Sony A7 plus Zeiss 55 = Magic! (Still: Advice appreciated!)

Started 3 months ago | Discussions
jfleischmann
New MemberPosts: 17Gear list
Like?
Sony A7 plus Zeiss 55 = Magic! (Still: Advice appreciated!)
3 months ago

I am pretty new to the business, but for me the output of the a. m. combination is stellar. Of course, I am definitely somewhat biased, it is my son after all...

As I said before, I am an amateur, so your advice on how to make my portraits/photos better is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance for your input!

Jörg

jfleischmann's gear list:jfleischmann's gear list
Sony Alpha 7 Sony FE 55mm F1.8
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
MrT-Man
Regular MemberPosts: 369Gear list
Like?
Re: Sony A7 plus Zeiss 55 = Magic! (Still: Advice appreciated!)
In reply to jfleischmann, 3 months ago

I'd say a key piece of advice is that you really should post-process your images. Download the 30 day trial of Adobe Lightroom, shoot in RAW and give it a try. You'll be astonished at how much you can improve an image by tweaking the exposure/highlights/shadows/whites/blacks sliders, especially with a camera like the A7 that captures a much broader dynamic range than actually appears in a final image.

Make sure to add some vibrance/saturation and some sharpening/noise reduction because normally the camera's JPEG engine would be doing that for you.

It might seem intimidating at first, but with some practice it'll take you like half a minute per image to get much better results than you otherwise would have (with the benefit more pronounced with low-light shots, or shots with a wide dynamic range).

MrT-Man's gear list:MrT-Man's gear list
Sony Alpha NEX-7 Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* E 24mm F1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Touit 1.8/32 Carl Zeiss Touit 2.8/12 Sony FE 55mm F1.8
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
jfleischmann
Like?
In reply to MrT-Man, 3 months ago

MrT-Man wrote: