D800 or d800e??

Started 10 months ago | Discussions
Copter01
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
D800 or d800e??
10 months ago

Hi

I am a Amateur, mainly landscape photographer. I don't upgrade often, but when i do i buy decent gear that will last me.

i am about to upgrade from a D200 to a D800 but not sure whether to get the e. usually reviews are sufficient, but it is difficult to quantify the difference between the two. I have a few questions?

- Reviews say that Moire, at least problematic moire is rare on the e. Is that peoples experience here?

- i have decent lenses, and wish to be able to print, periodically, pretty big. At what size, and at what apertures do people find the difference between the two can be identified.

- is there much of a difference in quantity of sharpening needed for the 800 vs e?

thanks in advance for responses.

Nikon D200 Nikon D800 Nikon D800E
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
iJoost
Regular MemberPosts: 105
Like?
Re: D800 or d800e??
In reply to Copter01, 10 months ago

Differences (both moire and extra detail) are minimal and only present from apertures F/5.6 down.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
JF69
Regular MemberPosts: 422
Like?
if you have to ask,

just get the D800, you'll be happy. The differences are not that great between the two.

Photec
Regular MemberPosts: 153
Like?

I have to agree, I also feel that in your case (as in mine) the D800 would be the better choice. Depending on your particular workflow and PP hardware the camera will produce images that can be printed any size you want with no problems.

You stated that you want to print large prints, the 36MP files will certainly enable you to do that. You will not see any real differences to speak of between the D800 and D800e at print sizes to 40X60. At normal viewing distances prints from either camera will look phenominal. Good luck with it.

Robin Casady
Forum ProPosts: 12,121
Like?

Copter01 wrote:

Hi