dpreview review samples

Photo
1 / 24
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Sony Alpha SLT-A99 Preview Samples:
DSC00002
Viewed 53308 times
DSC00002
This photo is in 1 album:
Sony Alpha SLT-A99 Preview Samples
Sony Alpha SLT-A99 Preview Samples
(24 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Lens:
Sony 135mm F1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (6000×4000, 5.5MB)
Captured: -
Uploaded: Oct 10, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 135 mm
Shutter speed: 1/60 sec
Aperture: F5.6
ISO: 400
Exposure comp.: -

Comments

Total comments: 17
AlexTor
By AlexTor (Oct 17, 2012)

The lens is one of the best portrait lens available.

0 upvotes
pascal b
By pascal b (Oct 12, 2012)

it is said that dilated pupils are often a criteria of beauty. and I agree.
http://science.howstuffworks.com/environmental/life/human-biology/love-make-pupils-dilate1.htm

0 upvotes
ageha
By ageha (Oct 22, 2012)

She looks sick.

0 upvotes
Pierre Dumas
By Pierre Dumas (Oct 12, 2012)

Advancement in regard of noise Sony has certainly achieved!

0 upvotes
VivaLasVegas
By VivaLasVegas (Oct 11, 2012)

So yellow though, so so model.

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Oct 11, 2012)

She's purdy.

1 upvote
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (Oct 11, 2012)

Studio scene with flash/strobe? The pupils cannot react fast enough so still dilated.

There is a cut on her lips.

0 upvotes
Chamnannpatt
By Chamnannpatt (Oct 11, 2012)

Ecellent job,,AAA+.

0 upvotes
MrSkelter
By MrSkelter (Oct 11, 2012)

What is going on with this model's pupils? Seriously. She looks fixed and dilated. Have they been badly retouched? Contacts?

1 upvote
Valentinian
By Valentinian (Oct 11, 2012)

Now that you mentioned, I would like to know too. the pupils cannot be so dilated due to low light, because a photo taken with 1/60 at F5.6 and Iso 400 means that there was no low light... Also that point of light in the pupils is a reflection of... what? some kind of flash? please the photographer tell us....

0 upvotes
MrSkelter
By MrSkelter (Oct 11, 2012)

Looking at the original it looks like contacts to me. There's a darker, perfectly round, reflective disc where the middle of her eye should be. If it's retouching it's horrible and also goes against the principle of the site. Thus I am sure it's not and she's just made a very poor choice of eyewear.

All that said, the site owes us an explanation. The eyes are the focus point after all.

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (Oct 11, 2012)

See the answer above by Pelasdf or buy any good book on studio portraiture. As he mentioned, what's happening is the pop of the flash happens so fast the eyes don't have enough time to adjust so the pupil stays dilated for the exposure. Some portraitists actually shine a flashlight into the model's eyes to reduce the size of the pupils, while others use continuous lighting.

An explanation from DPR? I guess they assume that as photographers you would be aware of this phenomenon.

3 upvotes
MrSkelter
By MrSkelter (Oct 11, 2012)

Thanks. Studio portraiture is well out of my wheelhouse. I know a lot of people who do it but have never observed this artifact before. It's awful. Funny too. My eyes close as fast as any flash. I am surprised this works this way.

0 upvotes
James First 007
By James First 007 (Oct 11, 2012)

You are dead on...the eyes have been badly retouched...

1 upvote
Amadou Diallo
By Amadou Diallo (Oct 11, 2012)

We never process OOC JPEGs, never crop and also never retouch any image samples. As a photographer its one of the 'pleasures' of working at dpr. You submit straight out of the camera results and bask in all the love ;-)

0 upvotes
Bart7D
By Bart7D (Oct 11, 2012)

Shouldn't we comment on the camera's visible image quality, instead of the models eyewear? Frankly, the portrait is poorly taken. Joe Gunawan did an excellent portrait with the A99, with the same model and some lighting:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/fotosiamo/8073363019/in/photostream

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Oct 12, 2012)

I read somewhere that when a woman becomes sexually aroused her pupils open wide open like that ;)))! among other things

1 upvote
Total comments: 17