K-5 Blurry Night Shots WITH Tripod

Started 8 months ago | Questions
davids8560
Contributing MemberPosts: 615Gear list
Like?
K-5 Blurry Night Shots WITH Tripod
8 months ago

feature Gee, the other night I took a series of night shots with my new K-5 and they all came out blurry, even though the camera was on a sturdy tripod.

Thought cause may be using shutter button to start exposure, or maybe wind? It was very windy at the time! Or, maybe SR needs to be disabled for tripod exposures?

I know the K-3 is all the rage right now, but I am just starting out with a brand new K-5 and I'm very happy with it. Just learning.

K-5 with 18-135 WR on Manfrotto Tripod

Amtrak 717 at Niagara Falls Station

Olympus Stylus 1 Handheld Nightshot Mode

Amtrak 717 at Niagara Falls Station

Thanks for looking and your advice too!

davids8560's gear list:davids8560's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1 Olympus Stylus 1 Sony Alpha NEX-7 Pentax K-3
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Olympus Stylus 1 Pentax K-5
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
samomatic
Junior MemberPosts: 26
Like?
Re: K-5 Blurry Night Shots WITH Tripod
In reply to davids8560, 8 months ago

Hi, did you turn off the SR in the camera?

If you have it on a tripod you can also select a 2sec or 12sec delay for the shot. The camera automatically disable the SR in those 2 modes. So you won't forget to enable SR again when you are shooting normally.

Hope that helps!

Sam

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
davids8560
Like?
In reply to samomatic, 8 months ago

Hi,

Wow! That was a fast reply! Thanks!

I did not turn off SR. I forgot about doing that! I also did not know the camera will turn off SR in certain modes. That's thoughtful!

Do any of you guys have awesome K-5 nightshots to encourage me? How'd you do yours?

Thanks again,

Dave

PhotoHawk
Contributing MemberPosts: 675
Like?