Sony a6000 Build Quality

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
woodsjo3
Junior MemberPosts: 29
Like?
Sony a6000 Build Quality
8 months ago

I'm no where close to claiming I'm a photographer. But I'm addicted to photography. I've tansitioned from my first camera the nex-3 to a nex-5 to a nex-5r to a nex 6 and finally to an a6000. Every time I've upgraded I've been happy with the build quality. But the a6000 feels like a toy in comparison to the nex 6. It feels almost bloated... just my thoughts, definitely not a deal breaker. I'm sure a real photographer would prefer a lighter body that the the plastic offers. I just thought it would feel morr durable.

istreetshooter
Regular MemberPosts: 148
Like?
Re: Sony a6000 Build Quality
In reply to woodsjo3, 8 months ago

I don't think it feels bloated. To me, it just feels like a cheaper build. I compare it more to the Olympus E-PL cameras I've used, in contrast to the better built (in my hands) Nikon 1 V1.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
gradyp
Regular MemberPosts: 110Gear list
Like?

I never had a NEX-6, my previous NEX was the C3.  I feel the complete opposite though, the a6000 feels like a huge step up for me in terms of build quality.  The buttons and dials feel much better, the rubberized grip feels so much more secure to hold, the finish on the exterior is so much nicer and more refined; everything just feels tighter and better put together than my previous NEX-C3.  I'm quite impressed with the build quality of mine.

I will say, this does not apply to the kit lens.  The kit lens feels cheap and sloppy but the portability is worth the trade off from the 18-55 I used to have.

gradyp's gear list:gradyp's gear list
Sony SLT-A55 Sony a6000 Sony a77 II Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM Samyang 8mm F3.5 Aspherical IF MC Fisheye +4 more
KwhyChang
Veteran MemberPosts: 3,157Gear list
Like?

That's just one of many things that made me cancel my pre-order, but I completely agree about build quality.

-- hide signature --

Dave