dpreview review samples

Photo
12 / 36
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Nikon D3200 Preview Samples:
DSC_0064
Viewed 71183 times
DSC_0064
This photo is in 1 album:
Nikon D3200 Preview Samples
Nikon D3200 Preview Samples
(36 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Lens:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (6016×4000, 9.4MB)
Captured: Apr 21, 2012
Uploaded: Apr 24, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 24 mm
Shutter speed: 1/250 sec
Aperture: F8
ISO: 100
Exposure comp.: ±0.00

Comments

Total comments: 8
FTW
By FTW (May 1, 2012)

This picture shows how much the 18-55 standard lens is a mess. With a good lens that camera can deliver excellent shots. The NEX-7 has a messy lens as well, but I think it is just a stop better than the Nikon lens. I find no real sharp spot in this picture so far. Concerning sharpening. the camera has certainly an option for that as well. I had to give a level higher in sharpening to the NEX-7 as well before i saw an image that fits my taste. The capture device is a real hammer. For sure it is noisy, but compared to the A900 or the D3X it is real wonder. It is sightly better and if one respects that it has half of the pixel-size of that full-framed cameras, one can say that Sony made a huge step forward in sensor technology. The D800 doesn't makes much better despite of a slightly larger pixel on the 36 mpix chip.

0 upvotes
SaltLakeGuy
By SaltLakeGuy (Apr 25, 2012)

I brought the image file into Irfanview and hit it with several hits of sharpening and WOW what a difference. These files take sharpening quite well without artifacts. Looks quite hopeful for some outstanding RAW potential. I can just see the same shot taken with a more competent lens and Lightroom 4 processing from RAW.

1 upvote
iAPX
By iAPX (Apr 25, 2012)

I expected crispy details and there are not there, I won't be surprised if comparing 16MP image upsized to 24MP we have the same amount of details than with it's 24MP sensor, mainly due to lens limitations :(

0 upvotes
69chevy
By 69chevy (Apr 25, 2012)

It is actual focal length. As far as Ivar?????

0 upvotes
Jake
By Jake (Apr 25, 2012)

Don't visit site as much as I used to but also am never sure which focal length is being stated, actual or 35mm equivalent. Wish for more consistency.

0 upvotes
zwoerdkop
By zwoerdkop (Apr 25, 2012)

Huhhhh... don't you think that 24 is in between 18 and 55? Or do you apply alien math? (And yes, I am aware of crop issues).

0 upvotes
Ivar Dahl Larsen
By Ivar Dahl Larsen (Apr 25, 2012)

Sorry, but I find it strange that you say you use 18-55mm lens and the picture shows that you have 24mm as focal length. It seems however that the camera may turn out to be remarkable regarding high ISO.

0 upvotes
percyF
By percyF (Apr 26, 2012)

The EXIF data records the focal length at which the shot was taken. It was taken when the lens was zoomed to 24mm. It would have been surprising if the EXIF recorded anything outsize 18-55mm.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 8