Which film camera for my buddy's wedding?

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
ThaQuest
Senior MemberPosts: 1,337Gear list
Like?
Which film camera for my buddy's wedding?
8 months ago

My buddy is flying me back from China to shoot her wedding in a month. She's giving me a bit of cash which I will throw towards a long-overdue film camera, as she appreciates film. I've been shooting a manual focus Olympus OM-10 for a few years, but it's time for something serious. Perhaps 25% of the wedding will be shot on film, serious stuff will utilized the DSLR.

I'm looking at the following:

- Contax G2 (small and light)

- Mamiy 6 or 7 (always aspired towards MF)

- Standard Canon SLR (can use my current lenses)

I'm worried that if I go with the Contax or Mamiya, there might be a higher learning curve, which I won't master in time for the wedding (I will only have the camera for 2-3 days before the wedding begins). Whereas a Canon SLR will be 2nd nature. I want something that will last a lifetime and expand my passion for film.

Any other ideas? Thoughts?

Thanks!

-- hide signature --

www.shenzhenphotos.com

ThaQuest's gear list:ThaQuest's gear list
Canon EOS 50D Canon EOS 6D Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM +2 more
Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Greenville
Senior MemberPosts: 2,072Gear list
Like?
Re: Which film camera for my buddy's wedding?
In reply to ThaQuest, 8 months ago

You might find better and quicker help on photo.net. They have forums dedicated to film. Here most film threads break down to endless bickering. When I was doing a lot of scanning I found great help on photo.net. Most of the answers were very detailed and helpful.

Greenville's gear list:Greenville's gear list
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Canon EOS 40D Canon EOS 7D Samsung NX300 Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II +16 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
The Incredible Hoke