A few musings (disagreements) on the X-T1 Review

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
Birddogman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,160Gear list
Like?
A few musings (disagreements) on the X-T1 Review
8 months ago

I think the reviews here are generally very well done by knowledgeable folks who work with far more cameras in a month than I will see in a lifetime. They are detailed and complete. They impart a ton of valuable, unbiased information. I am just a long-time hobbyist. For all of those reasons, I am reluctant to take issue with anything in a full review, but here goes anyway.

One of the listed "cons" is the spongy nature of the four-way controller buttons. My first XT1 (SN: 27XX) had a light leak and spongy, deeply set buttons. My replacement XT1 (SN: 81XX) has no light leak and a noticeably better feel to the buttons. Neither the light leak, nor the cure of that problem which, for me at least, included better buttons, were mentioned in the review at all. I find that strange.

Another "con" is the fact that the ISO dial has a release button in the middle which must be pressed before it can be turned. To be fair, they did say that this might not bother some people due to their shooting style. From my standpoint, that locking dial is a Good Thing, not a "con". I don't change ISO all that often and having that dial turn unintentionally would be a big problem, so I very much like Fuji's implementation and would not want it any other way.