Sony A-77 photo distortion vs Nikon

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
mysp7377
Forum MemberPosts: 60
Like?
Sony A-77 photo distortion vs Nikon
5 months ago

Ive been shooting with a couple of Nikon D600's for a couple years now, I can turn on the Photo Distortion on the D600s and all subjects in my photo's with straight lines (fences, railroad tracks ect) are straight not curved, I  just grabbed a Sony A 77 at a blow out price since the A 77II is on the way. When I turn the photo distortion to auto on the A 77 my straight lines are still curved in the photo's, Im using a Tamron 18-270mm PZD lens on it, is there something else I forgot to turn on, on the A 77 to straighten out the distortion.

-- hide signature --

John...

Nikon D600
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
David Rosser
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,324Gear list
Like?
Re: Sony A-77 photo distortion vs Nikon
In reply to mysp7377, 5 months ago

mysp7377 wrote:

Ive been shooting with a couple of Nikon D600's for a couple years now, I can turn on the Photo Distortion on the D600s and all subjects in my photo's with straight lines (fences, railroad tracks ect) are straight not curved, I just grabbed a Sony A 77 at a blow out price since the A 77II is on the way. When I turn the photo distortion to auto on the A 77 my straight lines are still curved in the photo's, Im using a Tamron 18-270mm PZD lens on it, is there something else I forgot to turn on, on the A 77 to straighten out the distortion.

-- hide signature --

John...

I doubt if the camera firmware includes correction algorithms for third party lenses.  Try a Sony lens on the camera and see what happens.

-- hide signature --
 David Rosser's gear list:David Rosser's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LC5 Fujifilm X20 Nikon D40 Nikon D700 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G +9 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
AndreaV
Regular MemberPosts: 323Gear list
Like?
In reply to David Rosser, 5 months ago