dpreview review samples

Photo
31 / 38
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples:
ISO_100
Viewed 102541 times
ISO_100
Pre-production camera
This photo is in 1 album:
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples
Canon PowerShot G1 X Preview Samples
(38 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (4352×3264, 2.5MB)
Captured: -
Uploaded: Jan 13, 2012 (UTC)
Focal length: 60.4 mm
Shutter speed: 1 sec
Aperture: F8
ISO: 100
Exposure comp.: -0.67

Comments

Total comments: 9
Sdaniella
By Sdaniella (Mar 10, 2012)

EV=6.00 or 6

0 upvotes
AllC
By AllC (Jan 15, 2012)

Looks great, but Canon's ooc jpeg always does. I agree with previous posters that there's a fair amount of NR being applied and that that may be limiting resolution. I'm looking forward to see the full review and RAW comparisons.

If this camera goes down in price (to $600?) it may be a big success.

0 upvotes
Piciul
By Piciul (Jan 15, 2012)

I don't find anything special about the sensor. At high ISO there is plenty of NR

0 upvotes
howardroark
By howardroark (Jan 24, 2012)

And yet there is still detail. It's easy to get rid of noise if you don't mind smearing the image until it looks like an oil painting, but not destroying detail is the trick. By the way, there is nothing special about this sensor if it were used in an SLR.

0 upvotes
Marty4650
By Marty4650 (Jan 14, 2012)

To my eyes, viewing the samples on my old and uncalibrated monitor, I'd have to say that shot taken at ISO 12,800 looks remarkably good.

Canon has done something good here.

1 upvote
Infared
By Infared (Jan 14, 2012)

The lens does not seem to have that much resolution (could be these sample preparation ..)..but the lack of noise is great......I wonder if Canon is going to use this sensor for a mirrorless camera with interchangeable lenses...seems odd to produce it just for this one G camera.

0 upvotes
Bob Meyer
By Bob Meyer (Jan 15, 2012)

I think the not "that much resolution" may in fact be lots of noise reduction smearing the details. NR is very obvious in the mouse "fur" in the ISO 6400 shot. Then again, that is 6400, so it's still pretty impressive. Well need to compare raw files against other cameras to really know for sure.

0 upvotes
John Ellis
By John Ellis (Jan 14, 2012)

Looks amazing to me and if anything better than my first Canon digital, the D30 I paid a ton for. The progress in sensors is astounding. It is getting to where the only real advantage of the larger sensors is to blur backgrounds.

0 upvotes
Samuel Dilworth
By Samuel Dilworth (Jan 14, 2012)

John, this little camera has a big sensor. It's nearly as big as the sensor in your D30! That's one reason it performs so well.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 9