Uploading Images

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
Les Kamens
Regular MemberPosts: 269Gear list
Like?
Uploading Images
5 months ago

I know I'm not exactly in the correct forum but thought I would check in here as well.

As a location photographer, I am constantly plagued with hotels that say they have fast internet but when i connect i get somewhere around 50 - 100 kbs down and 20-60 kbs Up.

There has to be a better way. Is there a provider out there that has a portable device that is really fast so I'm not hung up by having to be tethered to a hotel or some other network.

I'm generally uploading between 2-5 gigs a night.

Thanks for any insight

Les

Les Kamens's gear list:Les Kamens's gear list
Nikon D700 Nikon D3S Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II +2 more
Scott McMorrow
Regular MemberPosts: 356
Like?
Re: Uploading Images
In reply to Les Kamens, 5 months ago

Les

I'm big on multiple backups myself.  I use a program called SyncBackSE, which is a backup and file/directory synchronization program.  I use it for my business, but it also works really well for photographic directories.

I have a standard data directory on my office/home raid storage system where everything resides.  When I am headed out of town with my laptop I synchronize selected storage folders between my RAID system and the laptop. On the laptop I run another instance of the program and synchronize between the laptop and a 2 TB USB 3 drive.  Once everything is in sync I can delete the camera cards.

New data is downloaded to the laptop.  Once complete, I run SyncBack to synchronize the laptop drive to the USB 3 to provide redundancy.  The program can also be set up to synchronize across an FTP connection, so that whenever there is reasonable internet bandwidth I can synchronize any changes to my in house FTP server, which utilizes a directory on my RAID storage server.