PIX 2015
Johanfoto

Johanfoto

Lives in Netherlands Netherlands
Works as a Editor / Photographer
Has a website at www.johanfoto.com
Joined on Feb 7, 2005

Johanfoto's recent activity

  • By default, Apple Time Machine does not back up: (1) System log files (2) Spotlight indexes (3) Cache files of any type (4) Files in the Trash (or ...
  • A focus mask tells you what is sharp in the image. I don't think that is what the OP is looking for. He wants to know which focus points were used by the camera.
  • What's wrong with the link given by the OP? That plugin works with Nikon cameras according to the website and I can confirm that it does work in Lightroom 6 too (although the website doesn't ...
  • No, your logic is incorrect. Normal previews are what Lightroom uses to display the images on screen. You see this preview when you look at your image in the library, or anywhere else in Lightroom ( ...
  • I wouldn't hold my breath. They used to have a pre-announcement of that development on their website, but that is gone.
  • In theory, that is exactly what 'Match Total Exposures' is supposed to solve. If one image is under exposed and the other image is over exposed, they will both be adjusted individually to match ...
  • It would even be bad design if the second copy was also deleted. That second copy is a temporary backup, in case something happens to the original. 'Something happening' can also be deleting it by ...
  • The easiest way to answer that is to try it... (but the answer is yes)
  • They are not folders, they are 'Devices'. A bit like a disk in Lightroom. Why Adobe chose to do that and not make it a simple folder is beyond me.
  • Lightroom itself doesn't allow you to do that, but you can fool it in the following way: Move the package to the new disk. Make a symbolic link to the package and place that in the original ...
  • Before you do that, simply try to 'reconnect' the folders. That's what you will have to do as well when you transfer the images to another disk. Right click on the folder in the left pane of the ...
  • I think it's more likely that his mother took his computer from him for a month or so...
  • The idea to duplicate the layer is something you see in older tutorials, but it has always been an rather odd suggestion imho. It just increases the file size. There is nothing 'non-destructive' ...
  • If you edited the jpegs in Aperture and you want to keep those edits, then yes. Aperture keeps its edits in metadata, no matter what the original file type is. So if you want to keep the Aperture ...
  • That is exactly what you do if you use 'Export as TIFF', and then import those TIFF files in Lightroom too.
  • No, it's not just semantics. What I'm trying to make clear, is that you can fully install the software on an extra machine and that can be very handy sometimes. Think about a situation where you ...
  • No, you said you can only install on two machines. That's not true. You can install or more machines (you could install it on two Macs and one PC, for example), but you can only have two installations
  • Agreed. In Aperture you had your projects that were the containers for the photos too. That is why I chose to use 'Relocate originals' and created a folder structure that was identical to my ...
  • Actually, you can install it on more than two machines. You just can't have more than two installations activated at the same time. If you log out on the first machine, you can install the ...
  • I'm 100% sure seeing 'banned' underneath his name. That's why I know he was banned, and didn't just disappear by his own choice. Maybe that was only for a while and his account was later removed ...
Activity older than 12 months is not displayed.
Johanfoto has not added any gear yet.
Total messages 3082
Threads started 13
Last post 5 days ago
Total comments 0
Total likes 0
Total reviews 0
Entries 0
Votes cast 0
Photos uploaded 0