Ricoh GR IV will be available in Europe ?

Comment edited 10 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
fotomaster
By fotomaster (Oct 11, 2011)

I have been using the Ricoh GR IV and must admit that there are certainly some great improvements over the GR III.

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
decoi
By decoi (Oct 5, 2011)

I wish i could get a Ricoh designed grd 4 with a Sigma Foveon sensor in it! That would be one amazing product and i would pay through the nose to get it!

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8158841636_1b4fb78c2d_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8332/8137537812_b8e8401f45_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8021820570_9d89b6d0e2_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
decoi
By decoi (Oct 5, 2011)

I wish i could get a Ricoh designed grd 4 with a Sigma Foveon sensor in it! That would be one amazing product and i would pay through the nose to get it!

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5120/7080820121_a89f4b5a7b_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8145/7464527656_96bb04318a_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7134/7553052532_c56370dbaa_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7593901822_28058b39a4_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
in2sky
By in2sky (Sep 29, 2011)

I don't understand the 599$ price tag while it's ¥79,800 at Yodobashi camera in Japan

0 upvotes
ikinone
By ikinone (Oct 1, 2011)

People in Japan are willing to pay more.

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8024/7398253522_62a298ce92_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7087/7185350677_9124d170df_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 18, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8423/7511090906_2560bb8900_z.jpg

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
richardday
By richardday (Sep 21, 2011)

I do understand the passion for high quality primes, but for me please fit the excellent zoom lens from the GX200 and I will replace mine as I would love the CCD sensor and hybrid AF system. I know the GRX is the obvious choice for users like myself, but the cost of that system outweighs my usage.

There is no finer user interface and handling experience than the GR / GX series. Let's have a GX300 please!

4 upvotes
zapatista
By zapatista (Sep 19, 2011)

Ok, So how would this be any better than say a GF3 with the 14mm prime? Besides the lens being a half stop faster.

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 30, 2011)

built quality
interface
functions
hot shoe
panasonic

4 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
ybai011
By ybai011 (Sep 18, 2011)

Ricoh's CCD is an interesting choice. In an chinese interview, Media asked why Ricoh is not using a backlit CMOS sensor in the GRD IV. The answer is backlit CMOS sony produces cannot produce colors Ricoh desired - colors are just too "plain"

Which is true - look at the sample image from pentax Q, and latest sony compacts, they adopt a "natural" look, but that natural look is not their choice, but actually limited by the sensor.

CCD is still producing much better colors, look at the sample image from Ricoh or XZ-1 or LX5, which using CCD over CMOS. CMOS, however, has better high ISO ability than CCD, but that's not necessary given the fast lens any of those camera have. 90% of the time, people only use ISO 100 or 200.

2 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Manfred Lai
By Manfred Lai (Sep 18, 2011)

I am thankful Ricoh had not changed the GR formula, except with making image improvements.

I think most here would agree:
(1) I don't want a zoom lens. Just the best quality 28mm please.
(2) I don't care about GPS ... whatever movie mode.
Just the best image please.
(3) The snap mode is the best thing ever. In fact, I don't want no face recognition.

This camera is unique and best for pros.
This is meant for those who understand photography.
Newbies, noobs, go away.

Nowadays, Canon and Nikon are not exactly selling cameras.
Instead of making true photographic tools, they adding too much peripheral functions. HD recording .... GPS ... a whole lot of distractions.

I always ask:
How has this improve the quality of the photo taken?
A brighter lens? Higher quality processing?
Higher bit raw? Lower noise?

Now Canon is doing something else
They are pushing a faster digic engine ...
A distraction only what you want is not a faster processor
But better quality DNG raw file.

6 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
umbalito
By umbalito (Sep 18, 2011)

Too many people commenting here seem to just be comparing zooms vs primes.

As anyone who has actually used the GRD III will tell you, you'll find that the S95 and other top compacts don't even come close to the handling and customization that the GRD series offers. Majority of street photographers looking for a compact digital will pretty much agree that the GRD IV is pretty much in a league of its own. And 28mm is a pretty sweet spot for street photography.

Although obviously, it's not for everyone, if you don't like primes, or if you feel the need to cover every single FL, if you think HD video is useful, then go and get yourself an S100 or an XZ1 or the myriad of other me-too compacts that Canon and Sony churn out every year.

Personally, the only thing I'd want on this little baby is a built in VF, even at the expense of size. Although that Tri-Elmar idea posted a few comments down sounds pretty good too. I wouldn't mind a 24/35 two-in-one lens.

5 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Theelderkeynes
By Theelderkeynes (Sep 17, 2011)

Weight and size similar to my Panasonic LX3 and the sensor is around the same size, and at last they've joined the 21st century with image stabilisation. With an optional external viewfinder it looks like it could be interesting. Assuming they don't do a Fuji and send a half finished product to market....

