Trying to decide between DF and D610, IQ differences

Started 4 months ago | Discussions
fwellers
Regular MemberPosts: 206
Like?
Trying to decide between DF and D610, IQ differences
4 months ago

Hello,

After owning and enjoying my D700 for about 4 years or more, I find myself wanting to upgrade to some newer technology, to take advantage of better DR, Better IQ ( colors, tones, etc.. ), better ISO and a smaller package.

I'm an amateur who rarely uses autofocus. As a matter of fact, for the past 6 months the only lens's I've used are a 50 1.2ais, and a 105 2.5ais.

There are times when I am asked to shoot at a family function or something and then I will reluctantly use one of my 2.8 zooms and a 501.4g.

I was and am thinking seriously of the DF, because I've heard of the fabulous IQ, plus it's the lightest smallest Nikon FF. I feel my style of shooting, which is almost entirely manual,  would be suited to the DF just fine. For the most part, I would leave the shutter in 1/3 and used the thumbwheels as I do now, and just adjust the ISO as needed.

I've been working off the possibly wrong assumption that the D600 is inferior in build and in IQ.

Recently, with all the threads about the 610 everywhere it seems that the IQ on it may even be better than the DF at ISOs  below 6400.

If that is the case, I may need to rethink, because then, to get the DF, I would truly be paying a $1000 premium for mostly just the style of the  body and better files at very high ISO's ( which I don't use ). I always try to maintain the lowest ISO, because I believe even if the pic looks clean, DR , tones and colors may suffer at any ISO above 100 or 200.

The D800 is out for me, because I just don't want that may MP.

I guess the biggest question I want to answer, and I'm hoping someone has some empirical or anecdotal knowledge of, is whether at normal ISO's (6400 and below ) , which camera has better IQ attributes ( DR, tonal gradation, color depth, clean files, sharpness etc... )