dpreview review samples

Photo
38 / 38
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples:
ISO_12800
Viewed 92066 times
ISO_12800
Pre-production camera
This photo is in 1 album:
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples
(38 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (4352×3264, 3.0MB)
Captured: -
Uploaded: Jan 13, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 60.4 mm
Shutter speed: 1/125 sec
Aperture: F8
ISO: 12800
Exposure comp.: -0.67

Comments

Total comments: 34
jcmedeiros
By jcmedeiros (Mar 16, 2012)

I am expecting to receive my G1 X next week so I'll report back on how good the high ISO noise is in the RAW images. Personally, if the in camera NR is as good as it appears from these sample JPEGs I will be ecstatic. I doubt I could do much much better with any of my workflow NR tools.

0 upvotes
Sdaniella
By Sdaniella (Mar 10, 2012)

EV=5.97 or 6

0 upvotes
oselimg
By oselimg (Feb 16, 2012)

Yes there is loss of fine detail in higher ISO range but still printable in a everyday use size. Who cares about the rest. It's a compact camera with a good sensor, nobody will be able to tell the difference except when you get together with your gear head, pixel peeper friends and discuss what the next model will be not to mention with a magnifying glass in hand. If you want big prints on high ISO then get a bigger sensor or alternatively you can try enjoying your hobby.

0 upvotes
ezradja
By ezradja (Jan 17, 2012)

yup, just like fujifilm tested the water (on m43) with its X100 to their last product X1 pro, probably Canon does it too with this G1 X to its mirrorless camera. Probably not in 3:2 format but the same as G1 X but with interchangeable lenses system to differentiate with their DSLR line ups. Make sense?

0 upvotes
RLPhotoAndImaging
By RLPhotoAndImaging (Jan 17, 2012)

Low noise level is really amazing for a compact camera... thanks to the large sensor, but ouch on that price tag!

0 upvotes
TimR32225
By TimR32225 (Jan 16, 2012)

The 12,800 iso images are the cleanest I've ever seen. If the raw images look this good when cleaned up with your software of choice, Canon surely has a winner. I am leaning toward purchasing the 1Dx when it's available, and I see nothing in these G1X images to change my mind.

0 upvotes
VLampa
By VLampa (Jan 19, 2012)

Because the G1X and 1Dx are in the same class, right?

1 upvote
manishsaini
By manishsaini (Jan 16, 2012)

digic 5 rocks 8) ............well it deserve a nikon tag instead :P

0 upvotes
KEG
By KEG (Jan 16, 2012)

Did my usual processing on the picture and it blows me away, I have never ever seen this kind of quality from high ISO image and I got the original EOS 5D.

0 upvotes
abphoto
By abphoto (Jan 16, 2012)

Well I think we're missing the point here. Looks like canon has indirectly joined the m43 by making a 1.5" chip and Olympus probably no longer needs to only have one chip vender anymore! It really makes sense. Canon doesn't have to worry about this hurting their big camera sales and the benefit of plenty of lenses to choose from are already there. Now all they need to do is come out with a mirrorless body. I think this camera is just testing the m43 waters.

0 upvotes
CedricL1984
By CedricL1984 (Jan 15, 2012)

A lot better than any 4/3 sensor, yet.

2 upvotes
Ruy Penalva
By Ruy Penalva (Jan 15, 2012)

The 12800 ISO seems very good but took the advantages of very fast shutter speed when compared to the 1 second speed of ISO100. I wish all photos were hand made photos with no tripod. DP shoud indicate also the ambient lux.

0 upvotes
bushi
By bushi (Jan 25, 2012)

....you would like your test images to be hand-held??? For what reason, you want to test the cam, or the photographer's steady hands???

1 upvote
Ashley Pomeroy
By Ashley Pomeroy (Jan 15, 2012)

Now, the detail's smeared, but the colour saturation still holds up, which is very good. It reminds me of the old Fuji F30, which had a similar noise reduction system - the results were a bit smeary but the colours were good, instead of being washed-out or blotchy (that was ISO 1600, though, albeit with a smaller sensor).

0 upvotes
oysso
By oysso (Jan 14, 2012)

Problem with this photo is that all objects in it are not natural. Natural objects tend to have better micro detail and hence easier to see loss of detail.
But than also need 100 % crops comparison to other cameras. But I bet that will come in the review as usual.

