dpreview review samples

Photo
11 / 23
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Nikon J1 Preview Samples:
DSC_0043
Viewed 55303 times
DSC_0043
This photo is in 1 album:
Nikon J1 Preview Samples
Nikon J1 Preview Samples
(23 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Lens:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (3872×2592, 5.8MB)
Captured: Jan 1, 2011
Uploaded: Sep 22, 2011 (UTC)
Focal length: 11 mm
Shutter speed: 1/25 sec
Aperture: F7.1
ISO: 3200
Exposure comp.: ±0.00

Comments

Total comments: 20
Jim Lowell
By Jim Lowell (Sep 25, 2011)

A few things came to mind seeing this sample despite the blue cast...

1) If that is truly an ISO 3200 JPEG photo, I'm glad that I'm NOT that heavily invested in my present DSLR gear.

2) It would take just a couple clicks in Pshop to fix the blue cast. Exposure and detail are great. Easily fixable.

3) These are incredible times for photography innovations.

2 upvotes
Gorpalm
By Gorpalm (Sep 24, 2011)

Funny WB could be ambient lighting causing mayhem though, great 3200 results, like very much - would be interesting to see how large areas of black background deal w 3200, see if any mottling starts to show...

0 upvotes
ChrisKramer1
By ChrisKramer1 (Sep 23, 2011)

It's what's under the eggs that worries me.

0 upvotes
Jim Lowell
By Jim Lowell (Sep 25, 2011)

You should be worried about the bacteria floating around in the yolks of those un-cooked fried eggs actually. Throne time bigtime. ;-)

0 upvotes
twenty200
By twenty200 (Sep 23, 2011)

I guess Green Eggs And Ham just became Blue Eggs And Toast.

0 upvotes
Rich Hoyer
By Rich Hoyer (Sep 23, 2011)

Wow. Impressive results at 3200 ISO.

2 upvotes
zapatista
By zapatista (Sep 23, 2011)

Well, I'm a Panasonic m4/3 fanboi so this is god awful. I'm actually pretty impressed with the detail/lack of noise for ISO3200 with a kit zoom.

0 upvotes
cmvsm
By cmvsm (Sep 23, 2011)

If you think this is the quality of a typical compact at ISO3200, you don't know what you are talking about. The WB looks to be off a bit, but show me an entry level DSLR that does any better. I was very skeptical when I read about this little sensor, but maybe Nikon has outsmarted us all. Nice job. I still want to see the speed and some sporting event shots. Then I'll be convinced.

2 upvotes
Jackie Q Acomson
By Jackie Q Acomson (Sep 22, 2011)

The quality is almost the same as a compact's. I wonder who wants to buy it.

1 upvote
pacogwapo
By pacogwapo (Sep 30, 2011)

unlike

0 upvotes
zanypoet
By zanypoet (Sep 22, 2011)

AWB needs a little tweaking, ya think!?

1 upvote
dudu_307
By dudu_307 (Sep 22, 2011)

crappy auto white balance

2 upvotes
mu55
By mu55 (Sep 22, 2011)

Sorry - but those eggs still aren't cooked - Take it back

On the other hand I can actually tell that they are not cooked, so not bad for ISO3200 on a small sensor - take the eggs back but keep the camera

2 upvotes
Visualiza
By Visualiza (Sep 22, 2011)

This photo alone warrants giving this camera a second look. A serious second look.

5 upvotes
chris_j_l
By chris_j_l (Sep 22, 2011)

No Sam I am, I do not like purple eggs and ham.

2 upvotes
ZorSy
By ZorSy (Sep 22, 2011)

Impressive result - I can only wish my old D80 retains as much details even at 1600. And the blue neon lighting did not help either - so even WB is pretty good under suck conditions. Though I am not fan of this or m4/3 format and overall design, the sensor technology is something to look forward.

1 upvote
ybai011
By ybai011 (Sep 22, 2011)

impressed. i am a m43 fan, looks like Nikon nailed it on the sensor. panasonic and olympus should really work together now, instead of fighting on the sensor.

1 upvote
Donglei
By Donglei (Sep 22, 2011)

The noise performance is for pix peeper. To me, the WB totally went wrong.

1 upvote
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Sep 22, 2011)

Yeah, AWB struggled here, but if you take a look at the raw file and install View NX2 you'll be able to make the necessary adjustments.

0 upvotes
Locnav
By Locnav (Sep 22, 2011)

it doesn't say what kind of post proccesing has been done to it. i find it hard to belieave that at 3200 you can get such a good clarity and detail.

but if you take into consideration just the noise reduction algorithm... well... it's doing an amazing job!!!

1 upvote
Total comments: 20