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (Sep 16, 2011)

Very nice. I had the GRD I & II and really miss them. Yes, the sensor was too small but everything else was so good, it got 90% of the way there. I got an LX5 which is pretty good at the long end but as expected (but hoped wouldn't be the case) at 24mm-28mm the corners are soft. But that's why the Ricoh doesn't have a zoom.

2 upvotes
iaredatsun
By iaredatsun (Sep 26, 2011)

AbrasiveReducer, you say that the GRD's sensor was too small but the LX5's sensor is only marginally larger – by 0.4mm in width.

When people say the GRD's sensor is too small, I ask – what exactly is it too small for?

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
pictureAngst
By pictureAngst (Sep 16, 2011)

This sounds a fantastic new camera - I handled a GRD3 shortly after it came out and was really impressed by it's build quality and no-nonsense design.

The new screen should improve the usability in bright light, but on first reading I thought it was higher resolution than previously - quoting the higher dot count is somewhat misleading.

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
theorem0
By theorem0 (Sep 16, 2011)

Why does DPR always get the shutter speed wrong every time. On the grd3 they listed it as starting at1 sec. And here they have done the same. As a grd3 fan and owner it truly peeves me.

2 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
sharpdart
By sharpdart (Sep 16, 2011)

Phew, nothing really stands out as worthy of an upgrade. I'm glad it doesn't have a zoom (don't need) and a new sensor (honestly, I don't care).

I understand why some people don't like this camera. But I can't seem to understand why they get so upset about a camera they would never buy.

4 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Max Pometun
By Max Pometun (Sep 15, 2011)

What I don't understand is why Ricoh refuses to design a new GR digital with an adequate sensor in it. In the film days GR-1 was popular (you could say even had a cult following), despite being expensive, mainly b/c of image quality one could get with that lens.

With every new release of GR digital though I wonder, why Ricoh preserved all the good elements from the film version (controls, lens) and skip on arguably the most important part - the sensor?

3 upvotes
Vadimka
By Vadimka (Sep 16, 2011)

The answer is simple - there are no sensors on planet Earth today that can absorb the light the same way film did. Yes we did achieve great results with digital sensors and in many ways bypass the film, but its only applicable to SLR cameras, because of large distance between lens and sensor plane. You stick FF on GRD and 80% of the sensor will be a blur with dark corners at extreme angles.
Leica M9 has FF and flange is 28mm (but it has super $$$ custom made sensor, that still not all that perfect).

When I open up my film GR1 and look inside I see the Lens almost touching the film plane (maybe 5-10mm flange) so nothing today will be able to do this job, maybe some custom build FF with micro lenses sensor that will cost $5k-$8k, but I'm not paying that much, and Ricoh probably knows I won't, so they are not building one ;)

6 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (Sep 16, 2011)

It's true tha the best wide angle lenses always have the rear element close to the film. But, assuming size and cost were no object, there are obviously excellent (retrofocus) wide angles for SLRs that are able to clear the mirror. I think it's just the cost of larger sensor and the fact that most point and shoot buyers simply wouldn't apprieciate the difference. They want a tiny camera with a 12-2000mm lens that shoots video. For $369.

0 upvotes
Vadimka
By Vadimka (Sep 16, 2011)

Yes, there are excellent retrofocus lenses out there. And there are some excellent FF dSLRs we use them on. The point is to make FF camera with wide angle lens the size of GRD... It will happen, but sensor technology needs to catch up and who know how many years it will take. (5-20 years, I don't know)

0 upvotes
Manfred Lai
By Manfred Lai (Sep 18, 2011)

Sensors as good as film is here. The foveon on the Sigma DP1 is amazing. I have the DP1, the GRD, and GXR GR28mm. The best sensor has to be foveon. Try it, put the files thru Lightroom.

The DP series are for true photographers. And are made that way.
Shoot raw and nothing else.

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
xectis
By xectis (2 months ago)

A more realistic answer would be simply because commercial companies will never put all their eggs in one basket, it's called clever marketing for maximum and continuous profit. Give a little then a little more on the next model and so on and we the sheep follow obediently and buy the next model...and the next model...

0 upvotes
Narupol
By Narupol (Sep 15, 2011)

"30fps VGA video capture"...

Ricoh, please do something better or do nothing.

2 upvotes
Iamprasanth
By Iamprasanth (Sep 15, 2011)

Listen, if you want a video camera, go get a video camera.

11 upvotes
nzoliver
By nzoliver (Sep 16, 2011)

Yep. GET A VIDEO CAMERA if you want video. I fail to understand why people bleat on about video in a STILL camera.

1 upvote
Manfred Lai
By Manfred Lai (Sep 18, 2011)

Ricoh please remove the movie mode thanks.