2 upvotes
sandy b
By sandy b (Jan 14, 2012)

Extremely well lit studio shot with very heavy NR. Not really sure its all that compared to other cameras in the same situation

0 upvotes
rakita
By rakita (Jan 14, 2012)

12800 looks unreally good. My first thought was: fake. Let's hope it's not.

2 upvotes
TonyC5D
By TonyC5D (Jan 14, 2012)

Be honest, yes there is some smearing at 12,800 ISO, but not long ago you would have given your right arm for results that good from any camera, let alone a compact. More vindication for less pixels maybe?

1 upvote
Charles King
By Charles King (Jan 14, 2012)

Er, completely the opposite!

It has about the same pixel pitch as the 7D (4.3um). Scale that to full frame and you'd get over 46Mp (864mm2/(0.0043^2).

We need to see some standardised images (such as dpr's usual test scene) and we need to see the RAW output bypassing their noise reduction. But it's obvious that you no longer need to use chunky pixels to get very acceptable low-light performance

2 upvotes
jj74e
By jj74e (Jan 14, 2012)

it looks really clean, even at 12800 at first glance, but i think that's just because these objects aren't the best at showing noise. a lot of the objects are very smooth. i think canon is applying a lot of noise reduction, but we just can't necessarily tell with these objects. If you look at the bottom right corner and the mouse's fur, you can see just how smeary it is. I have to wonder how it would hold up on dpreview's usual sample photo site, with more detailed objects and areas of dark in addition to the brightly lit areas.

It does seem impressive, but I'm hesitant to believe it's /as/ impressive as it seems here.

2 upvotes
jj74e
By jj74e (Jan 14, 2012)

Also notice how the wood grain from the wooden figure is almost completely gone at higher ISOs- further indication of heavy NR

1 upvote
techmine
By techmine (Jan 14, 2012)

Oh my God!

1 upvote
VadymA
By VadymA (Jan 14, 2012)

I could hardly find any difference between ISO 100 and 12800. Very impressive. One picture worth a thousand words indeed.

2 upvotes
carsten böttcher
By carsten böttcher (Jan 14, 2012)

Seems noise free but massive lost of detail in fine texture from 1600 on. Look at the mouse's fur. But nonetheless it looks great for such a cam and much better than the 4/3 cams.

3 upvotes
bushi
By bushi (Jan 25, 2012)

;) if you can hardly find any difference between ISO 100& 12800 here, I doubt that you need a camera THAT good :). I could quite clearly spot the difference between ISO 3200 & 12800 here (not to boast or anything, but it is pretty obvious).

Still, insanely good opictures from a COMPACT cam, I think I am in love!

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
exp1orer
By exp1orer (Jan 14, 2012)

Canon should make a no-VF version of this camera to make it more compact. high ISO image samples are excellent!

5 upvotes
macky patalinghug
By macky patalinghug (Jan 14, 2012)

A breakthrough! I hope to see some video samples soon.

Comment edited 59 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Vahur_S
By Vahur_S (Jan 14, 2012)

Yes, it's clean..to clean to be real. And with respectable level of detail. My wife will see see no holiday trip on this season, I will save money for that camera.

2 upvotes
Dolan Halbrook
By Dolan Halbrook (Jan 14, 2012)

The rest of the camera... meh. But I have to admit that's an impressive sensor.

2 upvotes
Dolan Halbrook
By Dolan Halbrook (Jan 14, 2012)

OK, I just have to say that's absurdly clean for ISO 12800.

1 upvote
saralecaire
By saralecaire (Jan 14, 2012)

compare the sample vs the sony nex 5n on that french site, the sony does better

Comment edited 16 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
HarryP
By HarryP (Jan 14, 2012)

I am sorry but I don't think Sony can keep up with these pictures.

2 upvotes
saralecaire
By saralecaire (Jan 15, 2012)

did you even attempt to view the nex 5 samples from that same site? from your reply, i'd guess not...

0 upvotes
HarryP
By HarryP (Jan 15, 2012)

All subjective isn't it? As a Sony owner, I know what the Nex 5n sensor is capable of in real life. While good, Sony has not figured out high ISO's like Canon or Nikon. The fact that Nex 5n is their best high ISO attempt over the Nex 7, A65 & A77, they are clueless in the area. Nikon takes the same sensors and are miles ahead in high ISO output. 24 MP in a APS-C sensor was the dumbest move.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 34