dpreview review samples

Photo
5 / 23
Navigation
Back to album
Slideshow
Start
Nikon J1 Preview Samples:
DSC_0015
Viewed 61072 times
DSC_0015
This photo is in 1 album:
Nikon J1 Preview Samples
Nikon J1 Preview Samples
(23 photos)
This photo is marked as:  Safe.
Camera:
Lens:
Available sizes: Small, Medium, Large, Original (3872×2592, 5.6MB)
Captured: Jan 1, 2011
Uploaded: Sep 22, 2011 (UTC)
Focal length: 30 mm
Shutter speed: 1/125 sec
Aperture: F5.6
ISO: 180
Exposure comp.: ±0.00

Comments

Total comments: 10
siuyung
By siuyung (Sep 29, 2011)

It's the photographer.... give it to a person who knows how to handle a camera, the pictures will look just fine.

0 upvotes
47872Mike
By 47872Mike (Sep 25, 2011)

This is the first image from this camera I have looked at. The colours and contrast seem muted, the noise level high, and the general level of detail underwhelming. The image looks rather processed. I don't like the look of it at all at 100% but will look at a few more.

0 upvotes
shnsea
By shnsea (Sep 23, 2011)

The skin tone on the elbow and color of the shirt look strange. They may be over compressed, but either way not very flattering.

0 upvotes
JosephScha
By JosephScha (Sep 23, 2011)

Yes, the subject is in focus (the dangling camera is blurred because it was swinging). The trouble is, almost everything else is in focus. Very low depth of field. That is to be expected for a 30mm lens. It may look like about an 80mm lens on full frame, but the depth of field is what 30mm lens gets, whether as a wide angle on a full frame, or has a portrait lens length on a J1.

0 upvotes
R Valentino
By R Valentino (Sep 22, 2011)

The subject is in focus- Get your vision checked. As a "can never get a shallow enough DOF" shooter I agree that this will be an issue if you intend to do a lot of people shots where it is usually beneficial to have some isolation. Just as with a P&S it can be done but it takes more work and creativity.

My problem with the whole mirrorless concept is that NONE of them will fit in your pants or shorts pocket with any lens other than the limited use pancake. When traveling light and just needing some snaps or quick video I would much prefer something like the new Samsung WB750 24-432mm, just under 1" thick. Easy to fit in pants or shorts pocket, good enough IQ for it's intended use and WAY less expensive.

If I can't fit it in my pocket I might as well just take my D700.

0 upvotes
onlooker
By onlooker (Sep 22, 2011)

The problem is, he is not even in focus. Where is this supreme new Nikon focus system? This looks like misfocused P&S. Mediocre at best.

0 upvotes
pacogwapo
By pacogwapo (Sep 30, 2011)

just like you... you're a mediocre also.

0 upvotes
zanypoet
By zanypoet (Sep 22, 2011)

Yep, glorified P&S, this Nikon with outrageous price.

0 upvotes
tampadave
By tampadave (Sep 22, 2011)

very nice photos. much better than p&s.

0 upvotes
aeolos
By aeolos (Sep 22, 2011)

the depth of field looks horrible with the zoom lenses.. thats like shooting at f11 on an apcs sensor..

everything in focus= crappy point and shoot style : /

0 upvotes
Total comments: 10