Couple of thoughts on the A6000 + Zeiss E 16-70

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
LBJ2
Contributing MemberPosts: 694
Like?
Couple of thoughts on the A6000 + Zeiss E 16-70
6 months ago

I just received the A6000 and Zeiss E 16-70 bundle yesterday. After a few hours with the camera, I think I am going to sell my Nex6.

The Camera

For me the A6000 is blazing fast. I've never used a DSLR before so coming from the Nex 6 and the A7r I am amazed at how quickly the A6000 operates. Sure I read all the reviews and comments about the super-fast autofocus system --but in person, Wow. Now I know what people mean when they say the A7r is slow.

The Lens

I really like the sleek look and feel of the Zeiss E 16-70 with the A6000, a great looking pair--I find the 16-70 FL ( APS-C crop factor 24-105) and OSS to be very useful making this a good walk-around solution. I am still experimenting with optical quality--but so far it appears I received a good copy.

One Nit

For me the A6000 eye cup is not comfortable and too shallow--tough to block out side light. I'll need to find a better solution since I tend to use the viewfinder almost all the time. On the other hand , I don't find myself missing the Nex6 2.3m dot EVF like I thought I might--the 1.4m dot on the A6000 is pretty good--doesn't feel down graded at all.

Good to know

FE 24-70 works well on the A6000 and Steady Shot is enabled. I need to do some more pixel peeping but I think I am seeing better corner performance with this lens and the A6000 sensor.

DT 55-300 with the Sony LAE 4 A adapter worked well with the A6000 too. The DT ( APS-C crop factor up to 450mm) is a front focus lens and can itself be slow at times but once the lens is parked the A6000's continuous shutter speed does not disappoint.

The Photos