dpreview review samples

Photo
17 / 38
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples:
IMG_0363
Viewed 79312 times
IMG_0363
Pre-production camera
This photo is in 1 album:
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples
(38 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (4352×3264, 4.3MB)
Captured: -
Uploaded: Jan 16, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 15.1 mm
Shutter speed: 1/15 sec
Aperture: F5.6
ISO: 1600
Exposure comp.: -0.67

Comments

Total comments: 10
tiberiousgracchus
By tiberiousgracchus (Feb 16, 2012)

Does look very nice. Now G1X or GX1 ??

0 upvotes
TJGKG
By TJGKG (Feb 1, 2012)

I am really impressed with these pictures. In particular because I have been to London so many times and have taken pictures of most of these sites, including the spectacular picture of the new St Pancras station. Most of these shots are at high ISO and have come out stunning. I have a Nikon D7000 and it takes a while to get such nice shots. Who wants to lug all that gear around when you can get similar shots with a package such as this? It also shoots 14 bit RAW. I am really looking forward to the in-depth review of a production model. If I can take a compact camera like this on holiday and get these great results without killing my shoulders from carrying around a ton of gear, I'm buying the G1X.

4 upvotes
Nathebeach
By Nathebeach (Jan 18, 2012)

To you naysayers, take a look at IMG_0363 (inside the airport terminal).
ISO 1600 and at full zoom, and not a lot to complain about. Nice.
My Olympus Pen Mini cannot do that unless I go down to 400 or better and then hand held is out of the question.

I wonder if that photo is fresh from the camera or if it was processed. Is there a way to find out?

0 upvotes
Lucien
By Lucien (Jan 19, 2012)

I doubt dpreview post processes unless you mean in camera settings. jpg file looks normal with all EXIF data.

The file is small meaning high JPG compression. Hopefully it has super fine but you'd think dpreview would have chosen lowest compression if it would be available:-(.

You should be able to do this with Pen Mini since this is F5.6 (for some reason) which causes the slow shutter time.

This looks ok but I think SLR looks probably better at this ISO. But waiting for studio samples to do a direct comparison.

0 upvotes
maico
By maico (Jan 20, 2012)

It's Fenchurch St. railway station. Not bad if it's hand held at 1/15

0 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (Jan 20, 2012)

It's a JPEG straight out of the camera at default settings.

On a technicality, it's St Pancras railway station.

2 upvotes
Ryanide
By Ryanide (Jan 17, 2012)

this is where I wish it had a 24mm wide

0 upvotes
SpinThma
By SpinThma (Jan 17, 2012)

Great ISO Performance and small Jpeg-files for this resolution (less noise?)
would be a good counterpart for my Nikon D700 as travel cam.
/K

Comment edited 13 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
pedroboe100
By pedroboe100 (Jan 17, 2012)

do I see ORBS?

1 upvote
shutterbobby
By shutterbobby (Feb 15, 2012)

Nope its not a Fuji X10...

1 upvote
Total comments: 10