Help - volunteered to photograph a wedding

Started 11 months ago | Discussions
WIMorrison
Contributing MemberPosts: 915Gear list
Like?
Help - volunteered to photograph a wedding
11 months ago

I have have been volunteered by my wife and daughter to photograph a family wedding and whilst I am a competent photographer weddings - in fact people photography is not my sceene as you can see from my website.

does anyone have some good suggestions - other than pay someone to do it for me - that might help me along the way and stop me making a complete idiot of myself ending up with average photos which is not what they expect.

many thanks for any hints and tops you send my way

-- hide signature --

Iain Morrison LRPS CPAGB
wimorrison.co.uk

WIMorrison's gear list:WIMorrison's gear list
Nikon D7000 Nikon D800E Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 10-24mm f/3-5-4.5G ED Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED VR +11 more
primeshooter
Senior MemberPosts: 2,409
Like?
Re: Help - volunteered to photograph a wedding
In reply to WIMorrison, 11 months ago

WIMorrison wrote:

I have have been volunteered by my wife and daughter to photograph a family wedding and whilst I am a competent photographer weddings - in fact people photography is not my sceene as you can see from my website.

does anyone have some good suggestions - other than pay someone to do it for me - that might help me along the way and stop me making a complete idiot of myself ending up with average photos which is not what they expect.

-- hide signature --

Iain Morrison LRPS CPAGB
wimorrison.co.uk

Hi Iain, you seem like a competent photographer! Looking at your gear the 60mm f/2 will be useful as will the 180 and your 17-35. Assuming you can shoot with fast primes or want to use a flash after the ceremony I'm sure you'll do well, I prefer to not use flash at weddings most of the time. You might want to check out one of the best http://www.jeffascough.com/