Dental Pictures

Started Apr 23, 2003 | Discussions
Rod Mürrer
Junior MemberPosts: 38
Like?
Dental Pictures
Apr 23, 2003

Hi!

I've just signed up for this list because I need some help to choose a Digital Camera.

I am a dentistry professor and untill now I have used a Nikon F2 with a Medical Nikkor Lens ( http://www.mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/speciallenses/120medical.htm ) to make the pictures I use to teach.

For some time I have been waiting to buy a digital camera and now I feel is the right time (mainly because now I have the money )

For my purposes I need a camera that my Medical Lens can be used with.

I've been doing some research and as far as I could understand the best cameras to my need are:

• Canon EOS-1Ds

• Fuji FinePix S2 Pro

• Kodak DCS Pro 14n

• Nikon D1X

So, I need some advice about what are the advantages of each and what is the BEST choice to me.

Thanks to all that answer me!

Rod Mürrer

Jonathan
Regular MemberPosts: 450
Like?
Cant use the canon..
In reply to Rod Mürrer, Apr 23, 2003

Rod,
you cant use the canon with that lens so it is out.
The things you need to ask yourself are..
How large do these images need to be printed.
are they going to only be seen on screen and lastly
how much can I spend.
The kodak would be over kill IMHO.
Fuji S2 is great camera and cheap.

Nikon D1H is cheap and will last for years, Same with the D1X these cameras are built like tanks.
The D100 Might be your best bet.
Cost and sensor size makes it a good deal.
Just make sure your lens will work with the camera.
Have fun,
Jon Zalkin

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Jon Stewart
Senior MemberPosts: 1,230
Like?
Dental photography
In reply to Rod Mürrer, Apr 23, 2003

I'd recommend the 1DS with the 100 macro lens and perhaps ringlite, if your dental lights don't do the trick.

What are you intending doing with the photos that you need such detail?