dpreview review samples

Photo
1 / 26
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 17mm F1.8 preview samples:
P1060002.acr
Viewed 34521 times
P1060002.acr
Processed with Adobe Camera Raw
This photo is in 1 album:
Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 17mm F1.8 preview samples
Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 17mm F1.8 preview samples
(26 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Lens:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (4608×3456, 5.5MB)
Captured: -
Uploaded: Nov 16, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 17 mm
Shutter speed: 1/60 sec
Aperture: F1.8
ISO: 640
Exposure comp.: -

Comments

Total comments: 11
rfsIII
By rfsIII (Feb 8, 2013)

Does no one in Seattle own a comb?

3 upvotes
itsastickup
By itsastickup (Feb 8, 2013)

This isn't a practical demonstration of a bokeh capable lens. The background is too far away to count and the loss of sharpness is grave.

There needs to be decent bokeh from backgrounds that are much closer.

0 upvotes
Scott Mac
By Scott Mac (Feb 8, 2013)

Bokeh is nice but the in-focus area is a bit soft for my taste. The subject's face lacks detail. Not even close to what the 45/1.8 can do.

0 upvotes
tkbslc
By tkbslc (Feb 7, 2013)

Doesn't this picture know that you can't get subject isolation with m4/3?

0 upvotes
Naveed Akhtar
By Naveed Akhtar (Feb 7, 2013)

this picture know and tells very well ... that you can get subject isolation very easily on 4/3 (by the way m4/3 is just the lens mount) the format is 4/3. Don't forget its still 17mm focal length, at this focal length this is an awesome out of focus blur!! and more important thingi .. blur is creamy .. beautiful .. not harsh as some cheap fullframe prime lenses or some expensive FF zoom lenses!

0 upvotes
Altruisto
By Altruisto (Feb 7, 2013)

i'm quite impressed. i have the feeling that there's more bokek than what I get with my 20mm f1.7 which is strange !???

0 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (Feb 7, 2013)

Maybe he has a very small head and this is really a macro shot.

2 upvotes
Scott Everett
By Scott Everett (Feb 8, 2013)

My head is standard sized, I assure you. :)

1 upvote
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (Feb 8, 2013)

Seriously never expected so much isolation from m43 and that too with a 17mm lens !!!

Only thing I really don't like (thats personal dislike) is the 4:3 format. I would have preferred either a full 1:1 format or the 3:2 format. 4:3 is not square enough for my tastes (like 1:1) nor is it rectangular enough like 3:2.

0 upvotes
Pavlo Boiko
By Pavlo Boiko (Feb 8, 2013)

Brendon1000, that is where GH2 rocks :)

0 upvotes
brendon1000
By brendon1000 (Feb 8, 2013)

^^ True ! That multi format sensor is awesome ! :D

But the darn camera is quite big AND you lose out on Olympus EBIS. :(

Wish Olympus came out with a multi format sensor with EVF and of course its very effective EBIS.

While I am a Sony user I can't stand the NEX interface one bit. It makes little to no logical sense to me. Not sure why they abandoned the Sony Alpha interface which I found to be one of the best I have ever used (fair chance of personal bias in my last statement).

0 upvotes
Total comments: 11