Looking for opinions from those who have upgraded from D300/s to D600/610

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
NikonMike
Senior MemberPosts: 1,018Gear list
Like?
Looking for opinions from those who have upgraded from D300/s to D600/610
7 months ago

I've been debating the move to FX from my D300s for a few months now.  While I love my four year old D300s and if I were smart would just keep shooting with it for a couple more years, I would also like more resolution and dynamic range for my landscape photography.   I was looking for some opinions from some of you who have made the  switch.  What do you like better about the D600/610? Is there anything about the D600/610 that you don't like compared to your D300?  I realize a D7100 (or future D7200) is also an option, but I don't have a good feeling about Nikon's commitment to DX at the advanced amateur or semi-pro level.  I would also feel like I'm regressing in camera bodies.  I had moved from a D80 to a D300s, and it would seem like I'm going back to a D80 type camera.  Thanks!

Mike

NikonMike's gear list:NikonMike's gear list
Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V
Nikon D300 Nikon D300S Nikon D600 Nikon D7100 Nikon D80
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
GadgetBoy
Regular MemberPosts: 308
Like?
Re: Looking for opinions from those who have upgraded from D300/s to D600/610
In reply to NikonMike, 7 months ago

When I was in a similar situation, i looked back at the past 2-3 years of my photos with emphasis on the last one year. What are your main shooting scenarios in terms of your needs?  Does FX help over DX, how?  Will you be okay giving up the extra reach? Then list out all of your lenses currently and identify which ones will work and work well with FX. Imagine those lenses in their new FX based perspectives, that will be an adjustment.