dpreview review samples

Photo
3 / 33
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Leica M-Monochrom Preview Samples:
L1000032
Viewed 67467 times
L1000032
This photo is in 1 album:
Leica M-Monochrom Preview Samples
Leica M-Monochrom Preview Samples
(33 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (5216×3472, 8.4MB)
Captured: Apr 28, 2012
Uploaded: May 10, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 35 mm
Shutter speed: 1/1000 sec
Aperture: -
ISO: 160
Exposure comp.: +0.66

Comments

Total comments: 7
LUIS A GUEVARA
By LUIS A GUEVARA (Sep 20, 2012)

The image quality shown is these images is disappointing . Perhaps it is the limitations of a CCD (Poor choice in my opinion ) and its tendency to bloom what is responsible of burning out the Highlights or perhaps it was the Photographer inexplicable 2/3 stop intentional E.V . overexposure .

Whatever it was this lady face is white on the left side and black with no detail on the other . Being restricted to the camera fixed transcription of Gray tones does not help much . Being limited to the most restrictive color space sRGB , in this case , hurts even more.

Please look at this image at full resolution and examine the hands where they are holding the Old Nikon camera . They are washed out in a way that is unacceptable from a Leica .

0 upvotes
raoul821
By raoul821 (May 11, 2012)

I'm really concerned about the highlights clipping.
Not that I even consider buying one of these, but the concept is interesting_
Pure-luma-sampling and uncompromised definition are great, but the DR is light-years behind film DR and I think it's betraying the hopes one's can put in this camera.
According to me at least...

0 upvotes
gillamoto
By gillamoto (May 11, 2012)

I think it's bad dynamic range. yes the overall is good, but look at those blown out highlight range. my cheap Kr can do better than this.

2 upvotes
Michele Kappa
By Michele Kappa (May 11, 2012)

Seriously? And somehow someone gives a damn about your cheap Kr?

1 upvote
cdaphoto
By cdaphoto (May 11, 2012)

This also "looks" blown to me, but considering that I'm viewing it on a cheap 7bit TFT panel I am not very sure of what I see. On the other hand the histogram is clipped ;)

0 upvotes
marike6
By marike6 (May 10, 2012)

Lovely image. Perfect.

2 upvotes
shigzeo ?
By shigzeo ? (May 10, 2012)

All of these remind me of b&w prints I make. I don't mean compositional quality as I can't tell about mine so much, but this really reminds me of 400 neopan on my canon P. Wonderful.

1 upvote
Total comments: 7