Monitor suggestion?

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
Marni
New MemberPosts: 18
Like?
Monitor suggestion?
5 months ago

I am shopping for a new monitor.  I am NOT a professional, I do retouch my own photos, I have 50 years worth of old pix that I am restoring.  My Viewsonic VP930b is not corresponding with my printer profiles that were made, the prints are coming out very dark

I have:

Calibrated the monitor  using the Spyder Pro 3

Used Spyder Print to do a printer profile.

The result:  The colors are very good and match however, the monitor is showing a beautiful bright picture in Photoshop, but the prints are very dark.  I am wondering if my monitor is going bad?  I am working with Data Color right now to solve this issue.

I need a suggestion for a monitor that will be a good choice but under $300.00. I can't justify spending more than that for home use.

Thanks

Ron AKA
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,874Gear list
Like?
Re: Monitor suggestion?
In reply to Marni, 5 months ago

First thing I would check is the brightness setting of your monitor. Could you possibly have it set too bright? That is the most common cause of dark prints. Your bright monitor is causing you to adjust the exposure of the image too dark. A normal brightness to use for image editing is 120 cd/m2. Potentially your Spyder3Pro should help you adjust the brightness properly?

As for a new monitor in your price range I would suggest you consider the Asus PA248Q and the Dell U2412M. At the same price I would pick the Asus over the Dell as it comes factory calibrated. I have the PA248Q and have the brightness turned down to 20% to get approximately 120 cd/m2. That shows you how easy it is to adjust a monitor too bright. Most monitors will be way too bright if you have them set near the maximum brightness.

Ron AKA's gear list:Ron AKA's gear list
Sony RX100 Epson Stylus Photo R3000 +1 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Hugowolf
Forum ProPosts: 11,254
Like?