Selling my D800E for WHAT?!?

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
LCplHerold
New MemberPosts: 20
Like?
Selling my D800E for WHAT?!?
6 months ago

Hello everyone.

I am currently a working as a 2nd shooter (and sometimes as 1st) for Wedding/Corporate event gigs.

I currently am invested in Nikon gear (D800E, 24-70 2.8, 70-200 2.8, etc) but I also own a Sony A7r. I only use a Leica 50mm summicron on my A7r so I have no experience with how it autofocuses. When I am shooting I normally carry my A7r w/ Leica 50mm on one shoulder and my D800e on the other with a 70-200mm, this usually covers what I need unless I need a wide shot.

The funny thing is, I find myself shooting far, far more with my A7r than I do with my D800e, and it not the choice in lens. The A7r just feels far more comfortable and reliable (I have never been good at MF with a OVF but with a EVF it is a different story).

So here is my question:

I am contemplating selling ALL my nikon gear and in turn buying an A7, FE 24-70, FE 70-200. Is this a poor idea?

My one fear is when I do start to 1st shoot more than the AF will murder me, as I hear nothing but complaints about both the A7r's and the A7's autofocus. I get the feeling from the way people trash it than in a lower light scenario I will have next to useless AF.

What would you recommend and why?

Thank you for your time in reading this.

All the best,

LCpl. Herold

Nikon D800E Sony Alpha 7 Sony Alpha 7R
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
edorlando
Junior MemberPosts: 45
Like?
Re: Selling my D800E for WHAT?!?
In reply to LCplHerold, 6 months ago

Let me ask u the ? I showed up at your wedding with a sony a? what every - what would u do.

What I would do is give u a smack in the head - But that would not happen to me - I would have enough sense to ask what kind of equipment u would be using. u might get away with it if it was an old folks wedding- when all the guest r over 60 and move very slowly.