All I have asked for is the best 28mm pocket cam.
And no more scene modes please.

0 upvotes
SpankyAsami rillo
By SpankyAsami rillo (Oct 18, 2011)

Yes, please stop trying to make a camera for everyone. The GRD4 is good but keep it a stills camera.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
roblarosa
By roblarosa (Sep 15, 2011)

Aww... still no zoom? Not even a little 2.1x 24-50mm? Boo.

0 upvotes
Iamprasanth
By Iamprasanth (Sep 15, 2011)

You should really read up on the GR history before you make silly comments like this.

14 upvotes
roblarosa
By roblarosa (Sep 15, 2011)

Right - because nothing should ever change or evolve.

0 upvotes
Vadimka
By Vadimka (Sep 16, 2011)

Why??? Like one thing we really lacking on the market today is ZOOM camera??? Do we really need another ZOOOOOM, seriously?

The niche of this camera is its 28mm lens, compact size, preset MF with almost 0 lag time. Its a perfect street shooter. I'd go as far as to say I'd take it over Leica for stealth street photography.

I'm used my first GRD so much that I literally wore the camera out, burned flash, ripped paint, torn grip rubber. I had to buy the second GRD even before GRD-2 came out. I'm now on my 4rd GRD and love it, and never once in 6 years I wished for a ZOOM lens on this body.

8 upvotes
mpetersson
By mpetersson (Sep 16, 2011)

Wouldn't it be possible to make something in the style of the Tri-Elmar for cameras like this one? Two or three different focal lengths that you can switch between, but no traditional zoom? Maybe it would be very complicated, but for people like me who like fixed lenses it would be a great way to make the camera more flexible. Just 28mm and 50mm would be a great combo. I don't know if it would be technologically feasible though.

1 upvote
Vadimka
By Vadimka (Sep 16, 2011)

To keep camera so compact, you would have to make 50mm very slow, like f4. So I don't see a point, not only it will be slow, it also will have a DoF of appx f18 (35mm equiv). What is the point of such lens? I don't see it.
Get LX5 or even better get m4/3 and put excellent small cine lenses on it, or get NEX.

0 upvotes
sensibill
By sensibill (Sep 18, 2011)

NEX has very few lenses. The 16mm is garbage and the zooms are mediocre.

0 upvotes
MManger
By MManger (Oct 10, 2011)

@mpeterson: ricoh has done what you mentioned with the GXR.

0 upvotes
SpankyAsami rillo
By SpankyAsami rillo (Oct 18, 2011)

Let this camera have its niche. If you want to change it, buy something else and quit trying to add junk to the GRD.

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
marike6
By marike6 (Sep 15, 2011)

The specs say ISO 80. What happened to ISO 64 of the GRD III?

0 upvotes
DaveCS
By DaveCS (Sep 15, 2011)

I've been a fan of the GR series since the film ones & I've owned the GRD II & now III. This one I won't upgrade to but that's because I don't see a need. Having read through some of the detractors here I would just say "That's fine the camera is clearly not for you". I like this camera because of its ergonomics and fixed lens. To me, it's the perfect unobtrusive street shooter.

7 upvotes
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

To be fair to the detractors, in comparison to say the s100 it's difficult. I think the Ricoh will be better made, handle better and do the thing it does better. I can see the temptation of GPS / slow mo film / zoom / blah blah etc. BUT as with everything, the more you squeeze in the lower the quality. I'm not saying the s100 will be low quality but at doing what it does, for it's type, there is no competition for the GRD series.

1 upvote
Manfred Lai
By Manfred Lai (Sep 18, 2011)

Amen.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Harrison Cronbi
By Harrison Cronbi (Sep 15, 2011)

It may only be an incremental improvement over the GRD-III, but I think Ricoh are to be applauded for their efforts. Make no mistake, this is a classy compact. The GR series from the film era won many fans, and it says a lot about Ricoh's philosophy that they are willing to cater so faithfully to those photographers.

I won't make any claims about cause/effect, but there seems to be a correlation between 'shooting with a GRD-III' and 'making photographs I like the look of on 500px'.

2 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8158841636_1b4fb78c2d_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8332/8137537812_b8e8401f45_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8021820570_9d89b6d0e2_z.jpg

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5120/7080820121_a89f4b5a7b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8145/7464527656_96bb04318a_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7134/7553052532_c56370dbaa_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7593901822_28058b39a4_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8024/7398253522_62a298ce92_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7087/7185350677_9124d170df_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8423/7511090906_2560bb8900_z.jpg

1 upvote
Infared
By Infared (Sep 15, 2011)

Sure is ugly.

0 upvotes
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

then buy the xz1 with all its chintzy buttons

4 upvotes
absentaneous
By absentaneous (Sep 15, 2011)

at lest the xz1 offers the same 28mm focal length that suits a typical tourist snapshoter the best but also adds much more useful and creative focal lengths such as 35mm, 50mm, 70mm, 90mm... which would suit better to a more serious photographer.

1 upvote
marike6
By marike6 (Sep 15, 2011)

Ugly? I have the GR Digital III, and it is one of the best made, best looking cameras I can think of. Maybe it's the lack of plastic that, or the fat rubberized grip that has you confused?

13 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (Sep 15, 2011)

Serious photographers choose the GR Digital precisely because it is a serious camera.

8 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Sep 15, 2011)

absentaneous, I have both the XZ-1 and the GR Digital III, and the GRD III is much more of a photographers camera, which has external buttons for everything. There is really no comparison. The XZ-1 is a fine camera, but is much more of a toy.

7 upvotes
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

yes, the XZ1 to me was 'ok'. I think the S95 is better overall and the s100 sounds better still, still a different type of camera to the ricoh.

0 upvotes
absentaneous
By absentaneous (Sep 15, 2011)

@marike6,

funny you left out the only thing I am actually complaining about - the 28mm lens. I don't really think that classifies as a serious focal length for anything more than snapshots.

1 upvote
cidereye
By cidereye (Sep 15, 2011)

There is no finer "serious" compact in my mind than the GRD series and I've tried almost all of them. One of the nicest cameras to grip & use EVER IMHO.

28mm - "Tourist Snapshooter" Right, LOL - Try telling that to the many Magnum photogs that use them. I prefer to bow to their wise & infinite judgement rather than internet chatter.

1 upvote
Infared
By Infared (Sep 15, 2011)

I am not saying it isn't built well..but I am a visual person...a photographer...and it sure is U.G.L.Y. No getting around that!

0 upvotes
absentaneous
By absentaneous (Sep 15, 2011)

@cidereye,

was waiting for someone to bring out photojournalism as a totally ridiculous proof that a 28mm lens is a "serious" photographic tool. it's like claiming that burst mode allowing shooting at 10 frames per second is a serious photographic feature just because most pro sports photographers rely on it. LOL so, before you bow to whatever wisdom out there you first of all should understand photography and its many uses and applications to begin with and why something is being used. their reason to use wide angle is very simple - it gives them the chance to capture as much of the scene as possible (which is crucial for this kind of photography in order to be able to put the image in the right context) and nothing else. not because they like the "artistic expression" of wide angle distortions or something LOL. since u mentioned magnum. one of the founders of magnum was also cartier-bresson. guess which lens did he use? 28mm? ha! 50mm one almost exclusively. go wonder why!

0 upvotes
LarryLatchkey
By LarryLatchkey (Sep 18, 2011)

No, you are wrong. It "is" not ugly, but rather "you find" it ugly. Important difference. Ever heard of "matter of taste"?
To me this is the most beautiful compact camera on the market, full stop. Since I have my GRd 1 I'm also happy to konw that at the same time of being beautiful it also exceeds at functionality or material quality. I think the LX design is pretty, canon's minimalism in the S95 is pretty, but this one has more character, is timeless, slightly retro but not in the embarrassingly kitsch way fuji did it. Plus: anyone using this camera for a while knows what it means that a design can "grow on you".
But apart from that I simply think it's visually the most beautiful compact out there at the moment. And this is of course a personal, subjective statement.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
ZorSy
By ZorSy (Sep 15, 2011)

Fuji S602, I bought in 2002, had "hybrid AF" with external sensor helping live AF. It took Riicoh 8+ years to independently develop the same thing (and speed it up a bit). On these new cameras it looks the most advanced improvement is LCD. Are we supposed to be impressed?

0 upvotes
emton
By emton (Sep 15, 2011)

Comparing an 10lbs watermelon with a Fuji-apple is leading you no where, aside from showing how subjective this subject are.

3 upvotes
Manfred Lai
By Manfred Lai (Sep 18, 2011)

There is snap mode ... on GRD ...
Do you know how to take pictures?

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 20, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Camp Freddy
By Camp Freddy (Sep 15, 2011)

Can someone explain the AF with TWO sensors? Is there a split light prism in there? Or is the second in that little eye thing above the lens???

0 upvotes
JesperMP
By JesperMP (Sep 15, 2011)

The second one is the rectangular window above the lens.
I was curious, so I investigated the older GR cameras. Funny thing is that the 1st GR-D also had the window, but I think they never did use it for anything. GR-DII and GR-DIII didnt have the window.
The GR-1 35mm film camera has almost exactly the same body, including the window for the autofocus at exactly the same location. And I guess it actually did AF via this window.

