dpreview review samples

Photo
6 / 33
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Olympus XZ-2 preview samples:
PA100152
Viewed 35115 times
PA100152
This photo is in 1 album:
Olympus XZ-2 preview samples
Olympus XZ-2 preview samples
(33 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (3968×2976, 7.7MB)
Captured: Oct 10, 2012
Uploaded: Oct 30, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 24 mm
Shutter speed: 1/30 sec
Aperture: F2.5
ISO: 5000
Exposure comp.: -

Comments

Total comments: 9
Kochiso-macro
By Kochiso-macro (Nov 23, 2012)

This is not bad at all, and for ISO 5000...pretty damn impressive. The noise looks more like film grain to my eyes and the details are still very sharp. Well done!

0 upvotes
Fred3542012
By Fred3542012 (Nov 1, 2012)

It would've been ideal to have the same picture taken with flash under the same lighting condition to be able to compare the two pictures and see the camera's flash strength on the one hand , and the camera's engine processing reaction and capabilities , on the other hand (IMHO ).

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 5 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Richard Butler
By Richard Butler (Nov 8, 2012)

I was standing on the opposite side of the room, so flash wasn't an option.

0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (Nov 1, 2012)

I 2nd that- big kudos for dpreview finally using high iso in a real life situation.

The Pentax Q does about this, I give kudos to Olympus for always maintaining nice JPEG color, though the Q has a few modes where it does well too.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
gzsoldog
By gzsoldog (Oct 31, 2012)

GREAT kudos to DPReview guys to deliver these very-very helpful and instrumental pictures, at last. This is what I always expected and which may help all of us to judge the actual camera in real-life situation and if more similar samples are coming in the future then to compare them in low light conditions which is the primary viewpoint today for any camera.
THANKS A LOT.
About this camera: it seems maybe a bit better then other similar compacts but far less then impressive, showing clearly the huge difference between a "top quality" compact camera equipped with newly developed 1/1.7 BSI CMOS sensor, high performance processor, sophisticated smart firmware and great optics and any "average" DSLR (or similar mirrorless) camera with ~APS-C sized sensor in less then perfect lighting situation.
The bad news is that I still have to carry my relatively heavy and bulky DSLR anywhere where I expect interesting themes :)) (I also have a Canon s100 for not so interesting places) :))

0 upvotes
MrTaikitso
By MrTaikitso (Oct 31, 2012)

To be frank, I would have used the flash in a situation like this.

0 upvotes
Raist3d
By Raist3d (Nov 1, 2012)

Yup, but that's you. What if you can't use flash? What if it's another low light situation with available light where you don't want to use flash as it changes the look?

Not putting down your use case, but there are valid use cases where you don't want to use flash- even if they don't apply to you.

0 upvotes
Dimitri Khoz
By Dimitri Khoz (Oct 31, 2012)

They clearly demonstrate what IQ one will get in the standard low-light shooting scenarios.
Even with the super-bright lens of Olympus one will be forced to go over ISO1600 or 3200. And this is exact output what compact Olympus delivers.
Not bad for ISO5000, imho.

Comment edited 31 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
joe6pack
By joe6pack (Oct 31, 2012)

Looks quite good consider it is ISO 5000.

To be fair, the XZ-2 samples has more high ISO pics than other camera samples that I have seen.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 9