Renting FX camera as a trial run: D4s vs D800E vs Df?

Started 7 months ago | Questions
tlrfoto
New MemberPosts: 6Gear list
Like?
Renting FX camera as a trial run: D4s vs D800E vs Df?
7 months ago

As a hobbyist photographer my normal D5200 suits me just fine for 90% of what I like to shoot. I've had a couple recent opportunities to shoot some concerts and have realized that my D5200, while it does a passable job in low light (twilight etc.), it's sensor just isn't up to the task of holding the level of detail I'm looking for in the dynamic and often poor lighting conditions present at indoor concerts.

My question if I'm going to rent a FX camera for a weekend of concerts, which out of these three would be the best performance for the $$$, D4s (~$200), D800E (~$110), or Df (~$100)?

I realize the D4s is a powerhouse, but is the extra $100 worth it?

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated.

tlrfoto's gear list:tlrfoto's gear list
Nikon D5200 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G Nik Dfine +7 more
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon D4s Nikon D5200 Nikon D800E Nikon Df
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Rogerlange
Forum MemberPosts: 76Gear list
Like?
Re: Renting FX camera as a trial run: D4s vs D800E vs Df?
In reply to tlrfoto, 7 months ago

The d4s is the best for your particulate problem, high speed and very high ISO usability.

11 fps is nice to get the right facial expression.  The 800 is great for iso noise . But no where near the d4s, and the 4 fps will limit  your amount of useable  shots. The dr will do the job better than the d800 but not as well as the  d4s.

roger

Rogerlange's gear list:Rogerlange's gear list
Nikon D4s Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II Nikon AF Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR +4 more