In search of image quality

Started 5 months ago | Discussions
doctorxring
Senior MemberPosts: 1,093Gear list
Like?
In search of image quality
5 months ago

I've been enjoying my A65 and DT1650 lens for the past two years immensely. But as many enthusiasts do, I would like "more" in respect to image quality.

I've been considering the following options, 1 of two lens options for my A65 or the one camera option.

1. Sony Zeiss 24mm f/2

2. Sony Zeiss 2470mm f/2.8

3. Sony RX1

Which of these options will give the best image quality over what I have already ? Would this be a small increment of image quality or a significant increase over my current combo ?

Thanks for any and all input on this.

Chris

doctorxring's gear list:doctorxring's gear list
Canon PowerShot S95 Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Sony RX100 II Sony SLT-A65 Sony a77 II +4 more
Sony RX1 Sony SLT-A65
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
dlkeller
Veteran MemberPosts: 6,129
Like?
Re: In search of image quality
In reply to doctorxring, 5 months ago

You have a good camera and one of the best zooms available so I'm not sure a lens change is going to really improve images except on an extreme pixel peeking examination.

If you are this discriminating I would make my decision based on specific need rather than a general suggestion.  What aspect of performance do you really hope to improve upon?

-- hide signature --

Dave

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Michel J
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,009Gear list
Like?
In reply to dlkeller, 5 months ago

dlkeller wrote:

You have a good camera and one of the best zooms available so I'm not sure a lens change is going to really improve images except on an extreme pixel peeking examination.

If you are this discriminating I would make my decision based on specific need rather than a general suggestion. What aspect of performance do you really hope to improve upon?

-- hide signature --

Dave

Agreed,