0 upvotes
sphexx
By sphexx (Sep 15, 2011)

The GRD1 had the small window and DID use it for fast focussing! It was discontinued because it was a bought-in part that became unavailable.

0 upvotes
Richard Murdey
By Richard Murdey (Sep 15, 2011)

I always wondered why they dropped it. As GRD I owner, I have to say it didn't seem to make much difference. (you could block the window with your finger and the camera seemed to focus every bit as quickly using the backup contrast detection AF)

0 upvotes
leightparsons
By leightparsons (Sep 15, 2011)

The original GRD and GX100 had these phase-detect windows which allowed the camera to focus very quickly if you fully pressed the shutter and the Contrast Detect focus hadn't locked. Really good system which worked well without getting in the way. sphexx is right in that they removed it from the GRD-2 and the GX200 because of supply issues. Good to see it back.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
D200_4me
By D200_4me (Sep 15, 2011)

Just checked my calendar. Yes, it's 2011. No HD video in this new model? The cult can have it...I'll stick to a more modern camera like the LX5 ;-)

0 upvotes
ogl
By ogl (Sep 15, 2011)

10 MP CCD sensor can't offer FULL HD video. It's limited by sensor technology. Don't you know it?

1 upvote
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

it's a camera not a movie camera. Like saying my iphone camera's crap - it's a phone ffs!! Are there any video cams that will take a good shoat at f1.9 28mm with NO lag at all? and that fit in your pocket/?

4 upvotes
cuteorkill
By cuteorkill (Sep 15, 2011)

CMOS will reach full HD more easily than CCD, but there's nothing preventing a CCD that size from producing 720p.

0 upvotes
cuteorkill
By cuteorkill (Sep 15, 2011)

Also, that doesn't seem to have stopped Panasonic. The DMC-FZ47 does 1080p30 on a 12.5 MP 1/2.33" CCD.

0 upvotes
cidereye
By cidereye (Sep 15, 2011)

People buy a specific tool for a specific job. The Ricoh is great at what it has been made for, nothing more, nothing less.

Name one truly GREAT tool in history that is a master of ALL that it does? Nah, never happened and never will.

3 upvotes
Manfred Lai
By Manfred Lai (Sep 18, 2011)

Go buy a Sony, a Canon or Nikon.

Ricoh GR is for true photographers.

0 upvotes
robbo d
By robbo d (Oct 2, 2011)

Totally agreed......why people argue about a camera having this or that, I don't know. Dont buy it then........get one that does suit your needs. sony do great video, get a Sony.....want a stills only small street photo, point n shoot, then this may be your shooter.
All the brands do their market research and know what they are aiming at.......I for one don't care about video, but one day I will want a good one, so will adjust for that purpose.
I love my Kx because i value image quality, low light and HDR on a budget. Don't expect or won't try to convince anyone else of the same. Get a life, be happy and take photos........

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Cyril Catt
By Cyril Catt (Sep 15, 2011)

If small cameras can have pop-up flash units, why not pop-up OVFs?

3 upvotes
Duckie
By Duckie (Sep 16, 2011)

This great idea is worth money!

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 16, 2011)

or popup tripods, i mean its popup so it should fit in anyway :)

3 upvotes
princewolf
By princewolf (Sep 17, 2011)

especially plausible for a fixed focal length.

0 upvotes
Mimi74
By Mimi74 (Feb 16, 2012)

i'd say popdown tripod ;)

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Ashley Pomeroy
By Ashley Pomeroy (Sep 15, 2011)

Based on past form this will be a pretty well-sorted body and a decent lens attached to a dog of an image processing unit. I hope I'm wrong; the idea is attractive, although as mentioned below why not a good, high-spec 28-75mm-ish fast zoom lens? 28mm is neither here nor there.

0 upvotes
Philidors shadow
By Philidors shadow (Sep 15, 2011)

Talk of "image processing units" is best left to the marketing bods. The camera has a lens that forms an image and a sensor to record that image. A few bits and pieces convert wavy things to discrete things, and the resulting ones and zeros are written to a memory card. No image processing is needed, or desired, except to produce a transient image for the rear display.

The Ricoh lens emphasises rectilinear imagery and extreme compactness in folded form, while cameras like the S95 and LX5 allow heavy geometric distortion in return for a range of focal lengths, with the understanding that the distortion be corrected digitally later. This always results in soft corners when you have only ten megapixels to play with.

2 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 15, 2011)

@philidors: you know a lot about that, dont you?^^

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
sedentary_male
By sedentary_male (Sep 15, 2011)

The cult continues! The sample images on the Ricoh website have a very pleasing white balance and appear sharper to my eye. I wonder if anything has been done with the optical filter. This is a very tempting upgrade and I look forward to testing one out at my local dealer. The build quality in my experience has exceptional as with the GXR - bulit like a tank.

