Upgrade from D90

Started 6 months ago | Discussions
awolf24
New MemberPosts: 2Gear list
Like?
Upgrade from D90
6 months ago

Hi all. First time poster. As just a little background, I am an amateur photographer who has stuck mostly to travel, landscape and general photography. I have been using a D90 since it came out in 2008 and my only lens is a Nikon 18-200 VRII. I am now looking to get more serious about photography and image quality and wanted to get some advice on how to proceed. Furthermore, I have my first child coming in a few months and will likely be taking a lot of low-light portraits and baby pics. At this point, my current camera and telephoto lens are not really cutting it in these scenarios. After doing some research, it seems like my best and most cost-effective approach would be to simply add a new portrait lens, perhaps a Nikkor 50mm f/1.8g.

My question to the forum is:  In addition is a new lens, would it be worth upgrading from a D90? And if so, to what? I have always been loyal to Nikon but I am also intrigued by some of the newer cameras such as the Sony a7.  I am not necessarily looking to spend too much money to upgrade, but would be willing to spend in the range of $2k if it was worth it.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

awolf24's gear list:awolf24's gear list
Nikon D90 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Nikon D90 Sony Alpha 7
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
tcottrell
Regular MemberPosts: 132
Like?
Re: Upgrade from D90
In reply to awolf24, 6 months ago

You didn't mention any other equipment, so in addition to the 50mm lens you want, you should get a good tripod and a flash.  Start from there, if you have money left over get yourself another lens like maybe an 85 f/1.8

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Dragonborn67
Regular MemberPosts: 213
Like?
In reply to tcottrell, 6 months ago