A6000 AF at the dog park

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
abdoozy
Regular MemberPosts: 229Gear list
Like?
A6000 AF at the dog park
7 months ago

Since for some reason dog parks are considered the gold standard of autofocus capability, I've uploaded four sequences of Dog Park AutoFocus to the gallery.

Please note that this is not my normal style of photography. I have little experience at this kind of perpetual motion AF, and thus my technique is almost certainly sub-optimal. I am *not* asking for C&C on these, just throwing them out there for a point of reference.

All the sequences were shot in S mode, JPEG Fine, Std, with the 55-210Z. AF-C in Zone mode. I don't recall if OSS was enabled, so it probably was, if that makes a difference.

I think the AF worked pretty well, considering. I can't say it's faster than the NEX-6, since I never shot sequences like this on that body. But I would not agree with those suggesting that the A6000 is "terrible" at AF. If I can get shots that look this good, believe me, the camera is not the problem.

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/4895025362/albums/dog-park-af-sequence-1/slideshow

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/4895025362/albums/dog-park-af-sequence-2/slideshow

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/4895025362/albums/dog-park-af-sequence-3/slideshow

http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/4895025362/albums/dog-park-af-sequence-4/slideshow

Since the images in these galleries are 50% JPEGs resized to 1024, pixel peepers will probably pout, so here are a few images from the park, some full sized, some cropped...

-- hide signature --

yr. obt. svt.,
abdoozy
WSSA Member#160

abdoozy's gear list:abdoozy's gear list
Sony Alpha NEX-6 Sony a6000 Sony 70-300mm F4.5-5.6 G SSM Tamron SP AF 60mm F/2 Di II LD IF Macro Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* E 24mm F1.8 ZA +11 more
Sony a6000 Sony E 55-210mm F4.5-6.3 OSS
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Frag01
Regular MemberPosts: 170Gear list