0 upvotes
bigdaddave
By bigdaddave (Sep 15, 2011)

Do you work for Ricoh?

"The sample images on the Ricoh website have a very pleasing white balance and appear sharper to my eye."

Well of course you can't change the white balance of the sharpness yourself can you?

3 upvotes
Elaka Farmor
By Elaka Farmor (Sep 15, 2011)

Good question.....

0 upvotes
sedentary_male
By sedentary_male (Sep 15, 2011)

When compared to the GRDIII. If you read more you'll understand why the GR series is 'the' stealthy street shooter.

0 upvotes
bigdaddave
By bigdaddave (Sep 15, 2011)

But not if you don't want a 28mm equiv lens. and sometimes we don't

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 15, 2011)

@bigdadave: not everyone is a snapshot tourist that needs a zoomlens^^
if i remember right, sony makes nice cams for guys like you, with 26-850mm zoom lenses

ricohs are meant for a different kind of customer

4 upvotes
meanwhile
By meanwhile (Sep 15, 2011)

"ricohs are meant for a different kind of customer"

Interestingly, from the commenters on here that does indeed seem to be the case. Different.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 21, 2012)

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7240/7298783392_4a8571ae23_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7231/7212755912_06349e8acd_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7195/6864401990_e8bbc7432b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8172/7997925474_78ac45436e_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7236/7259226504_590fa7cddf_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6239/6877718742_f75f69f454_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8287/7729823154_b4d24057b3_z.jpg

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6211/6853289032_8e8fb9f9cd_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7246/7640514048_19272baa83_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

1 upvote
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

I've never used a better built camera than the grd3. The XZ1 I didn't like. Fiddly lens cap, smeary images, ugly UI. S95 is excellent but too small and too pedestrian, there is no fun in using it IMO. 28mm only / 21 with adapter really challenges me, more than the ease of a zoom. All just my opinion, but I'm looking forward to the update.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8158841636_1b4fb78c2d_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8332/8137537812_b8e8401f45_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8021820570_9d89b6d0e2_z.jpg

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5120/7080820121_a89f4b5a7b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8145/7464527656_96bb04318a_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7134/7553052532_c56370dbaa_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7593901822_28058b39a4_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8024/7398253522_62a298ce92_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7087/7185350677_9124d170df_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8423/7511090906_2560bb8900_z.jpg

1 upvote
Fraser Smith
By Fraser Smith (Sep 15, 2011)

I wonder if it too will start to fall apart after a couple of years, just like my GRD III and just in time for the release of the GRD V?

Sorry, no sale Ricoh. Too little, too late, once bitten twice shy.

1 upvote
VladimirV
By VladimirV (Sep 15, 2011)

I wonder what you have done to get yours to fall apart, I still have and use my GRD I which is now 6 years old and has been used a lot. All I have is some paint wearing off the buttons and the LCD screen does not look new anymore but is still usable. The GRD III looks like new and again has been used a lot in all kind of conditions.

0 upvotes
bbrodeur
By bbrodeur (Sep 18, 2011)

I've had a very lightly used original GRD for many years and although I like the camera very much for its real strength, which is user controls, there's certainly no reason to overpraise its reliability. It has had its share of issues, consistent with what others report, and not user abuse. I accept it as a hidden cost of the technology, and this is where customer service, a little discussed topic on this forum, comes into play. These things become obsolete, sometimes simply because they no longer function reliably, and hopefully you've gotten some decent use out of them in the meantime. Cheers, Brian.

0 upvotes
absentaneous
By absentaneous (Sep 15, 2011)

I don't like the fixed "touristic" 28mm lens and if it really only has a 640 x 480 video then it would be better if they left it out altogether. I would agree with bigdaddave that when you consider the alternatives like LX-5, XZ-1 or even S95 it kind of appears pointless unless you really shoot at 28mm all the time.

3 upvotes
bigdaddave
By bigdaddave (Sep 15, 2011)

Precisely, it's like the daft X100, to say 'only serious shooters will buy it because it's only got one focal length' is just pathetic.

This is 2011 not the dark ages, we want more than one focal length

0 upvotes
absentaneous
By absentaneous (Sep 15, 2011)

personally I don't find a single focal length to be that much of a problem per se. but to pick a 28mm lens in such a case is really something I can't understand. at least based on my photographic needs and preferences. it would make much more sense to pick something in the range of 35-50mm. to make a camera which surely looks serious and ambitious and then put such a lens on it which would make all your pictures look as if they were taken by an average tourist's/snapshooter's philosophy (they would just go as wide as they can to put as much as they can inside the frame and not to mention the distortions of such a wide angle lens) is really something I don't understand. unless one is fond of taking pictures like this http://www.shrani.si/f/31/w6/13eZV9nZ/cow.jpg then I don't really see a reason to own such a camera.

