dpreview review samples

Photo
10 / 54
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Preview Samples:
BK6A0251
Viewed 59810 times
BK6A0251
This photo is in 1 album:
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Preview Samples
Canon EOS 5D Mark III Preview Samples
(54 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Lens:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (5760×3840, 4.9MB)
Captured: Mar 15, 2012
Uploaded: Mar 22, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 100 mm
Shutter speed: 15 sec
Aperture: F16
ISO: 400
Exposure comp.: -

Comments

Total comments: 6
ManuelVilardeMacedo
By ManuelVilardeMacedo (Mar 23, 2012)

The best image is the one taken from the Olympus' cameras. The OM-D has a very familiar lens on it - the OM 50mm/f1.4. One of the best lenses ever made! (I have one...)
Before you think I'm trolling, let me set into rights. This - I mean the Canon - is a hell of a camera. At least for now, I'm only allowed to dream of it (it's not only the 3K for the body; it is also what I'd have to spend on lenses to make this camera justice), but this is the best IQ I've ever seen in this segment. Kudos to Canon. All cameras from 60D upwards have fantastic IQ, and I definitely see myself buying one of these - at least if I win the lottery, or in the very unlikely case this camera's still around when I get the dosh for it.
I couldn't help noticing this photo was taken at ISO 400, 15s exposure and f16. This is the way I like to shoot at night, despite this new belief high ISO is the only way to take night stills. That's wrong, of course, but deceitful marketing made its way into many people's minds.

0 upvotes
Ashley Pomeroy
By Ashley Pomeroy (Mar 23, 2012)

Those old OM lenses were gems - the 24mm f/2 makes a super multiformat walkabout lens and it's pretty good on a 5D as well, with the right adapter.

1 upvote
ManuelVilardeMacedo
By ManuelVilardeMacedo (Mar 23, 2012)

Yes, Ashley, that one is on my wishlist. I also have the 28mm/f3.5, which is incredibly sharp, though sometimes it makes me wish for a little more speed.

0 upvotes
thanda
By thanda (Mar 23, 2012)

Outstanding combination.

0 upvotes
Jorginho
By Jorginho (Mar 23, 2012)

I think Canon will be pleased to see it also can picture its competitors' excellent camera. I guess picturing the Nikon D800 would just be pushing it too far..;-)

1 upvote
Notnard
By Notnard (Mar 23, 2012)

That Olympus OM-D is one sweet camera

1 upvote
Total comments: 6