Your assistance would be greatly appreciated

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
unknown member
(unknown member)
Like?
Your assistance would be greatly appreciated
7 months ago

I have been shooting primarily with my LX7 for the past 2 years, before that mostly Canon, S95 ,etc., and years ago a 3 lens Canon SLR setup. After 3 trips to Europe, with too much time spent on benches carefully changing lenses and the daypack weighing far more than is comfortable, I jumped to digital P&S cameras for their weight and ease of use.

My focus (sorry) is landscapes, cityscapes, architecture, food, people, mostly during the day and mostly outside and I view my images on my current generation 27"iMac, share them with friends and have prints and calendars made up to about 10X14. I am not a pixel peeper and i shout exclusively in JPEG with minimal PP.

I now am retired and my wife and I travel very often, both across the US and 2 times per year to Europe. I really enjoy photography but not at the expense of extra weight and sitting on benches changing lenses frequently.

Recently the price of several larger sensor cameras have become ridiculously inexpensive, with the NEX 3N and Olympus E-PM2 with kit lenses in the $300 range. I posted a similar question to both of their boards and received various responses, from "all of your images will be significantly better than from you LX7 to there will be little difference at all". I clearly stated I would be using the kit lens primarily.

I strongly believe the correct response to my question is that with a normal kit lens, shooting in adequate light there will be little, if any difference between my LX7 and the Nex 3N or Olympus E-pm2 with kit lenses. I believe this is partly true because the poor kit lens quality and the reality that the LX7 is a darn good camera, and the small sensor suffers little in adequate light, and I don't plan on making 20X30 size prints.