2 upvotes
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

if you need a camera with a zoom then don't get the ricoh. I enjoy and work better the fewer options I have. I don't like the x100 for a few reasons. I like the GRDs for many reasons.

3 upvotes
Zvonimir Tosic
By Zvonimir Tosic (Sep 16, 2011)

Your eyes have one focal length and you're stuck with them for life. So cameras with a single focal length propose nothing unnatural or "weird". In fact, being "limited" in focal length, means less time to waste to frame picture and take a photograph. And when a photographer is used to one focal length, he or she already sees the subject framed, they know already how image will look like, they know what to expect. That means they are already miles ahead in snapping the picture successfully.

1 upvote
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 16, 2011)

i think 28 is a nice focal lenght. for a slr its not what i would buy or own. but in a compact singlefocallenght camera its ok.

i personally think 40-50 would be better too but i think for this style of camer medium wide anlge is a good compromize.

at least for me a 50 with this small sensors dof would be worse that a 28

0 upvotes
LarryLatchkey
By LarryLatchkey (Sep 18, 2011)

This might be a silly comment from a non-professional photographer, but I have a GRd 1 for sth like 6 years now, that means, yes, I am only ever shooting 28mm (sometimes 21mm with adapter) and having only this one FL for years it by now feels like the natural viewing of my own eyes.
In cities (narrow spaces), indoors, landscape, architecture (no distortion) I find it just perfect. It even does o.k. portraits if you keep the face central. And it does great macro (focussing at 1cm).

I wouldn't know what to do with 35 or 50mm in a narrow lane if I want to capture a lot of objects in a crowded scene, in a bar, on top of the cliffs looking at the coast line, looking up the bellfry... As many said before, Ricoh is not doing the common denominator here, but the specific solution.

0 upvotes
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8158841636_1b4fb78c2d_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8332/8137537812_b8e8401f45_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8021820570_9d89b6d0e2_z.jpg

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5120/7080820121_a89f4b5a7b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8145/7464527656_96bb04318a_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7134/7553052532_c56370dbaa_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7593901822_28058b39a4_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8024/7398253522_62a298ce92_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7087/7185350677_9124d170df_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8423/7511090906_2560bb8900_z.jpg

1 upvote
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

When will it be available.
@bigdaddave If you explained your thoughts they would be more valid.
I consider it a very useful product. Good lens, small, now faster with IS, should be little need for a flash. Excellent UI. For a pocket stills camera there is little left wanting for, if, like me you're not fussed by movie or zoom.

9 upvotes
bigdaddave
By bigdaddave (Sep 15, 2011)

No zoom.

This is not the dark ages

0 upvotes
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Sep 15, 2011)

there's no zoom, that attracts me.

6 upvotes
Michele Kappa
By Michele Kappa (Sep 15, 2011)

"no zoom" does not equal "dark ages".

4 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 15, 2011)

@bigdadave: ah i get it now, you try to be sarcastic because of those "iam to lazy to walk" tourists. forget about them, they will never get it. just like the "i need more megapixels guys" and the pixelpeepers.
i own nine primes and i would never ever in my whole life buy a zoomlens. not in a compact not for an slr and not for filming.

3 upvotes
Duckie
By Duckie (Sep 16, 2011)

No zoom means more light, both metaphorically and physically.

3 upvotes
greg57
By greg57 (Sep 15, 2011)

I actually like it that these are the guys who will be running Pentax from now on :)

5 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 15, 2011)

YEAH!

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8158841636_1b4fb78c2d_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8332/8137537812_b8e8401f45_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8021820570_9d89b6d0e2_z.jpg

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5120/7080820121_a89f4b5a7b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8145/7464527656_96bb04318a_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7134/7553052532_c56370dbaa_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7593901822_28058b39a4_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8024/7398253522_62a298ce92_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7087/7185350677_9124d170df_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8423/7511090906_2560bb8900_z.jpg

1 upvote
bigdaddave
By bigdaddave (Sep 15, 2011)

What a pointless product

0 upvotes
ikinone
By ikinone (Oct 1, 2011)

What are you hoping to achieve by commenting here?

1 upvote
Lightcycle
By Lightcycle (Nov 19, 2012)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8469/8095606241_b00cb2fde0_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8039/7974413192_2bcb91083b_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7827764188_e0daf85128_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8452/8068453926_41742179a9_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8450/8045520812_bc8e705b21_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8208/8158841636_1b4fb78c2d_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8332/8137537812_b8e8401f45_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8034/8021820570_9d89b6d0e2_z.jpg

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5120/7080820121_a89f4b5a7b_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8145/7464527656_96bb04318a_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7134/7553052532_c56370dbaa_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7110/7593901822_28058b39a4_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8024/7398253522_62a298ce92_z.jpg

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7087/7185350677_9124d170df_z.jpg

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8423/7511090906_2560bb8900_z.jpg

1 upvote
jpr2
By jpr2 (Sep 15, 2011)

if only Ricoh took heed of the recent uproars created by built-in VFs of x100 and Nex7 :( !!

