Fuji Lens caps

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
Patrick T. Kelly
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,061Gear list
Like?
Fuji Lens caps
8 months ago

I am new to Fuji and have only two lenses for my X-E1. It came with an 18-55 and the first day I was out shooting the Fuji lens cap fell off three times. I went to some good photo stores in Oaxaca and the third one had a decent 58mm lens cap. Actually, they had two so I bought both.

I am compulsive about using the lens cap. I stroll and shoot in the streets of Oaxaca and if I'm not taking a picture I always have the lens cap on. In only takes a second to pop it off to take a phone.

Putting it back on takes longer and then it sometimes isn't on securely. The little thingies you push to release the lens cap stick out so it it brushes against your sleeve or a passing bush the lens cap can fall off.

I got the 27mm lens, with the 39mm lens cap, and lost it within the first hour. I went straight downtown and discovered there isn't a 39mm lens cap in Oaxaca. I checked B&H and they don't have many, less than a half-dozen, and the best of the bunch looks to be Fuji which is, in my opinion, terrible.

I wish Fuji, especially for the tiny lens cap, had a better designed cap for the lens. If I get another Fuji 39mm I plan on using my Dremel tool to buff off the wings that seem to be designed to make the cap fall off the lens. Without the wings it would be a decent center-pinch lens.

-- hide signature --

Patrick T. Kelly
Oaxaca, Mexico

Fujifilm X-E1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Al Valentino
Senior MemberPosts: 4,385Gear list
Like?
Re: Fuji Lens caps
In reply to Patrick T. Kelly, 8 months ago

I use Bower pinch caps on my fuji lenses as i had the same problem and use them the same way you described. Got mine from BH for about $4 or close to it a year ago.  They have been perfect

Fuji Silver XE1 w/14, 35, 18-55, 55-200, Rokinon 8mm Fisheye & Tamron 90mm f/2.8 Macro