Pre-wedding questions

Started 9 months ago | Discussions
Flyinmotion
Forum MemberPosts: 68
Like?
Pre-wedding questions
9 months ago

Hi,

My friend asked me to shoot her pre-wedding photo. She knows I'm not a pro, but she wants us to have some fun and this is a cool project for me.

For my gear, I just got XT1 with 23mm and 2 batteries. I plan to get the 56mm lens late April. We plan to shoot their photo in second week of May.

Now, I need your help what I should buy or need for this shooting. Do I need off camera flash with softbox? On camera flash with Gary Fong diffuser is good enough? Any nice locations in the Bay Area for this type of event?

Thank you so much for your input!

T2

Just a Photographer
Senior MemberPosts: 1,140Gear list
Like?
Re: Pre-wedding questions
In reply to Flyinmotion, 9 months ago

Flyinmotion wrote:

Hi,

My friend asked me to shoot her pre-wedding photo. She knows I'm not a pro, but she wants us to have some fun and this is a cool project for me.

For my gear, I just got XT1 with 23mm and 2 batteries. I plan to get the 56mm lens late April. We plan to shoot their photo in second week of May.

Now, I need your help what I should buy or need for this shooting. Do I need off camera flash with softbox? On camera flash with Gary Fong diffuser is good enough? Any nice locations in the Bay Area for this type of event?

T2

This in not to be rude. Its meant as a general warning.

You probably feel honored because your friend asked you to take images of one of the most important days in her life. But you should ask yourself an honest question. Are you up to the task?

If you have never shot a wedding before its best to tell your friend to hire a professional IF she really cares about the images to cherish and if she want images that should make her feel happy in 10 years time to come as well. Wedding pictures should make her happy as an everlasting moment.