what about that DA* 55mm? (pros, cons, and opinions sought)

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
yardcoyote
Senior MemberPosts: 2,949Gear list
Like?
what about that DA* 55mm? (pros, cons, and opinions sought)
5 months ago

My first anniversary with the K-30 is quickly approaching.  It's amazing how much this crazy chunk of camera has gotten under my skin.  Apparently I am still a photographer of sorts.  Who would have known it?  I'm still on the beginner side of the learning curve, but the decent shots are getting to be less accidental and more on purpose.

In that year I've collected a small stable of primes-- the 21 Limited and 35 macro Limited, which are exactly as advertised and entirely satisfactory, and the FA 50mm, which is an obstreperous little #$%&.  I have a love/hate relationship with this lens-- it's optically excellent when I can get it to settle down and get to work, but it is as stubborn as I am and if it does not want to focus it refuses to cooperate.  Low light sets it off, or any attempt to focus on anything close to its minimum distance. And sometimes it just acts up seemingly at random. Helping it out with a little manual focus the way I do the 35 macro is a no go, since it has a tiny, stiff focusing ring that is almost impossible to use. (It also show a weird magenta cast when taking pictures in one particular room of one particular house and nowhere else-- this is really strange and I plan a whole post on the subject in the next couple of days, but it's off topic here.)

Add to these problems the fact that this lens is just plain too short to satisfy my personal aesthetic, honed as it was by many, many years behind an 85mm on full frame film.  As the lady says, I have a bag, and in that bag I have a thing, and my thing is an 85mm prime lens.  If the 50 behaved perfectly, I would live with it being too short, just as I would live with it if it were the perfect length but badly behaved.  But both ...