Resolution, pixel density and lenses: D800 vs. D610

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
danielbw
Forum MemberPosts: 50
Like?
Resolution, pixel density and lenses: D800 vs. D610
5 months ago

Hi,

I'm about to move from the D7100 to FX . Either the D610 or the D800. I'm a bit confused about some aspects of this decision and would very much appreciate any suggestions.

First, the current facts:

I am a passionate photographer, but I don't live from photography. I've had a couple of exhibits in the past and I want to follow this sort of 'artistic' path. Nevertheless, I've shot products in a few ocassions, and I would like to continue doing so in the future. Re: artistic portraiture, I tend to isolate my subjects and love to play with enough sharpness and excelent bokeh rendition. Re: landscape, the usual: sharpness, etc. In both cases, I need the highest dynamic range possible. I work on B&W a lot.

The lenses I will be using with the FX camera (either because I already own them or I plan to buy them) are the following:

Nikon 24-70 2.8, Nikon 85mm 1.8, Sigma 35mm 1.4 Art, Sigma 50mm 1.4 Art, Nikon 105mm 2.8 and still not sure about which WA prime.

So my main concern is about the relationship between such lenses and the different pixel densities (bigger or smaller pixel size) of these two sensors. I see the word "outresolve" used all over but I'm not sure I understand it. When someone says that a specific sensor outresolves a specific lens, does he/she mean that the sensor shows the lense's weaknesses or does it only mean that it does not take full advantage of its strengths? And, the other way round, what do people mean when they say that a lens outresolves a sensor?