dpreview review samples

Photo
24 / 33
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 Preview Samples:
P1000431
Viewed 30613 times
P1000431
This photo is in 1 album:
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 Preview Samples
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 Preview Samples
(33 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (3648×2736, 4.1MB)
Captured: Jul 16, 2012
Uploaded: Jul 16, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 17.7 mm
Shutter speed: 1/100 sec
Aperture: F2.5
ISO: 6400
Exposure comp.: -

Comments

Total comments: 6
John Koch
By John Koch (Jul 18, 2012)

It would be nice if the preview samples included a hand-held night or low light shot or two. That need not mean pictures of a black cat at night in a cave, but perhaps of a person indoors at night with a single incandescent lamp. That way, we'd see how a camera handles WB, flare, contrast, and low light too.

Some of the samples where shot indoors with available light, or under cloudy skies, but the available light appears to have been moderate to good.

0 upvotes
peevee1
By peevee1 (Jul 24, 2012)

Well, #24 (P1000431) is like that. ISO 6400 is bad, but honestly even better than I expected from the small portion of the tiny sensor it was taken with.

0 upvotes
iudex
By iudex (Jul 18, 2012)

Camera with such bright lens does not really need to use ISO6400 (the same could have been shot with ISO 1600 and 1/25, not mentioning wider aperture). In my experience ISO 1000 is acceptable maximum for this sensor size.

1 upvote
Slanicka Tomas
By Slanicka Tomas (Jul 18, 2012)

ISO1000? Maybe on the beach and full sun. Take a look at the picture with a sitting man (P1000409). Such a strong posprocessing. I suppose by the noise.
But I agree, that the ISO6400 is not a good idea on the small sensor as this camera have.

Comment edited 10 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Combatmedic870
By Combatmedic870 (Jul 18, 2012)

yikes.....

0 upvotes
mpgxsvcd
By mpgxsvcd (Jul 18, 2012)

Is any compact camera in this class any good at ISO 6400? You have to remember that most compact cameras would be using ISO 12,800 or 1/50th of a second with ISO 6400. Both of those options are not acceptable.

1 upvote
Total comments: 6