dpreview review samples

Photo
9 / 23
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Nikon J1 Preview Samples:
DSC_0027
Viewed 39305 times
DSC_0027
This photo is in 1 album:
Nikon J1 Preview Samples
Nikon J1 Preview Samples
(23 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Lens:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (3872×2592, 5.0MB)
Captured: Jan 1, 2011
Uploaded: Sep 22, 2011 (UTC)
Focal length: 18.2 mm
Shutter speed: 1/10 sec
Aperture: F4.5
ISO: 800
Exposure comp.: ±0.00

Comments

Total comments: 6
Ashley Pomeroy
By Ashley Pomeroy (Sep 23, 2011)

It's amusing to read people praising the "low noise" in a shot of a smooth featureless out of focus plastic bottle sitting on a featureless marble tabletop in front of a featureless expanse of painted wall. Like that's going to challenge a camera's noise reduction algorithms. Also, you can click on the image to enlarge it!

More to the point, what the hell happened to the colours? The lighting probably wasn't too good, but the overall result looks sick, like a frame from the first Terminator film. Or one of the early Nikon D1 shots. Was this camera calibrated with NTSC monitors?

1 upvote
Visualiza
By Visualiza (Sep 22, 2011)

ISO 800...one would think that this would shut the naysayers up(about noise at least), but something tells me they'll be singing the same tune 'til kingdom come.

Anyway, I was skeptical at first but I believe what my eyes see, and right now it's looking pretty good.

1 upvote
zstan
By zstan (Sep 22, 2011)

My $300 TX10 can do the same thing.

0 upvotes
Visualiza
By Visualiza (Sep 22, 2011)

*YAWN* I sure am getting tired of seeing all these negative replies that lack any sort of substance. I'll call that bluff, prove it. While you're at it, replicate all of the higher ISO results in this gallery with your TX10.

Put up or shut-up. You may have already decided you don't like the camera...good for you, and the legions of other know-it-alls who jump to conclusions. Let those of us who like to keep an open mind observe in peace, thanks.

3 upvotes
steven8217
By steven8217 (Sep 23, 2011)

It happens that I also have a TX10, and I just ran a few show under low light, NO, the IQ at ISO-800 can NOT match to this photo, the noise and lens quality is not even close.
Well TX10 has one great featue that I love, need to clese the lens, just turn on the faucet with running water, ha !

0 upvotes
steven8217
By steven8217 (Sep 23, 2011)

The image noise at ISO-6400 is much better than my D300S, V1/J1 seems a well design sensor with balance on the IQ and I will need to wait for a better lens, seems on my list...after my D800

0 upvotes
Total comments: 6