G15: Under exposed photos

Started 2 months ago | Questions
vka
vka
New MemberPosts: 22
Like?
G15: Under exposed photos
2 months ago

Lately I have observed that whenever I take picture on a sunny day, I usually get an under exposed picture. Mostly I take picture in 'P' mode. Rest of the settings being set to default.

NOTE: My camera went through a repair in the past when i broke the lens barrel. It was done by an authorized canon repair center.

Questions :

1. Could it be related to repair done?

2. Or my handling of the camera? As I am pretty new to using Canon G15. My last camera was Panasonic TZ8.

Attached are some photos I took last Saturday @ Legoland, Windsor. It was bright and sunny but most of the photo i took came out underexposed. Also when I tried using EV dial from '+1/3 '- '+1', then they were coming overblown.

If you see sky, it looks overcast but it was quite bright.

Same with this image, sky looks overcast but it was quite bright on that day.

Animal Farm: Same it looks quite pale, and sky looks overcast.

Thanks for your help.

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Canon PowerShot G15
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
David Hurt
Senior MemberPosts: 1,325Gear list
Like?
Re: G15: Under exposed photos
In reply to vka, 2 months ago

Hard to say, as I Always shoot in TV Mode, ISO normally 100 or 125, & do not change the settings, unless I have to, in which case I use the exposure compensation dial & slightly overexpose - I take more than one image when I do this - always shoot in Jpeg & for outdoors on sunny days, I shoot my colours in P to emulate slide film.  For people(indoors or outdoors) I change to N & outside on a bright cloudy day, I may shoot in V - Vivid.  I've had my G15 since December 2012, & it is my go-to camera when I don't want to use my 50D.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Robert Tolputt
Regular MemberPosts: 121Gear list
Like?