4 upvotes
Archiver
By Archiver (Sep 15, 2011)

How much bigger would the camera need to be to accommodate a decent viewfinder? I'd like a viewfinder as well, but not enough for it to compromise the portability of the camera.

3 upvotes
JesperMP
By JesperMP (Sep 15, 2011)

I aggree.
Since its lens has a fixed focal length, an OVF would have been perfect on this camera. And it would add to the 'being special' appeal of this camera.

0 upvotes
noss
By noss (Sep 15, 2011)

rgbW lcd panel for (a big) vieWfinder! ;)
(more white, more light, more visibility)

0 upvotes
taotoo
By taotoo (Sep 15, 2011)

But for the OVF to be any good, it would have to be quite large and would increase the size of the camera unacceptably. Much better that they've chosen to offer a separate OVF so that you can take it or leave it.

5 upvotes
Phil1
By Phil1 (Sep 15, 2011)

I had a GR1 & really loved it until the little LED control screen went. Then I acquired a GX100 and really loved that as the control system was excellent & the results were very good. That is until the controls started to play up! Perhaps I was unlucky!

So now I have an LX5 & really love it! Well built & versatile with an excellent control system. I hope it lasts longer than the Ricohs!

I hope the GR4 has an improved sensor as that was the one weak link in the GX100.

0 upvotes
JesperMP
By JesperMP (Sep 15, 2011)

I would gladly sacrifice either the pop-up flash or the flash hotshoe for an integral OVF.
And, for some reason whenever an OVF is an optional accessory, all the camera manufacturers incl. Ricoh ask a ridiculess price for it. The GV2 costs 200 USD.
And, I would like to see at least focus confirmation in the OVF. Does the GV2 give you that ?

But as one can see how the GRD body is essentially unchanged over the generations, it will never happen.

0 upvotes
sedentary_male
By sedentary_male (Sep 15, 2011)

Phil1 the jpeg engine in the GX100, Ricoh R4 aside, was the best ever in a Ricoh digital camera. That may have now changed with the GRDIV. Still have my GX100 somewhere.

0 upvotes
lolopasstrail
By lolopasstrail (Sep 15, 2011)

Agreed. The excellent Ricoh GR1 film camera managed to get an optical viewfinder in a tiny package as well as a film drive and load mechanism. A viewfinder in this one would have quickly put Ricoh at the top of the pack; now it's just a quaint product that we're all glad is still made, but would never shell out the money for ourselves.

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 15, 2011)

@steve
you still have the x100? i have one in perfect condition only the rear screen is broken. wonder if you would sell yours if you cant use it anymore^^

0 upvotes
inevitable crafts studio
By inevitable crafts studio (Sep 15, 2011)

there is no steve, i meant phil ^^
and i meant gx100, my x100 screen is fine :)

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Sep 15, 2011)

lolopasstrail, in case you don't know, the GRD series sells very well, has a cult following and the GV2 viewfinder, while a bit pricey, is an absolute joy to use. And for what it's worth, plenty of people have shelled out the $500 for this camera, including me.

1 upvote
F Stop Fitzgerald
By F Stop Fitzgerald (Sep 15, 2011)

JesperMP:

I have a GRD3 with a GV-2 viewfinder. There is a focus confirmation light near the hot-shoe which you can easily see when using the optional optical viewfinder. This is a clever feature that I believe was later copied by the excellent Leica X1

0 upvotes
Robgo2
By Robgo2 (Sep 15, 2011)

Is no one troubled (or puzzled) by the fact that the GRD IV uses the same sensor as the GRD III? It may be a good sensor, but technological improvements over the past several years have been huge. Surely, this key component of the camera might have been upgraded. I am not a Ricoh user, but I have been waiting for the new GRD, and I must say that I am a bit disappointed on this point.

Rob

1 upvote
Riprap
By Riprap (Sep 22, 2011)

Whilst an inbuilt hybrid viewfinder would be a welcome addition, if it made it no bigger than the film GR1s, the size of GDR is great - I use my GDRII with the GV-2, it just slides onto the hotshoe, is still small and is of high quality, although it does not provide an accurate 100% coverage, it is better than the GR1 s one.

0 upvotes
Craig Atkinson
By Craig Atkinson (Nov 7, 2011)

http://www.grd4.com I added a load of image samples and exif here, using the Ricoh GRD4

0 upvotes
Total comments: 187