New camera for club/concert photography

Started 6 months ago | Questions
bfesta
New MemberPosts: 17Gear list
Like?
New camera for club/concert photography
6 months ago

Hi, I'm a hobbyist shooting on a D90. I want to purchase a new camera, and I take the majority of photo's in small jazz clubs. I guess it comes down to a choice between two cameras, The D7100 and the D800. I skipped the D610 because to me if I'm going to spend the money to go full frame for another $700-800 I might as well go for the D800. Since I am a hobbyist The D7100 has the safety net of the auto setting, though I seldom use auto now....

So any opinions?

thanks

bfesta's gear list:bfesta's gear list
Nikon D90 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G VR
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon D610 Nikon D7100 Nikon D800 Nikon D90
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
starman1969
Senior MemberPosts: 2,320Gear list
Like?
Re: New camera for club/concert photography
In reply to bfesta, 6 months ago

D800.

The FX sensor will be more suited to low light, also easier to get a fast wide lens for it too. 20mm will be 20mm.

-- hide signature --

They are watching us......

starman1969's gear list:starman1969's gear list
Nikon D800E Nikon D600 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G +5 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
toomanycanons
Veteran MemberPosts: 9,536
Like?

Canon 6D.  I only say this because a member here shot with a D600 (or maybe a D610) side by side with a 6D for the same type of photography and chose the 6D.  Do a search for that guy's thread.

Radu Grozescu
Senior MemberPosts: 1,761Gear list
Like?

bfesta wrote:

So any opinions?

Df ?

-- hide signature --

Radu Grozescu

Radu Grozescu's gear list:Radu Grozescu's gear list